Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 17 vs The Rabbitohs

mxlegend99

Anyone going to defend that shit?

Our team has no backbone. One thing goes against them and they crumble. Thats on the coach.

Moylan f**ked us with that bad pass. But we still led by 2 after it. We couldn't ever get momentum back though.

Pomoz

We are missing a few players but there are no excuses. I think Hook needs to be hooked. I can't see anything promising to come out of this season other than the blooding of Edwards and CHN. The move of Moylan to 6 has been meh for mine. He was awful today and has been in a number of games this year. I hope his poor form doesn't hinder Cleary's development.

We haven't been at the races all year. One good game followed by a stinker and this was stinkier than 3 day old chicken madras.

As soon as a team has a lot of aggression in defence we melt like a chocolate teapot. Question: Do we have too many pea hearts? Do we have too many flat track bullies who like touch footy but won't do the tough stuff?

I have defended Hook, but this game after the season we have had tells me he can't get this team motivated properly. If Gus is fair dinkum about wanting to achieve excellence, he should let Hook go. I would hire Geoff Toovey in a heartbeat. He would put some steel back into this side.

We have all the skill in the world, but what we need is Sam Burgess ticker and aggro. Who is that man for us?

OldPanther

We are missing a few players but there are no excuses. I think Hook needs to be hooked. I can't see anything promising to come out of this season other than the blooding of Edwards and CHN. The move of Moylan to 6 has been meh for mine. He was awful today and has been in a number of games this year. I hope his poor form doesn't hinder Cleary's development.

We haven't been at the races all year. One good game followed by a stinker and this was stinkier than 3 day old chicken madras.

As soon as a team has a lot of aggression in defence we melt like a chocolate teapot. Question: Do we have too many pea hearts? Do we have too many flat track bullies who like touch footy but won't do the tough stuff?

I have defended Hook, but this game after the season we have had tells me he can't get this team motivated properly. If Gus is fair dinkum about wanting to achieve excellence, he should let Hook go. I would hire Geoff Toovey in a heartbeat. He would put some steel back into this side.

We have all the skill in the world, but what we need is Sam Burgess ticker and aggro. Who is that man for us?

Moylan was fine today. He threw 1 bad pass. The rest were good and he even kicked well. Got a repeat set and helped break their line a few times.

lsta5838

Anyone going to defend that shit?

Our team has no backbone. One thing goes against them and they crumble. Thats on the coach.

Moylan f**ked us with that bad pass. But we still led by 2 after it. We couldn't ever get momentum back though.

I was just about to post this.. I don't watch other teams as much as us, but it is amazing how we have the momentum, and just one little thing (eg Moylan pass, or in previous games a knock on), we just capitulate.. it is incredible how many times we make a mistake, then compound it with an idiotic penalty, and just invite teams back into the game. Did it countless times against the Cowboys.

The good teams, eg Storm/Sharks, don't sweat a mistake, and just get back into the grind.

Just shows how young a team we are, but our attitude was also not there - no urgency to make a tackle/catch the ball, or wrap up the ball when making a tackle allowing 2nd phase play.

Everything Souths did today turned to gold.. but they made their own luck with hard running and getting away with murder in the ruck/not being square at marker.

TheFrog

I want the f**kwits who think we'll still make the 8 to front up right now. You apologist fools are the reason our club is a joke
Well it doesn't look like it, does it? Maybe you need to go and have a good lie down. All of us have every right to deal with this defeat in our own way, and if that includes optimism, what's it to you?

billypilgrimnz

Moylan at 6 is not the issue. He will be fine there. Everyone here who backs the coach will be excited to come in an say "Look, he did what you wanted in terms of 1 and 6 and we still lose" as if that means anything. When I was bucking for Moylan at 6, it wasn't because I thought it would magically make the team unbeatable; I wanted him there because it is obviously his best position AND Edwards is a better fullback.

But now that Griffin has addressed one of his glaring deficiencies (picking a team that makes sense), we still have to live with the other 4,217 problems he has until he gets around to solving them as well. Maybe he needs a priority list:

1. Mentality
2. Game plan instructions
3. Attacking set ups
4. Interchange use
5. Discipline

That would be a start. Go Griffin!

Well it doesn't look like it, does it? Maybe you need to go and have a good lie down. All of us have every right to deal with this defeat in our own way, and if that includes optimism, what's it to you?
Settling for nothing makes us nothing. Might be ok for you but not me

pantherz9103

Terrible effort all round after that shocking pass by Moylan, but the bottom line is that Anthony Griffin is a rubbish coach who got lucky last year with a nice late season run against mostly weak teams, otherwise he'd surely be gone already.

TheFrog

I reckon that being a young side, last week's 400 tackles ending in defeat knocked the side around physically and mentally. Sounds like an excuse I know but this side was way way down today.

We missed having a tackling machine in the 9 as well.

billypilgrimnz

Key stats:
Dylan Edwards: 212 meters (next best: 143), 1 LB, 10 tackle busts (next best: 5)
Team: 50 missed tackles
Tim Browne: 1 run for 11 metres in 23 minutes

And here is the thing about ONLY looking at errors: Dylan Edwards 1 error, CHN 2 errors, Josh Mansour 0 errors. Who had the better game?

Pomoz

Moylan at 6 is not the issue. He will be fine there. Everyone here who backs the coach will be excited to come in an say "Look, he did what you wanted in terms of 1 and 6 and we still lose" as if that means anything. When I was bucking for Moylan at 6, it wasn't because I thought it would magically make the team unbeatable; I wanted him there because it is obviously his best position AND Edwards is a better fullback.

But now that Griffin has addressed one of his glaring deficiencies (picking a team that makes sense), we still have to live with the other 4,217 problems he has until he gets around to solving them as well. Maybe he needs a priority list:

1. Mentality
3. Attacking set ups
4. Interchange use
5. Discipline

Edwards is so far better at fullback its incredible. 212m in a side getting monstered.

GongPanther

I want the f**kwits who think we'll still make the 8 to front up right now. You apologist fools are the reason our club is a joke

If you think that stating support for ones team is not in line to your way of thinking,I'm afraid you're involved in the wrong past time,as I still think Griffin is our coach,and I think we can still get into the 8.

Pomoz

1. Mentality
3. Attacking set ups
4. Interchange use
5. Discipline

I never said Moylan at 6 is the issue, give me a break. But he is also not the messiah and has been average this year. He certainly made more than one mistake today including letting a player through for a try. Cartwright would have been pilloried for it. I agree 6 is his best position.

Our number one issue is we are not mentally tough enough. Number 2 is our lack of discipline. The two are related.

TheFrog

Tim Browne: 1 run for 11 metres in 23 minutes
You forgot 21 tackles, with 1 missed. A tackle a minute (almost) for 23 minutes isn't exactly world beating, and I didn't even notice him out there today, but it's pretty clear his job in the team is not primarily to make metres. With the way the game went today we needed all the defenders we could get. If we had someone better to replace him with I'm sure that would happen.

If you think that stating support for ones team is not in line to your way of thinking,I'm afraid you're involved in the wrong past time,as I still think Griffin is our coach,and I think we can still get into the 8.
Blind support for incompetent fools isn't something to be proud of

Panthers fans for too long have accepted mediocrity, that's how you get a team like this.

Not even slightly joking.

Fans must demand more.

We've been a mediocre club for 50 years with a few moments of brilliance.

Enough of this BS. We must have some accountability!

BxTom

I obviously picked a good game to miss today. I see Souths winger got 5 tries. Who was defending (if being a turnstyle is defending) that side today?

Tom.