Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 21 - The Roosters

franklin2323

Exactly and if you look at their line break assists critta is above Manu there. Also their career try averages critta is averaging more despiste Manu playing in a team that went back to back. Critta is a better defender that’s obvious already.

Manu is obviously a better ball runner and overall he is the better player but he’s 5 years older and played more than double the games. Crichton is still working some things out but he’s hugely skilled and a great defender already. What will he be at 25? He could be anything.

Manu reminds me of Whare. Great centre but less skills to evolve compare him now to Staggs, Best or Critter at that same stage all 3 should be in front

The Realist

I watched this earlier tonight and it struck me how raw Tyrone was about what his family had been through and just by his emotion feel he is so remorseful for his actions. His tears of pride for his brother was extremely emotional

We are a family club. He is a good guy who got carried away in the hyper masculine footy bro culture. I am really happy we stuck by him and didn't simply hang him out to dry.

The Realist

Manu reminds me of Whare. Great centre but less skills to evolve compare him now to Staggs, Best or Critter at that same stage all 3 should be in front

He does all the basics extremely well, is very fit, not prone to injury and has great football IQ. He is also very flexible and can play 1-6. He has no weaknesses in his game at all - it's just that his 'strengths' have a lower ceiling compared to pure talents like Critta, Latrell etc. Manu has basically actualized the 'best version' of himself. Probably has a lot to do with Roosters coaching and systems.

Aliceinwonderland

We are a family club. He is a good guy who got carried away in the hyper masculine footy bro culture. I am really happy we stuck by him and didn't simply hang him out to dry.

Well said. It was beautiful, as Diamond say very very raw. Tyrone 'owned' his bad behaviour when he spoke. It is rare, sadly too rare, so easily to blame others circumstances or 'the devil made me do it'.

In hindsight I'm also pleased the club didn't throw the towel in on Tyrone.

Girds89

Someone mentioned so lets compare the 2

Tries
Manu 9
Crichton 7

Try Assists
Manu 5
Crichton 7

Line Breaks
Manu 12
Crichton 6

Run Metres

Manu 126m a game
Crichton 118 a game

Errors
Manu 17
Crichton 19

Penalty conceded

Manu 9
Crichton 7

Tackle %

Manu 74%
Crichton 82%

So Crichton in a 'quiet' year isn't far off Manu. When Crichton learns to run harder then he will carve teams up
A key thing in all this is teams target teddy and manu as they know they are genuine game breakers.

Literally all night you could hear our players screaming "teddy teddy", "manu manu" every time they got the ball in hand.

They got swamped by our players cause they were clearly identified as threats.

You can produce any stats you want. Manus been in an injury destroyed team all year.. add keary alone and his numbers, tries, linebreaks probably almost double.

Voted best centre in the game quite convincingly last two seasons by players. If it was close between the players maybe your argument would have weight.

As i said, i hope critta can get to his level but hes definitley not there yet. If he stops crabbing with the ball and runs it as hard as manu hed be a real handful.

I think in defence this year tho hes been up there with the best backs in the game.. defensivley been brilliant all year.

Girds89

That is the big difference. Alot of Burton's tries he is put into a huge gap last year it was Crichton doing that
Burtons a completley different style of centre than critta.

Matt runs some of the best lines and picks his holes as good as luke lewis did back in his prime in the centres. And he really crashes onto the ball at full tilt.. often getting put into a hole is just as much the work of the ball runner as it is the passer.

Critta does not generally run the ball like that.

Girds89

Where would he sit as far as speedy for a back? Certainly lacks the ball playing skills can he kick? Runs hard, great motor, few mistakes but certainly has a smaller ceiling than guys like Staggs, Best, Critter etc
Have you actually watched the chooks this year?

Hes played 5/8 a number of times. Has been good to..his passing and kicking game isnt as good as a regular 5/8 but definitley has a decent passing and kicking game.

In terms of speed him and critta would be on par i reckon. Manu might be slightly faster of 20m.

WestyLife

Yeah I know.

giphy.gif

Original Name

And have their coach constantly whinge about it?
Try to create media/fan pressure to get the refs going easier on your team in the finals is something that's been happening for years. It's nothing new. Should have saved for next year when they can actually win a premiership though.

This is interesting.
Good to see we are in top half of this stat. Was a time not long ago that (don’t have the stats but would guess) we were one of the least disciplined teams.

I am sure there were games when Trent Waterhouse himself would have lost the penalty count.

It also said everything about the Roosters that this stat is shared and their first reaction is to blame someone else; obviously biased refs rather than they as a group are ill disciplined.

Or maybe as others have said this is a ploy to put pressure on refs. And the Tele goes for it hook, line and sinker.

Kilkenny

Prior to 2020 and our winning run over this past two seasons we had a horrendous run with Ashley Klein as head ref. As I recall our win ratio under him was approximately 18% or so over many games across numerous seasons.

Jason Robinson was the other ref we seemed to get a raw deal from over many years. Local Cambridge Park boy.

At the end of the day, the good sides, with the best players are better placed to overcome adversity which in part has seen us fare much better this past two seasons.

DinkyDi

Good to see we are in top half of this stat. Was a time not long ago that (don’t have the stats but would guess) we were one of the least disciplined teams.

I am sure there were games when Trent Waterhouse himself would have lost the penalty count.

It also said everything about the Roosters that this stat is shared and their first reaction is to blame someone else; obviously biased refs rather than they as a group are ill disciplined.

Or maybe as others have said this is a ploy to put pressure on refs. And the Tele goes for it hook, line and sinker.
No doubt if Jack Hetherington was still a Panthers, we would be closer to the most penalized team in the comp.