Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

reni maitua for 2 years

PB

I can't believe this!!!

The guy was caught HIGH RANGE drink driving MULTIPLE TIMES.

He is a DRUG CHEAT. He has been a gang member and was not the most reliable trainer.

He got kicked out of the Bulldogs at a time when you could rob a blind 95 year old woman and still keep your spot in first grade That's how big a virus he is.

Our club has truly lowered its standards, I am bitterly disappointed with this signing...

Djay

I can't believe this!!!

He is a DRUG CHEAT. He has been a gang member and was not the most reliable trainer.

He got kicked out of the Bulldogs at a time when you could rob a blind 95 year old woman and still keep your spot in first grade That's how big a virus he is.

Our club has truly lowered its standards, I am bitterly disappointed with this signing...
You don't think after a 2 year lay off from the game wouldn't have woken him up to how stupid what he was doing really was.

The break and change of clubs could do a world of good and it's happened before what about Todd Carney all he ever did was drink and get himself into trouble, now his my tip and many others tip to win the Dally M his been brilliant.

This could be a really good signing I have a good feeling about it and I rated Reni when he was at the Doggies.

boxhead

Wooo
Great signing!
I knew Jodeci was right, I told ya's!

Seriously though, I think this will be really good for us; he can provide that X factor, is brilliant at his best and is a definite replacement for Mateo when he comes back (if he comes good). Sounds like he is cheap too, he would have to be one of those 'bargain buys', like Carl was; we still have tonnes of dosh left for 'other' players ;-) and these two are still brilliant at their best.

Parra

I can't believe this!!!

Get over yourself mate. He is a footy player.

Your thinking is what saw blokes like Tim Smith & Todd Carney chased out of the game.

Meanwhile we are supposed to put up with people in the game who have caused genuine hurt & distress - but those jerks are afforded benefit of the doubt at a serious criminal standard.

Reni Matua is firmly in the hurt-noone-but-himself camp.

You wanker.

mrpwnd

I can't believe this!!!

Finally, some common sense.
The blokes still associated with the f**king bra boys, i'm sorry if I come off as a prejudiced dickhead here, but that's enough of an initiative for me to rate the bloke as low as possible. I remember reading an article long ago about this nutter howling on about how great his special 'surfing group' was.

He was scum even before he got caught with drugs.
2 years down the track I don't expect him to have changed one single bit.
I don't think Hindy would also be too happy being around this kind of trash.

Seriously, I thought we were rid of this kind of stuff after 07/08. I guess the 'no dickhead' policy is being reviewed and possibly scrapped?

I made the prediction about Webb and I will do so again for Maitua.

These 2 will be absolutely useless and will provide a Mortimer-esque contribution to our club - aka a losing culture.

FMD and I was excited at the prospect of us bringing in more blokes from Wenty, any one of them deserve to get a spot over these 2 nuts.

mrpwnd

Your thinking is what saw blokes like Tim Smith & Todd Carney chased out of the game.

Meanwhile we are supposed to put up with people in the game who have caused genuine hurt & distress - but those jerks are afforded benefit of the doubt at a serious criminal standard.

You wanker.
Oh piss off. What a ridiculous statement.
The Smith gamble has hardly worked in the sharks favor save for a few games this year.

Todd Carney was easily one of the biggest gambles yet, but really, I seriously doubt anyone actually had any expectation of him.

Just because there have been a few crazy blokes going back on track recently doesn't mean every single one of them is going to start being Gods best friend. Maitua has every right to bake some humble pie for me, but until then you, me and everyone else have every form of justification to label this bloke an idiot and a wasted signing.

PB

You wanker.

Putting his dubious character aside and the rumored things that he has done which have hurt other people, on the things he has been charged with, he has hurt no-one but himself through sheer luck.

When you lose a family member to a drunk driver - come and see me!!!!

big boppa eel

Wooo
Great signing!
I knew Jodeci was right, I told ya's!

Seriously though, I think this will be really good for us; he can provide that X factor, is brilliant at his best and is a definite replacement for Mateo when he comes back (if he comes good). Sounds like he is cheap too, he would have to be one of those 'bargain buys', like Carl was; we still have tonnes of dosh left for 'other' players ;-) and these two are still brilliant at their best.
Ah maybe u should come down a little Boxhead one is overweight and lazy at the MOMENT, but has some potential and the other has a record as long as ur arm and hasn't played for 2 years, I dont mind either of these signings but u appear very easily pleased, would love to c u if we signed a big name lol.

So Reni won't be showing up till May, so thats at least two months before Mateo this season............

Oh piss off. What a ridiculous statement.
The Smith gamble has hardly worked in the sharks favor save for a few games this year.

Todd Carney was easily one of the biggest gambles yet, but really, I seriously doubt anyone actually had any expectation of him.

Just because there have been a few crazy blokes going back on track recently doesn't mean every single one of them is going to start being Gods best friend. Maitua has every right to bake some humble pie for me, but until then you, me and everyone else have every form of justification to label this bloke an idiot and a wasted signing.

You have expectations of Reni after two years out of the game?

Craig Johnston

i'd imagine most of the money still in reserve (200-300k) for a marquee is the unused increase in marquee player allowance and allowable club 3rd party contribution.

so we'd only need 150-200k in normal cap space leftover to put up a decent offer for a big name signing.

Tin Man 4.24

Taking on just one of these guys is a risk, but signing both Carl Webb and Reni Matua at the same time could prove to be a disaster. One off-field incident from either of these 2 (whether a bad attitude towards training or driving drunk) could ruin a season, and worse destabilise the club.

I'm happy to give most people a second chance (or in Reni's case a third), and I hope this turns out well for the club, fans and players, but this could go pear-shaped very quickly. I just hope that if the time comes the club are strong enough to march either of these guys if they do the wrong thing.

muznik

Im happier with this signing than Webb.

As for gang member etc..the Bra Boys was formed more out of necessity to combat other gangs then the usual home boy crap. Im not holding that against Reni.

With regards to Quade, i got an email today from a business partner that runs a web based business. They have put together Quade's website and have come on board as a personal sponsor. The guy at the helm of the business is a massive Union & Qld fan. I took this as a sign that things were lining up to keep Quade in RU.

im giving the club some benefit of the doubt maybe these two have shown some sign they want to turn their lives around its not like either of them is costing a fortune plus if things go well i like the idea that our club has helped these two get back on their feet and start living productive lives again the roosters took a punt on carney and look how it's paid off for them
i just hope there are special zero tolerance clauses in their contracts if there is any drugs or drink driving your contract will be torn up on the spot

Djay

Let's be honest here, Is DA really that stupid? Surely they have some type of clause in their contract and I'm sure he will work them hard and wake them up to the fact that he will not take sh*t and there not here for a holiday.

If he hasn't then he can piss off in 2012.

Let's be honest here, Is DA really that stupid? Surely they have some type of clause in their contract and I'm sure he will work them hard and wake them up to the fact that he will not take sh*t and there not here for a holiday.

If he hasn't then he can piss off in 2012.
im sure there is mate no way the club would leave themselves open to a loss like that maybe ando's hard nosed coaching is what helped bring them to parra knowing he won't let them slide and they will get the discipline they need