Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby League 3 for Wii

you can't promote players from Toyota Cup at all nor can you use them in a franchise game, i think the only reason the squads are there is so you can move players from that team to the NRL team in the customisation section pre franchise game and then you can use them in a franchise game, there is spots for 40 players in the nrl squads.

natheel

i jumped straight into a franchise with parra didnt bother updating rosters think ill do that tomorrow though and restart.

i like the new controls. ive got it sussed out so far apart from the kicking in gameplay i get caught out heaps haha

the AI of the computer on every level is improved its a challenge so far on reserve with the new controllers

Big Pete

Can I hear some pros and cons?

Pros
- The game is f**king Rugby League!
- The game doesn't feel as systematic as before, the players can move freely without any kind of restraint.
- AI is vastly improved
- The kicking engine is improved
- Goal kicking is actually challenging
- Players seem to have some personality
- The game is just fun...I don't know how to put my finger onto it. But after adjusting to the control after 200+ hours on Rugby League 2 I'm really loving this game.

Cons
- A season too late, Toyota Cup is basically outdated to the point where you have to remake every single squad from scratch and at least 5-10 players need to be created for the NRL.
- Can't nominate captains, play makers or goal kickers in customisation
- Can't promote NYC players in Franchise mode
- Players are generally out of position, I just had Parker and Ben Hunt playing as wingers and fetching the ball for me.
- Defensive animations are all the same and some of them feel really out of place. I haven't seen a player german suplex another nor roll them into touch. Goal line defence needs a lot of improving, it annoys the crap out of me when a player receives the ball a good 5m out, is tackled there yet somehow does some weird running thing where he lands on the line while I have defenders either side standing idle because the animation means they can't get involved. It just seems lazy and in the future I'd loved to see it fixed.
- On seasoned difficulty it seems the AI coughs up the ball everytime they score points, making it extremely easy to hit back and vice versa. Scrums are once again quite easy to score off of.
- Most of the players looked like they were created from the games Create a Player mode and only a few were actually given distinct looks.

Really, I say give the game a chance, it takes a good 2-3 20 minute games before you can really have any sense of fun with it but once you get a hold of it, woah hold back because you're going to be on one wild ride.

The only problem is, the Broncos squad is filled with so many awesome players it's going to be hard getting back and watching Israel being unable to score 90m tries where he steps the entire opposition side.

GB!

i'm actually taking it back today, just still so similar to the last game.
this is the biggest disappointment for me since i have been a gamer.
i don't think the player AI has improved too much at all. maybe my expectations were too high?

some one good like EA really needs to make a RL game. rugby '06 & rugby '08 are the best footy games out there IMO. the makers of this game need to copy the footy simulation off one of these rugby games (eg: player AI, passing, tackling & kicking etc...)

i'm starting to think there will never be a good RL game unless EA make it:(

Angry_eel

Buy it. Its not perfect but its still rugby league and I doubt you will be able to play as Wests Tigers(or any other NRL/SL club) in an EA union game.

One thing I like is that especially with nunchuk, it has a high learning curve which means I won't get bored.

For me I said if it wasn't as bad as Cricket,i'd buy it.

hybrid_tiger

I just went to EB, was tempted, but there is no way I'm paying $99.95 for it without playing it first. Plus the extra $20-$30 on a Gamecube controller. Is it cheaper anywhere else?

I bought the first one (that was terrible) then the second one I played for five minutes in the shop and didn't bother (was even worse). It would have to be a big improvement.

The Gambler

I just went to EB, was tempted, but there is no way I'm paying $99.95 for it without playing it first. Plus the extra $20-$30 on a Gamecube controller. Is it cheaper anywhere else?

I bought the first one (that was terrible) then the second one I played for five minutes in the shop and didn't bother (was even worse). It would have to be a big improvement.
Saw it for $78 at Big W. Not sure on the controller.

natheel

So much better with wii controls i suggest u go for it

hellteam

I got the pre-order special with EB... came with Gamecube controller and the game for $99, reckon I can do that 7-day return thing they have there?

natheel

Some features I've seen

video ref: when it comes up refs call u shake u remote to decide the outcome

re write club records

dally m

top scorers

hybrid_tiger

I caved in and bought this last night. Already regret it. Played one game, with the Wii remote, and its just the same rubbish as the other two games.

I will give it another go as I'm picking up a GC controller today, the Wii remote is shocking to play with.

Pierced Soul

bought it yesterday went home, stuck it in and couldnt access the wii menu cos i left the f**king wiimotes at my brothers house. what sort of f**king console doesnt let you use a plugged in controller to access the menu's?

went up to eb to see if could buy a wiimote and then return it but alas that loophole is not available.

id love to give an opinion on it but until i can get my wiimote back it'll just have to sit there

natheel

My 17 for second season is

1. Hayne
2. Burt
3. Inu
4. Reddy
5. Grothe
6. Mortimer
7. Moltzen
8. Cayless
9. Keating
10. Moi moi
11. Hindmarsh
12. Smith
13. Mateo
14. Kingston
15. Mannah
16. Wright
17. Robinson

2009 I won the comp 26 - 12. so I've put the skill level up and I'm currently 6 and 3 coming into round 10 so I'm placed 5th
one thing I like is the improved AI of computer teams

natheel

I found the gc controller bad to be honest I didn't like the situations of the button on it I'd rather the wii motes still perfecting the passing but slowly getting there I'd find with the gc controller once I figure the buttons out it'd be too easy with the remotes it presents a challenge

I'm using the wiimote and nunchuck combo and after a few games i'm going fine with it.
Just start on the easiest level til you get used to it then move up a level.