Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RL independence day arrives - NRL Independent Commission announced

docbrown

Both the CRL and NSWRL will be under intense pressure to start meeting key performance indicators otherwise there will be some quick changes in management.

What do they think the CRL needs to do that it is not doing now? And why would they think they know what needs to be done in the bush more than people FROM the bush? The NRL has already scrapped City/Country, failed to bring back things like the Country Carnival etc etc. It's not the CRL that needs shaking up. It's the NRL-centric, club bias, Sydney elite who are making these decisions that need a kick up the arse.

I know who deserves more of the blame. The CRL does what it can. The NRL does not. The reasons the game is struggling in some places is due mainly to outside factors, but the NRL hasn't done much to help.

Ronnie Dobbs

I know who deserves more of the blame. The CRL does what it can. The NRL does not. The reasons the game is struggling in some places is due mainly to outside factors, but the NRL hasn't done much to help.

Ok. I agree on the outside factors.

But if the CRL has been unable to do anything, because the NRL has been sitting on its hands, concerned only with the NRL comp, as J Grant rightly pointed out was only ever responsible for the premier comp and the ARL were too useless to get anything for the game, then if that structure has now changed and the ARLC can distribute funds and devise a strategy with the CRL body that is now under its auspices and use the CRL's existing set up of running bush comps, but give it more money and have Gallop being held accountable for that, then isn't there every chance that the CRL will be better off?

You're just raging against the power blok being abolished. The CRL will get funding and support, but they'll have to do things to a standard and not be a chook raffle organisation any longer.

Same goes for all the old institutions. You're just displaying your own self interest in this thread mate.

You sound like George Piggins. Stay as pig headed as you want and hold on to your grudges. Fact is, now we CAN do something about the game in the country. You just don't like it beacuse the old boys won't be able to do as they please.

f**k the old ways and welcome to 2012.

docbrown

So is it the CRL or NRL's fault that the game is struggling in the bush?

The NRL never really had the resources to fund it and besides, they were the structure for the competition not the governing body. I think some people get confused about this point.

The ARL & CRL were the governing bodies.

Now the ARLC is the governing body and presides over the NSWRL, QLDRL & CRL - so the buck now stops with them. Unlike the NRL the ARLC run both the elite competition, grassroots and international profile - so all the eggs are in the one basket.

Ronnie Dobbs

The NRL never really had the resources to fund it and besides, they were the structure for the competition not the governing body. I think some people get confused about this point.

The ARL & CRL were the governing bodies.

Now the ARLC is the governing body and presides over the NSWRL, QLDRL & CRL - so the buck now stops with them. Unlike the NRL the ARLC run both the elite competition, grassroots and international profile - so all the eggs are in the one basket.

I am aware of that mate. It was directed at ECT to make my point, which you have supported.

docbrown

I am aware of that mate. It was directed at ECT to make my point, which you have supported.

I was agreeing with you.

To me the problem comes back to a lack of funds & resources & too much bureaucracy without enough oversight.

There are no excuses now - everything comes back to ARLC.

Raiderdave

No shit it's been based there. That's where the office is. But everyone who works there is from the bush and they asnwer to the Groups that exist in the bush. Are you suggesting they aren't a country comp because the office is at Phillip Street? Are you really that f**king stupid? I bet you wouldn't even know who the CRL executive is, never mind where they are from and who they represent. Yet you tell me I know nothing! And if the CRL is going to be a sub-committee and the CRL can't organise anything, according to you, how is this situation any better? You're contradicting yourself you tard.

I'm suggesting you don't know sh.it from clay

about the CRL ( a wombat could look up their exec on line :roll:)

or

anything else for that matter

the CRL is a joke
& has been for 40 years ;-)

Raiderdave

What do they think the CRL needs to do that it is not doing now? And why would they think they know what needs to be done in the bush more than people FROM the bush? The NRL has already scrapped City/Country, failed to bring back things like the Country Carnival etc etc. It's not the CRL that needs shaking up. It's the NRL-centric, club bias, Sydney elite who are making these decisions that need a kick up the arse.

ooh
I dunno

run the game properly for starters in the bush ;-)

typicalfan

Country Rugby League has been the backbone of league in this state. Whether you agree or not. The CRL itself might not be all that great but its health is very important.

Raiderdave

Country Rugby League has been the backbone of league in this state. Whether you agree or not. The CRL itself might not be all that great but its health is very important.

never said it wasn't

but now we have some brains in the ARLC ... & the CRL is answerable to said commission
things may get done right for the first time in 40 odd years in the bush.;-)

Oh so it's just the usual "CRL are crap" with no facts to back this up. Thought so. And from some clown who doesn't know anything about the CRL, probably never had any involvement with the game in the bush, or even anywhere for that matter. You wouldn't even know what needs to be done or by whom. So all your shit about "not running the game properly" has no substance whatsoever. You have NFI what needs to be done in the bush.

M2D2

Im sorry when i read the article "Youre On Notice" I just laughed at the BULLSHIT some of you will listen to Just because you hate Gallop.

Ronnie Dobbs

Oh so it's just the usual "CRL are crap" with no facts to back this up. Thought so. And from some clown who doesn't know anything about the CRL, probably never had any involvement with the game in the bush, or even anywhere for that matter. You wouldn't even know what needs to be done or by whom. So all your shit about "not running the game properly" has no substance whatsoever. You have NFI what needs to be done in the bush.

You obviously have been very closely linked to the inner sanctum at the CRL. Thankyou for your time, passion and efforts. I say that in all sincerity.

I also say this in all sincerity - the CRL board are dinosaurs and their time has come.

So, tell us exactly what needs to be done in the bush. As someone from the bush who has been involved with bush footy I have my own ideas, but they are obviously wrong in your opinion. You sound like John Raper or Tom Raudonikis rubbishing the present and living in the past.

Whether you like it or not ECT, its a different world now. You can yell and scream all you like. It won't change the fact.

In your opinion, how long has the game in the bush got? 1 year? 2? Or does it cease to exist as of now, as you seem to believe.

Will you walk away? Will you try and sabotage whats going to happen? Will you play the political game in other words?

Thats exactly waht people in the bush are sick of. Everyone. And I mean everyone, who I have spoken to in bush footy over the last 6 months says that the IC is the best thing to happen to the game in their life times. The only ones who say it isn't are the ones who have something to lose.

Come in here and belt me over the head if you're right. I'll happily turn up to be lambasted.

Will you?

Parra

I agree ronnie. f**k the country hicks. There's f**k all pay tv subscriptions out there anyway.

Ronnie Dobbs

I agree ronnie. f**k the country hicks. There's f**k all pay tv subscriptions out there anyway.

Whatever mate. I want the game to flourish in the bush. More than anything. I am a country boy to the core.

I think it will.

Time will tell.

jbl31649

Ok, but we get to keep all taxes made by Mining, Farming, Tourism etc.

Well start our own comp let's call it the Tinkler Cup, Sponsered by John Singleton, BHP, Coal & Allied, Xstrata and every other mining company, all the wineries etc.

Rusty can set up headquarters at Coffs and will put in a fast rail link behind the Mountains connecting the Illawarra, Riverina, Hunter, West, North West and North Coast.

Well get to $1.4b in no time and you can have the Sydney comp, where locals gang bash teams if they lose.

Teams:
Newcastle, Hunter, Illawarra,Nowra, Orange,Mugee,Armidale, Wagga, Canberra, Port Maquarie, Tweed, Lismore, Dubbo, Tamworth, Burke (long road trip there), probably a couple more.