Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 3 (2009) ROOSTERS v WARRIORS

The Piper

Forum 7s - Round 3 2009
SYDNEY ROOSTERS v NEW ZEALAND WARRIORS
syd-main.jpg
-v-
nzw-alt.jpg

Game Thread:
* Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
* Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
* Only original articles, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.

Naming Teams:
* 5v5 (+ 2 reserves for visiting team, 3 reserves for home team)
* No 'TBA' or changing players named
* Captains must stick with original teams named

ALL THE RULES & REGULATIONS: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php

FULL TIME: Wednesday 22nd April 2009 at 9pm (Syd time)
REFEREE: The Colonel
Venue: Sydney Football Stadium
ground_sfs_1.jpg

**The Referee Blows Game On!**

CLICK HERE FOR OFFICIAL WORD COUNTER

The Ozzie Roosters return home to the Sydney Football Stadium, nicknamed Ozzie Stadium. After building confidence in an away win, they run onto the field, the fans noticing some of the old legends are back, and cheering hoping for a win against an in-form opposition, the Mighty Warriors.

STARTING:
Adamkungl
09. Shorty
14. Non Terminator (c)
20. Fein
27. HevyDevy
INTERCHANGE:
Melon....
07. Henriete
87. Rufus Youngblood

Roosters run up an early lead as adamkungl crosses the line in the first set...

The Future of the World Club Challenge?

The World Club Challenge - two premiership winners from opposite sides of the world, from the greatest Rugby League Premierships in the world, facing off to truly decide who is the best. Sounds very impressive in theory, so why is it that a lot of people (admittedly mostly Australians) couldn't care less? Well we all know the answers to that - "it's a glorified trial match", "it's always played in England", "it should be played after the Grand Finals". All valid points. I'm going to take a look at what the Rugby League season could look like, and the benefits, if the WCC was expanded upon and regarded as the pinnacle of club Rugby League.

I'm suggesting a four week long series. The top four teams from the NRL and ESL facing off in a semi-finals like knockout format. Obviously the premiership season is too long for this to happen. Personally, I would be quite happy to shorten the season to accomodate an expanded WCC. However this could impact each competition's individual television contract and club incomes with less premiership matches. I think with a few steps this could be balanced out. I'm going to focus on the NRL, but most if not all of these points could translate over to England.

In 2013, for the new TV deal, a number of changes to the NRL take place. Firstly cut the season to 22 rounds. That's 32 less games than now. However, add two more teams. This adds an extra game per round, so that there are 22 games added. Overall, 10 games are lost. TV loses in terms of amount of games played over the season, however gains a massive market increase by the addition of 2 teams. The positives outweigh the negatives and a larger television contract results. However clubs lose some revenue from two less home games. The richer broadcast contract offsets this, the money gained goes back to the clubs. The finals series stays as is - top 8 over four weeks.

Then comes the WCC. Top 4 ESL vs Top 4 NRL (Grand finalists and GF qualifier losers, not the top 4 on the ladder). Essentially a second finals series, played two weeks after the Grand Finals (NRL and ESL seasons would have to be aligned). The format is such that it would ensure NRL clubs only play ESL clubs, not each other. Sell this to the highest bidder as a separate comp, or add it to the first TV deal for a massive increase in value.

Who benefits out of this?
The players - most play less games. At the moment we have a 24 to 28 game premiership season. This would result in 20 to 28 games, including the WCC.
The NRL, ESL, and in turn the clubs - higher TV deals mean more money to the clubs. The participants in the WCC could also make some nice profits from the extra big games.
The fans - give the WCC some meaning, an exciting new competition to settle the NRL v ESL argument.
Rugby League - more international appeal, the UK and Australia get more exposure, interest, and familiarity to the other's competition. There is also the possibility for future expansion to the competition. Emerging RL Nations could enter and see how they stack up against the best from the world's top RL comps.

Now for the negatives. The idea has been tried before, and failed miserabely. The 1997 World Club Challenge was extremely expensive to run, completely one sided (the Australian sides dominated), and failed to draw crowds. The tournament, played in Australia, England, and New Zealand with 22 club sides, started reasonably well. However the crowds quickly dwindled to sub-10,000 and then sub-5,000 with even the finals failing to draw interest. A round 6 match featuring the ill-conceived Hunter Mariners drew a paltry 1,965 fans. The final drew 12,000 to watch Brisbane defeat the Mariners in Auckland.

A new, successful WCC would draw upon the ideas that made the 2008 RLWC profitable. It would be shorter, feature only the top echelon of clubs, and be played in one country. The other negative is the perception that it would de-value the Premiership. In a way, this is definitely true. But with the right promotion, it shouldn't be too hard to convince the fans that being champions of the world is better than champions of Eastern Australia. I know which I'd rather win.

740 words between the stars

Non Terminator runs onto his home field in his favourite socks, hoping he delivers the expectation of the crowd.

743 words after the jersey.

jersey_easts_1.gif

Field Of Dreams

I witnessed my first Rugby League game last weekend for season 2009. It wasn't at a multi-million dollar stadium, it was Morrie Breen Oval. Like many, I was there to witness Willie Mason and Nate Myles turn out for the Newtown Jets. I expected a decent crowd, as did the whole competition. As expected, they got it. It was an afternoon full of expectation. I heard the crowd go off early, which fufilled my original thoughts of expectation.

WILLIE'S A WANKER! WILLIE'S A WANKER!

I had read in the papers about the players that would be lining up against Mason and Myles. Two local workers, who earn $500 a win, against these 'giants' of the sport, who earn more than enough. As I read the paper, a name struck me. When I heard the name Dale Langford, I had sworn I had heard it before. Obviously, the fact it was a local made me sure of it.

It turns out, like Rugby League is famed for in the media, that Dale was indeed who I thought it was - an bar worker at Tall Timbers Hotel, in Ourimbah. Alcohol and Rugby League, yeah they sort of mix, don't they?

I go there often to visit my best friend, who works as a chef, and as I don't know Dale personally, I was cheering for him. It was a sight to see him play that game, so much so I had moments where I forgot Mason and Myles were there. Until the crowd started again.

Performance-wise, Willie was certainly not the ringleader of the performance. Dale wasn't either, but boy he could play.

This was a bloke putting it all on the line, he played well. I never knew he had such ability, heck, I didn't even know he was a footballer! It's definitely a small world after all, isn't it? It was a David vs Goliath situation, and as usual David came out on top by sixteen points.

We see the usual idea of David vs Goliath in Rugby League. Like the biblical days, there is no chance for David, according to the viewing audience. If the Bible had a TAB Sportsbet injection, I'd say David would be at $9.00 odds, with Goliath at $1.05 as favouritism.

The World Cup was all about David vs Goliath, and no match proved David's courage as well as the match that opened that tournament, England against Papua New Guinea. There were the times all of the Rugby League world teased the idea of Goliath getting beaten, but was obviously not to be.

But let's quickly go back to this game at Morrie Breen, before I stumble onto a tangent. When the game kicked off, the anticipation began. Willie took the ball up, the obvious boo from the locals were heard from where I was, plus the obvious light-humoured 'Willie jokes'.

YEAH! GOOD RUN LITTLE WILLIE, YOU CAT!

Ok, possibly more expletives than that, but anyways...

The ability of the Central Coast side was something to admire, and Melbourne fans, you should keep an eye on keeping some of these players. I recognised their number six as Rory Kostjaysn, who played for my Sydney Roosters last year. Boy, we lost a talented young player. He showed his former team-mates what he was capable of.

The locals got behind their team, for a second, I seriously thought I saw Kostjaysn wearing a Bears jersey. Either that, or I was getting way too ahead of myself. People who originally came there to see Willie and Nate take the field, were cheering loud and proud for the Coasties. I was one among them, despite Newtown being their opponents.

Damn local pride. What a day though. One I will remember for a long time.

I did however, see Dale a few days later and congratulated him. Well, who wouldn't? How many people on the Central Coast can say they took out two of Rugby League's Goliaths in one short day.

Well, I suppose it's fair to say he, among his team-mates, was truly Goliath now.

I gained a lot more respect for the NSW Cup that day, if you get a chance to witness it, make sure you do. It's a day as memorable and exciting as going out to see a first grade match. The atmosphere is however, very similar to first grade in many ways.

Shorty

Shorty manages to offload before being dragged into touch.....

Battle Of The Ads : NRL Vs AFL

You have to give it to the AFL, their 2009 promotional campaign has tongues wagging everywhere.
In the wake of the Brett Stewart sex scandal, to the NRL marketer this is like a kick in the teeth.
If you haven't already seen it, the new AFL advert features a number of it's players competing with athletes (and objects) in sporting events around the globe.
To paint the picture for you, imagine an Aussie Rules player palming off 2 and even 3 rampaging American Footballers with little to no trouble.
Many are considering this a successful promotion for the AFL.

How does this tie in with the NRL marketer being kicked in the teeth?
The 2009 NRL promotion stands next to it's rival much more basic and plain, and this is not taking into account the Brett Stewart scandal.
Before the original was pulled, the code's campaign featured a young Brett Stewart developing into the superstar he is today with the crowd and stadias growing with him.

Two very different ideas, perhaps David and Goliath if you will.
But let's look at these two advertisements in a little more depth and get down to the basics of promotion.
The AFL;

Does it grab the audience?

Yes it does.
It's use of music, camera angles and sound effects draw you in completely, you watch the ad from start to finish.

Do they sell the product?

Well yes, but not the way you'd want to be marketing a competitive sport.
It intrigues and entertains me – I enjoy the ad but I don't actually understand what it's trying to convey.
It's too busy showboating itself as being in a 'League of it's own' it doesn't actually supply evidence of why it is.
The whole concept of the game of AFL is not outlined at all, specifically the climax in which players kick for goal.

Does it hammer it's point home?

No it doesn't, I get that it concludes with the AFL's pin up player, Lance Franklin back in the MCG kicking, but I don't see where he's kicking to – It's almost like a long teaser.

What does it make you feel?

Not a real lot, downloading, sorry, buying a Dropkick Murphys cd?
It certainly doesn't make me pick up a Sherron and play the game because it hasn't explained to me the concept of the sport enough visually.
The AFL has actually done itself a disservice by involving other sports in it's promotion because they take the attention away from the sport being marketed.

And Rugby League;

Does it grab the audience?

Compared to the AFL, it's starting point is much, much weaker.
While it does have a hook, it's not strong enough to reel viewers in completely.
Unlike the AFL, it probably takes people a bit longer before they absorb this ad properly.

Do they sell the product?

Once watched properly the concept is very entertaining and evokes feelings that are neglected in the AFL campaign.
Seeing Stewart/Inglis grow into superstars in front of a roaring and growing crowd brings a sense of euphoria like you're there, it involves it's audience.
The ad also gives a more thorough visual explanation of the sport.

Does it hammer it's point home?

Yes.
Not only does it show that it's a game that makes kids into superstars but it also shows the highs and lows of being a fan and more importantly, the enjoyment of going to a game.
And this couldn't be more appropriate.

What does it make you feel?

Upon watching this, I feel like going to a game or look forward to watching my next footy match.
If I'm a fan, it shows why I love the sport I do.
If I'm not an avid RL supporter, I see the crowd going wild as a kid becomes his hero.
Unless you're an angry anti sports person, you can't go away from viewing this without feeling good . The images produced are positive and warm.

In general though there is one glaring difference between the two.
The fans, in which the game has to thank for what it is today are acknowledged by only one of the two.
I'd much rather my code look after the people that made it successful as opposed to puffing out it's chest and implying 'I'm better than all of you!'
It's the little things that count in life, not the big ones.

746 words between stars.​

Jesbass

jersey_warriors_1.gif

Jesbass leads the Warriors out onto a hostile Sydney Football Stadium, as antonius prepares to make his top level playing return after 7 years in the wilderness. Carn, Warriors - fire up!

Starters:

Jesbass (c)
rayroxon (vc)
Suttsburger
antonius
MKEB...

Bench:
Mixmasterreece
Kid-Dynamite

antonius

Antonius feeling very rusty takes to the field for the warriors.

What happened to game day?

With the steady decline in crowds attending Newcastle Knights games, I began thinking if this was all due to the stadium re-construction, or as some Newcastle fans claim, poor management, or was it other underlying reasons?
While some of the above may have contributed, I think there are other factors to consider.

In recent years the format of game day has changed considerably in Newcastle, whether that’s for better or worse is for the fans to decide. I think they have started doing that in Newcastle with their bums.

Once upon a time you could go to the game and watch Jersey Flegg, Reserve/Premier League and sometimes even a Ball or Mathew’s game prior to first grade. It was not uncommon to have 8,000 fans there for premier league. There was nothing better than sitting on the hill at EAS with the regulars there, discussing the progress of juniors or how so and so was going coming back from injury. Making predictions about this young guy, and when he may make first grade. Watching players like the Johns boys, Buderus, Kurt and Matt Gidley, and more recently Mullen, and Dureau, come through was all part of the match day experience.

Now you go along watch the youth game, then straight to first grade, the middle step for juniors (Premier League) is gone, and we fans are left to guess what happened to them.
To watch them now requires you to travel to the distant grounds that make up the local Newcastle competition and sit with a handful of the local fans. This is the result of the clubs decision not to field a team in Premier League due to costs. Instead they farm the players not required for first grade to clubs in the local competition. Whilst this might be good for the local competition, it leaves the Knights fans in the dark as to the progress of juniors they have been following in previous years, and of course their form, and likely hood of them making it to first grade. It’s also splitting the juniors up; combinations built up through the grades are lost.

Prices have risen enormously; 2-3 years ago it cost $32.00 for a family ticket. Now you get 2 games, no opportunity to watch players coming through the grades, and it costs a family $53.50 or $62.50 if you buy at the gate. That is a huge increase. It's no longer a reasonably cheap day out for mum, dad and the kids. We are paying more for less.

Scheduling of games is another change that has come about in recent years. Many Novocastrians love their Sunday afternoon footy, but with the introduction of Monday night football (and to some extent Saturday night games.) Sunday games have become few and far between.
All of a sudden the match day is not as attractive as it was say three or four years ago.

These game schedule changes are the direct result of television requirements. The game needs the money that comes from television to survive. However I think the very thing that is keeping the game afloat is slowly choking the life out of the game for the fans. Do the Television companies and other media outlets pay enough for the rights to broadcast the game? I think not. If the product is worth more (and I believe it is) then the game should be getting that money from the various media outlets that feed off it. They sell the product overseas, to say nothing of the spin off programmes from the game (footy show, The Roast etc) How much compensation did the clubs receive when Monday night Football was introduced? I bet it was nowhere near what it cost in lost crowds. Fox in particular are the ones benefiting from all the schedule changes, David Gallop should be making TV rights and match scheduling his number 1 priority. Make them pay what it’s worth! Maybe then we can afford a reserve grade.

Call me old fashioned, but I long for the Sunday arvo game, three grades, on the hill, with my mates chanting for my team. Not the clinical setting of today, in plastic seats, stuck in front of some idiot for the whole year with my season ticket, watching two games, (if your lucky) and wondering where that guy in the centres came from. We can’t change the ground format, that’s progress, but we can improve the game day.

**********************************************************************************
748 Words between the **

Fein

Fein, nervously enters the field in his first real game.

Red

Red is the first of the Roosters colours.

Like all sporting teams around the planet, if you have red in your playing strip, red is always referred to first.

World famous English football clubs Manchester United and Arsenal are not white and red, they are red and white.

Similarly, in our own National Rugby League competition, St. George Illawarra are red and white, South Sydney are referred to as red and green and The Roosters are red, white and blue.

Why?

I'm not certain of the precise reason but it may have something to do with the fact that red represents blood.

You give it in the heat of the battle and you take as much of it as you can. It is a sign, a mark, a trophy from the conquest or the contest, dependant upon the result.

Oddly enough, red can also signify compassion.

The Red Cross, a famous organisation.

The symbol of The Red Cross is supposed to be sacrosanct and to all and sundry is as bleeding obvious as a stop sign.

Unfortunately, it is often ignored in the same manner.

Remembering those who have died in a sea of red on the battlefield is often embraced by the colour red, the red poppy.

Hundreds of thousands of poppies will adorn lapels and commemorative sites around Australia and Europe this Saturday, to honour the Anzac's.

Lest we forget.

The Anzac's fought for freedom but for many, red represents tyranny.
The tyranny of communism.

Much blood was shed in its development and even more in its flourishment.

It also took a great deal to defeat it for those that have been successful.

Their achievement nothing short of fighting a raging wildfire over a quarter of the globe.

Red is dead for them.

Extinguished.

Paul "Red" Adair, now there's a distinguished extinguisher to behold.

He was the man you called to tackle oil based fires.

Not your Red Emperor and chips fires.

Oil wells.

Under "Red's" stewardship, he and his crews capped 117 Kuwaiti wells left burning by retreating Iraqi troops, back in 1991.

That not only left Saddam Hussein red faced, it red ringed him!!!

It came back to bite him on the backside though.

Just like sitting on a red back spider.

He was a snake of a man.

Lower than a red bellied black snake.

Just like the ones found sheltering from the scorching sun under the shade of a river red gum tree, on the banks of the Murray-Darling.

Australia would be an even drier old land without the Murray-Darling, you know.

These two mighty rivers and a myriad of others form a basin that traverses from Queensland all the way down to Victoria and South Australia.

Some 3,000 odd kilometres in fact.

Without it, the red centre of this parched land would extend further South and much further East.

Australia would look like Mars, also known as the red planet.

That is no red herring either.

All this talk of global warming and climate change may be as hard to swallow as the red soil of the Barossa Valley but surely there is something to it?

Or do those who ascribe to the theory need their heads read?

Talk about caught between a rock and a hard place.

And what a rock.

Uluru, the glorious monolith situated in the red centre of Australia.

At sunset, Uluru becomes the largest red thing on the planet.

But as is often the case, when the sun sets, that particular claim to fame is demolished.

The sun.

It can burn the skin horribly.

The first sign of being "done over" by the sun?
Red.

Ouchy wah wah.

Sounds like an Indian doesn't it?

Not your sub continent Indian but a Cherokee or Apache of North America.

The ones immortalised in film riding horseback with Winchesters slung over the shoulder.

They were preceded by the bow and arrows of their forefathers, Hollywood would have us believe.

Geronimo, Sitting Bull and co.

Sitting Bull, there's a name.

Would Sitting Bull resort to Red Bull if his medicine man recommended more exercise in this current day and age?

It would have to help.

God knows it helped that Formula 1 driver, Mark Webber.

He must have poured some in the petrol tank of his car.

Formula 1, that gets the heart racing.

The heart.

The red centre of our mortal existence, a machine powered by the flow of the red liquid of life.

Red.

We cannot live without it.

750 words in the quoted text.

Suttsburger

Suttsburger is ready for his first hit-out against the Roosters, here's hoping it goes better than Manu Vatuvei's first visit to the SFS.

737 words from below

Expand your mind.

Love it or hate it the concept of expansion won’t go away.

It wasn’t quelled by the admission of a 16th team and neither will it be silenced by a 17th, 18th, or 19th NRL franchise.

It's inevitable as a sport that’s been nursed through a decade of rehabilitation once again takes aim at the national dreams it harboured in the mid 1990s.

The issues that proved the sport’s undoing then - the player drain, over-exposure and financial pitfalls - are still prevalent in today’s climate. But while there’s a need to proceed with caution given the game has once before fallen victim to its lofty aspirations, the NRL shouldn't shy away from the desire to see it become more than it currently is.

There are plenty of questions surrounding this next step; but rather than asking when the questions should be where, how and why. Once the three of those can be satisfied then the time is right to expand.

But this will take courage; courage to move beyond what we know and trust.

We know that the Central Coast loves their league (just don’t ask Northern Eagles) and we know that there is a stadium and infrastructure ready and waiting for an NRL franchise.

But would increased presence on the East coast really do anything to further the game?

In reality the safe East coast option would serve only to set the competition's nation-wide aspirations back, ensuring the already sparse amount of rugby league talent we have to work with is spread thinner by the time interstate expansion does take place.

The NRL's first priority should be thorough examination of major-city sporting locales such as Perth and Adelaide. Otherwise their much besieged reputation as a sporting entity exclusive to the Eastern seaboard will see them overshadowed by the growth of burgeoning national competitions such as the ever-expanding A-League and, obviously, the AFL.

Perth's current commitment to the fledgling Western Force Super 14 franchise suggests Adelaide would be a more fertile land for the growth of a new game. Whatsmore it would provide a second chance to right the wrongs that were committed in the city of churches more than a decade ago.

I'm not choosing to ignore the fall and fall of Adelaide Rams but I'm also old enough to remember St George's annual ventures to Adelaide Oval well before that. It is a sport-hungry town willing to embrace something new and foreign – the success of the Adelaide Rugby Sevens every year is further testament to that.

The NRL didn’t hesitate in resurrecting rugby league on the Gold Coast, the second attempt to do so since the competition came into being. Surely the same fervour and support can help pick up the pieces of the broken national dream that was being buoyed not that long ago.

For all the lack of grace that saw the much-maligned Rams collapse after two years, it is worth noting that home crowds in their inaugural season averaged over 15,000.

And while 8,500 people turned out on Sunday to watch two of the competition's least inspiring outfits it's worth noting that the only sub-10,000 crowd the Rams pulled in 1997 was against Cronulla, proof that the city knows a bad team when they see one coming.

The NRL have said that no additional teams will be added to the current crop of 16 in the next five years, however the chances of pride-swallowing relocation is growing more likely. It appears there is more than one club out there feeling the pinch and a move inland may be a financial necessity even if it is also a community heart-breaker.

Adelaide's 1.2 million inhabitants have defined the spirit of one-team towns and their dedication and renowned parochial support of the city's AFL, A-League and NBL franchises suggests they deserve the chance to once again cut their teeth on the greatest game of all.

Only if and when these interstate possibilities are deemed not worthy (and hey, that may just prove to be the case) should the safety-net option of tried and tested rugby league towns come into consideration.

With the addition of an Adelaide franchise and even Perth after that, the sport we hold so dearly to our hearts will finally be as national and omnipresent as any of its major competitors.

But first and foremost comes patience, and remembering it’s not about when – it’s about where, how and why.

rayroxon

Rayroxon for the Warriors gets hassled by some Roosters fans. Why are people so unkind?

****​

Rooster Coloured Glasses

They were the games that cemented my love of the team back in the day. Going to the SFS had a modern appeal to it that captured my imagination and, although the Roosters weren’t the sole inhabitants of that great venue, they were the most likely to put up a fight.

The earliest games I can remember were watched from the comfort of my mate’s uncle’s corporate box. Any place that would ply kids with all the soft drink and party pies they could consume was ok with me. It also helped that the Warriors won the first couple of times I watched them play there. I’m mindful that if I have children, I’ll have to choose either a season of utter dominance or a really weak point in the schedule so said children can witness a Warriors win first up and get hooked. They can then learn the continued disappointment of being a Warriors fan for themselves from there.

That said, I was talking of Roosters Warriors matches through the ages and why they’re special to me. I have a slideshow of memories that I can recall almost like one of those Crown Lager montage ads but with more footy and slightly less booze, however the line is blurring these days.
First up is 1997 when the corporate box wasn’t available. It was a rainy afternoon and we bought general admission tickets and ended up around the 30 metre mark. The Roosters mascot paced relentlessly and we gave him a spray. However arguing with a mascot is like playing solitaire with a deck of 51; there are no winners. I can’t remember the result however I do remember running up to the player tunnel and asking Stephen Kearney when Nigel Vagana would be back. He replied “A fortnight”. It was the first time I had talked to a footy player and it was great.

I must have witnessed a couple of losses because the next game I remember is from 2000. It was a clear Sunday afternoon which wasn’t too hot, nor too cold and the Roosters and the Warriors traded tries until the score was 18 all. The Warriors then pulled ahead and led 30-18 until the Roosters scored towards the end and that was it for the afternoon. It was memorable as on the way to the car an angry Roosters fan pushed me into the fence of a nearby terrace house as I celebrated on the street. I was too shocked to retaliate but if I had my time again I would’ve said something clever I’m sure of it.

In 2003 Brent Webb slowed down goal kicking and made it an art form. He did a particularly good job against the Roosters in the run up to the finals. Ricky Stuart was unsurprisingly upset and in a post match video session worked out that there was 18 minutes worth of stoppage time. He didn’t mention that the Roosters kickers had wasted almost as much time as Webb but, hey who’s counting? The Warriors snatched the win in the final moments and the game is memorable to me for a photo SMH ran of Francis Meli doing the obvious and pointing Clinton Toopi towards the uprights. Toopi at the time was across the line and unopposed so Francis’ motions are unnecessary but it’s the thought that counts isn’t it?

Of the last few years a couple of games rate a brief mention. In 2005 it was the Paleaaesina - Toopi inspired length of the field effort to get the boys home. More memorable than that match would be the 31 all draw in 07. Dubbed the “Game of the Season” by those less careful with their superlatives, it really had it all; biff, comebacks, solo heroics and passion. I’d gladly sit through a season of those games and probably die of a heart attack in the process.

This round it’s the 2009 edition of Roosters/Warriors in both forms of the game; F7’s and NRL. It’s an important match in both competitions with the Warriors taking first points in yet another nail biting 17-16 win on Sunday. On Wednesday the Roosters and Warriors play for an undefeated record in F7’s. If it comes down to golden point, here’s hoping that the F7’s Warriors have a Stacey Jones to kick that literary field goal to get us home.

731 words between the ****'s​

MKEB...

With new shiny new Boots on, MKEB...saunters onto the field. Liniment on legs ready to run, jump, hop and pirrouette; lets hope MKEB... has remembered to wash his hands before rubbing his eyes!

MKEB... For the Warriors
A Team Like No Other.
I know a bunch of guys that all want to play footy. We range in ages from 33 to 52; weights of 55kg to 120kg and fitness levels varying from paper pusher to couch potato.
So we have started a footy team.
A golden oldies footy team.
A golden oldies footy team to give it a go and never back down...unless...the other team has twice our size, weight, fitness, stamina and skill factor.

If you are pigeon chested there is a position or two on the wing. Yep, we can always do with someone that is fast...and doesn’t want to get snapped in two.
Can you catch a football? No? A soccer ball? No? An inflatable beach ball? Yes? Sweeeeeeeet, fullback is definitely the spot for you.
You see, in my footy team there is definitely a spot for anyone; even girls- one special spot between two bustling pro...portionate halves of 40 minutes, the special task of peeling oranges.

We are having trouble deciding on a name for our footy team.
I decided against calling us the Raiders, because I despise the colour green and with my uncanny sense of word association, I tend to associate the word raider with the colour green.
We considered naming ourselves the Crusaders; but three of our team members (Ahmed, Abdullah and Ijaz) were a tad apprehensive about that. They still won’t let on why. (Although I strongly suspect it is because of a Union team of the same name).
I even considered naming us the Sharks; but something inside of me thought “Hey, I want a name that was going to inflict fear into an opposing team”, so the Sharks went out the window.
Have no fear though, I have thought of some other names: Mashers, Manglers, Mutilators, Mortifiers, Mammoths and Maximus Decimus Meridiuseseseseses. Though to be fair to everybody; we can all suggest names.

At the moment we are working on having one training session a fortnight.
If we can get a full team, I will propose having one training session a week.
Currently, players have a plethora of commitments that don’t allow them to regularly attend training sessions; work commitments; family commitments drinking commitments; periodic detention commitments and League Unlimited commitments (you know the ones- Baiting Timmah-whoring up my post count...that kind of thing).

We have quite a focused practise regime so far.
Our warm-ups consist of half an hour punting a ball around. It certainly gets our muscles unwound and our blood flowing. We did start off last week’s training by running two laps around the field; but Methuselah’s cardiac arrest and my bronchitis put pay to that. (I had to have a blast on my inhaler and a cigarette before I was able to start again).
Then we have our passing drills.
They confuse our props somewhat. You see; our props have never passed a ball in their lives. As kids they were encouraged to run with the ball and never pass. The concept of catching a football, passing to the person in front of them and taking a step back so the gap between you and the person you are passing the ball to and fro with lengthens totally confuses them. So to cater for them, we adopted the game “Piggie–in-the-middle” (though our 5 foot two half back doesn’t like the game too much), a win-win situation for all (except our halfback of course, who doesn’t get to pass at all).
After the passing drills comes tackling practise.
We have come up with a novel approach to tackling practise....Bullrush. Our halfback doesn’t like this game terribly much, but the rest of us do.
We look at it as a reminder of our childhoods, the rebellion of playing a game that was consistently banned in our playground.
Our halfback doesn’t see it that way though. We are now considering a no nice person rule in our team.
Warm downs in our team are the most important part of training. It is where we as a team bond. A couple of beers, a cigarette a couple filthy jokes while we do our stretches.
In all honesty though, half of us feel the stretches are quite purpose defeating; I mean- aren’t you supposed to be warming down.

This coming season we don’t expect to win many games. But we are getting off of our bums and participating.
That is all that counts.....That and the piss-ups afterwards anyway.
740 words between asterisk/snowflakes thingys.

Jesbass

After discovering that he has been in the wrong paddock all along, Jesbass charges out of left field and onto a perfectly timed MKEB... offload for a final Warriors hitup...

Taking It To The Streets (749 words including title)

Controversy broke out at a foster home in an eclectic Melbourne suburb overnight.

The house at 1908 Footy Lane, which caters for 16 male residents – mostly from across Eastern Australia, and one from Auckland, New Zealand – is renowned for its loud arguments in the local neighbourhood of a suburb known simply as ‘The Hill’.

But a fight involving a pool cue, which bizarrely left no injuries, has raised questions of the suitability of the house from neighbours.

The evening started off in typical fashion. 15 of the residents, aged from 2 to 101, were taking it in turns to win games of pool against a fellow house mate, oddly named Crowe Nul-ah. Neighbours say watching Nul-ah lose is a common pastime for the other fostered men, who openly view him as “a perennial loser” and “wannabe pool shark”.

But when Crowe found out about a potential 17th resident joining the house, (most likely from Perth, Adelaide, Wellington, or the central coast of New South Wales), he flew into a rage. Wielding his pool cue that he oft referred to as “Sticky”, the 42-year-old former Shire resident attacked his own housemates, but, failing to actually make contact with anyone, eventually tired himself out.

Mrs N. Ahrel, the foster mother, heard the noise from upstairs.

“I was getting into bed with my husband [Mr A. Ahrel] when I heard the other boys teasing Crowe,” she said. “I think he was just tired of losing. I love him to bits, but he's 42, so he should know how to lose with dignity by now.”

“He isn't exactly the best pool player, either, and he probably realises that a 17th foster child will mean he's even more likely to miss out on the family pool tournament trophy. Again.”

However, the foster parents weren't the only ones to be disturbed by the commotion.

Mr Yoon Yin, at number 1845, was highly distressed.

"It's preposterous,” scoffed Yin in a posh but obviously fake English accent. “Those ruffians with their fisticuffs put me off my caviar. I have already written a personal letter of complaint to the Queen, and I've told Jeeves to steal their French patio doors and never return them!"

Mr Yin said his home-based shoe and glove business, Kick 'n' Clap, had already suffered a drop in custom as a result of the noise of the nearby residents. He conceded that if the disruptions were to continue, he would be “over 'The Hill'”.

But not everyone in the neighbourhood was upset by what had happened.

Socrates Roberts, who lives nearby at 1863, is an immigrant of English origin. Dressed in a Millwall shirt that was covered in vindaloo stains, and sporting a Guinness in one hand, Roberts – or Soc-R, as he preferred to be called – said he wasn't fazed by the violence at all.

“I don't know what their problem is,” said a confused Soc-R. “My relatives 'ave been gettin' violent for as long as I can remember. A little bit of off-field fightin' never did me no 'arm, innit. If they want lessons, I'll show 'em how ta brawl!”

Patrick O'Riley, the resident Irishman at 1886, agreed that fighting was a skill worth appreciating.

“Dat's how ya play da game,” he said. “All de udder rules are too confusing.”

Mention of O'Riley's Gaelic background was enough to lure Alex and Adrian Effell – both males – out from their home at number 1859. The two effeminate men were eager to continue the discussion until it was discovered that they had misheard the word “Gaelic” for something far less savoury.

Even so, they were happy to discuss the events at the foster home.

“Ooh, yes, those burly men were having quite the rough and tumble!” exclaimed the first A. Effell.

The second then added with a squeal: “It gave us quite the scare. Such brutes!”

The two A. Effell lovers then proceeded to talk about their travel exploits, despite having almost never ventured outside the state of Victoria.

It is understood that Nul-ah settled down after exerting all of his energy on missing his opponents with the pool cue. He is believed to be resigned to the fact that the all important trophy will remain out of reach.

Mr and Mrs Ahrel said that despite Nul-ah's distress, they had not ruled out getting a 17th resident, stating only that they wanted to have “a good gallop” with the idea before making a final decision.

Well done Warriors. Apologies we couldn't get all five in, but that's the way it goes at times I'm afraid. A bit ick. But well done, great pick of top-quality articles. Special mention to rayroxon, you captured my feelings from my eyes, except the addition of the 2002 GF haha.

rayroxon

Well done Warriors. Apologies we couldn't get all five in, but that's the way it goes at times I'm afraid. A bit ick. But well done, great pick of top-quality articles. Special mention to rayroxon, you captured my feelings from my eyes, except the addition of the 2002 GF haha.

It is a shame it was 5 v 4, you were shaping up nicely. Thanks for the mention NT, not too sure how I could've overlooked something like a GF, silly me :D

:lol: Bloody hell why are our encounters always so bloody bruising, looking forward to the next, both in F7's and NRL. :D

Jesbass

Definitely bruising, NT - I'm pretty appreciative of the ice bath this week! :D

All the best for the final result! :thumn

Will have the scores up first thing in the morning guys.... been a bit crook and have been busy since. Will let you know as soon as I can.