Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

It's pissant cup time so ole mate pops has asked me to let you all know that he won't be posting again until 2013. Enjoy your yabbies and he'll be back to enlighten us :roll: with his dribblings next season.

Don't take any notice of this bloke folks . . . I'll be back when the pissant cup is done and dusted.
With any luck the Raiders will win and AG can claim his team best of '12. That would make as much
sense as his postings

POPEYE

Trying to get China seriously interested in League could be the smartest thing to happen in the game
since Beetson led the freedom fight against NSW. Having watched every moment telecast by the ABC
during the Paralympics it's plain to see that Chinese athletes welcome any chance to stand out from
their fellow millions.

If a bloke can learn to swim multiple lengths of an Olympic pool with no arms and be ultra competitive
able bodied men will have no trouble carrying a ball 100 metres. If Manly and Canberra can awaken this
giant it could come back to bite us but imagine the exposure. Best of all, they would play for the glory
alone so enforcing the cap would not be an issue.

POPEYE

Said I wouldn't watch a pissant match but the esky was in a warm place close to a huge Samsung.
I had the last laugh though, my outrageous views comparing NRL record books to the bible were sadly
substantiated.

Even though it would be interesting to see how officialdom are going to again exclude Melbourne
I promise not to hypocritically watch another debacle

POPEYE

Nothing to do with 'finals footy' so no need for anyone to get their balls in a knot. Maybe the referee
problem could be solved for next year by reverting back to one referee with two quick witted officials in
the video box.

If the two blokes in the box spot anything important the referee misses or may have got wrong they let
him know. He can then either stop play immediately, wait until the next tackle or attacking movement
is finalised or disregard the advice altogether. All this should be done completely incognito with no
avenue for public repercussion after the game.

This gives the referee an escape window by which he can change a decision without detracting from
the medieval right of masochistic officialdom not to lose face even at the expense of doing the right thing.
To compensate for any extra small amount of time added to the game all video replays during
the game should only be adjudicated upon in real time . . . no slow motion for anything.

Of course all this means at least 8 men who can think on the move will have to be found. Maybe even
entice champion ex players to learn by throwing filfthy amounts of money at them. I'm sure a quick
thinker like Lockyer could do ten years whistling for big bucks.

POPEYE

On paper it seems Flanagan is buying anyone for next year that wants to prove a point but I think he's
more astute than that. Nothing will make up for losing arguably one of the best three second rowers in
the game to Newcastle but the players he's recruiting are part of his grand plan.

Heighington is the enforcer to replace Smith. Ryan's morale value is greater than his expertise as a
player and so on. What has to be remembered is Flanagan is not blatantly attempting a quick fix by
poaching. If he wants to be a supercoach he knows the only way is to make mountains from mole hills.

His job is made easier however if his players don't need time spent on getting them up for it. Most of his
recruits realise it's the Sharks or the bush so next year will be make or break for everyone concerned.

POPEYE

Maybe it's finally starting to catch on. Looking for coaches who have the experience of tutelage by
great coaches instead of chasing ones who already have the runs on the board. Don't get me wrong,
Hasler is one of the top four and therefore deserves to be shown the money, but the Dogs' heirarchy
deserve nothing.

Souths winning the pissant cup if it happens is nothing compared to the accolades they deserve for
bringing us a new supercoach. The cup should be melted down and badges of honor made for the
Rabbitoh management for the great 'real' season they provided, with hopefully many more to come.

If the Tigers do send their dinosaur to the island as in Durassic Park maybe Mat Parish might become
a revelation in an area full of ammunition too big for a popgun. Nothing wrong with Sheens staying in
an advisory role if someone like Parish has the balls Maguire has shown but how Tim will handle ten
Marshalls shooting him in the foot is beyond me.

ek999

Why do the Dogs heirarchy deserve nothing Pops. They won the minor premiership which you think is better then the grand final and recruited Des Hasler who as you say is one of the best coaches in the comp. Done pretty well if you ask me.

POPEYE

In my twisted world the future of League is in it's coaching. Manly's fault that Hasler wasn't given the
pedestal he deserved but what he did with the Dogs can't be attributed in any way to management.
They simply went out and bought a great engine and bolted on the best go fast bits they could find.

Max Krilich the other day was saying Melbourne players should hand back their rings. Dear old Max
came from an era where the ball had to be won and uppercuts were obligatory. Manly liked him
because he wouldn't fall down . . . only because he didn't know which direction the ground.

The Dogs won the real premiership sure, which they would have done with Bellamy, Maguire or good
ol' Benny, given exactly the same set of circumstances. The difference is that just as if Newcastle
had of won, the Dogs are reproducing what Manly did when winning Max's so-called creditable premiership
rings before Hasler did it the right way.

Just to add, what Souths and Cronulla are doing towards perpetuating the game by showing faith in
up and coming coaches far outstrips what the Dogs have done as a quick fix but saying that the club itself
loses no credibility when supporters are considered, no matter how f**king boring it is.

Nice Beaver

Anyway, about my washtub...I just used it that morning to wash my turkey, which in those days was known as a "walking bird". We'd always have walking bird on Thanksgiving with all the trimmings: cranberries, Injun eyes, yams stuffed with gunpowder. Then we'd all watch football, which in those days was called "baseball."

POPEYE

How do you know you have a nice beaver . . . check it out on the way to shoving your head
up your arse do you

Nice Beaver

We can't bust heads like we used to, but we have our ways. One trick is to tell 'em stories that don't go anywhere - like the time I caught the ferry over to Shelbyville. I needed a new heel for my shoe, so, I decided to go to Morganville, which is what they called Shelbyville in those days. So I tied an onion to my belt, which was the style at the time. Now, to take the ferry cost a nickel, and in those days, nickels had pictures of bumblebees on 'em. Give me five bees for a quarter, you'd say.
Now where were we? Oh yeah: the important thing was I had an onion on my belt, which was the style at the time. They didn't have white onions because of the war. The only thing you could get was those big yellow ones...

firechild

Anyway, about my washtub...I just used it that morning to wash my turkey, which in those days was known as a "walking bird". We'd always have walking bird on Thanksgiving with all the trimmings: cranberries, Injun eyes, yams stuffed with gunpowder. Then we'd all watch football, which in those days was called "baseball."

:lol::lol:

POPEYE

now that's a riposte :clap:

Suppose I could have let Max's remarks slip and not stir up those who won't travel but wtf. I lived through
the raping and pillaging from Arko's mob and was just as disappointed at Hasler's departure as anyone else

POPEYE

Well there you go. I got full of turps and watched the game with my son-in-law, something I didn't
intentionally set out to do. Lo and behold, the first try by Slater made a laughing stock of finals footy
being the epitome of the League season.

That the record books should just show winners each year with no regard for bullshit decisions along
the way is detrimental to the game. If the final score had of been 10-8 in favour of the Storm we would
have had yet another fiasco.

POPEYE

Maybe I might spare time to see what decides the pissant cup. Best team of the year against
the best before Origin is as close as I'm ever going to get to recognising the result though.

The interest for me lies in the process. Looks as though suspensions won't play a part so will
losing a key player early in the game make a laughing stock of the result. Running the officialdom
gauntlet is of course standard procedure and is almost at the stage where the bookies will give
odds on f**kups.

The real question is how many League supporters won't give a shit what happens next week.
The only two teams that Einstein would say deserve to be in the contest are there but what
about the rest of the League public who are going to suffer premature ejaculation. Most won't
admit it but the third game of SOO would be a far more fitting way to end '12

POPEYE

Just back from the beautiful Sunshine Coast where all the talk is about wankerism at it's finest . . .
or 'immortals' in other words. Seems there was a 'grand' final down here but most in the Land of Origin
are interested only in taking the piss about the Johns who'll never die. All this fuss over magazine
subscriptions.

Seems the Dally M's got it all wrong for the record book fanatics who take the pissant cup seriously.
Maybe the awards should be made after the last game of the year . . . embarassing how Craig handled
Des and Billy wiped Ben. Just watching Inu get that f**king smile shoved up his arse almost made me
think the cup is worthwhile