Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 2 Saturday 17th March @ Panthers Stadium v Penrith

Pommy

I think we dodged a bullet with crighton his 2 performances have been substandard his defence is bad and his attack is nothing you can have him rooster dogs

Don’t get me wrong I thought he was brilliant last season but when others were calling for us to break the bank to retain him I said it was too soon.
I’m not going to write him off yet either but it just goes to show you can’t throw big money at youngsters without opening yourself up to big problems.

Travitoh

Don’t get me wrong I thought he was brilliant last season but when others were calling for us to break the bank to retain him I said it was too soon.
I’m not going to write him off yet either but it just goes to show you can’t throw big money at youngsters without opening yourself up to big problems.

100% agree
The only young player in the NRL worth superstar money is Nathan Cleary.

Dogmatix

I would not be writing Crichton off after only 2 games this season

Plenty here were happy to see the back of Keary but he got a payrise from the Roosters and played well last night in his first game of the season

doyen

Sths were very good tonight--big all-round improvement from last week!

In the extreme heat it was a masterstroke call by Griffen to hold Peachey back until late in the game.

I thought we'd be in trouble on his intro to the game & so we were--bigtime!

Nevertheless,I thought we were at least equally as good as the Panthers over the entire match,if not better--we were pipped at the post!

AJ: was solid! Not good defensively though. Doesn't have a passing game!
Kennar: best back we had! Where's Rsag gone??
Gagai: A mixed bag!
GI: I thought he was good until he went off.
Jennings: Good apart from dodgy under the high ball.
Cody: Went missing too much for my liking! He didn't take control of things like he said he would! He must be better! Not good enough!
Doueihi: A mixed bag! Tried very hard. Can't expect much more!
Tom: A mixed bag.
Cook: Was good but not as good in second half. Discipline was an issue.
Sam: Was strong but discipline was an issue!
Crichton: Discipline was an issue and I question whether his heart is there.
Sutton: I thought he was quite strong without doing too much.
Murray: Was immense. Only criticism was that silly pass with 6 minutes to go.

Fuimaono: Got caught out at centre due to some lack of pace! He did try very hard though and make a try saver or 2.
Nicholls: Quiet hit much game time.
Tatola: Did his job.
George: A mixed bag

The lack of fitness is very concerning! I think if AR is there we win!
Discipline is a problem!

It's gonna be a long season!

Maybe we tired as well due to the Perth trip!

Refereeing didn't do is any favours once again..

Sths were very good tonight--big all-round improvement from last week!

In the extreme heat it was a masterstroke call by Griffen to hold Peachey back until late in the game.

I thought we'd be in trouble on his intro to the game & so we were--bigtime!

Nevertheless,I thought we were at least equally as good as the Panthers over the entire match,if not better--we were pipped at the post!
I just hope they aren't extremely deflated after that, that they don't turn up early on against Manly!

Travitoh

Crichton: Discipline was an issue and I question whether his heart is there.

I thought he looked the most upset at FT of the players i saw. I don't doubt that he wants to put in for the club while he is still here.
Otherwise, a pretty accurate assessment.

I thought he looked the most upset at FT of the players i saw. I don't doubt that he wants to put in for the club while he is still here.
Otherwise, a pretty accurate assessment.
My old man said a few of them were laughing at the end!

If that's the case that is unacceptable!

Pommy

My old man said a few of them were laughing at the end!

If that's the case that is unacceptable!

Sometimes that’s how people cope, cheerfulness in the face of adversity is something we had drummed in to us in training.

Poor Callmack just like me loves this club so so much and I think he's taken it really hard like I have!

Well the press conference was a load of bullshit!

Until Seibs comes down hard on them we will stay where we are!!

The twins do need to hold the ball too! It's really letting us down!

Cody is not taking control!

If anyone wants to have a go at Cook just look at what he's done! He made 49 tackles plus 18 for 160m! He is trying his backside off!

I was disappointed in Gagai. He needs to get more involved and cut out the silly missed tackles plus not make a silly error when we are attacking!

Jennings if he can't get his confidence up under the high ball Manly will exploit that!

@Travitoh mate I think I read you think we will beat Manly?? Please correct me if you didn't say that! Mate they've a killer fullback, some other strong backs plus a killer half in DCE. A similar hooker we have they have Api plus Taupau and Jake on the forwards!!!

If we can't compete for the 80 and if our fitness drops off in the match and we fall off tackles they will tear us a new one!

What needs to happen is AJ needs to stop missing tackles plus learn how to throw the ball! Kennar needs to continue what he's doing! GI and Gagai must get more involved and float around the field! Jennings needs to learn how to catch a bomb! Cody needs to not float in and out of games and start playing with seniority plus helping Doueihi get us repeat sets! I can tell you Manly will roll the ball in the in goal, FACT! Cook needs to keep doing what he's doing! Tom needs to learn to catch plus stop slapping at tackles. Sam needs to stop the silly penalties! Sutto needs to keep doing what he did tonight plus maybe he can help us get a repeat set or 2. Crichton needs to stop the penalties and missed tackles! Murray just has to do what he's doing... no need to push a silly pass when you're on top! George needs to learn to catch too!

Our completion rate isn't too bad! It's our missed tackles that are killing us and our line speed was shithouse in the last 30. Plus we need to get repeat sets! Do more in attack and have our weapons floating around and not just staying in their positions!

But most of all where has the steel gone?? The boys need to really play like they want it badly and with determination to never give up!!! I'm not seeing that in all the boys currently sorry!!

Pommy

But most of all where has the steel gone?? The boys need to really play like they want it badly and with determination to never give up!!! I'm not seeing that in all the boys currently sorry!!

Are you seeing it in cook?

Yep I am! He's tried his backside off and he can't really do anymore!

Maybe just cut out giving a silly penalty away!

160m running for a hooker, like that's brilliant!

callmack1

Well that was really heartbreaking. I know it's only Round 2 but to lose it at that stage of the game really, really hurt and I feel we should have come away with the two points for sure but we let it slip. It was disappointing for sure but I think this was actually a really positive performance overall.

Whoever it was that said our trip to Perth would show in the last twenty, you were 100% correct. We looked tired in that last twenty, more tired then usual and more tired then we should be really. In the closing stages of the game, imo, we lost it on effort. We kind of dropped off, went into our shell and stopped attacking where as Penrith kept their energy levels up and kept coming hard, you could feel them getting on top of us. We got out enthused in the last quarter sadly.

From an attacking point of view, that first half was awesome. We were throwing it around without overplaying and the attack seemed to have a really, really nice balance. The forwards were rolling through and this meant we looked very dangerous all the time. The completion rate was better (yes, we made some errors but that's to be expected in the heat) and our overall dicipline was better. This continued into part of the second half but we kind of seemed to stall when GI went off. We kind of went into our shell and stopped attacking, we played a fair bit of one out footy and just didn't look as direct. As someone has said, it's almost like we were trying to protect the lead rather then extend it and you can't afford to do that in the NRL. Also as mentioned above, we seemed to just drop off and got out enthused by Penrith.

That last twenty was disappointing in terms of dicipline too. We gave away far too many penalties and gave them piggy backs out of their own end, we just can't afford to do this and it must be fixed asap.

I thought the back three were really fantastic tonight at getting us out of trouble. Every single one of them were doing the shit work and were really helping out the forwards. This is a great sign as we have lacked this in previous years.

Defensively, this game was actually extremely pleasing. It's clear we've been working on it and it was a huge improvement, defend like that last week and we would've won. Penrith threw so much at us all game but we were able to turn them away so many times. We showed real resiliance for most of this match and I was really impressed with the goal line defence, it was great and the Panthers didn't really break us down, their tries came through luck. Our line speed, first contact and third man in were way better too and we stopped their roll on well at times. It wasn't until the last twenty were this all kind of dropped off. We started to miss tackles, all these elements deteriorated and the grit kind of seemed to dissapear.

Anyway,

Johnston: Pretty decent. Much better then last week, his kick returns were strong and he got a lot more involved which was good to see.

Kennar: Was good. I friggin love Kennar! He's so powerful and boy did he show that today! Started our sets well and almost every run he took was really good. I liked the fact that he was busy too, he did a lot of work which really helps the forwards. Defensively he was stong and I thought he was safe under the high ball too. How good was his run to set up our first try?! Wow!

Gagai: Was a bit quiet. Don't get me wrong, he was solid and did his job well but it wasn't the explosive Gags we know. We need to get him more involved if you ask me, one of the strongest attacking weapons but he's not getting enough ball for my liking. Wasn't a bad performance by any means though.

Inglis: Was looking good until he was forced off. It was a big improvement on last week as he looked really strong, dangerous and had some really nice runs. We're statring to see his fend return!! Defensively he was stable too. He's slowing building but it's still gonna take time.

Jennings: Honestly one of the best games he's played. I've critisised him a lot in the past for not doing enough of the hard work and not being involved enough, well he stepped up big time tonight. So busy and they were all really good runs. Played a nice role in our first try. Defensively he was solid too, maybe a bit dodgy under the high ball but otherwise was great.

Walker: One of our best tonight. Man he was slippery in the first half and he created a lot of chances. Looked really, really dangerous. However he did kind of go missing at times, did some poor kicks and didn't direct the boys around as well as I hoped. However, his attacking prowess made up for that.

Doueihi: Not a bad debut, he had some nice touches and did his job. Looked a bit unsettled but that's to be expected.

T.Burgess: Was very good. His runs are looking really strong and I like what I saw. He's running harder than previous years and is finding some form. He had some good runs today and was pretty busy all game.

Cook: Really good first half. Constantly asking questions and looking really sharp, his try was just fantastic. However, he didn't have that same impact in the second stanza and didn't seem as free, I guess that was reflected in the whole side though. Still a big improvement on last week from Cook.

S.Burgess: Was good. Classic Sam really, inspirational runs all the time and a workhorse in defence. Was taking hit ups earlier in sets and created some real momentum. Yes, he gave away some penalties but it was otherwise a good performance.

Sutton: Was solid. A lot better then last week but didn't really stand out. He was a lot better in defence and did his job the whole game. I still don't want him playing 80 however.

Crichton: I actually wasn't impressed. He had a few good runs but the rest weren't the usual impact he provides. His dicipline was bad too, gave away heaps of silly penalties and he left Adam on his own to make first contact one on one when Merrin scored by coming in a bit for no real reason. Needs to aim up.

Murray: Was great. Fantastic work rate, fantastic runs. For a smaller guy, he's so strong and really gets those legs pumping. His defence through the middle is a big reason why we were better tonight too. I think Seibs took him off for too long though and we payed for it. A great performance from Cam though.

Fuimaono: Was okay. Strong runs as we've come to expect and did an okay job on that left edge once GI went off. He did miss some tackles and rushed in for no reason though which wasn't good but he was okay.

Nicholls: Didn't get many minutes but did his job.

Tatola: Was solid. Stong runs and he has a real positive attitude on the field.

G.Burgess: Made a few errors but I thought he was really good. Like Tom, he's starting to run harder and find some real form, I liked what I saw.

While it sucked we lost, this is a much improved positive performance moving forward. We have work to do and it will take time but I know we can get there!

Well that was really heartbreaking. I know it's only Round 2 but to lose it at that stage of the game really, really hurt and I feel we should have come away with the two points for sure but we let it slip. It was disappointing for sure but I think this was actually a really positive performance overall.

Whoever it was that said our trip to Perth would show in the last twenty, you were 100% correct. We looked tired in that last twenty, more tired then usual and more tired then we should be really. In the closing stages of the game, imo, we lost it on effort. We kind of dropped off, went into our shell and stopped attacking where as Penrith kept their energy levels up and kept coming hard, you could feel them getting on top of us. We got out enthused in the last quarter sadly.

From an attacking point of view, that first half was awesome. We were throwing it around without overplaying and the attack seemed to have a really, really nice balance. The forwards were rolling through and this meant we looked very dangerous all the time. The completion rate was better (yes, we made some errors but that's to be expected in the heat) and our overall dicipline was better. This continued into part of the second half but we kind of seemed to stall when GI went off. We kind of went into our shell and stopped attacking, we played a fair bit of one out footy and just didn't look as direct. As someone has said, it's almost like we were trying to protect the lead rather then extend it and you can't afford to do that in the NRL. Also as mentioned above, we seemed to just drop off and got out enthused by Penrith.

That last twenty was disappointing in terms of dicipline too. We gave away far too many penalties and gave them piggy backs out of their own end, we just can't afford to do this and it must be fixed asap.

I thought the back three were really fantastic tonight at getting us out of trouble. Every single one of them were doing the shit work and were really helping out the forwards. This is a great sign as we have lacked this in previous years.

Defensively, this game was actually extremely pleasing. It's clear we've been working on it and it was a huge improvement, defend like that last week and we would've won. Penrith threw so much at us all game but we were able to turn them away so many times. We showed real resiliance for most of this match and I was really impressed with the goal line defence, it was great and the Panthers didn't really break us down, their tries came through luck. Our line speed, first contact and third man in were way better too and we stopped their roll on well at times. It wasn't until the last twenty were this all kind of dropped off. We started to miss tackles, all these elements deteriorated and the grit kind of seemed to dissapear.

Anyway,

Johnston: Pretty decent. Much better then last week, his kick returns were strong and he got a lot more involved which was good to see.

Kennar: Was good. I friggin love Kennar! He's so powerful and boy did he show that today! Started our sets well and almost every run he took was really good. I liked the fact that he was busy too, he did a lot of work which really helps the forwards. Defensively he was stong and I thought he was safe under the high ball too. How good was his run to set up our first try?! Wow!

Gagai: Was a bit quiet. Don't get me wrong, he was solid and did his job well but it wasn't the explosive Gags we know. We need to get him more involved if you ask me, one of the strongest attacking weapons but he's not getting enough ball for my liking. Wasn't a bad performance by any means though.

Inglis: Was looking good until he was forced off. It was a big improvement on last week as he looked really strong, dangerous and had some really nice runs. We're statring to see his fend return!! Defensively he was stable too. He's slowing building but it's still gonna take time.

Jennings: Honestly one of the best games he's played. I've critisised him a lot in the past for not doing enough of the hard work and not being involved enough, well he stepped up big time tonight. So busy and they were all really good runs. Played a nice role in our first try. Defensively he was solid too, maybe a bit dodgy under the high ball but otherwise was great.

Walker: One of our best tonight. Man he was slippery in the first half and he created a lot of chances. Looked really, really dangerous. However he did kind of go missing at times, did some poor kicks and didn't direct the boys around as well as I hoped. However, his attacking prowess made up for that.

Doueihi: Not a bad debut, he had some nice touches and did his job. Looked a bit unsettled but that's to be expected.

T.Burgess: Was very good. His runs are looking really strong and I like what I saw. He's running harder than previous years and is finding some form. He had some good runs today and was pretty busy all game.

Cook: Really good first half. Constantly asking questions and looking really sharp, his try was just fantastic. However, he didn't have that same impact in the second stanza and didn't seem as free, I guess that was reflected in the whole side though. Still a big improvement on last week from Cook.

S.Burgess: Was good. Classic Sam really, inspirational runs all the time and a workhorse in defence. Was taking hit ups earlier in sets and created some real momentum. Yes, he gave away some penalties but it was otherwise a good performance.

Sutton: Was solid. A lot better then last week but didn't really stand out. He was a lot better in defence and did his job the whole game. I still don't want him playing 80 however.

Crichton: I actually wasn't impressed. He had a few good runs but the rest weren't the usual impact he provides. His dicipline was bad too, gave away heaps of silly penalties and he left Adam on his own to make first contact one on one when Merrin scored by coming in a bit for no real reason. Needs to aim up.

Murray: Was great. Fantastic work rate, fantastic runs. For a smaller guy, he's so strong and really gets those legs pumping. His defence through the middle is a big reason why we were better tonight too. I think Seibs took him off for too long though and we payed for it. A great performance from Cam though.

Fuimaono: Was okay. Strong runs as we've come to expect and did an okay job on that left edge once GI went off. He did miss some tackles and rushed in for no reason though which wasn't good but he was okay.

Nicholls: Didn't get many minutes but did his job.

Tatola: Was solid. Stong runs and he has a real positive attitude on the field.

G.Burgess: Made a few errors but I thought he was really good. Like Tom, he's starting to run harder and find some real form, I liked what I saw.

While it sucked we lost, this is a much improved positive performance moving forward. We have work to do and it will take time but I know we can get there!
If we don't beat Manly the season is over!! We need to beat both Manly and the Dogs!

Especially with tough games against Dragons, Roosters and Broncos to come!

They don't seem to be fit enough!

I think the criticism on Cook is unwarranted! He shouldn't be playing second receiver! He couldn't do anymore either. He had 18 runs for 160m!

If they don't pick up quick smart it'll be already too late if we do start clicking!!

ThingFish

Well the press conference was a load of bullshit!

Until Seibs comes down hard on them we will stay where we are!!

The twins do need to hold the ball too! It's really letting us down!

Cody is not taking control!

If anyone wants to have a go at Cook just look at what he's done! He made 49 tackles plus 18 for 160m! He is trying his backside off!

I was disappointed in Gagai. He needs to get more involved and cut out the silly missed tackles plus not make a silly error when we are attacking!

Jennings if he can't get his confidence up under the high ball Manly will exploit that!

@Travitoh mate I think I read you think we will beat Manly?? Please correct me if you didn't say that! Mate they've a killer fullback, some other strong backs plus a killer half in DCE. A similar hooker we have they have Api plus Taupau and Jake on the forwards!!!

If we can't compete for the 80 and if our fitness drops off in the match and we fall off tackles they will tear us a new one!

What needs to happen is AJ needs to stop missing tackles plus learn how to throw the ball! Kennar needs to continue what he's doing! GI and Gagai must get more involved and float around the field! Jennings needs to learn how to catch a bomb! Cody needs to not float in and out of games and start playing with seniority plus helping Doueihi get us repeat sets! I can tell you Manly will roll the ball in the in goal, FACT! Cook needs to keep doing what he's doing! Tom needs to learn to catch plus stop slapping at tackles. Sam needs to stop the silly penalties! Sutto needs to keep doing what he did tonight plus maybe he can help us get a repeat set or 2. Crichton needs to stop the penalties and missed tackles! Murray just has to do what he's doing... no need to push a silly pass when you're on top! George needs to learn to catch too!

Our completion rate isn't too bad! It's our missed tackles that are killing us and our line speed was shithouse in the last 30. Plus we need to get repeat sets! Do more in attack and have our weapons floating around and not just staying in their positions!

All good points. However a complete change in style won’t gel for a while. That’s why the boys look lost, they still haven’t worked out their combinations, they are not comfortable yet. It’s going to be ugly until they gel, get comfortable, and get confidence in each other.

I think you’re right about fitness. I think Sebs may have been way less strict in the off season to try and ease some of the over training issues. I think that has shown in the first 2 rounds and should improve with game time. It’s a long season and I’d rather peak in September and not March. If you look at 2012/13 we where super fit smashed it in the first 3 months, but peaked early. 2014 we only won 3 from the first 7 rounds, but came home like a train.

I also think you’re right about this being a long season R20, longer than I thought. I’ll admit the reason I haven’t been on LU much lately is that I’m super disappointed and super pissed. But I’m resigned to watching the games with the old sense of dread for a while, but hopefully once it clicks it’ll become more fun. Glory, Glory!!