Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 7 (2007) Warriors v Panthers

Round 7 (2007)
New Zealand Warriors v Penrith Panthers

Game Thread:
Please note - This is a game thread only, therefore only game posts can be made here (Teams, Articles).
Any other posts may result in loss of points and is at the discretion of the referee.
Only original essays, not used in previous games, will be marked by referees.
Rules: http://f7s.leagueunlimited.com/rules.php
Home team allowed one extra reserve player

FULL TIME: Wednesday 8 August 2007 at 9pm (Syd time)
REFEREE: Misanthrope
Venue: Mt Smart Stadium
ground_ericsson_1.jpg

**The Referee Blows Game On!**
whistle_2.gif

byrne_rovelli_fan82

After a messy previous round with KTF ending up lost in the wilderness the Warriors are back at home looking to finish the regular season on a winning note

byrne_rovelli_fan82 (C)
Jesbass (VC)
Mixmasterreece
rayroxon
Robster

Bench: TBA
*** NOTE byrne_rovelli_fan82 see your PM box re naming TBA.

Big Mick

1) Paul-The-Cowboy
2) Waken
3) Madunit
4) Azkatro
5) [Furrycat]

6) Big Mick
7) Leaguenut
8) Glockers

madunit for Panthers

How Much, Please Sir?

Many people in the past and present, and in other era’s of time not referred to in my fifth and seventh words of this paragraph, have often been critical of the size of some players contracts and have been quite curious as to how some people are able to earn vastly more than their ability could justify.

Within this article we will learn exactly what a player earns, and how their wage is broken down, so that you can see, for the first time, how this intricate system works.

Firstly, there are seven key areas which all have varying weight of importance to the overall income a player earns. These are, with the percentage of income, as follows:

On Field Skill and Ability - 36.87%. Understandably, this has the higher percentage, without skill or ability on the field, there is an overwhelming chance you’re actually playing Rugby Union.

Advertising and Endorsement – 19.41%. This is important to ensure the sponsors are satisfied they are getting their worth out of the excessive sponsorship deal they signed. The players from time to time will have to promote the sponsor in their own time, off the field.

Media and Public Attention – 18.63%. Players have big egos and they need to be seen in the media, the more media, the more publicity the team and more importantly the code gets. It doesn’t really matter if it’s good or bad, because as the old saying goes, any publicity is good publicity.

Representative Potential – 12.77%. Players need to feel that they are elite, and we need to push this along by paying them if they can just get mentioned as being a possible representative star. It only needs to happen once a season for the payment to be justified. With the ever ludicrously inflated comments bandied around by the media, it’s easy to see how no player since Theo Anast has missed out on this payment.

Treatment of Public – 1.40%. The NRL needs to be seen as making an effort to make the players not appear as rapists, molesters, thieves or wankers. Even though the NRL doesn’t really care, due to the fact that “any publicity is good publicity.” Again, the PR staff at all clubs ensures some little diatribe is published in the local rag to ensure this payment is also made.

Loyalty – 0.92%. No one really cares much for loyalty nowadays, it’s just that there’s always a few dollars left over, and it needs to be accounted for under some unimportant sector.

Player Manager – 10%. Each player has a manager now, who needs to be paid for screwing clubs over in an attempt to get their client, and indirectly, themselves, a bigger pay packet. Their complete disregard for the game is something that gets publicised, hence rewarded as, “any publicity is good publicity.”

Now that we know the breakdown of a player’s wage, the hardest part is ranking a player based on their past performances. The first six areas mentioned above all carry a rank out of 100. 1 being worst, 100 being best. These rankings were initially carried out by Player Managers, until the results came back and every player had been ranked 100 in all areas, not too surprising really.

Now, the rankings are carried out by Mark Geyer. If MG gives someone a big wrap in one or some of the areas, we instantly know that player should be getting a pay cut because they’re obviously useless.

Once this system is in place, the clubs then have to decide how much of their salary cap they wish to use for legitimate player payments, how much they will breach the cap by, and whether that amount will be worth it. The club also needs to figure out who they will give the sack midway through the next season to free up some salary cap space before they get audited.

As you can see, and undoubtedly already understood, the process in agreeing upon a players wage is an intricate and complicated system based on many factors all reliant on other important factors. There are no certainties until the very end, and sometimes by then, it’s far too late.

703 Words, Including Title

Mixmasterreece for the mighty Warriors.

ronald.jpg

Shattered Glass

Sit back, relax and allow your mind conjure up a typical Newcastle Knights home game. Perhaps a Bluetongue stadium landscape, an emerald patchwork beneath a canopy of blue and red jerseys, a din of anticipation, air thats so frought with excitement that it almost hurts to breathe. Truly beautiful, isn't it? One might even say that this pristine vision of rugby league's splendour defines the identity of Newcastle supporters in some unique way.

But look a little closer. Are those empty seats scattered like salt and pepper across the landscape? Instead of the cheers of ecstasy, those rolling pastures are bathing in hot tempers and hurt. And zoom in on those dandruff-like flecks - seemingly caught in the fences that divide our vast spaces from the outside world - and they turn out to be fans leaving in droves before the full time siren.

Despite the image of perfection that's peddled by the marketing brains involved with the Newcastle Knights, 20 years of “Courage, pride and unity” * has turned into confusion, embarrassment and divisive splits. And it can't all be blamed on the departure of the messiah that was Andrew Johns. The club aren't big consumers on the player market, and theres screeds of evidence that they've played fast and loose with their recruitment methods – and with the club's future – when you look at both the the club's 13 year reliance on one man and their inability to develop a strong playing roster across the field.

The amount of information we're receiving about the club's failings - both on and off the field - is absolutely overwhelming, a seemingly stultifying combination of the grindingly boring and the absolutely terrifying. It's all player discontent this, Michael Hagan that, with liberal dustings of over-paying Kirk Reynoldson, the hunt for Andrew John's successor and the flavourless back line... not to mention warnings of biblical proportions, such as the lackluster look to the makeup of the 2008 squad.

A substantial report of NRL supporters from December 2001 to March 2007 was recently conducted by Roy Morgan International **, and the news was bad for the Newcastle Knights management. At best, the inability of the club to increase it's support base shows the club has been very slow to take definitive leadership in making the the team more attractive to support (a political minefield), failing to provide adequate carrots and sticks for supporters to get behind the blue and reds on a regular basis.

At worst, the clubs lack of growth has been paralleled by it's poor showings on the NRL competition ladder. The clubs supporter base has seen a downturn of 4.0% since 2001** – almost matched by the growing discontent within the ranks of the fans - and more worryingly - the players.

Especially bad news for the club's hopes of improving in 2008 is that, while the club has started to offload a lot of 'deadwood' on the playing roster, it seems to have angered senior players. Captain Danny Buderus has described the release of Adam Woolnough, Clint Newton, Josh Perry and a host of others as “"two much, too soon"***. If his comments are read into further, it would seem apparent that Buderus wouldn't lose any sleep if Brian Smith was given the 'axe' tomorrow.

While this might just seem like a problem for Knights supporters, it should actually be a worry to all supporters of the game. With the Knights short term future looking shaky, one could be forgiven for wondering if we might have another South Sydney Rabbitohs on our hands, and without another Russel Crowe to pull the club out of the cellar, the Knights might be struggling to stay out of the grasp of the wooden spoon for many years to come.

The Knights have been a fragile club since 2004, the amazing ability of Andrew Johns to turn the result of a game had momentarily brushed the club's deficiencies under the carpet. It was inevitable that once Johns retired there was going to be big problems. And it's not like Michael Hagan and Ken Conway didn't have time - it had be apparent for years that John's reign at the club was going to come to a close and the club would need to make some savvy recruitment decisions.

With an alleged rift between senior players and coach Brian Smith - not to mention a club rolling into 2008 with what seems on paper to be an appalling squad - the glories of 2001 will soon be a distant memory.

References :
*http://www.newcastleknights.com.au/
**http://www.roymorgan.com/news/press-releases/2007/664/
***http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,...-23214,00.html

750 words between the stars.

Paul-The-Cowboy

Penrith Panthers
#1 - Paul-The-Cowboy
(748 words)

Super League forecast

This year’s summer in the United Kingdom has been the dullest in nine years, and the wettest since records began, with floods, storms, and clouds being the story of June and July. It has provided somewhat of a reminder of the negative aspects of winter rugby. But as the flood waters subside, and the sun begins to show hints of coming out of hiding from the big black clouds hanging over much of England, the heat is also starting to be felt in more ways than one by many of the teams in Super League.

The weekend’s action kicked off on a warm, sticky Friday evening in Salford as the City Reds played hosts to fellow relegation battlers, Hull KR. With Hull KR standing just one point above Salford at the bottom of the table, this was a must-win game for both teams. Bolstered by an estimated 2,000-3,000 army of fans that had made the journey over from Yorkshire, one of the biggest crowds in Salford’s recent history witnessed a tension filled encounter at The Willows, which saw the home team go in at the break with a slender 12-10 lead.

With the prospect of Salford leap-frogging them at the bottom, the newly promoted Robins turned the heat on after the break with Mark O’Neill crossing early on. The City Reds had no answers to the Robins’ increase in intensity, and struggled to earn any sort of possession or territory against a red hot Hull KR outfit. Two late scores saw the game end in an agonisingly crucial 30-24 defeat for the City Reds, who find themselves 3 points adrift from safety with 5 games remaining.

It was this sense of urgency and desperation that had been missing in the crisis-hit Wigan side in their shock defeat to the French outfit, Les Catalans, in last week’s Challenge Cup Semi-Final. Returning to The Halliwell Jones Stadium on Sunday, the Warriors were tipped to bounce back against the in-form Warrington Wolves.

But another slow start would prove to be the downfall for Wigan, as Stuart Reardon touched down after 3 minutes. The afternoon didn’t get much better for the Warriors fans, as the Lee Briers inspired Wolves ran riot in the Cheshire sunshine, the scores ending 43-24.

Whilst the sun is most certainly shining over Warrington this week, dark clouds are still looming over the Warriors camp.
Following their shock exit in the Challenge Cup, reaching Old Trafford is now their one and only chance of picking up some much sought after silverware. And following the 4 point deduction for breaches of the salary cap, the task of reaching the top 6 is by no means easy. The Warriors currently sit in 9th place, and are 3 points behind a berth in the rugby league Holy Grail of the play-offs.

This means that with 5 games to go, this week’s clash with 6th placed Huddersfield has provided another make-or-break Friday night encounter for the cameras. A loss would add to the turbulent storms gathering at the JJB Stadium, as owner Dave Whelan considers offers for the clubs, as well as legal advice against the RFL.
A win, on the other hand, would provide a ray of light in what has been a gloomy and miserable fortnight for the Warriors.

At the other end of the table, Salford and Hull KR take on the West Yorkshire giants of Leeds and Bradford respectively. Hull KR could virtually guarantee Super League survival with an unlikely victory, whilst Salford go into Friday night’s game knowing that they must pull off one of the upsets of the season if they are to avoid the heartbreak of relegation.

So, what’s the outlook for August and September?

It would be fair to say that this season has proved to be as unpredictable as the famous English summers.
Relegation survivors Wakefield are aiming for a top 6 finish, whilst last year’s play-off participants Salford look set to lose the battle with newly promoted Hull KR for survival. Hull FC and Warrington struggled for large parts of the opening months, whilst Wigan’s inconstancy continues to rival that of BBC’s 24 hour weather forecasts, and puzzle the rugby league world.

There are still plenty of twists and turns left at the top, and bottom. One thing is for sure – the temperatures are rising, and many areas will be hit by an increase in pressure levels, so expect a stormy few weeks, and prepare for all eventualities.

The Piper

964-80x800nrlpanthers-panthers.jpg
Waken dashes on for his seventh straight game this season for Penrith, out to impress Representative selectors

Retirement: The Last Article in a Career

Signature banners of this forum work. It was a Sydney Lions banner that I first noticed. It took me a month to actually enquire as to what the Lions were. Posting in the Ask Us Anything forums I was directed to look into Forum Sevens further. I did.

I love to write. Fiction, humor, mysterious, anything. Rugby League would be my other favourite past time. I watch it more so these days than playing it. To find that this concept was a writing challenge based on rugby league was simply combining both my hobbies together. I couldn’t believe they had come together in the one game.

I was asked by Willow immediately to play for the Bluebags. Very eager to begin, I quickly began writing my first Forum Sevens article. It was a piece that meant a lot to me, about being a true supporter of a rugby league team, but not living anywhere near that team’s geographical location and fan base. I was given my first ever mark by the referee, and I became disappointed; most likely because I didn’t know what to expect in regards to scores or matches. Having put my own personal story on the line and felling like it wasn’t understood was tough. But I played again.

After a few clashes I was getting the grasp for the game and the team got to the finals. It was a thrill to be apart of a Grand Final win, even though I was on the bench each of the finals. It’s a great feeling to be part of a team and even in this case it was great, if you hadn’t met these people in real life.

In my second season, I was lucky enough to put a few Bluebags sides together in a couple of trail games. That gave me a taste for leading a Forum Sevens side. Leading them to victory again, of course. Three or four rounds into this season, I joined a struggling Sharks outfit that was being courageous lead by madunit to no avail, through no fault of the captain. I joined the team in hope of assisting him in captaincy duties. Cronulla was runner up to the wooden spoon and our losing streak had gotten to everyone involved in the side, many thinking the team would disband. We looked to have no players to continue into the next year.

Again, in my third year of F7s, I was lucky enough again to captain a side in the pre season series and low and behold, the Sharks players pulled it together to take out the title in the trial competition! It was a very satisfying feeling, especially as I found myself the captain of an F7s team, as I had longed for.

Through the year, we were extremely unfortunate to finish most matches one or two players short. For someone who was taking the game seriously at the time, it was hard to swallow, especially when I was posting each game.

The Sharks collected second last place again. It was then I learnt of the time Forum Sevens nearly folded all together. A blowup by a power hungry moderator on another website deleted all known threads to do with F7s off the face of the internet. Somehow, many of the previous players found their way back together on League Unlimited. The game eventually kicked off again and it’s to understanding, has never been stronger.

I realised then it was just a game. It was a great game that I had tremendous fun participating in. If I hadn’t com across it, I would not have had these exciting experience I have had meeting and writing alongside the greatest and most dedicated of all NRL fans. Looking back now, I would happily have given up captaincy of any of the F7s team I took charge of, just to experience my two favourite hobbies mashed into one all again.

I end my career a Panther; it seems very suitable as they are my NRL team I love dearly. I end as just a player, part of a team made up of others that love the game as much as I. I end my career knowing to watch my punctuation, too.
Like Penrith’s 2003 season, it was a fairytale career, worthy of an F7s article about it.

Thanks and best of luck marking the game ref.

Never right (or is that write?) off a return from retirement, though!

750 words says the Official Word Counter

Robster

The greatest Football Draw of all time.

5th August 2007 is a date that I will always remember. It was the best game ever in generation. Warriors alongside Roosters both winning the past 3 games would suggest all Rugby League fans in general were in for a real treat. Below is detail on what happened in my lounge room for the 90 minutes.

Pre kick off – I shamefully predict the Roosters to defeat the Warriors. Reasons being from past experience where a news reporter asks by stating “HOW GOOD ARE THE WARRIORS” the new Zealand breed team usually some how play non standard Rugby League and lose convincingly by possibly becoming to confident. Roosters in the other hand had more to play for and now don’t sound so cocky with Brad Fittler taking the control stick.

7 minutes – Don’t have a strong feeling bout this game with Joel Monaghan beating the Warriors lack luster defense to score a simple try in the corner.

13 minutes- Joel Monaghan scores a simple try again.through slack Warrior defence. As I slam the table and rubbish my excitement before the match started. Never or less I hated to admit but the Roosters were on fire and looking good to win this match.

20 minutes – I curse and question myself wiether or not I should play Yahoo Pool for more entertainment. The Warriors defensive line is so bad that when Ashley Harrison scores a dolly I slam the lounge table in disgust.

25 minutes- Okay maybe Yahoo Pool can wait as Wade Mckinnon proves why he is the number 1 Fullback in the competition after he breaks from a Lauaki offload and races to score under the black dot. Mckinnon does his one finger I’m number one celebration as I hope for a Warriors come back.

28 minutes- Here comes the classic Warrior fight back. The Warriors have gone peow peow to inject themselves back into the match. Micheal Crockett awesomely beats Aubusson and races down the side line and passes to Jerome Ropati to score a sensational try. Converstion by Micheal Witt Successful. Suddenly I’m not so angry and pissed off, my eyes are excitedly glued to the television.

32 minutes – What a stunning fightback from the boys, now scored three tries in 8 minutes. Lauaki storms past the defence to grab one for himself. Converstion successful and the Warriors have the lead 18-16. Suddenly in the space of 8 minutes I have gone from depressed to overly excited and happy.

Since then for most of the rest of the match the Warriors were outplaying the headless chocks and had a lead of 30 points to 18. Leading until the 68th minutes as Simon Mannering was sent to the sin bin for a disagreeable professional foul. Having only 12 men for the reminder of the match proved costly as the Roosters went bang bang to equal the score up at 30-30..

It was the 78th minute which I almost had a heart attack of shock as Braith Anasta sealed a drop kick to put his team in the lead. Though my heart attack soon turned into surprise shock as Micheal Witt sealed a drop goal on the last play of the match.

The match went into extra time and deservedly both teams didn’t lose. It was the best game I have ever witness since I was a 10 year old watching my first game of Rugby League. What a match, what a game, what a bloody good game of Rugby League.

583 wods.

Azkatro

panthers.gif

Azkatro for the Panthers.

The mateship

I was on my way to the footy one Sunday afternoon when I decided to cut down a street I didn’t remember seeing before. A glint of light caught my eye and I looked across the street to see something on the footpath on the other side.

What I saw were a bunch of different coloured glasses on the ground. I looked around to see if anyone was pulling something weird on me but didn’t see anything unusual. Something about them compelled me, so I leaned down to pick up a pair.

They were orange and black, and I put them on and looked around. Suddenly there were people all around and they were chatting and seemed to have a sense of hope. It startled me so I took the glasses off and suddenly the people vanished.

I picked up the next pair and they had a combination of blue, red and white colours. I put them on and saw people again, but this time they were sipping from coffee cups, gathered in a circle and looking up at a monument of someone who looked unmistakeably like a westie. Again, I took them off and they were gone.

The next glasses were sort of yellow and maroon. I saw lots more people this time, all boisterous and drinking beer. I would have looked at them more but I could only see out of one eye for some reason.

Through the blue and white glasses I saw all sorts of different people. Some had noisy hatchbacks, and they all made lots of noise.

The red and blue ones had bogans everywhere, and they were all worshipping some angry bloke with a dodgy haircut.

Very trendy people appeared through the purple glasses, and they seemed almost like a rogue element but stuck together like glue.

The maroon and white glasses presented me with a vision of people who looked like they were off to the beach. For some reason I felt an urge to dislike them.

Then, through the blue and black ones, I saw beach people again. But these people seemed to be tired and confused. Many were scratching their heads. It was like they were waiting for something.

I took a moment to look at the real world again. This sure was weird, but there were still a few more pairs to go.

The next pair were blue and gold. Suddenly I sensed that everything was going really well, but I felt an overwhelming sense of dread, like it was all about to fall apart.

I started to notice the last pair on the ground. I had this feeling like I really wanted to get to them. So I rushed through the next few pairs. The black and grey ones had people who looked really nice and I wanted to get to know them. The green pair made me feel a cold shiver. Through the black ones I saw lots of bogans with shonky teeth. Red and green and I saw people who looked like they’d risen from the dead, and then the red and white ones showed me people who looked a bit snooty. Through the blue and orange ones I saw people who I think only just showed up.

Then I put on the last pair which was blue, white and yellow. I was excited about them but this time nothing changed. But they fit me well so I moved on. I showed up to my mate’s house. He was coming to the footy with me. He goes for the Raiders for some reason. We were off to see them play my team, the Cowboys. We both go for different teams but we are the best of mates.

He opened the door and gave me a warm welcome, and told me the new sunnies look pretty trendy.

Then a realisation hit me.

I suddenly realised what those visions were all about.

Lots of us rugby league fans see the world through different eyes, and I think for a moment I caught a glimpse of what they see. But there was one common theme among them all.

It was the mateship. Everybody was in it together, no matter who they went for.

I got a warm, fuzzy feeling all over. Then I cringed when I saw my mate walk out in his Raiders jersey and wanted to torch it.

Nonetheless, we chatted and caught up and watched the footy and had a beer together.

747 words. Liftoff!

rayroxon

Hey Hendersons!

(An open letter to a tigers fan)

You may remember me as the warriors fan two rows in front of you. I’m dedicating the next 700 words to the afternoon we shared together at the footy. We crossed paths on a balmy winter afternoon at Campbelltown three weekends ago and I’m writing to let you know about the experience and how you broke the football fan code, throwing etiquette out the window. In hindsight I shouldn't expect too much of you; you’d struggle to pronounce etiquette let alone abide by it.

It was early in the game, however I’d yelled and cheered at the appropriate times and was quietly disappointed when I should be, especially when Collis scored. It was then I felt a condescending pat on the shoulder. For someone who had no prior affinity with me before this match I felt it was a bit too intimate, but hey you’re only human. I chose to ignore this indiscretion and watch on. You were probably disappointed I didn’t bite back, but I doubt you could register an emotion that complex.

The warriors went on to score two quick tries and when I didn’t feel your unfamiliar touch I decided to give you the benefit of the doubt and give you one of those comradely grins that opposing fans share. You then told me to “Get trucked" (paraphrased) and to “go home.” Seeing as I'm as Aussie as a Bali jail I laughed it off. I didn’t expect much more from you seeing as the two of you share the same brain (by the looks of it a second hand model) and seeing as I’d paid for my ticket and my team was winning I had no intention of going home or going tantra-style on myself, but thanks for the directions.

To my delight the Warriors went further ahead and scored a couple more tries, which silenced and incensed you. The flashpoint however game when Tuaki knocked on while contesting a high ball. My jibes of “You boys sure are a touchy feely lot” were ignored. I copped the obligatory back patting and now even hair ruffling as you were adamant he had scored a try. I wasn’t as certain as you and we entered into the following dialogue.

“T-I-Y Maaaaate” *pat pat*

“I think you’ll find it’s spelt TRY, however it’s a knock on”

“Put your house on it then”

“Look I don’t own a house and neither do you, but I’ll put my scarf on it that it’s no try"

Video Ref

NO TRY

20m Restart

You didn't look too happy when I said “You owe me a scarf maaaate”

I’m still waiting for my scarf but it probably means you’d need to refinance your cardboard box and I couldn’t have you and your litter on my conscience.

You got real grumpy when Michael Luck scored in the second half. After that try, the older more toothless of you leant over and told me I was a bad fan. You claimed it’s because I didn’t go to home games and I don’t live in New Zealand thereby making me "not loyal". I must admit I was impressed that you’d been able to follow a line of argument, even one as non-sensical as that. I figured arguing with you was like winning Sydney’s Shute shield – no one cares - so I let you believe your deluded truth. I was about to retort when, without a goodbye you walked yourself out at the 60 minute mark of the match!

You'd broken the fan code well and truly.

1) You left early.

2) You touched me in a patronising manner

3) You could dish it up but you couldn't take it back.

I don't mind a bit of banter between fans, I encourage it as the footy's about tribalism and characters. What upsets me though is when people like you make the footy an uncomfortable experience. The choice to support my team and the reasons behind it have nothing to do with you nor should I have to justify it. I love my footy and that passion should be enough to show I'm loyal to my team regardless of the circumstances.

I don’t expect you to ever read this as I expect you’re illiterate but I need to tell you this; I’m a Warriors fan and proud of it and I will be till the day I die.

byrne_rovelli_fan82

byrne_rovelli_fan82 for the Warriors

~~~~~~~
Keeping the faith

At every home game, there is a plain white banner with the words; ‘Keeping the Faith’ plastered in the stands of Mt Smart Stadium. It is usually a lone banner in a sometimes eerily half-empty Mt Smart Stadium. In the rough times, one cannot fully comprehend how fans can stay this loyal but that banner highlights the feelings of a special group of Warriors fans. Not bothered by a result or off-field incidents they epitomize a real dedicated supporter. They are the ones who can teach the rest of us a lesson or two about loyalty. Too many Warriors fans take the easy road.

For the past three and a half seasons, the Warriors continuously fell agonizing short of the bar set by fans and the media. Although not always viewed in the most positive fashion in New Zealand the club continues to prove it has the makings to compete with its rugby union rivals. None more heartening then during the club’s six-match losing streak when all looks lost. The faithful fans continued to stand by their team and never once doubted they would come good. They never overplayed their expectations to much, as the history with this club shows it can let down at the worst moment. Just go back to Round 8 against the Sharks, when the previous week the Warriors had narrowly beaten the Rabbitohs. When they followed the Sharks loss with more heartache, thousands of fans questioned the integrity of the team and lack of certain players. Some even went as far to say:
‘Well what has really changed?’
A lot has changed, and those loyal to the club have seen significant changes in the team. They did not lack the heart or talent. In fact quite the opposite they showed a different level then most realized. These fans truly believe the obstacles plaguing the club will fade away and a new dawn will bring new hope.

Now as the prospect of a finals berth beckons closer by the week, the hype and expectations is starting to lift. Fans and the media are constantly jumping on the bandwagon and it is not just in New Zealand. Australian media have begun to sit up and take notice. Even regular Rugby League Weekly writer and former Penrith star Mark Geyer has succumbed to following the trend. While others are only just starting to give the Warriors more notice, that little group at Mt Smart prove to be the best fans.
They follow the ‘never say die’ attitude and stay positive. To them, the dream of one day bringing home the premiership never fades. While the team’s winning they enjoy the ride but still apply the philosophy of ‘one game at a time’ Like everyone they are left frustrated every year but still every year they turn up with the flame flickering..To them, passion isn’t just about winning but about being there from start to end.

‘So close and yet so far’ or ‘if only’ are phrases associated with the Warriors and probably haunts the players every time they do an interview following another loss. These days with only 3 weeks left in the regular season a quiet mumble of ‘Can/will they?’ float around in newspapers and televised sports reports. Doubt has long fled the minds of the faithful and now they just look forward to the day their dream comes true. Unlike their fellow fans though this quiet mob will their excitements low-key and not want to be caught up in the hype. They know one small slip up of arrogance and they will be no better then the bandwagon crew. I hope these skills continue to rub off on the rest of the Warriors half-hearted supporters. This little group show day in and day out no matter how dire a situation is you can’t simply walk away and come back when things suit you.

Perhaps one day, on a warm but chilly October evening the Warriors will bring home the NRL Premiership to the delights of millions of Kiwis and ex-kiwis living overseas. Nevertheless, while those millions of fans will be celebrating their team’s triumphant rise there will be a small group who can take the most glory. They never abandon their club in the dark ages, they shared in the joys and when that Grand Final win finally happens, they are the true champions.
~~~~~~~`
731 words between the lines

Jesbass

In a fit of rage, Jesbass runs onto the field as if his the match is just about to end. Oh wait...it is!

Winning Hearts And Minds (736 words according to the official word count)

Welcome home
I bid you welcome, I bid you welcome
Welcome home
From the bottom of my heart

Not long after the fall of Iraqi dictator Saddam Hussein at the hand of American forces, the invading nation’s President, George W. Bush, recited a Vietnam-era phrase by saying the next task for the soldiers was to win the hearts and minds of the people. While merely invading had solved the short term issues, it was the launching of this new campaign that would ultimately define the success or failure of the operation in the longer term.

Out here on the edge
The empire is fading by the day
And the world is so weary in war
Maybe we’ll find that new way

Thousands of kilometres away, in a much less militaristic fortress going by the name of Mt Smart Stadium, a much less violent battle has been fought to win back a fan base that has been made weary by more than ten years of heartache, controversy, and largely false hope. But with a new, transparent management, and staff that not only value the fans but approach them for opinion, the tide is beginning to turn. The club regularly emails its members with news updates, visits fan websites, and holds fan forums to ensure a healthy two way relationship exists.

And with only one loss since round 13, the old adage that cleaning up the front office will have a flow on effect throughout the rest of the business is ringing loud and true.

Welcome home

Traditionally known for excessive flair and pushing the pass, the Warriors needed an element of structure to help them learn not only when to offload, but more importantly, when not to. This structure, combined with the natural panache of the players has resulted in an exciting yet controlled style of football which is proving popular with fans and commentators alike.

Long serving fans have witnessed the club miss out on the finals series in their inaugural season after being docked two points for a breach of the interchange bench rule. They have seen the club almost self destruct through mismanagement as players wondered desperately if they would get paid. They have seen popular players get pushed by the wayside, and the salary cap get breached.

It is these same fans who are now beginning to find belief for their team. It is a cautious, tentative belief, borne of a mixture of hope and positive results both on and off the field.

So welcome home
See I made a space for you now
Welcome home
From the bottom of our hearts

And new fans are joining the ranks each week, as older ones continue to return to the fray. One prime example of this was when New Zealand sports broadcaster Murray Deaker recently admitted to preferring rugby league to rugby union, heaping praise on the style of play of the Warriors and of his admiration for club captain and consistent performer Steven Price. He went on to say that he felt rugby league could challenge the supremacy of rugby union in New Zealand.

And in an online survey conducted by the New Zealand Herald in the wake of the 31-31 draw between the Warriors and the Roosters, a user by the name of Nummies said: “As a [rugby] union supporter for over sixty years, I've finally woken up to [the] fact that league is a far better spectacle. The Warriors game was the most exciting, hair pulling, swearing at the box, yahooing game of footy I've ever seen.”

Keep it coming now, keep it coming now
You’ll find most of us here with our hearts wide open

And with home crowds averaging not much more than eleven thousand, the financial ledger has been looking weak, too.

As the club fights for a top four finish, and the home semi final that comes along with it, they will be sure to find out just how many hearts and minds they have won back to their cause, which, while not nearly as life threatening, it is a worthy cause nonetheless.

Welcome home

Sources:
Lyrics from "Welcome Home" by New Zealand music legend Dave Dobbyn
www.davedobbyn.co.nz
http://www.muzic.net.nz/artists/6/lyrics/1259.html
www.wikipedia.org

Jesbass

Wow. Three team posts in two minutes. Is that a record? *collapses*

Well done to both teams, and good luck. Crazy hustle, Warriors!

Big Mick

I'm sorry...but I thought you couldn't edit a team list after you post it?

That list was altered today...

Jesbass

Big Mick © said:
I'm sorry...but I thought you couldn't edit a team list after you post it?

That list was altered today...

Oh no, you're kidding me...

Man, I wish you were. Gutted.

Looks like our captain has some explaining to do, to the rest of us Warriors, too. :(

byrne_rovelli_fan82

the change happened because I initially had six starters, one couldn't make it and told me but on the same day he informed me I had no internet connectiion for a couple of days so couldn't do anything. But the post was edited for another starter who was never going to be on the un-named bench.

Hence the reason the team list post made by me got edited this afternoon.

Anyway I'll take full responsibility of all actions in this regard.

Jesbass

byrne_rovelli_fan82 said:
the change happened because I initially had six starters, one couldn't make it and told me but on the same day he informed me I had no internet connectiion for a couple of days so couldn't do anything. But the post was edited for another starter who was never going to be on the un-named bench.

Hence the reason the team list post made by me got edited this afternoon.

Anyway I'll take full responsibility of all actions in this regard.

While I failed to follow your explanation, I don't think you're the only one who will take responsibility. I'm not up to par on the rules, but I think it's up to the ref as to whether or not we forfeit the match.

Either way, sorry Panthers. A great spectacle has been ruined. This wasn't in the spirit of the game.