Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robbie Farah gone?

Ron's_Mate

Take the captaincy off him.

Play him for 40 mins every week in a rotation with Cherrington.

I can't see how this would be a bad option.

The way I see it, Taylor cannot continue with the game plan he has this year, purely because it will stifle Cherrington as well if Farah departs.

As I've said before, I don't care if Farah stays or goes.

The game plan employed by Taylor is the biggest issue. If he persists with making ball running halves and hooker play a strict passing only game, then we may as well release Brooks, Moses and Cherrington as well and replace them with 3 Jeff Robson's.

We have a creative spine, let them create ffs. Let them take the line on. Let them run from dummy half. LET THEM PLAY!!

Interesting comments from Benji in this SMH article. Pretty much says that Taylor's game plan is just a photocopy of the Roosters but without the right players for that plan.
Marshall watched closely as Farah and the Tigers went on a rampage beating the Warriors 50-16 on Sunday.
"They didn't play anything to what they usually play," Marshall said. "I know their game plan off by heart because it is very similar to the Roosters. On the weekend they weren't playing like that. That's why you saw the old vintage Robbie. It wasn't because they asked him to leave. It was because he took a running role, he was controlling the game, bringing players under.
"He is the best reader of numbers. If anything needs to change, it is probably the game plan around how he plays.

I can't really gloat about such insight, because it is so f**king obvious.

Tigers Tale

I think the damage has already been done and the only way Farah can stay is with a new coach. The new coach would have to be someone like Toovey , a hard arse winner that can match and stand up to Farahs ego. Toovey also has experience working with budget squad and a shitty boardroom.

This might be an option Macnaz but I have never been sure about Toovey, I actually liken him to Stuart. Toovey inherited a very good Manly team that had been built up by Hassler. For the first years Toovey had them they really were just running Hassler patterns as they were still all the same players.

Now that Manly has lost quite a few of these players and new ones are coming through Toovey hasn't been getting the same results. I accept some of new these players are not to the level of what they lost but he hasn't been able to get a side with that backline into the 8.

I am probably wrong...been so many times before but I just don't know if he is the one. I wanted Brown and got Taylor so now I'd probably take Toovey.

only if they were paid Farah's salary
but

they haven't got the dollars, so that's a no but if they did have the dollars,

* Only if they had absolute power to clean out the non performers but then we'd end up in the mess we are in now because what we have paid to retain the 'kids',
* Only if they had the absolute power to cut guys in their 30's who they believe are being overpaid :roll: and yet again, we'd be in the same mess that we are in today,

It's certainly a win win situation not.

Maybe they need to go the very cheap option and have Blocker who apparently is back in the fold, as 'head coach/motivator' :sarcasm: who can run things by his best mate Siro senior and his other mate the Wallaby Grand Slam winning coach.

From the Sunday papers.

Robbie Farah was so browbeaten going into Origin I that he doubted he had the ability to play – let alone lead the side in the absence of Paul Gallen.

Farah had been trying to play the way Jason Taylor wanted him to – dumping his style and pet plays to conform with the coach. The result was a complete loss of confidence.

Farah was being used to shovel the ball to the halves and to tackle. It was like leaving the Ferrari in the garage and driving your Nissan Tiida every day.

He didn't want to rock the boat with Taylor – he was still scarred by the Mick Potter episode where he was unfairly blamed for the coach's demise. The more Farah toed the line the worse his form got. It got to the point where Farah was riddled with self-doubt.

The first person he sought out in Origin camp was mind guru Garie Dooley. He booked in a time to get his head right. He also had long discussions with Laurie Daley and his assistant Matt Parish and they set him straight.

He felt loved by the Blues and Farah found form as he led NSW – but all along in the back of his mind he was desperately unhappy about what was taking place in clubland. He sat down with Taylor and asked him to help him recapture his form. Taylor said he was unhappy with his leadership and Farah offered to quit. During those conversations Taylor labelled Farah selfish. Other players were confiding in Farah – not all of them front-liners – that they were not happy with their relationship with Taylor.

The coach was standing firm on all his decisions. At that point Farah was ready to walk away from at least the last year of his contract – he wanted one more good season with the club before heading to England and seeing the world.

Taylor made the call on the day after the last Origin that Robbie was ready to go on his world tour now. Taylor insists to this minute that he has player support and that of the board. The story I'm hearing is that Taylor has not talked to the players about the drama.

The players have talked among themselves and have Farah in their hearts. Taylor would not agree – he is of the view that no players have fronted him to complain.

The coach has copped it from all areas since the decision to dump a club legend– but don't expect a repeat of the Mad Monday drama that ended his career at Souths.

An inexperienced Taylor went out drinking with his team and was floored by David Fa'alogo at the Forresters. It was a blow that landed him in coaching wilderness. By the time you read this most of the players will be well on their way to enjoying their end-of-season drink. Taylor will be having a drink with the coaching staff. He has learnt from the previous experience.

Farah, meanwhile, needs to think in coming days about staying put and enduring a toxic year with a coach he doesn't respect or playing a season elsewhere and ruining his dream of being a one-club player.

When the dust settles Farah knows he will have to entertain offers – there is no question a strong club like Souths is a priority. Incoming Knights coach Nathan Brown has already made a public pitch for Farah. Brown is an old hooker who played with flair and he formed a bond with Farah during the Origin campaign. The Knights will also have Blues half Trent Hodkinson in their ranks.
Is it the truth when DW says
Taylor insists to this minute that he has player support and that of the board. The story I'm hearing is that Taylor has not talked to the players about the drama.

The players have talked among themselves and have Farah in their hearts. Taylor would not agree – he is of the view that no players have fronted him to complain.
very interesting

And from the Buzz in the Tele:
It’s interesting Jason Taylor is blaming Robbie Farah for West Tigers dismal season. The truth is that other teams know exactly where the real problem lies, and it’s in the halves.

Together, Luke Brooks and Mitchell Moses have missed a staggering 155 tackles up to last nights game.

This is hardly Farah’s fault.

The irony is that defence – or lack of – was a big issue with Taylor during his own career as a halfback.

Tigerted

Taylor is a toxic f**k.He is an embarassing inarticulate dickhead of a representative of this disfunctional club.What compounds our appalling position is the board are rugby league illiterate who have endorsed this inarticulate pissant as the coach for 3 yrs.Its inevitable that this rabble collects the spoon in '16.

This is what I think about Taylor. Another problem is also that Robbie hasn't been playing well and he may be as toxic as Taylor however I doubt it.

macnaz

So is that it for Farah ?
Not mentioned in any of the clubs cya later hype . So is the door still open ?
Anyway its pretty hard to give a shit either way , if a side with Farah , Galloway , Ritchards gets 30 points put on them by a side like saints minus Widerp im not looking forward to 2016 with even less experience.

BadSport

Nothing. If he can get another club in Australia hell go. You'd have to think someone would pick him up with Wests paying half the salary.

If not he'll probably stay in reserve grade and sue them or something if they don't have the brains to pay him out.

No way a current SoO hooker goes to England because his club is run by idiots. I think that's the wider perception in league circles as well, so he'll get a run somewhere.

I'm still amazed at how poorly they've gone about this. They talk about the salary cap mess, but if they had a plan they had all year to shift Farah out. It's just reactive last minute bullshit from a coach under pressure looking for a scape goat, and a weak as piss board.

If the board had any brains they'd tell JT to make it work for another year and use the time to move Farah on. If Farah has nothing to offer on the field I am fair dinkum a monkeys uncle.

I look forward to JT getting the spear. He was given it on a platter off the back of others hard work, and look at the culture he's instituted. Lots of soft interviews to the media and blame shifting. Any half decent coach would've got something worthwhile out of him.

I always knew he was weak as piss, but this is just woeful stuff from JT.Reminds me of Steve Kearney trying force what he saw at Melbourne onto Parra, without having a real understanding of what it took to build that culture. JT is just trying to turn the Tigers into the Roosters, and it just doesn't work like that. He's not playing to his teams strengths, and he's not playing to his own strengths either.

Anyway hell figure it out.

I'm still amazed at how poorly they've gone about this. They talk about the salary cap mess, but if they had a plan they had all year to shift Farah out. It's just reactive last minute bullshit from a coach under pressure looking for a scape goat, and a weak as piss board.

Yep. It could have been managed a lot better.

I look forward to JT getting the spear. He was given it on a platter off the back of others hard work, and look at the culture he's instituted. Lots of soft interviews to the media and blame shifting. Any half decent coach would've got something worthwhile out of him.
He's not playing to his teams strengths, and he's not playing to his own strengths either.

I've sort of not been really pissed off with JT but now I just find him irritating. The BS that he has spun throughout the year and his game plans that showed someone with no idea have been really bad. We've ended up equal last on the ladder.

I reckon he should be punted at the end of his contract no matter what happens.

Front-Rower

Just some food for thought;

If Ayoub knew long ago that Farah wasn't wanted why didn't he tell Farah then? Seems to me Ayoub with held information from his client or because he couldn't find him a new home had used the club as a scape goat.

Either way Farah has been screwed around a little bit.

The story goes that the club informed Ayoub "out of respect" for Robbie, so that Sam had time to try and find a new home for Farah before telling Farah about what had happened.

Before that plan came to fruition, the story leaked somehow (most likely from the Tigers board yet again) and thats when the shit hit the fan.

That's what gets me, is that Farah had no idea about this move by the club for some time, which makes me wonder if the bullshit rumours about him and the coach and/or the players not getting on have any substance whatsoever. It just sounds like more attempts to throw Farah under the bus yet again (just like last year when the Potter drama kicked off)

The facts are clear to me

*If Farah didn't like the coaches, he had a weird way of showing it by adopting their game plans and doing as the coach told him to. That's not the sign of a player rebelling, that's co-operation.

*Neither Sheens or Potter have made any negative comments about Farah or have raised any animosity towards him about any aspect of their relationship as captain and coach, even after those coaches left the club. Both have been critical of how the club was run by those off the field though.

*No players, former or current, have had a bad word to say about Farah.

The only thing going against him is some year old bullshit text messages, that haven't been produced as evidence, about Farah being critical (not attempting to sack him, just critical) of Potter. All through the following year prior to that dumb bald redneck gimp trying to make a name for himself as a journalist, Farah had said publicly more than once that the entire playing group were behind Potter.

The fact everyone is so quick to believe Tallis and allow that to manifest itself into Farah being an arsehole who is just sacking coaches is ridiculous. Jumping to conclusions like that from one piece of unsupported evidence from a moron is just pathetic.

BadSport

They told Ayoub a number of weeks before Farah, but it was still far too late in the season for a big money transfer under a cloud as the rosters were close to finalised.

They can easily lever him out and he'll go, but you need to start work on it at the appropriate time.

For all the talk it's just panic management, which is a bit disappointing. JT would have offered no solutions, only problems, which is all he seems to be good at.

Now you've got all the danger signs, '3 years to sort out this mess', all the excuses. Like Ricky 'rebuilding clubs'. Not how you build a 'winning culture', by making excuses.

Trollhammaren

Farah has admitted on The Footy Show last week he was told by his manager driving back to Sydney the day after the Canberra game, which was August 11th. This was two weeks before the Tigers came out publicly.

The timing is just stupid, and it's been handled in typically poor form by the club, but they've made the call. Robbie should find a new home.

magpie4ever

MU, you have Farah pushing JPII for sainthood.

Most people know he is an arrogant big head.

I relate back to the Foxtel "war of words" between him and Freeman (another big head) about Freeman's HM coaching. This was about 5 or 6 years ago and you could see Farah still carried a grudge against Freeman for being benched during that comp around 10 years previous to this blow up.

I've seen nothing conclusive that proves he has had more than one coach sacked and does not have the support of his team mates.

All there is to counter this is a Text message which Tallis claims he received (but had never proven exists) about a criticism Farah had of Potter a year before it was revealed. A criticism.

As ive said before, i don't care if Farah stays or goes.but I'm not going to allow bullshit, largely unfounded rumours to force me to hate on a bloke who quite possibly is not guilty of most of the the shit pinned on him.

I'm not painting him as anything great. In fact i have rarely stated how i feel about him. My post comes across as supportive because i believe in innocence until proven guilty.

If your only evidence is some phantom sms 2 years ago, which doesn't confirm he got rid of Potter anyway, and him being pissed off in interviews when grilled, then that proves he is not right to be captain but nothing else.