Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 13 vs. Knights Discussion + Voting

bit dramatic, broncos70. you should appreciate the fact that your club is so strong that it can afford to discard talent like this... rather than be one of the ones that has to scramble to pick it up. it's a credit to the strength of your club and its convictions. it's a philosophy that, while may cause short terms pains in places, maintains the utmost respect for your jersey from players. that broncos jersey is revered, and no player takes their first grade position for granted. i can absolutely see Bennett building this into the Knights jersey from the ground up... but it's going to take him time. he has begun by not giving our young blokes a go until they've truly earned it. it means pain for us in the top grade while we have blokes who aren't performing, but it reaps massive long term dividends.

the message is clear. first grade is not a right, it's a privilege. you work your arse off for it.

having said that, i do believe Bennett has the intention of playing him in first grade soon. fresh start for Dane. not sure if it will be this next or not.

AuDragon

bit dramatic, broncos70. you should appreciate the fact that your club is so strong that it can afford to discard talent like this... rather than be one of the ones that has to scramble to pick it up. it's a credit to the strength of your club and its convictions. it's a philosophy that, while may cause short terms pains in places, maintains the utmost respect for your jersey from players. that broncos jersey is revered, and no player takes their first grade position for granted. i can absolutely see Bennett building this into the Knights jersey from the ground up... but it's going to take him time. he has begun by not giving our young blokes a go until they've truly earned it. it means pain for us in the top grade while we have blokes who aren't performing, but it reaps massive long term dividends.

the message is clear. first grade is not a right, it's a privilege. you work your arse off for it.

having said that, i do believe Bennett has the intention of playing him in first grade soon. fresh start for Dane. not sure if it will be this next or not.
Well said Perv! :p

Seriously, I was (still am) one of Gagai's staunchest supporters, as the bloke oozes talent from every pore, but I support Hook's and the club's decision to let him go, because nothing was going to change until something drastic happened.
I am glad my club puts ethical values ahead of talent, for the reasons you mentioned, despite what some other Broncos fans may feel.

As Gagai said, this might be the kick in the arse he needed to get his act together, and starting over in Newcastle without any of the crappy influences around him, could very well make our pain, your gain!

Of course, you'll now have to live with his "cousin" jizzing all over the Knights forum about Dane if he plays, and blame anything that moves in the Knights hirearchy if he doesn't.

Steve_oneskie

I hope Gagai plays and tears one of our players a new asshole just so Griffin can see what mistake he made by cutting him loose. Very upset by it and will be until Gagai retires.

Broncos70, If Gagai wasn't behaving as he was expected to behave then he doesn't have a place at the club. Why should one player be treated any differently to another? If it had been Copley who had been released you wouldn't care, you'd probably be happy, but because it is Gagai, Hook is all of a sudden enemy number 1. Grow up mate. If Gagai couldn't hack what was required then he shouldn't be at the club, which has a great culture that they want to continue.

GoTheBroncs

I very much agree with the sentiment of your post. And I don't hold anything against Hook for sacking Gagai, he has shown that he won't stand for any crap. But a couple of things in your post do not make sense to me...

Firstly saying that we have the talent to simply discard Gagai. With Yow Yeh's injury, we are the weakest we have been on the wings for a very long time now. And when Hodges is out, we need to put a backrower in centres.

Secondly, saying that Bennett is trying to build a similar culture at the Knights. Well, what message is he sending by signing Willie and Gagai. He is obviously a firm believer in 2nd chances, or he is keen on winning footy games. My guess is the latter. To be honest I don't blame him.

Finally, mentioning about working hard to earn the right to play first grade. I think you even realised that this didn't make sense when you said, "having said that....". Basically Gagai gets to muck around at the Broncos then walk into a run-on side at the Knights... A little too convenient, it seems....

Seagullsrock

If it wasn't for Dane, Glenn wouldn't even be still at the Broncos. He took the blame over an incident at a club during the off season. The club knew Dane lied to protect his cuz but it was all swept under the carpet.

??? Gagai isn't Alex Glenn's cousin. Gagai's not even a kiwi.

cornerposter

I hope Gagai plays and tears one of our players a new asshole just so Griffin can see what mistake he made by cutting him loose. Very upset by it and will be until Gagai retires.
It's OK Mrs Gagai, at least you can get a few cheap trips to wine country.

Well, what message is he sending by signing Willie and Gagai.
Paul Ke(u)nt has a theory that Willie was recruited because the Knights are so devoid of leaders. :crazy:

I very much agree with the sentiment of your post. And I don't hold anything against Hook for sacking Gagai, he has shown that he won't stand for any crap. But a couple of things in your post do not make sense to me...

Firstly saying that we have the talent to simply discard Gagai. With Yow Yeh's injury, we are the weakest we have been on the wings for a very long time now. And when Hodges is out, we need to put a backrower in centres.

Secondly, saying that Bennett is trying to build a similar culture at the Knights. Well, what message is he sending by signing Willie and Gagai. He is obviously a firm believer in 2nd chances, or he is keen on winning footy games. My guess is the latter. To be honest I don't blame him.

Finally, mentioning about working hard to earn the right to play first grade. I think you even realised that this didn't make sense when you said, "having said that....". Basically Gagai gets to muck around at the Broncos then walk into a run-on side at the Knights... A little too convenient, it seems....
different circumstances, mate. he gets a clean slate at his new club, i would expect the same of any player moving to any club bar extreme examples such as Todd Carney.

I can tell you what message he's sending to the rest of the playing group by signing these blokes - "you're not doing your job". he'd be absolutely correct there, but he's stuck in a position where the blokes in the lower grades aren't doing theirs either at the moment. of course he's interested in winning football games. he's a football coach. it's the main KPI for his job.

I didn't say you had the talent to replace Gagai, i said your club was so strong it can afford to discard talent such as his. big difference. you may not have an immediate solution, but it won't matter. there will be others, and what is important is that when those others come, they have the right attitude.

the "leadership hole" at the Knights is pretty accurate, too. Gidley isn't a leader, but was probably the closest thing we had pre-Bennett along with Houston. Buderus was signed for this purpose. Willie may or may not have been, but has had an obvious effect if you've been watching our games (he was tremendous against the Titans and is only getting better every week thus far).

ultimately, if i were you blokes i'd be disappointed about missing out on a talent (at least in the short term, who knows what the future brings for Gagai)... but i'd be extremely proud of my club. you have to remember that Dane would have been well aware of what was expected from him. it's his fault he was moved on, not your clubs.

Mr Fourex

it's his fault he was moved on, not your clubs.

^^^ THIS (and your other posts were quality as well)

I haven't lost one iota of sleep with the clubs decision to sack Gagai......

So much talk about a player who has done so little

Seriously, forget about him.

With Dane Gagai's attitude......life isn't going to be a barrel of laughs with Wayne Bennett

Up himself kid with a pea heart, goes to a side who is playing abysmally. Be very surprised if he lasts more than a year.

broncos70

I am not making Hook public enemy number one, but I think dropping a bloke to QLD cup for an entire season until he gets his act right is better than pulling the plug on someone for rocking up to training late and missing a couple of sessions. I just wish we punished him that way instead of cutting him loose. Like Bennett said, Gagai doesnt have a drinking or drug problem so there's no reason to panic. Gagai would've learnt by being put behind Copley for an entire season or even two. He aint gonna learn nothing anymore. He's gonna have a ticket to first grade in another team. If hook actually cared about the kids behaviour then he should've kept him as chopping him doesn't benefit Gagai at all..

I still hope he tears us a new asshole if he plays, just so I could see what we're missing out on and say that we developed him to everyone else watching.

Bretto

Gagai was already dropped to QCup for an entire season. Remember he played a couple games last year, then mysteriously disappeared? Fact is, he was given multiple chances over a 2 year period.

Snappy

Gagai was disappointed in missing Yow Yeh's spot, but instead of 'manning up' and getting stuck in with an attitude of doing what it takes to force his way into the nrl team, his attitude was crap, he didn't work hard and was dropped from Q Cup.

I reckon he'll do better in Newcastle as he won't really know anyone and have no old drinking buddies to help lead him astray.

Anyway he's not playing this game so discussion prob should be in another thread.

broncos70

Keep the bastard in QLD cup or lower grades until he sorted it out. If he wasn't committed enough to train hard then he doesnt deserve a shot at first grade. I guess it's different with others but I would've left him in QLD to rot until he fixed himself up. Give him minimal payments and make him leave when he wants to if he wants to pay first grade. Just don't see a point in helping someone you developed out by letting him go to another first grade team. I like our strict first grade policy, but keep the bastard in lower grades and let him fall off the face of the earth by his own doing. Anyway, I reckon he'll come back one day like Hodges did.

Big Pete

This really is like a modern day Hodges situation.

Hopefully this time it pays off for Queensland.

Big Pete

Out of the plodders, I'd have Dodds before Anderson in a heartbeat.

Least Dodds knows how to tackle.

GoTheBroncs

Might not be a bad thing having Dodds in. Our defence around the ruck needs a massive improvement.