Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RLWC Pros and Cons

My recommendations for a global drinking session
England: Black Sheep Bitter (for a cold day) (or Old Peculiar if you want to fall over)
USA: Pintail IPA
Australia: Little Creatures Pale Ale
NZ: Monteiths Raddler (for a hot day)
Wales: Trunk and Bun Cherry Chocolate Stout (dessert and beer at the same time!)
Scotland: Brewdog Punk IPA
Ireland: Kilkenny Irish Cream Ale
France: Kronenburg 1664
Italy: Peroni

Cant say I've tried any Fiji, PNG, Lebanon Samoan or Tongan beers yet. Pacific Islands Special mention to the guys at Matutu Brewery on Rarotonga Cook Islands who didn't qualify but brew a mean drop!

Think I need a trip to Dan Murphys!

Emu01

Pro : The tv ratings, the buzz around Townsville and magnetic island everywhere you looked there was players coaches promoting the game, the national anthems,PNG crowd cheering every hitup and tackle,the channel 7 commentary team is a breath of fresh air.

Con. Trying to get people interested in international rugby league.

Crowds at some games not all but some..

Con: The price of the jerseys I went to buy one at Townsville airport I’m not joking the wanted $200 dollars for an Aussie jersey.. I’m hoping to buy one cheaper at the game.

Why are jerseys so expensive in Australia/NZ? I could get the same shirt cheaper back in the UK.

One of lifes mysteries! You can buy the same jersey in the UK, pay postage and still save around $85! And the exchange rate isn't that great at the moment either.

Anyone who went to a Rd1 game, did they have merch stalls at the games?

deluded pom?

They had stalls at the NZ v Samoa match but not much variety. I know you could buy the Kiwi jersey and a few generic WC ones but I'm not sure if the Samoa jersey was available.

jim_57

(Major) CON -

Today we had a NZ ref for NZ V Scotland and an English ref for England V Lebanon.. whilst the Australian neutral refs did what exactly?

I know it wouldn't have changed the results but how f**king geniused is that seriously?

TheVelourFog

The insularity/apathy of some fans. If it's not their club they don't care. Too many Australians have always had this attitude towards the international game.

give me a break

some people have zero interest in watching Australia flog second-rate teams on their way to an inevitable WC win

some people love it, good for them gives them something to do in the off-season

but don't presume to tell people what they should enjoy

Force

Pro: Tonga v Samoa showed a lot of passion and respect before tearing each other apart. I was at the game and the crowd was deafening.
Pro: Eng v Lebanon 29-10...thats a victory for the little guy and for International Rugby League. England were gifted some soft calls including that drop ball try.

Con: Agree with above, what are Kiwi and Pommy refs doing officiating their own countries games? I know we have some crap refs in the game but surely, they could get another crap ref from another Country, wont hurt.

(Major) CON -

Today we had a NZ ref for NZ V Scotland and an English ref for England V Lebanon.. whilst the Australian neutral refs did what exactly?

I know it wouldn't have changed the results but how f**king geniused is that seriously?
It remains one of the dumbest things about Int RL. It is set up that way to benefit Australia of course. The other poor decisions are a consequence.

Same as last week..
Cons: Australian fans, nonsense ticketing strategy, non-neutral refs.
Pros: The Lebanese effort against England, Samoa v Tonga, and
and
The absolutely dazzling brand of football the Kiwis played against Scotland. Yes it was a walkover but the way they did it was as entertaining as I've ever seen a side play.
IF they pull that out against England or Australia we are in for a treat

PRO.... this is a proper world cup, footy hooligans, kiwi streaker, players getting the sack while on the cans... player mistaken a arm for a kebab... despite the poor crowds really loving the world cup... its been hilarious and very entertaining.

Rory

CON - Pacific domination, don't tell me this is good for the world cup, seriously. don't. Its f**king awful to watch, and i've really had a gutful. Injuries grrrrrr

hutch

Pro - all the pacific teams.

Con - the British teams and France. Far more blowouts than previous world cups.

Force

Con: who are the idiots who scheduled the Italy v US and PNG v Ire games at the same times.

Force

CON - Pacific domination, don't tell me this is good for the world cup, seriously. don't. Its f**king awful to watch, and i've really had a gutful. Injuries grrrrrr
The likes of Wales & Scotland lack depth, hence their poor showing without their unavailable players. The Pacific teams have good depth so can still put out credible scores even though they maybe missing many front line players, especially Samoa and Tonga. Fiji not so much depth as the other two.

magpie_man

PROs: Last night I dropped a mate home at Merrylands (Western Sydney) - literally hundreds of Tonga fans dancing in the streets, honking their horns, waving their flags and celebrating their win.
"A meaningless World Cup" - my eye!

Pro - the whole NZ/Tonga spectacle. Awesome

Con - the group stage format. Samoa qualify with 0 wins from 3 matches. Ireland could (likely will) miss out out with 2 wins from 3 matches.

That is ludicrous.

They need to move to 4 groups of 4 at the next event.