Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

reni maitua for 2 years

Wendell Sailor had two years off and he kept fit, then slotted straight back in after a few dusty games.

A lot of his "form" was off the back of playing on the wing for the most competitive team in the comp though?

Paul Carige would have looked good playing for St George.

A lot of his "form" was off the back of playing on the wing for the most competitive team in the comp though?

Paul Carige would have looked good playing for St George.

I bet INU! wouldn't. ;-)

Anyways, I think that everyone knows that it will be a challenge. On our side is that Bellamy & Sheens thought it was worth the punt as well.

Gigolo

Well it's a better signing than Webb.

Parra have signed players in the past that were supposedly no good or past their peak, and most have turned their careers around and put together some decent seasons. I'll remain a bit iffy on the Webb signing, but I love the Reni signing.

He'll be coming in at a good time too, we could have Mannah and Poore missing some weeks for SOO. He may not be a prop but it's perfect timing for an experienced forward to turn up.

Mate, Justin Poore will only be missing at SOO time if there is a Cream Puffs convention and all the participants are held at a compound in lockdown.

He is without doubt the most overpriced and underperformed Prop Forward in the game. Your 'management' team must be ruing the decision to sign him for 350K PA for 3 years.

If they could get anyone to bite they would move him on poste haste but sadly nobody is that silly. Who wants an overpriced soft marshmellow as a marquee forward???

Not even the English Super League clubs are desperate enough to take someone like Poore and they are generally really dumb.

sarahk

Mate, Justin Poore will only be missing at SOO time if there is a Cream Puffs convention and all the participants are held at a compound in lockdown.

He is without doubt the most overpriced and underperformed Prop Forward in the game. Your 'management' team must be ruing the decision to sign him for 350K PA for 3 years.

If they could get anyone to bite they would move him on poste haste but sadly nobody is that silly. Who wants an overpriced soft marshmellow as a marquee forward???

Not even the English Super League clubs are desperate enough to take someone like Poore and they are generally really dumb.

I have to disagree with you there.

Poore might have had a slow start, but he has definitely been one of our better props to date. The fact that you think he's a soft mashmellow just further outlines the fact that you probably haven't really watched any of parras games after the first few rounds. He has come good and will only get better with time.

Gigolo

From reading the posts in this thread, you either love him or hate him, very little middle ground.

I suggest, wait and see. Look at Weyman; didn't have the best of names when he came from Canberra. Look at him now, first class front rower.

Perhaps I walk around with rose coloured glasses and I may be the eternal optimist, but give this bloke the opportunity to prove (or otherwise) himself. He may well be the buy of the season for you guys.

By the way, commiserations for this year, I was hoping for Parra to make the finals.

Best wishes for 2011.

GO

Weyman was always a gun Prop forward. He did punch that poncey model boy Daniel Conn once in a game but that was just a footy issue that was unsavoury but nothing like what Maitua has been up too.

Weyman played junior rep footy and was a junior kangaroo. He would have progressed much faster but for a couple of knee recos.

The only doubt about Weyman was whether he would stand up, there was no doubting his talent.

Gigolo

I have to disagree with you there.

Poore might have had a slow start, but he has definitely been one of our better props to date. The fact that you think he's a soft mashmellow just further outlines the fact that you probably haven't really watched any of parras games after the first few rounds. He has come good and will only get better with time.

He's still starting from the bench!! A 350K player that comes on for the last 20 minutes when all the toughness is out of the game. He was just lucky to be part of a pretty strong Saints outfit, it lifted his currency and you guys paid too much, as you did with Morts.

Parramatta produce a heap of juniors and should be congratulated for that (we suck in that regard) but your signing and retention decisions leave a lot to be desired. You will have a pack next year that looks old. Fui is not the same player and neither is Hindmarsh (even though he is still very good) both are on the wrong side of 30 and now you have Webb and Maitua to add a bit more age.

I think at this rate you're on target to not win a title for over 30 years. Given the clubs wealth and the strength of your juniors, that is a pretty piss poor return and must be put down to incapable management.

I fail to see how starting from the bench makes you less valuable than a starting forward. Timmy Manah & Justin Poore have been awsome and at times play more game time than the starting props.

Weyman was always a gun Prop forward. He did punch that poncey model boy Daniel Conn once in a game but that was just a footy issue that was unsavoury but nothing like what Maitua has been up too.

Weyman played junior rep footy and was a junior kangaroo. He would have progressed much faster but for a couple of knee recos.

The only doubt about Weyman was whether he would stand up, there was no doubting his talent.

Rack another idiot up to my ignore list.........

forward pass

So if Webb is coming in to replace Cayless, and Maitua is in for Mateo, then we are going to have a top line player playing for Wenty as Shack will be back too.

If Ando wants to continue with a hooker rotation, then someone has to miss out. I can't imagine they would buy Webb or Maitua to play them at Wenty so who misses out?

bradeel

So if Webb is coming in to replace Cayless, and Maitua is in for Mateo, then we are going to have a top line player playing for Wenty as Shack will be back too.

If Ando wants to continue with a hooker rotation, then someone has to miss out. I can't imagine they would buy Webb or Maitua to play them at Wenty so who misses out?

rarely works as seamlessly as that. Players, especially forwards, get injured and suspended, so whilst its nice to think of what our best 17 is, it really is a generous hypothetical that rarely plays out. I recall us super concerned at the start of this year as to who our best back 5 would be, with Tahu joining the successful combo of Reddy, Inu, Burt, Grothe and Hayne. Became a problem we would have liked to have had to worry about in the end with Grothe missing heaps of games, Tahu also missing a handful, and Hayne not around during Origin. I seem to recall this 6 into 5 squeeze being an issue for about 2 games early in the season when Inu was the odd man out.

bradeel

But my 2c worth is that Shack would not be the one to miss out if he gets a full pre-season in and returns successfully from injury. Webb will be a serious work in progress and Maitua doesn't get to play until May, at which time he will still be rusty after 2 seasons out of the game.

Joely01

We have had the best prop forward rotation this year. What are you talking about? Poore has been very strong after about rd6 which a new player coming to a new club you come to exxpect a slow start from them.

If he is a soft overpaid marshmellow i dare you to stand infront of him and stop him.

whoever's injured :D

Casper The Ghost

Anyone else think the Eels have shown double standards here? A certain halfback who shall remain nameless was not signed because we were apparently trying to build a new culture at the club.

This is a quote from Paul Osborne

source: http://www.abc.net.au/7.30/content/2009/s2702545.htm

If you compare the two Maitua has a far worse record yet he was still signed. It was a dangerous statement to make at the time for when a player of questionable character was signed.
For the record I think the club should recruit whatever players possible to try and win a premiership (legally of course) and something like that should never be said again. If a player is valuable enough to a team any club will overlook their indiscretions and the Eels have shown they are no different.

By any chance is that Tim Smith?

Great Post Lucablight:clap::clap::clap::thumb

Casper The Ghost

As mentioned in another post yesterday. Reni could be made into a very good hooker. He can kick, has speed (unless he has lost it), good aggressive defender, solid body, has a good passing game (if I remember correctly) both left and right, loves talking on the field. Hooker may be the easiest position for Reni to quickly slot back into the NRL groove.

Benji Magic

Both very risky signings if you ask me.

Which local juniors are you going to have to let go to keep Maitua and Webb?
It's a long road back for both of them.
Maitua is years past his best, he was dogsh*t at the Sharks even before the drugs bust.

From what I have seen of Carl Webb he has been abysmal at the Cowboys this year ( along with the rest of 'em I suppose ).

Good luck next year.

Parraren

Both very risky signings if you ask me.

Which local juniors are you going to have to let go to keep Maitua and Webb?

Have you been living under a rock....?

Keating, Mateo & Inu are already gone & I don't think we'll be losing anymore given we still have $500k+ left to chase a halfback.

bradeel

Any talk of this being a risky move have absolutely no idea. This is a completely risk FREE move. Its all upside for Parra. They come cheaply, we have experienced forwards leaving the club regardless, and we have a solid pack of forwards without them, so if they perform in training or in the lower grades they'll only create competition for spots and provide depth in case of injury to the front liners.

The only possible risk i can imagine is whether two blokes with some baggage could do some damage to the culture of the club, but i am willing to be positive and say that with both having serious points to prove, they'll want to give things a red hot go and stay off the meat pies and the sauce respectively.

people are acting like we paid top dollar for webb and maitua nothing like it they are right out of the bargain bin any misbehaviour and they will be straight back in there but surely they must know this is their last chance if they get sacked from parra for disciplinary issues no other club will touch them