Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round One v Melbourne

murraymob

All the doom and gloom .Deadset we just lost by 8 .a few things went against us a no try then they score
.May in the clear 2 times only to fall over .Last few years we had that luck go our way
Our defence was good and a good base to work with .we can and will improve its round 1

age.s

The left edge looked pretty clunky. No rhythm in the timing of runs and their movement was easy to read. Tiny was a freak though, made something out of nothing routinely. If that edge gets humming he might be in for an extremely big year.

The defensive core and physicality that got us here is clearly still there so its hard to be too worried. We won't attack that poorly every week surely.

Your bias against Soni Luke is pretty pathetic mate. Both hookers looked pretty good tonight. Soni created at least three chances that Nathan and Jerome both weren’t switched onto.

No one really listens to you because you’re so predictable. It’s actually laughable.
Disagree mate, Luke’s stupid jinking before passing stifles our attack. Nobody (including Luke himself I reckon) know what the f**k the play is once he decides to ad lib.

The Realist

Is Luke capable of passing from dummy half.

Every tackle he picks the ball up and looks lost before either running or passing a few seconds late

He picks the wrong time to try 'tricky' plays. In the last 5 minutes when we are mid field looking to build momentum on 3rd tackle - he steps back and looks for options....instead of a quick crisp pass to a player steaming onto the ball.

By the time he decides what to do with it we are flat footed with defence rushing onto us, as the ball runners have either overrun him or stopped so as to not overrun him. Very poor decision making.

kinghippo

The left edge looked pretty clunky. No rhythm in the timing of runs and their movement was easy to read. Tiny was a freak though, made something out of nothing routinely. If that edge gets humming he might be in for an extremely big year.

The defensive core and physicality that got us here is clearly still there so its hard to be too worried. We won't attack that poorly every week surely.
i was really worried we would struggle for a while without Crichton, May was really amazing and will be an absolute weapon for us this year. He was good in attack and defensively really surprised me.

The Realist

Disagree mate, Luke’s stupid jinking before passing stifles our attack. Nobody (including Luke himself I reckon) know what the f**k the play is once he decides to ad lib.

Completely agree, you can see at times how Cleary, Luai and Yeo are 'lost' when he does this.

There is quite a bit of 'King' Katoa with Soni Luke. Has the talent but not the Footy IQ required for a good spine player. Both also defensively compromised though in different ways.

age.s

Luke stifles the attack in general play but is also one of the very few that look dangerous near the line though. Sometimes you need that kind of thing when a team is reading you defensively. The bigger issue is his defense. He's such a target in the middle and even if its just an easy 5-10 meters the whole identity of our team is not giving away momentum like that.

PennyPanthers81

I wonder if Daine Laurie is an option at 6 yet? The times he played 6 for the Tigers last year he had some spark and looked okay. Probably defense not up to scratch.

The Realist

In good news, how good was Sommerton? He really read the defence well, got us a couple of penalties when the marker wasn't square. I was really impressed.

He is okay. Defensively solid, decent passing and as you mentioned has some situational cunning. A big weakness of his is that you can judge by his stance exactly where he is going to pass. There is zero deception to his game in that regard. Makes us easier to read.

The good news is that he is very raw and has huge room for improvement. The Raw building blocks are already there - Reliability and attitude.

Red&BlackBear

Who ever thought we'd all be praying for Kenny to come back and play hooker? lol
Him and Sommerton would make for a great 1-2 combo.

The bench was real uneven, too many similar work horse like players in Eisenhuth, Smith and Henry. Something will eventually give.

Once Sorensen is back though, maybe he becomes the answer at bench for impact.

Either way things to work on, having areas for improvement is a good thing.

If everyone is fit for round 2 then it has to be

Edwards
Turuva
May
Tago
To’o

Luai
Cleary

Leota
Kenny
Fisher-Harris
Garner
Martin
Yeo

14. I don’t know…. Maybe Laurie, but Sommerton looked great in that game.
Sorensen
Smith
Henry

The Realist

Luke stifles the attack in general play but is also one of the very few that look dangerous near the line though. Sometimes you need that kind of thing when a team is reading you defensively. The bigger issue is his defense. He's such a target in the middle and even if its just an easy 5-10 meters the whole identity of our team is not giving away momentum like that.

I really want to like him but this stands out more than anything. He is the literal definition of a weak link. No point in having 12 excellent defenders when the opposition get 1-2 big 10-15m runs with a very Quick play the ball every set running at said weak link.

People talked about how he was a mini-Api with a bag of tricks, and that he learn't a lot from Api. Well, I wish he learnt far more from Api defensively. Api is hardly bigger than Luke but is a very good defender.

Luke Bowden

He split the markers three times and had no halves chasing through. That’s under 18’s shit.

Nathan and Jerome know they missed the opportunities because they both apologised to him.

You can disagree all you like, it’s just fundamentally poor from our halves. It’s simple as that.