Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rnd 15 vs Storm team list thread

Whatever happens we will cop some sort of bagging

Win easily - Storm had so many out we got lucky

A close tough win - see above

Storm tough win - we are shit

Storm win easily - we are shit and we stink

Pretty what the headlines will be Friday.

Loss = SLIPPING EELS
Win = EELS DEFEAT SECOND STRING STORM

Tbh, I don't know what result I'm expecting. Ive heard so many "should wins" and "by how many" over the weeks, the team shouldn't be reading their own press. Just turn up and bash whoever is playing, get back to basics in attack, talk to each other.

TheRam

I'm never usually that confident about winning but I reckon we'll win easy on Thursday, 13+.

You'd think and yet no one sane fills any real confidence that we will. What a terrible indictment on our coach, that we just re-signed for another two freakin years of this.

84 Baby

You'd think and yet no one sane fills any real confidence that we will. What a terrible indictment on our coach, that we just re-signed for another two freakin years of this.
Bullshit! Regardless of who the coach is, you’d feel the same way

TheRam

Bullshit! Regardless of who the coach is, you’d feel the same way

Yeah right fool. If we had a coach that actually had them up and playing WELL and winning 9 times out of 10 or there about I would be very pleased. Throw in the occasional premiership and I would be ecstatic.

TheRam

Agree. If you're not wary of Storm notwithstanding injuries, you're a fool.

Mate if we don't towel up this Storm team then we have major issues. This Storm team should get beat by at least 20 or 30 points and we should look comfortable and good doing it. We should be able to tear them up the middle and then burn them on the edges with short inside/outside passes to our backrowers that will be running great lines or halves that know how to draw the defender/s by going to the line at just the right depth and actually passing the ball to our centres with pace and time in front of them.

Oh who am I kidding. We will be as clunky as always and the apologists here will say the Storms systems, no matter who is in are so great that a close win or loss was to be expected. We are just fine. The coach is great. All is good in the world.

Oh except Orange Man is bad.

84 Baby

Yeah right fool. If we had a coach that actually had them up and playing WELL and winning 9 times out of 10 or there about I would be very pleased. Throw in the occasional premiership and I would be ecstatic.
You can’t blame the current person for the build up historic failures. You’d have felt the same way with each coach since the early 90s and you’d feel the same way if we told BA to f**k off today and instated whatever other f**ken coach you wanted.

84 Baby

Mate if we don't towel up this Storm team then we have major issues. This Storm team should get beat by at least 20 or 30 points and we should look comfortable and good doing it. We should be able to tear them up the middle and then burn them on the edges with short inside/outside passes to our backrowers that will be running great lines or halves that know how to draw the defender/s by going to the line at just the right depth and actually passing the ball to our centres with pace and time in front of them.

Oh who am I kidding. We will be as clunky as always and the apologists here will say the Storms systems, no matter who is in are so great that a close win or loss was to be expected. We are just fine. The coach is great. All is good in the world.

Oh except Orange Man is bad.
I’m all for not showing too much respect for opponents, but there’s a slim difference between not giving them respect and being complacent/stupid. They still have Papenhuyzen and Hughes in good form, an Aus winger, Bmith the most damaging runner in the game, Welch in good form, 2 rep back rowers and NAS will probably start.
I’ll be disappointed if we lose, moreso if we do put the effort in/look stupid. But I’ll also be disappointed if we thrash them if it’s because they didn’t put the effort in. If both sides put effort in, I want to win but I’m not going to piss my pants if we lose. I save my pants pissing for big Friday nights

TheRam

You can’t blame the current person for the build up historic failures. You’d have felt the same way with each coach since the early 90s and you’d feel the same way if we told BA to f**k off today and instated whatever other f**ken coach you wanted.

I actually didn't feel this way under Brian Smith. As much as I wanted him gone by the end of it, he was a great coach in many respects and knew how to get his teams winning and win well. It was his personality in the end that undid all his coaching genius and he couldn't get that elusive premiership and we could, well most of us could, all see it. So yeah I was glad that we got rid of him. I wanted him gone, but for someone better that could take us to that last step.

But since then we have only hired average to sh*t coaches and our teams have mostly reflected that. Great coaches assemble the best rosters. It has taken BA 7 years to get here and now he has no excuses, because I think he has at least equal best roster in the comp baring experience. But our slightly under experienced roster should be playing way better then they are, which in the end falls directly on the coach.

Remember in 2018 when the Chooks started that season they weren't playing well at all. Their attack was very poor and clunky and everyone was saying what is going on with recruits like Cronk and Tedesco they should be flying. But T. Robinson said that he was happy with the way they were going because he was putting in them the fundamentals that he wanted them to learn first and then the exciting fancy things will come. He wanted to build their game from ground up. It was all going along fine and to his plan.

Well about nine weeks into that season, they finally started to put it all together and they just started to explode in every facet of the game. They had nailed it and they have never looked back. Baring injuries they have been pissing on everybody ever since.

Well what can we say about Parra and our coach? He has decided to go the other route. Start like a house on fire and then fade into the dust like a bunch of bozos who don't know each others names let alone play footy together. Absolute strangers out there. Do they even train together?

No mate, it is a coaching thing. We don't seem to have one. I hear him talking and see him on the tele, but I don't think he is real. I mean he can't be. The players don't seem to pay him any mind. They mustn't think him real either. They just go out there every week and do the same crap, week in week out. Surely they would have change things up by now if they had someone in their ear every freakin week giving them instructions on how to fix their bumbling ways and actually play well as a team? Wouldn't they? Shouldn't they?

the apologists here

Who here made excuses for our 3 loses this year vs Roosters, Manly and Dragons ? Myth.

It's obvious were are in a bit of a slump. Even good sides have slumps. The Roosters last year for example:-

Round 10 L vs Broncos
Round 11 L vs Knights
Round 12 Bye
Round 13 L vs Penrith

Which reinforces the premise that comps are not won in August.

Our form slump has been

Round 10 vs L vs Manly
Round 11 vs W vs Tigers
Round 12 W vs Bulldogs
Round 13 W vs Sharks
Round 14 L vs Dragons

Perspective please.

Hopefully we shake off the shackles this week.

TheRam

I’m all for not showing too much respect for opponents, but there’s a slim difference between not giving them respect and being complacent/stupid. They still have Papenhuyzen and Hughes in good form, an Aus winger, Bmith the most damaging runner in the game, Welch in good form, 2 rep back rowers and NAS will probably start.
I’ll be disappointed if we lose, moreso if we do put the effort in/look stupid. But I’ll also be disappointed if we thrash them if it’s because they didn’t put the effort in. If both sides put effort in, I want to win but I’m not going to piss my pants if we lose. I save my pants pissing for big Friday nights

Mate, no one said to not respect their opposition. These guys are professionals and should go out there with the intention to play a well constructed, but always ruthless game. If they do that they should be able to put them away by the end of the game by at least 20-30 points. That is how good we are and how busted they are at the very least if we played to our potential. .