Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 22 Vs Dragons

betcats

Think you are forgetting a certain shoulder charge. But he is special so it never happened.

Mate, you guys had 12 sets when we had completed 1. Norman threw two intercepts in that time and your dumb ass coach wants to whinge about one play? Hook should be blowing up at himself for picking bird at fullback, he’s no fullback. Did he blow up about the bullshit penalty that led to one of your tries?

Cleary turned his body and stood his ground if he gets charged than I’ll cop it but hook acting like that was a difference in the game is complete deflection from his poor coaching. Why is Norman still playing? Why is bird at fullback? Why haven’t you won a game since the bbq?

Did you notice on the intercept Lomax was chasing but also turning and giving Norman dirty looks? Then he scores later and wants nothing to do with macguire, the whole squads divided since the bbq, you got much bigger issues than a shoulder charge.

BxTom

Same here. He was off early - silly passes, missed tackles. But he worked his way back in - started running and making a few holes then he was a different player to what we have seen over the last 4 weeks.
Probably lacked confidence with his knee.

Original Name

Who is the back up edge forward? Hopgood is a middle, Yeo is a middle. The fact that you are talking about three 80 minute backrowers is stupid especially if you are including Yeo. I am talking about edge forwards I made that clear in the previous post. Sorensen has been playing in the middle, he’s been average on the edge, you created a post praising Sorensen the other day and said he is a middle did you not?

You think we can just turn hopgood into an edge forward despite him playing in the middle but May or Turuva can’t play centre despite the fact they have have both played there in nsw cup this year? You are clutching at straws.

I understand why you want him to play centre, he’s been great there in nsw cup. You can just say you think centre’s his best spot and leave it there, trying to tell me he’s to small or we don’t have enough centre options is not going to work. If you think he’s the best centre option again you can just say that, it’s matter of opinion so I won’t argue.
How many games has Sorenson even had on the edge for us like 1 or 2 full games or something? The rest has been that edge 20 minutes edge role spelling Kikau. It could just be gaining confidence as he plays more football that resulted in his form not his switch of positions.

betcats

How many games has Sorenson even had on the edge for us like 1 or 2 full games or something? The rest has been that edge 20 minutes edge role spelling Kikau. It could just be gaining confidence as he plays more football that resulted in his form not his switch of positions.

Possibly but IMO he’s noticeably better in the middle. He first few games for us he was switched between middle and edge coming off the bench and I noticed his impact being way better in the middle very early on.

snickers007

Are we sure that Staines was dropped and not just rested? Has there been any official word?

I kinda think that Ivan is making sure that our whole squad is match fit, just in case injuries happen during the finals. So guys like Naden and Momirovski who haven't seen much footy recently are getting a start.

Girds89

Who is the back up edge forward? Hopgood is a middle, Yeo is a middle. The fact that you are talking about three 80 minute backrowers is stupid especially if you are including Yeo. I am talking about edge forwards I made that clear in the previous post. Sorensen has been playing in the middle, he’s been average on the edge, you created a post praising Sorensen the other day and said he is a middle did you not?

You think we can just turn hopgood into an edge forward despite him playing in the middle but May or Turuva can’t play centre despite the fact they have have both played there in nsw cup this year? You are clutching at straws.

I understand why you want him to play centre, he’s been great there in nsw cup. You can just say you think centre’s his best spot and leave it there, trying to tell me he’s to small or we don’t have enough centre options is not going to work. If you think he’s the best centre option again you can just say that, it’s matter of opinion so I won’t argue.
I have no doubt we will sign someone as a back up. Someone cheap. I also have no doubt sorensen could play edge backrow very well and he has played that a lot a cronulla before coming here. He is very similar to martin in terms of style. You say hes been average on the edge yet hasnt played there for us because he hasnt had to. So your talking crap and just making shit up haha.

Just because he hasnt had to play edge here because most our backrow play huge minutes doesnt mean he cant hahah.. how ridiculous.

Sorensen playing backrow is much safer and better option than throwing turuva at centre or pushing tiny in next year.. they both are definitley not ready to play centre at nrl level..

I dont think turuva is ready for nrl at all yet.. he is still a 6-12 months away. A full pre season with the big boys will do him good. Hes a great prospect but i have no doubt he will probably be initiated on the wing before maybe getting a crack at fb at some point. Similar to edwards nrl introduction.

Same with tiny. He needs a full pre season.

As i said previously, its much easier and much much cheaper to buy a backup 2nd rower to fill in for injuries or play 20mins a game. Tago is better a centre imo. Hes an x factor and needs to be on the field for 80. Not 30-40mins.. he has a brilliant combi with tiny.

Depth is easier to cover in the forwards than the backs. Tmay can play 2nd row and lock if need be too. Trying to find a young centre with x factor who is a great defender for cheap is impossible. He may end up in the backrow latter in his career but imo i think its best for panthers if he plays centre.

Its early but i think if our 17 next year is something like this then we are looking great and its a strong line up.

1. Edwards/staines (whoever is better in pre season)
2. Tiny
3. Tago
4. Critta
5. Too
6. Luai
7. Nath
8. Leota
9. Api
10. Jfh
11. Kiks
12. Martin
13. Yeo

14. May
15. Sorensen
16. Leniu
17. Hopgood/eiso/smith/faimu/a new recruit.

Sorensen and may can both play edge if needed to rest players. Yeo will play 80 and martin for the most part can handle 80 and thats the way ivan likes to uses his bench rotation anyway. Give kiks a ret for sorensen who is more mobile, agile and a better defender than him anyway.

betcats

I have no doubt we will sign someone as a back up. Someone cheap. I also have no doubt sorensen could play edge backrow very well and he has played that a lot a cronulla before coming here. He is very similar to martin in terms of style. You say hes been average on the edge yet hasnt played there for us because he hasnt had to. So your talking crap and just making shit up haha.

Just because he hasnt had to play edge here because most our backrow play huge minutes doesnt mean he cant hahah.. how ridiculous.

Sorensen playing backrow is much safer and better option than throwing turuva at centre or pushing tiny in next year.. they both are definitley not ready to play centre at nrl level..

I dont think turuva is ready for nrl at all yet.. he is still a 6-12 months away. A full pre season with the big boys will do him good. Hes a great prospect but i have no doubt he will probably be initiated on the wing before maybe getting a crack at fb at some point. Similar to edwards nrl introduction.

Same with tiny. He needs a full pre season.

As i said previously, its much easier and much much cheaper to buy a backup 2nd rower to fill in for injuries or play 20mins a game. Tago is better a centre imo. Hes an x factor and needs to be on the field for 80. Not 30-40mins.. he has a brilliant combi with tiny.

Depth is easier to cover in the forwards than the backs. Tmay can play 2nd row and lock if need be too. Trying to find a young centre with x factor who is a great defender for cheap is impossible. He may end up in the backrow latter in his career but imo i think its best for panthers if he plays centre.

Its early but i think if our 17 next year is something like this then we are looking great and its a strong line up.

1. Edwards/staines (whoever is better in pre season)
2. Tiny
3. Tago
4. Critta
5. Too
6. Luai
7. Nath
8. Leota
9. Api
10. Jfh
11. Kiks
12. Martin
13. Yeo

14. May
15. Sorensen
16. Leniu
17. Hopgood/eiso/smith/faimu/a new recruit.

Sorensen and may can both play edge if needed to rest players. Yeo will play 80 and martin for the most part can handle 80 and thats the way ivan likes to uses his bench rotation anyway. Give kiks a ret for sorensen who is more mobile, agile and a better defender than him anyway.
TAGO played 50 minutes last night in the back row. He does not have to play centre or be on the field for 80 minutes to impact the game. Turuva is physically ready go and has been very good in nsw cup, another preseason and he will be a beast and May handled the nrl with ease last week and he has played heaps of centre. We’re going to have to agree to disagree mate sorenson is a journeymen who is better in the middle, if he’s our main back up for kikau and Martin we are definitely short. Faimu looks great in cup but he doesn’t even have fg contract.

martielang

Given all the attention, I think Cleary might get a week for that shoulder charge. No intent in it but it’s a clear as day shoulder charge. No clue how they didn’t pull it up.

Girds89

@betcats some off contract 2nd rowers for next year we could sign who have experience would be cheap and reliable to fill in for injuries or 20mins a game.

John asiata
Chris smith
Curtis siro
Lachlan fitzgibbon
Keegan hipgrave
Thomas mikale
Tepai moreoa

Just a few who are all capable players whod be very cheap as back ups.

betcats

@betcats some off contract 2nd rowers for next year we could sign who have experience would be cheap and reliable to fill in for injuries or 20mins a game.

John asiata
Chris smith
Curtis siro
Lachlan fitzgibbon
Keegan hipgrave
Thomas mikale
Tepai moreoa

Just a few who are all capable players whod be very cheap as back ups.

We have no idea who are they are looking at signing. If they sign a back rower I’ll factor that in but I’m not just going to assume it will happen because it’s suits your argument re Tago.

Girds89

TAGO played 50 minutes last night in the back row. He does not have to play centre or be on the field for 80 minutes to impact the game. Turuva is physically ready go and has been very good in nsw cup, another preseason and he will be a beast and May handled the nrl with ease last week and he has played heaps of centre. We’re going to have to agree to disagree mate sorenson is a journeymen who is better in the middle, if he’s our main back up for kikau and Martin we are definitely short. Faimu looks great in cup but he doesn’t even have fg contract.
Was the most tago has played off bench all year. Was because kiks was gassed from 30mins of non stop defence.

Imo him being on the field for less than 80 is silly. His an x factor. Should be on for full game.

Turuva is not ready for centre in the nrl hahha. Hes best games in nsw cup have easily easily been when he was at fb haha.

I think your missing the overall point that its much easier to fill our 2nd row bench spot than it is to somehow find a brilliant centre.

Obviously youre happy with momo being first picked at centre all year with critta cause thats exactly what ivan will do. If your happy with that good for you.

If you somehow think ivan will pick turuva or tiny over critta at centre your dreaming. Or your somehow just dreaming/assuming that tiny or turuva is ready to just start the season at centre over momo and if you think that wow.

Tago at centre playing 80 is better than him off the bench getting half a game and momo playing 80 at centre.

Smug Panther

Given all the attention, I think Cleary might get a week for that shoulder charge. No intent in it but it’s a clear as day shoulder charge. No clue how they didn’t pull it up.
Perfect game for him to miss. Doesn't give souths the chance to injure him before week 1

Smug Panther

Nathan Cleary is currently the best player in the game and yet I truly believe Burton is more talented. Going to kill me for the rest of my life how we lost him

Girds89

We have no idea who are they are looking at signing. If they sign a back rower I’ll factor that in but I’m not just going to assume it will happen because it’s suits your argument re Tago.
Dont need to have an idea. Theres only sooo many players off contract for next. Unless theres swap deals etc but realistically theyd have a list up of players they are allowed to negotiate with for each position.

Those 2nd rowers i named are all of contract this year and are free agents next year.. they arent even allowed to negotiate yet with players off contract in 2022 unless permission is given by that club.

thebigredv

Mate, you guys had 12 sets when we had completed 1. Norman threw two intercepts in that time and your dumb ass coach wants to whinge about one play? Hook should be blowing up at himself for picking bird at fullback, he’s no fullback. Did he blow up about the bullshit penalty that led to one of your tries?

Cleary turned his body and stood his ground if he gets charged than I’ll cop it but hook acting like that was a difference in the game is complete deflection from his poor coaching. Why is Norman still playing? Why is bird at fullback? Why haven’t you won a game since the bbq?

Did you notice on the intercept Lomax was chasing but also turning and giving Norman dirty looks? Then he scores later and wants nothing to do with macguire, the whole squads divided since the bbq, you got much bigger issues than a shoulder charge.

I know. It's real bad times. Lomax is not very subtle at hiding the fact that he wants out of there. The same players cruelling our chances each week are first picked each Tuesday.

As for the shoulder. To me it fits the description of a shoulder charge and yes we are extra sensitive given Rava's treatment for some hits that you coached to do as a junior. The fact that it lead to a try is inconsequential because we weren't going to come close anyway, no matter how much ball you turned over, and id rather Hook focus on how poor we are.

betcats

Was the most tago has played off bench all year. Was because kiks was gassed from 30mins of non stop defence.

Imo him being on the field for less than 80 is silly. His an x factor. Should be on for full game.

Turuva is not ready for centre in the nrl hahha. Hes best games in nsw cup have easily easily been when he was at fb haha.

I think your missing the overall point that its much easier to fill our 2nd row bench spot than it is to somehow find a brilliant centre.

Obviously youre happy with momo being first picked at centre all year with critta cause thats exactly what ivan will do. If your happy with that good for you.

If you somehow think ivan will pick turuva or tiny over critta at centre your dreaming. Or your somehow just dreaming/assuming that tiny or turuva is ready to just start the season at centre over momo and if you think that wow.

Tago at centre playing 80 is better than him off the bench getting half a game and momo playing 80 at centre.

I’m not missing any point I get what you are saying I just don’t agree, you seem to think your opinions are facts. Do you think players can’t impact the game from the bench? if you really think that just wow. Liam Martin has spent most of his career coming off the bench and providing awesome impact what are you even talking about. Kikau started his career as impact back rower also.

I would argue X factor off the bench who come on and provide impact like Tago did last night is harder to find than good centres. Tago come on and forced a turnover from a cleary bomb that led to try. He’s already doing what you say he can’t do I honestly your comments ridiculous. I’m trying not to be insulting so let’s just leave it.

Smug Panther

Dont need to have an idea. Theres only sooo many players off contract for next. Unless theres swap deals etc but realistically theyd have a list up of players they are allowed to negotiate with for each position.

Those 2nd rowers i named are all of contract this year and are free agents next year.. they arent even allowed to negotiate yet with players off contract in 2022 unless permission is given by that club.
We could let Kikau go and get 2 gun backrowers. Deals are out there to be made

WestyLife

Are we sure that Staines was dropped and not just rested? Has there been any official word?

I kinda think that Ivan is making sure that our whole squad is match fit, just in case injuries happen during the finals. So guys like Naden and Momirovski who haven't seen much footy recently are getting a start.
This is all we have

betcats

You are just spit balling completely, you’ve got no idea who they will sign