Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 24 v Dogs

getsmarty

Dragons out to honour Thompson
Dragons Den
r0_0_2972_1922_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

TOO SOON: The Dragons will look to honour club great Lance Thompson, who was tragically found dead in Caringbah unit on Friday morning, when they play the Bulldogs on Sunday. Picture: Tim Clayton

DRAGONS coach Paul McGregor says his side will be looking to "do it for Thommo” on Sunday, as the club continues to reel from the shock death of club stalwart Lance Thompson.

Thompson was found dead in his Caringbah unit in the early hours of Friday's morning, with the cause of death yet to be determined.

The flame-haired workhorse earned a cult following among the red v faithful, racking up 201 games for the club over 10 seasons, three of them alongside McGregor after the Dragons and Steelers formed the St George Illawarra joint-venture ahead of the 1999 season.

Speaking on Saturday morning ahead of his side's clash with Canterbury on Sunday, an emotional McGregor admitted that he was still coming to terms with the loss of his good mate at just 40 years of age.

“It's been a tough 36 hours, I found out pretty early,” McGregor said.

“We only shared texts on Sunday. [They're] tragic circumstances. Big T was a good man, one of the most committed players I've seen take the football field.

“He was a strong character, he played with passion and purpose. We'll go out tomorrow and play for Thommo because the red v meant so much to him and we need to honour that.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5606843/dragons-out-to-honour-thompson/?cs=3713

getsmarty

Dragons look to erase memories of Bulldogs torture
Dragons Den
r0_0_3880_2587_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

PURPOSE: The Dragons sewed up a finals spot with their win over the Tigers last week, but coach Paul McGregor says a top-four finish is his side's goal. Picture: Adam McLean

IT became the enduring image of St George Illawarra's 2017 campaign – coach Paul McGregor hurling a pen in disgust as the siren blew fulltime on on his side's season in round 26.

That now infamous 26-20 loss to the Bulldogs saw the Dragons bundled out of the finals race, a season that promised so much early on ending in despair.

It's a moment McGregor would rather forget, though he admits he's often reminded as the footage resurfaces.

It's done so with some regularity over the last six weeks as his side battled a form slump that saw them drop five of six games.

They got back on track, and into the top four, with a 20-10 win over the Tigers last week, but McGregor concedes there's no escaping that image.

“It's a while ago but it's never a great feeling when you see the pictures of it and get reminded of it,” McGregor said.

“It is the past and you can't rectify that, it's gone. It is what it is, you can't get it back. You certainly can learn from it and move on.

“They've got a different coach and different players and we've got different players and systems in place now. They've won three out of their last four so we're looking at the team we've got now.

“They're defending very well, they're playing eyes-up footy and they've cut the shackles off a little bit and look like they're enjoying the way they're playing.

"Deano [Pay] has got them working pretty hard for one another and it's a real good opportunity and a challenge for us to go out and play our best.”

The Dragons overcame a hostile home crowd, and the loss of Ben Hunt to the sin-bin, in outlasting the Tigers 20-10, bouncing back from a disappointing 40-4 loss to the lowly Eels a week earlier.

It remains to be seen whether they've fully turned the corner, but McGregor said the victory was a return to the ethos that drove their strong start to year.

“It's good to go to the environment we did at Leichhardt Oval, under the circumstances we did, overcome adversity during the game and get a nice result,” McGregor said.

“It typifies the group of men I've been working with all year. When they needed to get it done, they got it done.

“They were very disappointed post the Eels game and rightly so. We had a confronting video [session] following that. It was just an honesty [session] just around our accountability in the roles we do for one another once we cross that white stripe.

“We've been pretty honest all year. I've got a really good group that take ownership and accountability within their role. Once they saw the pictures, they weren't happy with them and they went out and did something about that.”

Slim though the chances were, last week's win ensured they won't go without finals action this season, but McGregor said a top-four finish remains the burning ambition for his side.

“Our vision and our purpose from before a ball was kicked was to finish in the top four. We're still striving to do that,”McGregor said.

“Making the finals, some would say that's an achievement, for us it's about making sure we achieve what we set out to do.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...o-erase-memories-of-bulldogs-torture/?cs=3713

getsmarty

nightingalej--180721700.jpg

TEAM LISTS

24-hour warning: Round 24 v Bulldogs
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Sat 25 Aug 2018, 03:56 PM

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has amended the Dragons' Round 24 squad to face the Bulldogs at Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah on Sunday, August 26.

Jai Field is the unlucky man to miss out, while Paul Vaughan was ruled out for the season earlier in the week.

Dragons squad for Round 24 v Bulldogs

1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
2. Nene Macdonald – sponsored by Relativity in the Loop
3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Jason Nightingale – sponsored by SMAI
6. Kurt Mann – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
7. Ben Hunt– sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes (c) – sponsored by Floormania
10. Leeson Ah Mau – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Tyson Frizell (c) – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
13. Jack de Belin – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski

Interchange:
14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Addbuild Additions
15. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by Wollongong Diagnostics
16. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Westfund
17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
18. Zac Lomax
21. Jacob Host

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/08/25/24-hour-warning-round-24-v-bulldogs/

Smurf

nightingalej--180721700.jpg

TEAM LISTS

24-hour warning: Round 24 v Bulldogs
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Sat 25 Aug 2018, 03:56 PM

St George Illawarra coach Paul McGregor has amended the Dragons' Round 24 squad to face the Bulldogs at Jubilee Stadium, Kogarah on Sunday, August 26.

Jai Field is the unlucky man to miss out, while Paul Vaughan was ruled out for the season earlier in the week.

Dragons squad for Round 24 v Bulldogs

1. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
2. Nene Macdonald – sponsored by Relativity in the Loop
3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Jason Nightingale – sponsored by SMAI
6. Kurt Mann – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
7. Ben Hunt– sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes (c) – sponsored by Floormania
10. Leeson Ah Mau – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Tyson Frizell (c) – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Stonemasons & Landscapers (since 1970)
13. Jack de Belin – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski

Interchange:
14. Jeremy Latimore – sponsored by Addbuild Additions
15. Jordan Pereira – sponsored by Wollongong Diagnostics
16. Blake Lawrie – sponsored by Westfund
17. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Domus Lighting
18. Zac Lomax
21. Jacob Host

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/08/25/24-hour-warning-round-24-v-bulldogs/
Laurie played today
So Host in ?

WoyD4LWoy

Dragons look to erase memories of Bulldogs torture
Dragons Den
r0_0_3880_2587_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

PURPOSE: The Dragons sewed up a finals spot with their win over the Tigers last week, but coach Paul McGregor says a top-four finish is his side's goal. Picture: Adam McLean

IT became the enduring image of St George Illawarra's 2017 campaign – coach Paul McGregor hurling a pen in disgust as the siren blew fulltime on on his side's season in round 26.

That now infamous 26-20 loss to the Bulldogs saw the Dragons bundled out of the finals race, a season that promised so much early on ending in despair.

It's a moment McGregor would rather forget, though he admits he's often reminded as the footage resurfaces.

It's done so with some regularity over the last six weeks as his side battled a form slump that saw them drop five of six games.

They got back on track, and into the top four, with a 20-10 win over the Tigers last week, but McGregor concedes there's no escaping that image.

“It's a while ago but it's never a great feeling when you see the pictures of it and get reminded of it,” McGregor said.

“It is the past and you can't rectify that, it's gone. It is what it is, you can't get it back. You certainly can learn from it and move on.

“They've got a different coach and different players and we've got different players and systems in place now. They've won three out of their last four so we're looking at the team we've got now.

“They're defending very well, they're playing eyes-up footy and they've cut the shackles off a little bit and look like they're enjoying the way they're playing.

"Deano [Pay] has got them working pretty hard for one another and it's a real good opportunity and a challenge for us to go out and play our best.”

The Dragons overcame a hostile home crowd, and the loss of Ben Hunt to the sin-bin, in outlasting the Tigers 20-10, bouncing back from a disappointing 40-4 loss to the lowly Eels a week earlier.

It remains to be seen whether they've fully turned the corner, but McGregor said the victory was a return to the ethos that drove their strong start to year.

“It's good to go to the environment we did at Leichhardt Oval, under the circumstances we did, overcome adversity during the game and get a nice result,” McGregor said.

“It typifies the group of men I've been working with all year. When they needed to get it done, they got it done.

“They were very disappointed post the Eels game and rightly so. We had a confronting video [session] following that. It was just an honesty [session] just around our accountability in the roles we do for one another once we cross that white stripe.

“We've been pretty honest all year. I've got a really good group that take ownership and accountability within their role. Once they saw the pictures, they weren't happy with them and they went out and did something about that.”

Slim though the chances were, last week's win ensured they won't go without finals action this season, but McGregor said a top-four finish remains the burning ambition for his side.

“Our vision and our purpose from before a ball was kicked was to finish in the top four. We're still striving to do that,”McGregor said.

“Making the finals, some would say that's an achievement, for us it's about making sure we achieve what we set out to do.”

https://www.illawarramercury.com.au...o-erase-memories-of-bulldogs-torture/?cs=3713
Results have gone our way so far this week! Storm had slim win! All we have to do tomorrow is win and equal 1st with Storm! I am sure the boys will make sure of that in honor of Lance! D4L

We will be equal second not equal first, storm 34 pts ,dragons 32 if they win

I'd be happy with 32 after this weekend and 34 after next week end, no matter what the other top 3 teams end up with. I'll be very happy if we flog the dogs and run 50 up against Newcastle. At least if this happened the Dragons would have their confidence up again.

Don’t be ridiculous
Points for and against are vital
Not first
Not second
It’s not negative, it’s realistic

If we thrash the Dogs and the Knights and the Storm lose next week, would could end up with the minor premiership. But that is a big IF.

ouryears

If we thrash the Dogs and the Knights and the Storm lose next week, would could end up with the minor premiership. But that is a big IF.
Hope so possm
Send Lance out with a big salute
Still can’t believe he has gone