Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 (2009) DRAGONS v WARRIORS

The Piper

Forum 7s - Round 1 2009
ST GEORGE DRAGONS v NEW ZEALAND WARRIORS
stg-main.jpg
-v-
nzw-main.jpg

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

Naming Teams:
* 5v5 (+ 2 reserves for visiting team, 3 reserves for home team)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named

ALL THE RULES & REGULATIONS: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php

FULL TIME: Wednesday 25th March 2009 at 9pm (Syd time)
REFEREE: Titanic
Venue: Kogarah Oval
oki1.jpg

**The Referee Blows Game On!**

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

Jesbass

jersey_warriors_1.gif

Letting out a tribal scream, the Warriors storm onto the field for the first time in 2009.

Run On Team:
Jesbass (c)
rayroxon (vc)
AuckMel
Bay Vikings
cornelius_sulla

Bench:
Mixmasterreece
Suttsburger

Dragon_psa

The Dragons saunter off the team bus, and with rapturous applause from their devoted red and white army, take to the hallowed Kogarah turf ready to wage war.

jersey_dragons_1a.gif

3. Dragon_psa (c)
2. DragonPunk
39. Dubopov (vc)
13. Big Pat
6. Ribs

Reserves:

00. The Preacher
9. Saint Colesy
8. Juanfarkall

FIRE UP SAINTS!

Dragon_psa

jersey_dragons_1a.gif

With a maniacal snarl and gutteral roar, Dragon_psa takes the first hitup in his beloved Red V's return to their spiritual home. Totally ignoring the fact he is playing against fellow Kiwis, he gives Jessbass the big "Don't argue" and makes a beeline for the waiting Warriors forward pack.

Where to now?

It really has a great time to be a Kiwi lately. Having come from behind to down the mighty Kangaroos in the Rugby League World Cup final in 2008, our national team has ridden the mother of all waves. The Kiwis have captured the hearts and minds of New Zealanders from Cape Reinga to the Bluff, as well as a multitude of ex-pats spread worldwide. For a couple of months after our unforseen victory, it seemed that nothing could spoil the party to end all parties. That was until the Anderson report.

Former New Zealand Cricket boss Sir John Anderson, acting for SPARC (NZ Sport and Recreation funding agency) released a damning report on the state of New Zealand Rugby League in February this year. The report slammed the hierarchy of the NZRL since 2000, berating them for such follies as spending two million dollars purchasing pubs, and overseeing a sport which has seen a decline in playing numbers from a peak of around 40,000 in the late nineties to a current figure of approximately 17,000, especially in the six to eleven year age group. Key points from the report include:

- New Zealand Rugby League has no "shared vision" and "no meaningful strategic plan".
- The sport has ignored the findings of a string of governance reviews, which heavily criticised almost every aspect of the sport's management.
- "It is a sorry chapter in the history of New Zealand rugby league ... the actions of those involved not following good governance practices has led to a culture of mistrust and a belief that manipulation and `clipping the ticket' is the norm."
- "The abuse of democracy has been damaging ... management of these investments has been a fine line between financial incompetence and financial mismanagement”.
- "Retribution, with districts being put in review or individuals under attack for asking valid questions as to the use of funds or the financial outcome of the investments, were actions that many consider brought the game into disrepute and tarnished its reputation".

The Anderson report has laid down a set of conditions for the NZRL to follow, and if these conditions are not met, SPARC is set to withdraw NZ$450,000 worth of interim funding to support the game until September 2009, which is the deadline for the NZRL to meet these conditions. The report demands a complete restructure of the Board from nine members to seven (with at least three of the members to be independent), a SPARC dominated appointments committee to vet candidates, and a new chairman (appointed by SPARC). In addition, there is to be a new permanent CEO appointment, new board behaviour directives, and a proper strategic plan. The game is to be divided nationally into seven zones, with each managed by a paid administrator. The power wielding Auckland Rugby League is also set to be divided into three separate entities.

The signs are promising thus far, with a meeting of the NZRL set down for March 28th to set the changes in motion.

So where to for my beloved game from here? The Anderson report certainly makes sobering reading for the average Kiwi Rugby League fan, and I’m sure that others would more than likely share my view that the game has a heap of room for improvement. I would love to see the re-emergence of a proper national competition, more support for the clubs at grass roots level, and more opportunities for promising juniors to become Kiwis players. I would be rapt to see Rugby League get to the point where it challenges Rugby Union for the most popular winter sport in this nation. I would be over the moon to see New Zealand Rugby League districts being run by paid professionals rather than overworked volunteers, and to see my game become a vibrant, perpetually growing one. I would be chuffed to behold an increase of playing numbers to well over the 40,000 peak it was at 10 years ago, and for my game to attract levels of corporate support and sponsorship never before seen in New Zealand.

Wouldn’t any Kiwi League fan?

If we can win a World Cup with the state of the game as it is now, then once it’s sorted I’m sure we could forge a dynasty to compare with or even better that of our Australian mates. Here’s hoping!

729 words.

big pat

BIG PAT WEIGHMAN ENTERS THE FRAY FOR HIS FIRST HIT UP AT THE DRAGONS IN 2009

WHAT WILL WAYNE BENNETT BRING?

After a disappointing conclusion to ’08, going down in a finals match to the sea eagles, outgoing Coach Nathan Brown finished on a sad note. No one could ever doubt Nathan’s passion for St. George, but his coaching never reached the pinnacle that he was looking for. A lot of fans vented their frustration at the club and its’ decision makers The supporters’ ‘Oust Doust’ and ‘Down with Brown’ slogans, in their own way demanded that it was time to change.

Something had to be done about St. George, with its’ proud history and countless stars, as it has been 30 years now since the last premiership, and even longer given the time when 11 back to back grand finals were won. It is not easy when you are a club deep in history and proud tradition. Since 1979 we have been in five deciders, all on the losing end, giving us the nickname of ‘Oki chokies’, which poorly reflect the clubs honour.

And now, after much speculation during the 2008 season, a new era has dawned on St. George. Wayne Bennett, after 21 years at the Brisbane Broncos, has officially became a part of the clubs proud history. Everyone in the rugby league industry knows exactly how well Wayne Bennett has coached over his long career, winning six premierships, making the top eight nearly every season, and a part of the coaching panel for Queensland, Australia and New Zealand. All fans know that something big is about to be unleashed in the 2009 season.

Over the offseason many of the players have shed a few kilos, and are in a much fitter position than what they were, and all thanks to their new coach Wayne Bennett. It seems that St. George really do have their man after a whirlwind start to the 2009 trials, with a massive win against the roosters in Perth, and a thriller against the bulldogs at WIN Stadium in Wollongong. However, the team were brought back to reality with a poor loss to South Sydney in the Charity shield, although with that loss comes controversy. Did St. George really play poorly, or was Bennett foxing?

As the first round approached, some questions were being answered. An extremely tight, golden point loss to grand finalists, Melbourne, the fans, and even the media were beginning to see that St. George were a team that had really improved. In the past years, the dragons have had almost no chance at beating Melbourne, and most teams don’t have a chance either, especially in Storm territory, but they managed to send Melbourne into extra time. Unfortunately, the result was undesired.

After a recent win against the Titans, one thing is for sure. Wayne Bennett has giving the prestigious club a platform to work with. The sound defence that Bennett has driven into the saints has shown up in both games. Although the attack, at times, has looked very basic, Bennett will soon have St. George playing as attractively as he once had the Broncos play.

Many of the creases have been ironed out, and now fans are getting excited. Gone are the days of downing coaches, with new sayings emerging such as ‘In Wayne we trust’ and many see great things to come. I don’t expect Bennett to turn us into instant premiers. I think he has already made improvements to the club, and he will make St. George a team to be reckoned with. He will bring to an end to St. George being the bane of many people’s jokes, and put them up there with the serious finals contenders. Wayne Bennett even had a smile on his face at a members function after last week’s winning performance. This is extremely rare to all who know Mr. Bennett.

650 words

AuckMel

Nervously stepping out onto the field, AuckMel fronts the might of the Dragons

Wannabe Kiwi

The next time someone tells you every Kiwi kid wants to be an All Black, don't believe it.

Yes, this is one Kiwi who is proud to say that I never, ever wanted to be an All Black. From the day I was born, I wanted to play for the Kiwis, or so I thought.

Brought up in a home where the man of the house was a founding member of the Mangere East Hawks Rugby League club, I was always destined to be a League person. Not even a school system which forced me to play Union was going to stop me from fulfilling my dream.

Sadly, a dream was all it was. The thing was, I couldn't really play, so any hope of a Kiwi jumper was out of the question. I didn't mind, but the taunts from the sideline diminished my will to play, so I hung up the boots.

A few years later a friend of mine down at the Hawks suggested I play for one of the open age sides. I thought about it for a few seconds and said thanks but no thanks. I still couldn't play for quids, but it did make me think about becoming involved again. Not as a player, but I decided to try my hand with the whistle.

If you thought those taunts to a kid who couldn't play were bad, how I ever survived the taunts of “you suck ref” or “that pass was a mile forward you idiot” or “put a Marist jumper on you fool” which were a hundred times worse than the taunts I received as a kid I will never know, but I enjoyed it, and I think I'd finally found my calling in the Rugby League world.

Sadly, and like most things I've done in my life, I only did it for a year or so and then quit, preferring instead to get my girlfriend pregnant and lead the life of a married man. I was 19 and my footballing career was over once more.

As the years went by, so did my first wife and I found a desire to get involved with the game I love. A chance meeting with a ref at one of Mangere's games had me turning up to the refs meeting the next Monday night. This time, I decided, I was in it for the long haul.

The first couple of years were OK, nothing too flash. I was just a bloke enjoying his involvement in the game he's loved since the year dot. Things were soon about to change.

Like so many other things in life, luck can play a powerful role. I was down at Ti Rakau Park in Pakuranga and I had been given an Under 18 game between Pakuranga and Howick. For those who don't know, Howick is the suburb next to Pakuranga. It was to be my big break through. The game on the ground adjacent was a Division two reserve grade game, but it just happened to be officiated by one of the grading committee member’s nephews. He heard the roar from the ground and had to come to see what all the fuss was about during the break in his game.

The game was full of huge hits as neighbours smashed each other while the fans taunted one another from both sides of the field. Next to the Tonga V Western Samoa game I'd referee some years later, it was far and away the most demanding game I'd been involved in. Needless to say, my name was put forward to the grading committee to come and watch and from that moment my refereeing career changed completely.

Along with a move up the ranks came a need for greater dedication. I couldn't just get by with a run once a week. The level I went to required so much more. I joined a gym, got a bike and got a lot fitter. A year later I was off to my first National Tournament and my first Grand Final that same year; Mangere East v Manukau in the U17 age group.

With the highs came the lows. My darkest hour was the Marist vs Ellerslie Div 2 Grand final. Front page headlines in the NZ herald read, “Ugly Brawl Mars Grand Final” The game included three send offs, and two citings from ARL board officials.

I thought my career was over; in fact, it had only just begun.

748 words

dubopov

A re-invigorated Dubo was psyched for the first game. He wanted a Premiership for the MIGHTY SAINTS and he wanted an Origin jersey.

HOWARD'S WAY

Howie and Ruthie Southersby-Smythe were the Licencees of the Gateford Arms Hotel in the little-known western NSW town of Carey Springs which nestled between hills and the banks of the Gateford River.
Despite his cumbersome, hyphenated surname, Howie was a former Rugby League legend who'd dominated in the 60's with South Sydney. Not surprisingly, he despised the football code the public usually associated with his name.
"Them Rah-Rah players are all poofdahs", he opined.
When he eventually moved from Sydney to run the pub in Carey Springs, journalists quizzed him about the Aussie Rules player whose grandfather apparently found the springs which enabled the town to exist.

"Wayne Carey .. never heard of the bastard. "
"He's an AFL great, surely you heard about his dalliance in the toilet with his best friend's wife ? "
"Dalliance ? "
"He had sex with his best friend's wife in the toilet ! "
"Now I know you're joking .. An Aussie Rules player rooting a sheila .. that's a first for one of them poofdahs. "
The trilogy of Howie's disdain for other football codes was completed when his son Dan, a promising soccer player, grudgingly switched to League and joined the Carey Spings Spooks.
"I couldn't have a son playing a poofdah game, could I ? "
Reputations were everything in Howie's world. Machismo was his way. He thrived on stories of his drinking escapades and sexual prowess in his heyday. He had soaked up the adulation he received when Womens Weekly and No Idea had feature articles on his marriage to Ruthie, the cute, blonde Rabbitoh cheerleader. He even encouraged the gutter press to run stories on his drunken womanizing and rampages with his Rat Pack.
Howie wasn't the only family member in the limelight once they'd moved to Carey Springs. Dan quickly gained noteriety as a son of a legend who could actually play; Ruthie was the hostess with the mostest at the Arms and Janey, daddy's little girl, became the star attraction in the Spooks' cheer squad who wore little Casper outfits with strategically placed holes which revealed not-so-subtle portions of teenage flesh.
Even though it was incedibly hot in the semi-arid environment, the girls were even hotter - in or out of the Casper cozzies. Dan was about the only one who disagreed.
"Jeez Danno, your sister's a hot little bitch", Howie blurted late one night in an inebriated, initiation-like father/son ceremony at the Arms. "Whad'ya reckon ? "
"Dad, she's my sister .. of course I'm not interested."
"But if she wasn't, you'd root her. wouldn't ya ? "
And so it went on. Howie's life revolved around the Pub, the footy and his little girl. He went to all games as the proud dad of the follow-in-footsteps son; as far as the locals were concerned, however, he was really there to see Janey, the cutie, strutting her stuff in the Casper cape.
After every game, the team, with assorted hangers-on, gathered at the tin shed which masqueraded as a clubhouse. Inevitably, Howie big-noted himself by shouting the bar a few times and generally basked in his past glories. The boys kicked on late into the night, particularly after a victory.
On the occasion of Howie's last day on the planet, the celebrations were doubled. And then some. Not only had the team won the Semi-Final to gain a berth in the Grand Final, club stalwart Nugget Reece had scored a hat-trick of tries in his 200th game for the mighty Spooks.
The party meandered its way into the early hours and after the wives had left, the real celebrations began. As was the custom when a player scored a hat-trick, the whole team and whoever else was around, took turns with one of the local girls.
Nugget, the veritable guest of honour, broke the ice. He was followed by any team member not suffering from brewer's droop. A reluctant Dan kept allowing others to pass him in the queue. He had desperately wanted to disappear when he noticed familiar blonde locks escaping from the Casper-hood of the good time girl.
Howie pushed his son aside. "Jeez son, you disappoint me. I'll show you how it's done."
"DAD .. NOO !! DON'T !!"
On hearing the pleading, Howie hesitated. "It's .. it's .. it's not Janey is it so"?"
"No Dad .. no.. "
"Intrigued, Howie performed his last movement and pulled
the mask aside.
Ruthie smiled. What else could she do ?

..and so, 749 words later, Dubo leaned back and relaxed..

DragonPunk

DragonPunk runs out for the mighty Dragons for the first time in 2009, hoping for more success this year.

How Wayne Bennett changed not only a club but the supporters

It's great to have the football back even though the mighty dragons lost their first game against the Melbourne Storm, I like many Dragons fans felt a strange sense of calm even when Greg Inglis kicked the winning field goal. The Dragons seem a different outfit this year, clinical, hardworking and it can mostly be contributed to the new coach Wayne Bennett and i will emphasise this by comparing two games, one from 2008 under old coach Nathan Brown and last week's match under Wayne Bennett and the differing reactions for dragons fans.

The game from 2008, that I'll examine today will be the Round 4 clash between St George Illawarra Dragons v Cronulla Sharks. A game where the collective blood pressure of Dragons supporters almost reached boiling point several times during the game unlike last week I was cool, calm and collected.

The 2008 game started out like any other when venturing to the game, the nervous anticipation of what was to come with millions of questions swimming through my head. Which Dragons would show up today? the flashy ones or the gritty ones? how many penalties will Jason Ryles give away today?

These questions were soon answered when the Dragons started the match like the dragons i know with some errors but pulled off a try through the now gone Mark Gasnier who flicked it to Brett Morris and they were on the scoreboard. From then the game ebbed and flowed with many an expletive being shouted at various players including "Ryles, you softcock" "Get up" and "f**king defense".

Fans were antsy through out the game but the culmination of this would have been when the Dragons were up 16-12 with not very long on the clock. Cronulla threw their last roll of the dice with a kick which bobbed along the ground and everyone in the crowd held their breath in anticipation before Bronx Goodwin picked up the ball and scooted over the try to tie it up. By then all the Dragons fans were in disbelief like always with how we could blow a lead, even a small one and against "the f**king Sharks" one supporter remarked.

It was all on Covell now and the boos rang strong from the Dragons fans who cheered when he missed but this joy was short lived because in extra time, Jason Ryles pulled out another top draw idiotic play and drew a penalty and every saints fan buried their head in their hands while Covell kicked it and the Sharks fan rejoiced, it was another Loss in a long line of defeat being snatched from victory.

On from that depressing note, to the 2009 season, The Dragons armed with a new coach in Wayne Bennett and a squad full of new blood ready to impress their coach stepped out onto Olympic Park in Melbourne a few weeks ago on a warm night against last year's runner's up Melbourne Storm. From the first hit-up from forward Michael Weyman to the enigmatic run from The "Dell" Wendell Sailor, fans knew this was a new team.

Gone from the past were the stupid mistakes paid by forwards wanting to unload the ball in stupid situations, looking forward to to the game all week only to be let down by bad defence, soft tries, interchange blunders and ultimately losses and they were replaced with hard defence working for each other which dispelled the embarrassing rumours that the dragons were soft were scoffed at after that week 1 performance even though they lost by one point, They had shown a new resolve and attitude but something else was apparent.

The fans had changed, gone were the grey hairs appearing after several rounds, high blood pressure beofre, during and after games and the sadness which followed after the team was knocked out of finals or the top eight race. Of course there was still the expletives being yelled after every drop, opposition try and loss but also there was quiet faith amongst the fans that if these new dragons hung in they could win.

To finish, this year the Dragons may not win the premiership or get to the finals but they will show a new side of themselves which teams knew they had but was hidden beneath and now the Dragon hath risen and the other 15 teams should be afraid.

(738 words)

rayroxon

Rayroxon from the Warriors steps up and exceeds his 140 character Twitter limit with this article.

*****​

Twit-ers

In a union of fads and football, David Gallop and the National Rugby League have announced a partnership with Twitter in an effort to curb the recent spate of unsavoury off field events. After online trials, it was decided that Twitter would be best suited to enable the NRL to act quickly because of its real time updates.

At today’s press conference, Gallop told reporters: “We are excited about the partnership with Twitter. We want to be seen as a progressive sport and we want to be taken seriously. As a result of the partnership, we have created a new role within the administration to monitor status updates and I’m pleased to appoint Bill Harrigan in this new and exciting role.”

Media experts are doubtful the appointment of the one time whistle-blower and part time men’s clothing enthusiast would work but, judging by his friends list on Facebook, they need not worry. We caught up with Harrigan who was buoyant about his appointment and Twitter’s possible uses within the refereeing ranks.

“With the two ref system in play and Twitter on board, the refs can do away with their radios. They can type something like ‘Shayne Hayne thinks the ball wasn’t grounded’, then just hit refresh repeatedly until the other ref gets back to him with ‘I think it was’. They could just sort it out to and fro and it would speed up the game immensely.”

It doesn’t stop there, though. The applications of the new technology are wide ranging. The Melbourne Storm are eager to upgrade their current GPS trackers with a text capable version.

Cameron Smith is extremely keen to adopt the new technology: “Mate, anything to allow me to complain on multiple fronts is an improvement. We’re not given a fair go and this will even things right up.”

Coach Bellamy was also excited: “Our wrestling coach is very keen to get Twitter as it will allow us to coach during the game. It will allow us to call for the throat twister, the wishbone and the asphyxiator. Can I just go on the record by saying that I am aware of these moves but I do not condone them.”

Coach Bellamy then retired to type up some expletive laden tweets or digital updates on the press conference.

Another player keen on the project is Parramatta’s Brett Finch who was kind enough to share these thoughts: “I come up with some pearlers on the field and I’m known as quite the larrikin so the opportunity to write a sledge and share it with my followers in the middle of a game excites me.”

We reckon anything to help shed his “Biggest sook in the game” tag has to be good for the little feller’s confidence.

Even regional clubs are keen. The Atherton Roosters have been amongst the first to take up the opportunity to develop and work with the new technology. After lacing Todd Carney’s black nail polish with a sedative, they were able to install a new Twitter device on Carney called a Digitally Integrated Control Kit or D.I.C.K. in what is believed to be a world first. The device is quite simple in that it creates an automated tweet whenever Carney does something stupid. Since its installation last month, Carney has become Twitter’s most prolific Tweeter.

A club spokesperson said “I am pleased to announce Todd Carney is a D.I.C.K. We’re not keeping it a secret.” The spokesman was then summoned to an off-site location muttering something about jet fuel and explosives.

There are fiscal benefits, too. The NRL hopes the partnership is a money spinner. Their merchandising team are rolling out a range of new Twitter capable receivers. Based around the successful “Footy Ears” receivers that tune into the referees’ microphones, these receivers would pick up tweets as they happened on field. Updates such as “Brett Stewart needs a Jellybean” through to “Watmough’s girlfriend is a girl” are just around the corner.

It’s obviously an exciting time for the game. Gallop went on to say that hopefully these plans are a preventative rather than a curative measure to off field behaviour.

“I believe that if we create habits in our footballers today, they will naturally be part of a solution in the future. Our players have a need to broadcast their whereabouts and their activities, so why not tap into it and help them out and the image of our game.”

I think you’ll all agree they are words wisely tweeted.

*****​

749 words between the stars.​

Ribs

740 words below the line. Good luck all.
-----------------------------------------------

So where does it come from?

With another local derby looming, the sledging has started and the natives are restless. But why do the St George and Cronulla Clubs hate each other so passionately?

Having grown up during a period where neither the Cronulla Sharks or St George Dragons won anything significant, it has always puzzled me why we single out the Sharks as enemy number one. Besides the obvious geographical location of the teams, the entry of the Sharks club coinciding with the end of St George's glorious run of premierships and the big brother little brother comparisons, I can't find a reason why I hate them so much. It's not like we don't have other neighbours, with the Bulldogs and the Rabbits also sharing our boundaries. We don't necessarily like those teams either, but we have battled with them at the business end of the season for decades. For that reason alone, I would have expected that either the Bunnies or the Dogs would be our number one enemy. We hear of the fierce rivalry between ourselves and the Dogs and Bunnies but for some reason the contest with the Sharks always draws the most emotion from St George fans.

However, as I started to go over my own history with the two clubs to put this piece together, the number of incidents and situations really started to add up.

My old man is probably the root cause of the dislike for the Sharks in my family, even though my own mother is a Sharks fan. He would tell me about fans that once went for the mighty St George Dragons, but changed allegiances once the Sharks were introduced. Even as a small child I would curl up my top lip and call the older Sharks fans turncoats. What sort of person walks away from a club that has just put on 11 straight and starts to feel 'it' for another jumper? Even a 6 year old can see the shallow nature of such a decision.

As I grew older, nothing changed. There were some memorable encounters, but again, nothing that would be considered overly significant at the business end of the season.

One match that will always stand out was at Shark Park in April 1999. Wayne Bartrim missed a conversion that would have leveled the scores on the siren, but missed by inches. The feeling as I trudged into the Sharks club with a dozen beers in the belly was indescribable. Having to sit with a bunch of Sharks supporters and spend money in their club restaurant making things oh so much worse.

Then, in walks Peter Gow holding a Saints jumper and a pair of scissors. He actually carried it past my table and received an earful of abuse from me prior to arriving at the table of one Barry Beath. To this day I wish my chair was on the other side of that table because I sincerely doubt Barry would have had a chance to throw one. While it was incredibly satisfying seeing Peter Gow get dropped by a Barry Beath right cross, it would have made me feel so much better to knock his teeth out myself, instead of going home and hurling my desk top computer off the second floor balcony. Yes, I did.

I was actually playing for Bosco in the Cronulla Juniors at the time so you can imagine the sledging that took place after that incident. All year I wore a Mundine shirt to training and all year I copped it, that is, right up until the final where Choc picked up three tries to send them on their end of season trip. Unfortunately, I was on my end of season trip with Bosco’s 50 Sharks supporters when Saints lost the 1999 Grand Final to the Storm. Lucky I hadn’t taken my laptop up there with me.

So I suppose I have answered my own question. My own personal dislike for those blue black and white scumbags comes from a combination of both family loyalties and numerous incidents over the years, that all seem to taper to an emotion charged point when the whistle blows at kick off. I could say that this Sunday will be no different, but the inclusion of Trent Barrett in the Sharks team adds some extra spice to one hell of a vindalloo and my top lip is already curled up and ready.

Jesbass

After public rumours of his relationship with the F7s underworld, Bay Vikings disappears into the crowd and is replaced by Suttsburger.

OUT: Bay Vikings #-o
IN: Suttsburger :clap:

Suttsburger

Suttsburger is pumped for his maiden turn out, glad the coach has seen promise in his off-season training, eager to impress on debut.

(739 words from below)

Drawn together

I miss that feeling of kissing my sister.

I’ve tasted the ecstasy and agony of golden point games won and lost but still I yearn for that numb state of limbo-induced confusion as you walk from the ground, turn to your mate and utter those predictable yet obligatory words you use to describe a draw … “you know what they say, it’s just like kissing your sister.”

My former life as a North Sydney Bears supporter is littered with recollections of points shared and sisters kissed that – far from underwhelming or frustrating - are memories reminisced upon through rose-coloured flashbacks.

In 1994 my beloved Bears started the season with an unprecedented seven straight victories to have supporters heralding the end of 72 years of hurt. What followed was a three game string of losses that brought us back to earth with an all too familiar thud.

And so on to round 11 at Campbelltown Sports Ground. It was a game that not only produced the try of the year by the Magpies but also ended with Norths new boy Jason Taylor nailing a sideline conversion in his first match against his former club, salvaging a 16-all draw and stopping the rot. The Bears wouldn’t lose again until round 21.Now admittedly we did end up missing out on the minor premiership by a point that year (bittersweet has never been a more apt appraisal) but there’s no doubting we left western Sydney that day as winners.

The following year would see another “climb the mountain, fall from grace” scenario with the Bears in a heated late-season tussle for the final spot in the inaugural ARL top eight.

Needing two points from the final two games of the regular season, the Bears did it the hard way with two genuine get-out-of-jail sister-kissers (irony unintentional but noted) against South Sydney and Gold Coast – placed 18th and 17th respectively. I knew it wasn’t right, I knew I had no reason to be basking in any kind of faux joy, but I also knew that when life hands you lemons you make lemon scented candles, right? So once again the outcome most loathed by players and punters alike had proved fateful in saving our skin - we limped into the finals and five days later limped straight back out of them.

What I didn’t know then is that our undeserved spot in the elite eight was at the expense of the team who would one day win my loyalties and devotion, but then I guess I also never thought I’d lose my boyhood club entirely, so I can be forgiven right?

But no draw was more satisfying and wholly entertaining than that which occurred on a Saturday afternoon in March during the Super League ravaged season of 1997.

It was round four and the Bears were already reeling after nail-biting losses to Parramatta and Manly. So when the partisan North Sydney Oval crowd saw its heroes’ 18-14 lead dissipate as the siren sounded and Illawarra’s Dean Callaway scarpered away to score under the posts, it was unfathomable to think any of us would be leaving the ground with smiles on our faces. With regular sharp-shooter Rod Wishart off the field, up stepped Shaun Timmins who took aim behind the sand mound and sent the potentially game-winning strike soaring below the cross bar.

Disappointed at relinquishing two points that afternoon, at least I left the ground knowing there was someone feeling just that bit worse than I was. If draws are meant to be unfulfilling then they didn’t factor in the schadenfreude that can be extracted from witnessing an opposition player’s world crash down around them.

Just like death and taxes there are some things we can be sure of - that cardiac-arresting impulse of a last-minute victory, the tear-inducing heartbreak of a 50-point deficit, the knowledge that our heroes will come and go, and the reality that the best and worst of times never last forever.

The same can’t be said for the oft-maligned draw.

While it’s not completely dead and buried, the advent of golden point means we can’t be sure that we’ll ever feel that “awkward-as-puberty” kind of uncomfortable that only comes with the countdown to 80 minutes, the siren and the uneasy look at the crowd around you as you try to gauge just how you’re expected to act.

Maybe I’ll just have to resort to kissing my sister instead.

Jesbass

In an unprovoked "sink or swim" act, Jesbass wheels out cornelius_sulla's article by proxy...

One Kiwi’s Wildest Dream Realised (748 words including title)

The Kiwi rugby league team. 2009 World Cup Winners.

Read it and weep, Kangaroo fans. Cry into your pints, British Lions supporters. Until the next World Cup (if there is one, and let’s face it: who knows?), the Kiwis of New Zealand are The World Champions. If we lose every test for the next three years, we will still be The World Champions. If we lose to Southern Abyssinia by a record margin, we will still be The World Champions. If a planet killing meteor struck the Earth, the silver lining would be that The Kiwis would be World Champs for ever! When the world gets me down, I remember that the Kiwis are on top of it, and it picks me up no end.

I realised a long time ago that I could not be a myopic fan of the Kiwis and expect to remain sane. I am a realistic fan. Hope springs eternal that my team will win, but this hope is always tempered by some unavoidable facts about the Kiwis.

The Kiwis, (and the Warriors), lose. Often. Our history is littered with more misery than success. That will probably remain the norm, even though we are The World Champions.

My approach is thus; I support the Kiwis. No. Matter. What.

Were I not to adopt this strategy, it would be the straitjacket fits for me. I back them; I don’t bag them when they lose. That’s when my gurneys come out! If you succumb to becoming part of the knocking machine, it sucks you dry until you are a dessicated, bitter, husk of a human.

It is a reality of league in New Zealand that we lose more than we win, just like it is reality that we only have one professional team; that our player base is minute and spread all over the globe; that the game in this country seems to be administered by halfwits.

Still, my rally call is "Go the Kiwis"!

I consider myself a true fan: win, lose or draw, they are my team. I have had fist fights in defence of my game, mostly with All Black fans. I would follow them to Hades to pull Cerberus’ tail(s).

In New Zealand, rugby union is a religion. The part of the ne’er-do-well, basketcase, adopted younger brother to be kicked when down, has devolved to rugby league. Everybody loves a winner, especially the New Zealand sporting enthusiast.

It is a bald fact that the Kiwis have not often been winners. The irony that our rugby league team, the eternal ne’er do wells, have a World Cup, and the exalted All Blacks do not, is delicious.

I have been on this planet for 36 years. In that time, I have often dreamed about what it would be like if the Kiwis beat the Kangaroos and took out the title. The realism and passion of these dreams has only been rivalled by dreams of a damper, X-rated nature.

Just one World Championship, I used to think, would be plenty. Please, God, just give us one.

The reality is sweeter than ever I could have anticipated. My warped imagination could never have dreamt up such an incredible outcome. I could not have imagined that Wayne Bennett would be our secret weapon. Or that Nathan Fien would guide us around the field so well. Or that our rag tag team of pros would be able to not only match, but beat the might of an Australian team packed to the gunwales with talent. A team who were all but a formality to take out the title.

I did get one thing right in my imaginings. Ricky Stuart, true to form, spat the dummy big time, blamed everything but his team not turning up, had a spray at the game officials, and got sacked! It was like icing on the cake that this very unlikeable man, a bad loser and a worse winner, lost not only his job but also the World Cup that was his and the Kangaroos’ to win.

Sweet irony, also, that the man he replaced, the inimitable Mr. Bennett, was instrumental in plotting the arrogant Mr. Stuart and his team’s demise.
Wayne Bennett is committed to the international game. Why else would he help us? All rugby league fans should hope that this attitude prevails. Australia has had control for too long. Time to share, I reckon.

The Kiwi rugby league team. 2009 World Cup Winners. Finally!

Jesbass

With a solemn look up to the heavens, Jesbass takes to the field against the might of St George...

Ch-ch-ch-changes (737 words including title)

Turn and face the strain
Just gonna have to be a different man
Time may change me
But I can't trace time

The dawn of a new rugby league season brings with it a series of changes. Many of these revolve around new rules or modified existing ones in a blatant and public attempt to make the NRL even more of a spectacle. Other changes can be found in the lineups of each club as they release loved sons and welcome new blood in a constant balancing act between quality and the salary cap. And, in a competition as close as this one, a new season usually brings with it new reigning Premiers and, err, recently spanked wooden spooners.

Of course, I'm covering the adjustments that have a wide ranging effect across the whole competition. There are indubitably other changes that have perhaps the same magnitude of impact, but on a smaller scale.

Take, for example, a number of things that happened during the Round 2 match between the Sea Eagles and the Warriors on Sunday afternoon.

The most obvious – for a Warriors fan, of course – was the return of Stacey Jones. He signalled the resumption of his competitive playing career and simultaneously silenced his critics with that first dummy run, piercing the Manly defensive line and setting up a potential try for Nathan Fien.

Then came the chip and chase from 60 metres out, luring the opposition fullback in with great support from Wade McKinnon, before throwing an intelligent dummy pass, shifting in the opposite direction, and setting Brent Tate away to score.

And just to top it off, he came up with the pinpoint bomb that enabled Jerome Ropati to level the scoreboard with a try that, when converted, gave us the win.

It would not be an exaggeration to suggest that despite all the changes in the sport, the Stacey Jones of old is very much the same.

Another change was the New Zealand club's season start. Only twice before have we finished Round 2 with 4 competition points. Those were in 2002, (courtesy in a large part to a Round 1 bye), and in 2007. We've never won our first 3 regular season rounds before, and yet, with the Bulldogs likely to miss out on their competition points due to fielding 14 players at the time of their winning try against the Panthers, we could soon be sitting atop the table.

And the final change that happened on Sunday was that I wore my Warriors jersey for the last time. Yes, I know that sounds rather alarming, but let me explain.

2 years ago on Monday, my father passed away from a heart attack at the age of 61. He and I shared our father-and-son time at Warriors matches. League was the vehicle upon which our relationship revved into life. A few days after his death, the Warriors defeated the Broncos 24-14 at home – the only other time we'd won both opening matches, as mentioned earlier.

I followed this tremendously emotional victory with a visit to the screen printers to get our family name and Dad's age printed on the back of his jersey, and his name embroidered onto the front:

DadsWarriorsJersey1.jpg

DadsWarriorsJersey3.jpg

Dad's jersey became my jersey. His seat at Mt Smart became my seat. Try celebrations were spent with him. Lunch breaks often involved visits to “our stand” for contemplative chats. Watching replays of past Warrior glories became opportunities to reminisce. And his jersey, emblazoned with his name, declared my pride in being his son.

I wore that hallowed piece of clothing for every Warriors game. Every game until Sunday, that is.

I had made a decision a few days earlier that the tribute to my father would end, whether the team came home with a win, loss, or draw.

I have a new jersey, now. Like everything, it's a sign of changes. A different team strip, in different colours, by a different manufacturer. And no mention of Dad.

As for his jersey, it now hangs in my closet, a proud reminder of a proud relationship, as my grief process takes another turn towards positivity and, I hesitate to say, closure.

But it won't be forgotten, nor will what it stands for be lost to the annals of time.

And who knows – if we make the Grand Final, I just might put on Dad's jersey one last time.

Lyrics from 'Changes' by David Bowie
Related article: Life And Death And Rugby League, written less than a fortnight after Dad's passing.

Dragon_psa

5V5! Splendid game Warriors and Dragons alike! Great reads from all other 9 combatants. Good luck all!

rayroxon

Well in Dragons! A nice range of articles from both teams.

Now comes sexy waiting time which, incidentally, is my favourite time.