Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 21 Vs Raiders Sunday 5th August 4:10pm Panthers Stadium

Are you agreeing with me or agreeing to disagree.

Mate, I agree with you the Peachy experiment will only work for so long but today was a good day.

Peachy is just a terrific footy player, can play anywhere basically.

He has sustained a lot of criticism on here for apparently being shit in defence in the centres, which I don't agree with, but at the end of the day as we have seen you just have to find a position for him somewhere in our side so he can play 80 minutes. He is that good and we are going to miss him big time.
Agree the bagging of his defense in the centres has never made sense to me

Kilkenny

Agree the bagging of his defense in the centres has never made sense to me

I think it is rather sad in a way Tyrone Peachy leaving for the Gold Coast Titans has almost become a non story at our club.

I understand he has only played a little over a 100 NRL games for our club but seriously has he ever had a bad game? A real shocker? Lock, Back Row, Hooker, Five Eighth, Centre and now our current Fullback and no matter where or how you play this kid he does his job and as we saw today can be a match winner.

I will be so sad to see him go. His last home game is not the ideal time slot given it's a 3pm Saturday arvo game but I really hope we get a good roll up and give this kid a worthy send off because he has been absolutely terrific in his five years at our club.

I think it is rather sad in a way Tyrone Peachy leaving for the Gold Coast Titans has almost become a non story at our club.

I understand he has only played a little over a 100 NRL games for our club but seriously has he ever had a bad game? A real shocker? Lock, Back Row, Hooker, Five Eighth, Centre and now our current Fullback and no matter where or how you play this kid he does his job and as we saw today can be a match winner.

I will be so sad to see him go. His last home game is not the ideal time slot given it's a 3pm Saturday arvo game but I really hope we get a good roll up and give this kid a worthy send off because he has been absolutely terrific in his five years at our club.
He's had stinker or 2 but far more great games and won a few off his own back.

age.s

I understand he has only played a little over a 100 NRL games for our club but seriously has he ever had a bad game? A real shocker?

I love the man but he definitely has. Roosters game at Allianz stands out.

Kilkenny

If ever I think we are a bunch of negative nellies on here I only need to spend a little time reading through the Eels, Dragons, Sharks forums on League Unlimited to give myself a reality check. Seriously, we offer nothing in the doom and gloom stakes in comparison to these guys.

If Betcats was a Dragons or Sharks supporter he would be in his element and the happiest person on earth.

franklin2323

If ever I think we are a bunch of negative nellies on here I only need to spend a little time reading through the Eels, Dragons, Sharks forums on League Unlimited to give myself a reality check. Seriously, we offer nothing in the doom and gloom stakes in comparison to these guys.

If Betcats was a Dragons or Sharks supporter he would be in his element and the happiest person on earth.

:joy::joy::joy:

BxTom

It's the old saying - "Jack of all trades, master of none".

Pomoz

We will not beat anyone of note with Peach at 1. Wait till Melbourne or even Cronk at Easts pick him apart with kicks
Umina, the logic for this is very simple, it is not in the least bit ridiculous, more a Hobson's choice.

Is DWZ a better fullback than Peachey? The answer is yes.
Are the Panthers a better team with DWZ at fullback and Crichton or Phillips on the wing vs Peachey at fullback and DWZ on the wing? The answer is no.

The Panthers are a better team with DWZ on the wing and Peachey at fullback, much as I would love to have him there, our back up wingers are just not up to it. And forget the idea of moving Whare to the wing and Peachey in the centres, that changes 3 positions. Peachey to fullback, changes one position. Simples.

franklin2323

That is how I see it too. 2 tries today beats what those wingers would give.

Crichton bombed another try in NSW Cup. Phillips picked up a minor injury. So no chance it changes for a while

Kilkenny

Umina, the logic for this is very simple, it is not in the least bit ridiculous, more a Hobson's choice.

Is DWZ a better fullback than Peachey? The answer is yes.
Are the Panthers a better team with DWZ at fullback and Crichton or Phillips on the wing vs Peachey at fullback and DWZ on the wing? The answer is no.

The Panthers are a better team with DWZ on the wing and Peachey at fullback, much as I would love to have him there, our back up wingers are just not up to it. And forget the idea of moving Whare to the wing and Peachey in the centres, that changes 3 positions. Peachey to fullback, changes one position. Simples.

100%. The coach is simply adopting the policy of picking his best 17 players and fitting them into the lineup.

None of us would suggest Peachy is a better fullback than DWZ but for the balance of the team overall putting DWZ back to the wing means a better side overall.

I feel sorry for DWZ. I really do. It is a tough call by the coach and it is to his credit that he has made this courageous decision.

mxlegend99

Blake and Kikau need to get their defence sorted.

Attack is flying though which is strange usually the other way around
They simply arent good enough to cover Maloney. At the end of the day that edge gets destroyed because Jimmy isnt making his tackles and the guys around him rightfully don't trust him to make his tackles.

There's not much that can be done until Jimmy is back to his best defensively. Hes never been a good defender. But presently he doesnt even slow guys down. Playing with a broken thumb is clearly preventing him from making genuine attempts at times.

franklin2323

They simply arent good enough to cover Maloney. At the end of the day that edge gets destroyed because Jimmy isnt making his tackles and the guys around him rightfully don't trust him to make his tackles.

There's not much that can be done until Jimmy is back to his best defensively. Hes never been a good defender. But presently he doesnt even slow guys down. Playing with a broken thumb is clearly preventing him from making genuine attempts at times.

Canberra have the best attack in the comp. that Right side is the focus of that and attempts from Blake and Kikau too weren't good enough. We missed 60 tackles. 49 from the others still is too high

TheFrog

TheFrog's Player Ratings

Peachey 7
Mansour 7
Blake 6
Whare 7
Watene-Zelezniak 7
Maloney 6
Cleary 7
Leota 5
Katoa 6
Tamou 7
Kikau 7
Yeo 6
Fisher-Harris 6

May 5
Merrin 6
Harawira-Naera 6
Campbell-Gillard 6

Referee Checcin (4)

Peachey was our best, but made a number of errors, otherwise he would have got 8.

GongPanther

TheFrog's Player Ratings

Peachey 7
Mansour 7
Blake 6
Whare 7
Watene-Zelezniak 7
Maloney 6
Cleary 7
Leota 5
Katoa 6
Tamou 7
Kikau 7
Yeo 6
Fisher-Harris 6

May 5
Merrin 6
Harawira-Naera 6
Campbell-Gillard 6

Referee Checcin (4)

Peachey was our best, but made a number of errors, otherwise he would have got 8.
On ABC Grandstand MoM points,Kikau got the 3,with Peach getting the 1.

TheFrog

With the Titans and Knights next it seems like the time to give Jimmy the rest he needs. It's now out in the open that he's been playing with a broken thumb, maybe that is the plan. Otherwise they'll just run at him like the Raiders did.

Just watched the game again, Cleary had a lot better game today. Some nice passes & that quality 40/20.

Maloney, boy I hope it’s just his broken thumb. Sure he can make up for his mistakes with some nice plays, but the intercepts & missed tackles are absolute killers.

We’re so lucky the raiders threw a forward pass 2 mins into the second half. I reckon if they score there we don’t come back.