Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Retro Games

Bulldog Force

Need a review on the d pad performance.
Ok mate well after testing it yesterday, I have no complaints about it. The D pad itself handles exactly like the xbox, the button positioning is identical and the steering and camera sticks work no problem. The USB hardware installs itself as soon as you plug it in on windows 7 (as you'd expect), as the L1, L2, R1, R2 buttons perform like the real deal.

If it had the trademark xbox X logo in the centre of the gamepad, you would be fooled into thinking that's what you were using.

axl rose

2j2fhqd.jpg

The Westwood days.

Bulldog Force

Anyone reckon if Alex The Kidd will ever be remade?
My friend, you made the mistake so many people make. It's not Alex 'the' Kidd, it's simply 'Alex Kidd'. The word 'Kidd' does not specify that he's a child, 'Kidd' is the characters surname.

As for remake, I'd love to see it happen but it won't for 2 reasons:

• Sega don't want to loose that classic retro 8 bit look that comes with him, and;
  • Sonic is who Sega have chosen to live on as their long-term mascot. Alex Kidd went over the hill with Wonder Boy and Psycho Fox unfortunately.

Micistm

Anyone get the 'Retro Gamer' mag on a regular basis or subscribe? Damn good read most months.

Question to ponder: Over the years, title for title system for system- Whats your all time favourite game?
For me, I'd have to say Doom/Doom 2

Bulldog Force

Micistm it's very very hard for me to pick a single game, but the following 5 games would make it into my top 10 - however in no specific order;

• Streets of Rage 1 - Sega Master System
  • Urban Chaos - Windows
  • GTA 4 - Windows
  • Hitman 2: Silent Assassin - Windows
  • Scorched Earth - DOS

Bulldog Force

A few others that make mention;

• Tekken 3 - Playstation
  • Grand Theft Auto (original) - Playstation
  • Juiced - X-Box
  • FIFA - Road to World Cup 98 - Windows
  • Sonic the Hodgehog II - Sega Master System

Micistm

Awesome dude. Let us know what you think when it arrives :)

Arrived today. Haven't tried it out yet, but first impression is excellent. Slightly light, but in all other ways a good sturdy controller, and astounding for the price! Cheers for the link!:)

Bulldog Force

Arrived today. Haven't tried it out yet, but first impression is excellent. Slightly light, but in all other ways a good sturdy controller, and astounding for the price! Cheers for the link!:)
No worries mate. Yep mine is light too, but I don't think that's too much of a bad thing - in case it drops by accident, less impact and less chance of damage :D - astounding for $3 indeed.

Misanthrope

Maybe it's that Mac users had the graphical and tactical superiority of Myth to tide them over, but I've always felt like Command & Conquer was grossly overrated.

Now Civ... I could play Civ 2 (gold edition, of course) all day.

Myth was released a full 2 years after C&C on both PC and Mac (I played it on PC myself). Hardly an apples to apples comparison, given that 2 years in the gaming world is an eternity, particularly back then. The only thing that could compete with C&C at the time was Warcraft II - which had, and still has to this day, unit-caps based on food resource. C&C was the first RTS to allow the player to build as many units as he wished. It was graphically ahead of the curve, had great lore and may have been the first game to include full FMV sequences between levels - not just animations. It was quite revolutionary for it's time.

EA buying Westwood was one of the most horrible things to happen in the gaming industry. I live in hope that one day the C&C IP will leave EA's hands, and someone will eventually reboot it in all it's former glory.

Misanthrope

Warcraft II - which had, and still has to this day, unit-caps based on food resource. C&C was the first RTS to allow the player to build as many units as he wished. It was graphically ahead of the curve, had great lore and may have been the first game to include full FMV sequences between levels - not just animations. It was quite revolutionary for it's time.

I felt WarCraft II, while cartoonish, was graphically superior to C&C.

Apologies for the Myth/C&C mix-up. We got Command & Conquer on Mac later than PC users did. Still an issue, tbh.