Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 3 vs Storm

franklin2323

Our roster is noticeably weaker this year - mainly due to the recruitment and retention policies of the great and powerful Gus. Our coaching is possibly worse. At least under Griffin we were fit and until we were injury ravaged...we had good defensive structure.

BTW what is with our players getting one on one stripped? Has the rest of the competition identified a weakness in our players? This is not the first game where we have had successful or near successful one on one strips against us.

Those of us that said this were howled down. Sometimes being wrong sucks

BxTom

I think we just need to keep hitting it thru the ruck. Storm move up too quick for our outside backs. By the time they get it they get smashed. Turning it back inside I think is our best option.
In the 1st half Storm were offside by about 2m or so every 2nd or 3rd tackle when we werer trying to get it off our line. I suspect the same happened in the 2nd half, but I wasn't in line for them to see.

Spades

Lifetime Panthers fan but I think there needs to be some spades called spades regarding our squad and the chances of the team being a premiership threat.

Plain and simple we do not have a squad capable of challenging the top teams. We have a severely limited squad with too may similar players and it lacks the things that you need to win a comp.

We have no x factor (our closest is Kikau but he will be heavily targeted and marked this year), we have players with very poor vision and lack natural ‘footy players’, we aren’t aggressive and don’t have a leader of the pack, we don’t have pace and most notably we don’t have any ‘winners’ in the squad (Maloney was suppose to bring this but hasn’t he been a dreadful purchase).

Lets look at our squad subjectively and see why we cant score points against the better teams (or even against anyone really).

Edwards – In such an important position in modern day footy he simply doesn’t offer enough. Relatively safe (barring tonight’s calamity), fair support player but in a team like ours who don’t offload at the line it becomes redundant, he cant ball play and isn’t a threat in the opposition 20m. I will rate all players out of 10. Edwards is an average NRL player 5/10.

DWZ – Runs hard, not overly quick, has terrible hands and play the ball with a few errors a match customary. Does give it his all but he isn’t in the top echelon of wingers (vunivalu, addo-carr, oates etc). 6.5/10

Whare – Bog average, slow, doesn’t break tackles, defence is questionable these days, cant set his winger up like 4-5 years ago when he was so good setting David Simmons up. Really should be playing reserve grade. 3/10

Blake – May get criticised for this but I believe our fan base overrated Blake hugely. Has all the physical attributes, big, strong fast but maybe not entirely his fault he just doesn’t threaten or create enough opportunities to be classed as a top shelf centre. Even with early ball I wouldn’t back him to beat his opposing centre one on one. Lacks that class and still has some absolute howlers in terms of handling and getting pushed into touch etc. 6/10

Mansour – Well unfortunately he isn’t like a fine wine. Injuries and the younger players coming through being bigger and faster in this day and age has show Sauce is now a below average winger unfortunately. Great club man but he is SLOW, doesn’t pose any aerial threat, isn’t making metres or breaking tackles like he did back in the day. 4/10

Maloney – One of the worst big name signings in our history. Has lost more games for us then he has won. Ill disciplined, horrendous defence (remember the semi last year against the Sharks, it has to be one of the worst ever matches from a senior player) his kicking game is poor (so many terrible chip kicks in the attacking zone), he doesn’t run the ball so defence can slide off and his leadership and ‘winning’ mentality just isn’t there. 3/10

Cleary – THIS IS OUR BIGGEST CONCERN. I’m just going to say it. Overrated and a massive issue we have so much of our salary cap invested in him. HE ISNT A HALFBACK. Lets take a closer look; passing game is average (both short and long), his kicking game is very very poor. He doesn’t have a ‘big’ boot and cant produce 40/20’s even in great positions to kick them. My biggest worry is he has no vision, he just isn’t a natural footy player. A great competitor and defence for a half is top notch but he doesn’t create space for his outside men, he cant see what is unfolding in front of him, his running game isn’t a massive threat as he is slow, his short kicking game is terrible with 7 tackle sets or the grubber not even getting through the front line of defence. Jarome Laui is twice the player Cleary is and we should have thrown the bank at Cam Munster instead of re-signing Cleary. 4/10

Tamou – Our best forward this year and that’s more an indication on the rest of our pack. He’s solid, makes his tackles but isn’t a wrecking ball at all. Slow play the balls, rarely offloads. 6/10

Hooker: Katoa/Egan – Less aid here the better. We have two reserve grade hookers running around in first grade. Wouldn’t make any other team. We need to sign a hooker ASAP. Like this year…… 2/10

Kikau – When he is fit (unfortunately injuries are occurring too often for him) he is our only player who can be classed with the other top players in the NRL. Huge potential and lets just hope our halves can start playing at the line and putting him through holes. Often they just shovel it to him 5 metres from the defensive line and hope he can bulldoze over people. 8.5/10

Yeo – Every team needs one, only thing we have about 4 or 5 (not as good, toilers already). Gives his all and is a great defender with an underrated attacking game, runs good lines and never gives up on a play. 8/10.

JFH – Someone as big as him should be doing more damage. Hits hard in defence but lacks much of an attacking game. He should be getting one on one with halves and running over them. Not helped with our playmakers refusing to play at the line. Think he is overrated again by some of our fans. 6/10.

Bench – Wont go through them all but it lacks spark, I will single RCG out. Ship him off now. He is ordinary. A few good runs from goal line drop outs doesn’t mask any of his ability. Doesn’t break tackles, has a slow play the ball, doesn’t offload, cant play as a link in the line, he has lost all confidence after the broken jaws, turns side on at all runs now.

A finishing note – our attack just lacks class, simple as that. We don’t shift the ball fluidly, we are clunky, have poor attacking structures, our halves don’t run the ball or play at the line, our attacking (well kicking game all round) has to be in the bottom four of the comp, we don’t have pace in our backline and we don’t have wingers who are aerial threats, our fullback cant ballplay and our forwards are soft, don’t offload and are average at best.

We are in trouble and maybe finish 6-8th but again once we come up against a top team we will struggle to score 2-3 tries a match.

anjado

Since 2017

Signings

1. Tyrone Phillips
2. Malakai Watene-Zelezniak
5. Michael Oldfield
6. James Maloney
8. Tim Browne
9. Mitch Rein
10. James Tamou
11. Tyrell Fuimaono
12. Frank Winterstein
13. Hame Sele

Releases

1. Will Smith
2. Peta Hiku
3. Tyrone Peachey
4. Zak Hardaker
5. Christian Crichton
6. Matt Moylan
7. Te Maire Martin
8. Trent Merrin
9. James Segayaro
10. Leilani Latu
11. Corey Harawira-Naera
12. Bryce Cartwright
13. Elijah Taylor

We have only signed 10 players in the past 3 years. We have massively downgraded in the back-row position and upgraded nowhere. Apart from Tamou and Maloney all the signings we have made have been reserve graders.

Kilkenny

Was working so only listed to game on radio. For that I am greatful.

The result did not surprise and I was half expecting it. Against such a well drilled side like the storm you simply cannot make basic errors the way we obviously did and expect to compete.

We will be better next week assuming Kikau and Yeo return.

I’ve been saying it for sometime now that we lack strike power and X factor.

It’s too early to write the team off and certain individuals to be dropped. I’ve never believed this current squad to be serious premiership contenders and that isn’t going th change. However with our starting 2nd towers back next week there is no reason why we can’t beat the Wests Tigers and maybe get some better form happening

lsta5838

Sadly it was men against boys it felt last night for a bit.. and totally smarting/pissed at the loss. still, only round 3. I just checked last years results and Roosters lost 30 - 6 to Warriors in round 4 (didn't check the line ups though)... some worrying signs, but we have the potential there, and a week, let alone 6 months, is a long time in footy!

Panther Mick

That’s 3 rounds of footy without a back scoring a try.

Who’s responsible for setting up the backs to score tries?

This is diabolical, people.

I hate to say I told you so, but there were some of us who were warning of this problem. Nathan Cleary is not the answer.

Yes we are still the only side after 3 rounds not to have a back score a try.
We now average a lousy 10 points a game in attack.
Pathetic.

Aliceinwonderland

Was working so only listed to game on radio. For that I am greatful.

The result did not surprise and I was half expecting it. Against such a well drilled side like the storm you simply cannot make basic errors the way we obviously did and expect to compete.

We will be better next week assuming Kikau and Yeo return.

I’ve been saying it for sometime now that we lack strike power and X factor.

It’s too early to write the team off and certain individuals to be dropped. I’ve never believed this current squad to be serious premiership contenders and that isn’t going th change. However with our starting 2nd towers back next week there is no reason why we can’t beat the Wests Tigers and maybe get some better form happening

Well said. I thought the first try was 'iffy' to say the least. Last time I looked a push in the back normally means a penalty for the side that was pushed.

Panthers played (or perhaps more correctly didn't play after the 46th minute last night). Panthers I believe were in the fight until then. When it became 14 / 2 the wheels feel off.

Yes we had players out. I thought we played especially in the 2nd half a naive brand of football. Lots of block players, and nothing else much.

The off season surgeries also appear to have lingering after effects. This is not good.

Some straight talking, and hard work needs to begin and begin now. I was most dissappointed that Panthers allowed the Storm to niggle and wrestle their way into a winning position.

The lack of plans B, C, and D need to be addressed quickly. In fact right now.

Also please engage a sports shrink. The sex tape issues also appear to have 'left their mark' so to speak on the team and perhaps others around the team.

It's time to move forward and move forward with purpose.

Perhaps the best thing about going to Bathurst was the unveiling of the spanking new black themed Panther bus. Those inside now need to make it work, and work well.

Panther_Daz

Cleary – THIS IS OUR BIGGEST CONCERN. I’m just going to say it. Overrated and a massive issue we have so much of our salary cap invested in him. HE ISNT A HALFBACK. Lets take a closer look; passing game is average (both short and long), his kicking game is very very poor. He doesn’t have a ‘big’ boot and cant produce 40/20’s even in great positions to kick them. My biggest worry is he has no vision, he just isn’t a natural footy player. A great competitor and defence for a half is top notch but he doesn’t create space for his outside men, he cant see what is unfolding in front of him, his running game isn’t a massive threat as he is slow, his short kicking game is terrible with 7 tackle sets or the grubber not even getting through the front line of defence. Jarome Laui is twice the player Cleary is and we should have thrown the bank at Cam Munster instead of re-signing Cleary. 4/10

Well said.

You've nailed it.

Cleary lacks the peripheral vision to be an elite half. He literally has to look at the player he is passing to before throwing it.

His head is turned away from the defensive line and has no idea what the defenders are doing.

When he does pass he is simply moving the ball to the next person rather than trying to put that player through a gap.

He passes way too far before the line and does not engage any defenders.

When he does actually go close to the line he is too scared to pass and just takes the tackle.

The amount of pressure he puts on his team mates is ridiculous. They don't play in tune with him because he plays with no shape or flow.

Dallin has been on Cleary's side for most of his career and his try scoring numbers have dropped significantly since Cleary debuted.

In others wors hindy PISS OFF

I am trying to help you guys. The Duke has fooled you all for too long.
Then the Clearys fooled the Duke.
Now last nights game was unlucky.
The first 3 tries where just flukes off mistakes. The defense has improved plenty and I reckon the team will have a few shut outa this season.

Peaches and Kikau where the flair last season. Both missing. Kikau will add heaps but still need to find another strike weapon.
Gould should of lept peach and Sivo and let Mansour walk.

You couldn't score cause by time ball was fed from dummy half the storms defense was 5mtrs away.
Halves should of kicked early to put them in two minds.

Anyhows beat Tigers next week and 2/4. Aslong as around 50% win record by round 10 you can then fine tune the side.

Terrible game but storms first 20 points come off errors.

Panfa

We need everyone on deck to be competitive this yr and definitely need luai on the bench to cover maloney or cleary if we are struggling in attack after 15-20 mins.If maloney is honouring his contract next yr it needs to be in canterbury cup cant hold luai back another 12 months.

martielang

Storm were jumping very early but if you’re not getting penalised for it, why wouldn’t you? There were probably areas we could push the boundaries too but we aren’t a smart enough side to do so.

In regards to our Hookers, I do think they’re an easy target. Neither did much wrong last night & they were coming up against the best we’ve ever seen. In saying that, I wonder if it’s worth having another crack at Korisau? Fainu is the future for Manly, they may be willing to let Kori go to relieve some cap issues.

Panfa

Take nothing away from the storm they were brilliant last night but once again if we have ashley klein reffing im heading straight to the commonwealth bank taking out a loan and backing the opposition bigtime.

Thirsty Panther

I honestly didn't think we could beat Melbourne. History says we win less than 30% of these games. Their wrestle, holding in the tackle and moving up quick in defense strangles us out of most contests.

We started well enough with a glut of possession. Our continued inability to create tries in the opposition 20 meter area was shown again. Over 30 tackles on the Storm line and no result. This has been a problem for us over many years. So Melbourne do what they always do. Strangle you until you make a mistake. And mistakes we made by the dozen gifting them 2 easy tries. They then continued on and won well.

Big decision for Ivan on Tuesday afternoon. To drop Edwards or continue and hope he improves. If he drops him then DWZ to fullback and MWZ to wing would be my solution. I don't know how well Aekins has been going in the Canterbury cup but now is not the time to put a rookie into the side.

Tigers next week at home with Yeo and Kikau back. Then Titans away, so we could be 3 from 5 and our season not completely off the rails.
However lose these 2 and we are 1 from 5 and the pressure on the club will be intense.

Kev07

Katoa & Egan ran for combined 4 meters. Luai played 20 mins at hooker in cup,so I think he comes onto bench next week.
I'd like to see Luai get another crack at fullback