Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rnd 13: vs Sharks

Dezziedc

Exactly! And this is the only way they should go if they want Thompson in the backrow. It is the only choice a good head coach would make.

Look Quinlan tries his heart out but he is no Dugan. At the back Dugan has been our trump card and so there is no good reason to move him.

You know if the Board is considering Daley for head coach and McGregor as assistant coach, I could see the reason why McGregor is selecting Dugan at right centre.

You see this is what I don't quite understand about people on these forums. In the post above you say that Runcimen is not playing well for the cutters, but in the next post you say to bring him into the side anyway because that is what any good coach would do?

Then he comes in, doesn't perform and it's "Get rid of Runciman". Nothing anybody does is going to be good enough or right.

jenninga

I'd love to see Runciman selected however, his form in the Cutters has not been good of late. If Mary wanted him in the team and wanted Thompson in the forwards, the why not put Mata'Utia at right centre and Ruciman on the left wing.

Classic possm.Down on form but pick him anyway.
And good to see you spelt his name correctly.Uh oh.

TruSaint

Should be a cracker of a game.

Sharks have the better defence ( 260 conceded to our 285 ).
We have the better attack ( 189 scored to 155 ).

Riveting viewing this one.

Mr Red

So according to nrl stats guru sharks have 11 players from their first grade squad out injured....
And it's everyone's favourite son Dan Hunts 150 first grade game...

Surely we can't lose this one ... 11 players unavailable !!!!!

GT0007

You're wrong about Runciman and Matautia defending next to each other btw. If Runciman came into the team, he would be defending next to Beale. Matautia would be defending next to Nightingale.

You must not be watching Gypsy's poor reads with having no confidence in his centre since Farrell was injured? Other than 1 sensational game in defence Beale rushes up and misses often. Likewise Runciman had a great game the other week in defence yet has had horrors this year and that is in NSW Cup.

It would help if our defense wasn't always under pressure. Quinlan is pretty safe usually under the high ball and is as good at cleaning up the grubber as Soward was. His size is not in his favour and I don't see him stopping rampaging players close to the line so for me he is not an NRL fullback. The way he plays is at 6 or 7. Dugan is being given a chance to see if he can be an outside back for NSW & if it is successful we will benefit but the reality is if u only complete 50% of sets there will be no weakness in the defense and u won't spend any time at the right end of the field and clearly as we have seen it doesn't matter who is In ur backline or where they are selected

GT0007

Quinlan touched the ball 33 times for 50 metres.....................
Playing fullback.

Duges, out of position, with 18 possessions makes 105 metres.

Ohh and by the way Dugan made 22 tackles t Quinlans 7.

Please show me another FB in the comp with 50 metres next to their name.

Experiment failed. Put Dugan back to his position.

Show me another team with 50% completion and I will show u Darius Boyd under performing and he is a current International. So don't focus on problems and focus on the causes. Otherwise Widdop, Nightingale etc are shit too. We have too many errors and can't defend them but ref decisions especially in the ruck are a joke!

We'll win this. I think we'll flog them actually. But that's hardly the point.

This.

It is hardly a confidence booster. It's not like beating say the chooks, bunnies etc. it's a shitty NSW cup team effectively, even likely to have a 20's player out there.

Now you blokes be kind to the kids okay

getsmarty

This.

It is hardly a confidence booster. It's not like beating say the chooks, bunnies etc. it's a shitty NSW cup team effectively, even likely to have a 20's player out there.

Now you blokes be kind to the kids okay

You may be surprised...Wet weather football has a way of evening things up.

tumbidragon

Well, after a few delicious rums I put 50 of the punters clubs hard earned on us to take out the win.. Why the f**k not ;)

Classic possm.Down on form but pick him anyway.
And good to see you spelt his name correctly.Uh oh.

Please read again. That only applies if Mary wants to select him in first grade. I don't believe he is playing well enough to be selected in first grade.

TruSaint

Show me another team with 50% completion and I will show u Darius Boyd under performing and he is a current International. So don't focus on problems and focus on the causes. Otherwise Widdop, Nightingale etc are shit too. We have too many errors and can't defend them but ref decisions especially in the ruck are a joke!

I was purely talking about our kick returns mate.
We lose field position immediately with Quinny at the back.
Oh and by the way, Widdop is way out of form, but he is in the halves.
Different role / different expectations.
As to our completions, well what can I say. Catch and pass exercises may help.

TruSaint

Well, after a few delicious rums I put 50 of the punters clubs hard earned on us to take out the win.. Why the f**k not ;)

Hey tumbi, if you dont collect on this game, then give it up bud.
Whack the next 50 on the rums... cant lose :D

God-King Dean

This season is a write off, but I'm still pretty pumped for this game. As bad a sit is, we really need this win to kick away from the bottom of the ladder.

SAINTS!

The Dragons and the Tigers need to do everyone a favour, and keep the battle for the Spoon alive.

By beating their respective teams this weekend, they can leave the Knights and Sharks languishing on six points, keeping the race for the Spoon exciting, and at the same time, put some space between us and them.

If I were a betting man, My money for the Spoon would be on the Sharks.

I just hope the boys step up. I'll be very sad if we loose to that rabble.

TruSaint

The Dragons and the Tigers need to do everyone a favour, and keep the battle for the Spoon alive.

By beating their respective teams this weekend, they can leave the Knights and Sharks languishing on six points, keeping the race for the Spoon exciting, and at the same time, put some space between us and them.

If I were a betting man, My money for the Spoon would be on the Sharks.

I just hope the boys step up. I'll be very sad if we loose to that rabble.

If we lose to this depleted mob, we should deserve the spoon.

The Enforcer

A tough game for us as in everyone expected us to win easily and if we didn't, then oh shit. A real no win deal for us but a win is gold.

BrissyRedV

Our pack was improved, especially with Hunt out, but we were against a 2nd rate side. In attack, we ran in numbers for once and looked to make some good metres, but still struggled to get quick play the balls. We were also very flat at times in attack and not hitting the ball at pace. In defence, we still conceded plenty of metres and we just seem to not get the same numbers that other teams get into the rucks to slow them down.

It was an improvement, but we still need more to compete with anyone above us on the ladder. Matthews was largely ineffective and needs to be replaced. Aioli or O'Brien need to get a shot otherwise how do you if they can handle it or not? They would add some size as well.