Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robbie Farah gone?

Go said Jason Taylor was given a mandate to build a strong culture when he was appointed coach and the board needed to back his decision to make the necessary changes, even if they were unpopular ones. "What we've been trying to do for the past year is rebuild a club around a winning culture because culture drives performance," Go said.

We all know that Farah loves Origin but I found it funny after what Go said about 'winning culture' that Farah, last night was presented
with the True Blue Award for his contribution to the Blues culture.

Perhaps Go should speak to the NSW Origin management regarding Farah and how he contributes to 'culture' interesting.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-09-...with-brad-fittler-medal/6776028?section=sport

macnaz

Hardly constructive though , one minute Ayoub is talking about Farah working with Taylor etc and the next minute he wants to blackmail and embarrass people at the club . Either way the circus rolls on.

Magpies Forever

Hardly constructive though , one minute Ayoub is talking about Farah working with Taylor etc and the next minute he wants to blackmail and embarrass people at the club . Either way the circus rolls on.

Dont blame Farah playing hardball on this and milking emotional support out here in fan land. It is a circus that just keeps on giving.

I'm still concerned with the 2nd part of things forgotten in the turmoil over how and when the signal was given to Farah and the reasoning of culture and gelling with players.

If WT are over the cap and forcing Farah our relieved WT of this pressure- who goes if Farah stands his ground and stays as he is legally entitled to? Lawrence? Taupau? Moses? Brookes? We dont have that many players on good coin......

Will Farah be so popular if other players are forced out that are part of the future of WT? What if Cherrington decides to look elsewhere?

This situation is just crap. We (WT and fans) cant win either way, someone is still going to have to go.

Ron's_Mate

If WT are over the cap and forcing Farah our relieved WT of this pressure- who goes if Farah stands his ground and stays as he is legally entitled to?
That's a big if ... word is the "over the salary cap" reason is just a bit of spin to disguise the fact that JT just doesn't want Robbie.

Magpies Forever

That's a big if ... word is the "over the salary cap" reason is just a bit of spin to disguise the fact that JT just doesn't want Robbie.

Who really knows the truth or otherwise of this? All I know is that WT were mentioning salary cap trouble long before Farah was identified and tapped on the shoulder. I'd love for the truth to surface and we know how badly previous administration left the club in (or not).

Dont blame Farah playing hardball on this and milking emotional support out here in fan land. It is a circus that just keeps on giving.

I'm still concerned with the 2nd part of things forgotten in the turmoil over how and when the signal was given to Farah and the reasoning of culture and gelling with players.

If WT are over the cap and forcing Farah our relieved WT of this pressure- who goes if Farah stands his ground and stays as he is legally entitled to? Lawrence? Taupau? Moses? Brookes? We dont have that many players on good coin......

Will Farah be so popular if other players are forced out that are part of the future of WT? What if Cherrington decides to look elsewhere?

This situation is just crap. We (WT and fans) cant win either way, someone is still going to have to go.

It's not about the salary cap. That much is obvious. The club obviously used that excuse to try and save Robbie a bit of face by not saying "yeah, the coach seems to think he's toxic to club culture and wants him gone." Especially when you're trying to move the bloke on for as much as possible.

It's quite clear that Wests will move him on whatever the cost. It's not about the salary cap, seems as though Farah has got a few noses out of joint there.

Tigers Tale

Can someone tell me what the situation is with the salary cap? We have not been fined as far as I know yet the management of the WT say we will be in trouble for the next 3 years with our cap.

It has got me f@#ked how we can be in so much trouble where we can off load our top shelf players and bring in players that have struggled at 2 or 3 other clubs.

If Farah goes, Taupau and probably Lawrence not long after, we are going to struggle for the next 3 or 4 years. We don't appear to have any top flight forwards coming through our system and don't appear to be in a hurry to sign Ava, geezus, what is going on.

If things are really so bad, the club should make it plain knowledge to all supporters, at least I'll not be so quick with my footy tips in season 2016.

If Harry is fair dinkum he should step up and demand control of the club otherwise my grandkids are going to be in their teens before we win a comp....and I don't have grand kids yet!!!!

macnaz

The way we are going the club will be long gone before you have grandkids :(

Tigerted

Tigers Tale u r being optimistic as u r assuming this rabble of a club who r under the jurisdiction of the nrl will still exist during ur future grand kids life.

I have this strong hunch we will cease to exist in Sydney for much longer.Its inconceivable that these outrageous & illogical decisions made by the club re retention/recruitment & the moronic rhetoric emanating from Go are not made to intentionally piss us fans of so much so that we become immune to WT becoming defunct in Sydney.In relation to this it's no coincidence that nobody is signed beyond 2017 !!

glockers

For what it's worth I chatted to someone's in Aaron Woods' social circle of high school buddies. He reckons Woods thinks Farah is a prick.

Exsilium

You guys are acting like a bunch of pussies. Yes your club is having a tough time but things will get better. the best thing your club ever did was rid yourself of that cancer Mayer. Everywhere he goes he manages to f**k it up. Titans anyone? Manly fell apart once they knew what he got up to.

Losing Farah is the second best decision your club has made. It's not about him and what he wants. Sure he's done his bit and deserves better but he acts like he is bigger than the club, bigger than you lot and you're the ones who support him! Want to take a swipe at someone, ring that muppet Ayoub and ask him about how long he knew this was on the cards and why it fell to shit. I am sure he will feed you a story full of deceit and misinterpretation.

Now with regards retention and recruitment you have made a meal of it for years but losing dead weight is just the start. The club may lose a few players and have you thinking where to from here but a couple good signings with well managed contracts and it will all change. Imagine what recruitment will be like when you start winning again? Who wouldn't want to play for a functioning and well performing tigers club. All that history, the fans and Leichardt (best suburban ground).

Taylor may be a numpty but the issues were there prior to his arrival and the board. He was always on a hiding to nothing. Once your halves start performing, games will be won and shit gets better.

From a league fan of a shit club just be patient!! From the outside in all the decisions so far appear to be for the right reasons with the right objectives in place.

Peace

You guys are acting like a bunch of pussies. Yes your club is having a tough time but things will get better. the best thing your club ever did was rid yourself of that cancer Mayer. Everywhere he goes he manages to f**k it up. Titans anyone? Manly fell apart once they knew what he got up to.

Losing Farah is the second best decision your club has made. It's not about him and what he wants. Sure he's done his bit and deserves better but he acts like he is bigger than the club, bigger than you lot and you're the ones who support him! Want to take a swipe at someone, ring that muppet Ayoub and ask him about how long he knew this was on the cards and why it fell to shit. I am sure he will feed you a story full of deceit and misinterpretation.

Now with regards retention and recruitment you have made a meal of it for years but losing dead weight is just the start. The club may lose a few players and have you thinking where to from here but a couple good signings with well managed contracts and it will all change. Imagine what recruitment will be like when you start winning again? Who wouldn't want to play for a functioning and well performing tigers club. All that history, the fans and Leichardt (best suburban ground).

Taylor may be a numpty but the issues were there prior to his arrival and the board. He was always on a hiding to nothing. Once your halves start performing, games will be won and shit gets better.

From a league fan of a shit club just be patient!! From the outside in all the decisions so far appear to be for the right reasons with the right objectives in place.

Peace

Good post mate. Pretty much sums up my feelings on the situation.

Blockers, for what it's worth, I have a very good family friend who is a friend of Aaron Woods, he told me that Woods thinks Farah is a great guy, a great team man and a great mate.

I just made that up, point is, your comments and mine are both worthless and puts us both in same bucket as some 1st class sports journalists out there.

Same journo's can say it on air or in the Sunday paper columns, players and yes even Woods can be asked their opinion as they are leaving Concord after training and they'll say 'I don't know much about the issues but Robbies a club legend and I love him.'

According to MMM yesterday, Robbie is in Bali with some other players, those players no doubt will say something like what I said, who cares, just fix the mess at the club.

Ron's_Mate

Wests Tigers vow to honour captain Robbie Farah's contract says CEO Justin Pascoe

Steve Zemek
Published: September 24, 2015 - 11:27PM
​ Wests Tigers new CEO Justin Pascoe says the club intends to honour the contract of skipper Robbie Farah.
In just his fourth day on the job, Pascoe has moved to put his stamp on the side and left the door open for the NSW hooker to see out the remaining two years of his deal and stay a one-club player.
He says the club has maintained that it intends to honour its commitments to Farah and doesn't intend to breach any contractual obligations to any player.
Pascoe says he'll meet Farah and his manager Sam Ayoub next week, but adds the veteran is still free to negotiate, with the ball in his court if he changes his mind and opts to play for another club.
​"The club has maintained that it intends to honour its contractual commitments to Robbie," Pascoe said.
"That hasn't changed. We don't intend to breach at all any contractual obligations to any player."
Pascoe's comments are at odds with the stance of coach Jason Taylor who when asked in August if there was any chance that Farah could remain, said it was best if he moved on.
Farah was told he was free to negotiate with rival clubs and that he if he wished to remain, he would spend the 2016 season in reserve grade.
"My feelings are that we need a fresh start and Robbie needs a fresh start," Taylor said at the time.
"We'd love nothing more than to see Robbie play for an opposition club next year and play really, really well."
The decision to ask Farah to leave has been a public relations disaster for the Tigers.
Earlier this month a group of Tigers supporters marched on club headquarters to vent their disgust.
While at their final home game of the season at Campbelltown, the crowd broke into "Robbie" chants at several points and some brandished signs calling for Taylor to be sacked.
Pascoe said he would meet Farah and his manager Sam Ayoub next week and planned to put the issue to bed as quickly as possible.
Throughout the ordeal, Farah has maintained his intention to dig his heels in and see out his $900,000-a-year deal.
Pascoe said Farah was still free to negotiate but the ball was in his court to find another club.
"We will honour contractual commitments but in saying that Robbie has been given permission to investigate opportunities at other clubs," Pascoe said.
"He's the current captain of the club and the life member of the club.
"I hope everyone rests assured that the decision to let Robbie negotiate with other clubs, if that's what he chooses to do, was not made lightly."
AAP
This story was found at: http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...t-says-ceo-justin-pascoe-20150924-gjuhyk.html

Common sense prevails. Will be interesting to see how long Taylor lasts now.

moller

Pascoe's quotes don't indicate any changes whatsoever - Go said almost the exact same thing a few weeks ago.
The author of the article is jumping to conclusions that aren't there.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

Common sense prevails. Will be interesting to see how long Taylor lasts now.

Not really, this has been their position from the beginning.

They will pay his wages if he wants to stay, but he has no guarantees of playing in firsts and therefore should look for a new club.

This guy is just a bit less blunt than Taylor.