Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 23 vs Roosters

R&WTILLIDIE

to all you wankers who thought Dufty should be picked? id rather blind Freddy than Dufty. All young juniors today get at least 7/10 for me. Sims is disgusting and that missed tackle ellis made on Hutchison shows he is not a first grader and see you later for next year. Feagai looks a really good strong winger once he gets his confidence and experience going
No need to call anyone a wanker mate

Dragon David

We've been inept without Hunt.
Thoroughly inept. But when the opposition has players like Tedesco, Walker, Manu, even Hutchison, their edge forwards and forwards and without Brett Morris, Radley, Chrichton and Keary, todays result was inevitable.

How we can win matches let alone just to compete is well beyond me to grasp. Our current crop of players just cannot commit to a solid, all round defence/attack game for a long period and they make mistakes as usual to make things harder for themselves.

No excuses though. The Roosters are just a better team and club. That was obvious and it is obvious that we need players of the calibre of Turbo, Tedesco and a jack in the box playmaker.

Whether or not our juniors we have will amount to much I'm wondering!! When you see a young player like Walker set up tries and scores himself with what looks like minimal effort, our scouts/recruitment department need to be banished and others hired who can get these youngster and blood them at the right time - just like Walker. For him, losing Keary for the year was a godsend to show his abilities even though at times he looks cumbersome.

mickeylane

I reckon hook will drop Norman next week - what does that say ?
That he truely believed Norman has a necessary component of the team to get us to the semis.. this tells me the coach is inept in making decisions that can positively influence a result..

I’ll bet any money Norman gets dropped next week now that we are out of the running for the 8.

Forbes Creek Dragons

I reckon hook will drop Norman next week - what does that say ?
That he truely believed Norman has a necessary component of the team to get us to the semis.. this tells me the coach is inept in making decisions that can positively influence a result..

I’ll bet any money Norman gets dropped next week now that we are out of the running for the 8.
He was one of our best, I bet he won’t be

Illusion

Thoroughly inept. But when the opposition has players like Tedesco, Walker, Manu, even Hutchison, their edge forwards and forwards and without Brett Morris, Radley, Chrichton and Keary, todays result was inevitable.

How we can win matches let alone just to compete is well beyond me to grasp. Our current crop of players just cannot commit to a solid, all round defence/attack game for a long period and they make mistakes as usual to make things harder for themselves.

No excuses though. The Roosters are just a better team and club. That was obvious and it is obvious that we need players of the calibre of Turbo, Tedesco and a jack in the box playmaker.

Whether or not our juniors we have will amount to much I'm wondering!! When you see a young player like Walker set up tries and scores himself with what looks like minimal effort, our scouts/recruitment department need to be banished and others hired who can get these youngster and blood them at the right time - just like Walker. For him, losing Keary for the year was a godsend to show his abilities even though at times he looks cumbersome.
Lets face it all we are , are a bottom 4 team and it wont be much better next year ..... Even with a better team I think our coaches , game plans are behind the 8 ball .....

Dragonslayer

Now we are out of the finals race (unofficially) let's take a look at our team that played today:

Hooker - Our 3 recognised hookers are out injured ie Macca, McInnes and Brittain. Our 'back-up' hooker in Hunt is also out injured.

Who was available to play hooker today?

Props - Lawrie injured, Vaughan sacked

Available props today - Alvaro, JHunt, Kerr, Maguire, Ellis, Faamasili

Edge forwards - Burns, Ford, Sims, Fuimaono

Locks - JDB, HLomax (not included in the bubble)

Now, pick your best starting 6 from that lot and who would be on the bench?

Gippsy

Norman simply has to go. Yes, he got a ball away from a half break but apart from that he literally stops the attack. Not just stifle or slows down the attack, he stops it.

For the last 2 games it has to be Sullivan at 7 and Amone at 6. They both showed today that they are our future. Just need to find a hooker somewhere.

thebigredv

Now we are out of the finals race (unofficially) let's take a look at our team that played today:

Hooker - Our 3 recognised hookers are out injured ie Macca, McInnes and Brittain. Our 'back-up' hooker in Hunt is also out injured.

6 losses in a row... other teams like the Roosters are missing players but don't make the same kind of excuses. In fact they talk up their replacement players.

I don't think many expected a win today with the team we scraped together. We made a jolt for it and Roosters were obliging in giving us a good look. At times they had too much class but at others we just shot ourselves in the foot like we do every game.

The thing is, for me at least, I'd rather read about reasons we found a way to win matches like the one today, the one against the Sea Eagles, the Raiders, and the Panthers than reasons we couldn't have won and were never a chance. We had years of McGregor pulling every excuse from his backside. We were a chance. We showed it.

Forbes Creek Dragons

We can’t even borrow a player. The wooden spoon dogs can but not even loaners want a bar of us. We should have got a few players into the bubble when Macca went down to so they potentially would be ready to go for next week.