Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

Golden point was only ever an innovation to overload the xmas tree with ornaments, just as is the 'top
8' when 5 is a hundred times more realistic, or 'immortals' to keep the League religious horde
interested. Rugby League long ago lost sight of what is the Australian idea of what is fair and replaced
it with yank salesmanship.

Someone else obsessed with glitter is Nick Politis. Can't for the life of me understand why he prefers
notoriety to accomplishment. SBW may well bring the house down with exciting performances but the
Roosters need to get stability on and off the field to take advantage. Reminds me of Red Bull Racing
pouring tons of money into the best cars and have Webber as driver.

Manly want to play on plastic instead of just drain the swamp. Then again if they don't drain the swamp
anyway a game there will be like playing hockey on wet plastic. Why not spend the money on drainage
or do the right thing and move to Bluegum where two birds could be killed with one stone.

Not sure Thurston would like it at Penrith any more than Petero did. Not much of anything on that
latitude between the top of the mountain and the ocean is worth pissing on any more. No sense
leaving the bush when there's no need. Won't be long before the Cumberland basin won't grow enough
youngsters with a mind to play games.

Good job the Sharks can play without Gallen but it's a shame they have to. Extra stress on players
needed to fulfil roles the majority of supporters deserve to see could be avoided by moving Origin to
after the most important part of the League season is over. Anything after 26 should just be the cream on top.

Pops The Council want the Plastic Grass to save Money on Maintenance, I dont think Manly has a say in it......good Reading as per usual

keep putting the Circle jerkers in their place

POPEYE

Disagree mate.

Tinkler's aim is to make the Knights the team that the locals love. This means Sunday arvo games are what we desire.

Everybody knows that crowds are lower for MNF. Add to that the Knights demographic spreads further North West than Cessnock and Maitland, these people cant attend the game because it starts just hours after the end of the working day.

As a club we arent concerned about being seen on TV. Every game is on TV, we are concerned about the members getting what they have paid for. Live football at the ground.

You are right of course. I talk from the perspective of games I like to watch and bums on seats don't
worry me. Of all the clubs, Newcastle have to impress their benefactor the most I suppose, and he would
definitely want the stadium filled.

POPEYE

Pops The Council want the Plastic Grass to save Money on Maintenance, I dont think Manly has a say in it......good Reading as per usual

keep putting the Circle jerkers in their place

I've no idea about the pros and cons of plastic but it appears heavy skin contact could be a problem.
The Council would have to raise the playing field anyway to make doubly sure the plastic wasn't a waste
of money. I'm sure the yanks wouldn't lay the stuff on swampy ground. Aside from that the advantage
Manly would have because of it would be intollerable. Don't lose sight of the fact that the stuff was
invented for it's aesthetics, not functionality.

POPEYE

Expect the shit to hit the fan over Jason Taylor's column in the Herald and he may be right, but that's
not the point. It's about the time of the season where deja vu takes over from Origin fever. We have
the team most likely, this year the Doggies, about to be ostracised by all and sundry.

Deep down the multitudes will hope their players get suspended or injured and everyone will see a
problem with the way they tackle and score tries. Melbourne and Manly will welcome being left out of
the firing line as the Dogs take centre stage. Dessie won't have to do any more shopping, the scribes
will give his players all the incentive they need to prove the doubters wrong.

POPEYE

There are some players that should never be let go. The Eels and Roosters could fill a book but most
other clubs are guilty of underestimating the value of at least one player. The bloke I'm just reminded
of is Nathan Friend. The player replacing him at the GC could have been used just as well in the
halves and Prince would have been an option, not a necessity.

Nathan has the worth of two players, one who does his job adequately in his position and one that is
inspirational to his team mates. He is to #9's what Raudonikis was to #7's and the Titans have badly
underestimated his value.

Big Tim

You are right of course. I talk from the perspective of games I like to watch and bums on seats don't
worry me. Of all the clubs, Newcastle have to impress their benefactor the most I suppose, and he would
definitely want the stadium filled.

Of course we want to grow our brand nationally. But to be able to target a growth like that we need to be well supported in the local area. Think of late 90's early noughties. We dont have that type of home town support any more, and there isnt a young Andrew Johns in reserve grade either.

The Knights were most peoples "2nd team". Now we cant even get the local kids to follow the game. Being the team everyone hates to love doesnt help the club in a way that bums on seats will.

POPEYE

Almost outsmarted myself by watching the boxing instead of the Eels/Dogs which I knew would be a
mismatch. When the semi-main saw a Mexican win 6 out of 8 rounds and the decision go against him
I though to myself what a shit night. The last fight vindicated my decision and the recorded Broncos/Warriors
topped the night off nicely. Although the NZ team finally came up against a full strength Q team the game was a ripper.

POPEYE

Get to bed you lunatic.

That's nice, finding you before the cornflakes. Suppose I shouldn't complain when you donate to
the number of views that keep me interested. Would be better though if you had at least one more
quality to go with abnoxious . . . so one dimensional you could live in a picture frame at Hogwarts.

By the way, that's a much better avatar. Not sure sure what suits you the most . . . dummy or pussy

POPEYE

Must give a 'well done' to Ivan. Can't imagine who gave Luke the idea that he could outsmart his
coach. Jennings was probably the other one of dumb and dumber. Cleary does a great job in the
Tele turning it all around and making it clear he won't be a scapegoat . . . not even for a tiring legend.

Josh McGuire played for Samoa, that right? Q better sort that out quicksmart. Hard to fault this bloke's
claim for top honours in the near future and he's all that will be needed to add to next year's Origin.

AlwaysGreen

That's nice, finding you before the cornflakes. Suppose I shouldn't complain when you donate to
the number of views that keep me interested.
Happy to oblige ma'am. Although your high view count is probably due to you keeping a lonely desperate eye on your yabbie trap.

Would be better though if you had at least one more
quality to go with abnoxious . . . so one dimensional you could live in a picture frame at Hogwarts.
obnoxious ole mate. You'd be f**ked without me as your editor at large.

By the way, that's a much better avatar. Not sure sure what suits you the most . . . dummy or pussy
How about pummy? Or Dussy.

Keep up the ramblings ole mate you're keeping some desperadoes amused.

AlwaysGreen

Too easy . . . you go to a lot of trouble to create such little challenge

So simple. Literally. Why you're up all night dissecting yesterday's bullshit I'm using 0.0001% of my capabilities keeping you alive. Tooooooooooooooo easy deadweight.

POPEYE

The more than their fair share of luck with injuries Melbourne had in the first half of the season has
paid big dividends. The Dogs have had a dream run with everything including signings and are the
deserved favourites for best team of the year. Brisbane, Manly, Melbourne and Sharks have no more
excuses but the Dogs will have to play without advantage from here on in.

POPEYE

Just as one supercoach gets caught in a dolrum another finds a strong breeze . . . can't keep a good
man down for long. The Knights players discover their ears are not painted on and we have a team
that is gradually replacing nuisance with threat. Hope Bellamy gets some inspiration from his mentor.
Manly it seems have their irreplaceables just like any other team.

A loose canon will still beat a popgun. Sooner or later Benji will do something right and a team like
Penrith with absolutely nothing except a will to win will suffer. With any sort of direction the Panthers
would have won last night's game easily. Tigers could still get a wild card win in the mardis gras though.

POPEYE

So simple. Literally. Why you're up all night dissecting yesterday's bullshit I'm using 0.0001% of my capabilities keeping you alive. Tooooooooooooooo easy deadweight.

To hell with it, I want to see what it's like to be a speed hump . . . explain 'Why'.

You do know I drive a HI-Lux so wouldn't you be better off hanging around a carpark
waiting to annoy headshaved, black bearded mono-brows in their drifters.

POPEYE

Interesting to see Flanagan, imo coach of the year so far, complaining about poor decisions from the
sideline. Here we have a possible future supercoach worried about bad decisions that might see his
team drop out of the top four. This is the same bloke that pundits last year thought was an el cheapo
fill in until the Sharks could afford a real coach. Must make him go to bed with a smile knowing he's in a
position to complain.