Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rugby league in dire straits in NSW as Queensland leads the way

lockyrulz

Wanker. Superleague erupted about two weeks after the 20-team comp began. It was never given the slightest chance.

Well sl ended after one year, it was never given a chance.

Wanker.

f**k me people like you are thick. Anyone with a half a brain knows there are too many teams in Sydney. Jesus even Mark Geyer can work it out.

Congratulations on being officially dumber than MG.

KHunt

Nonsense. When the BRL ceased to be a top level competition in the late 80s, you would hardly say that Brisbane people ceased to follow league. Far from it, since we now lead you guys.

Interestingly, there is competition from Union and AFL in Brisbane... and League has seen it off. Sadly, it is an AFL team that tops attendances in Sydney.

A lot of people from the BRL hated the Broncos and never followed the NSWRL/ARL, they kept following local Queensland/Brisbane league or switched to union.

The demise of Western Suburbs, Brothers and Valleys up here was just as damaging as North Sydney getting cut.

Again, Suncorp can't fill a World Cup final, why should it host any games?

Didgi

Correct, the extra teams need to be given another chance to succeeed without the sh*t that came with the Super League mess.

An ideal world would say we could kick out a few Sydney teams and no one would care, but that isn't going to happen.

Sam I Am

They are also completely incapable of any historical research. Sydney crowd numbers have increased dramatically over the past 20 years, whereas the Broncos numbers have remaind static.

Nice work, chump. Brisbane's crowd figures slumped after 1994. In 2001 they were less than 20,000. Today the average sits at 38,000. Want to look up static in the dictionary... when you get to school tomorrow.

- Fewer opportunities to attend will raise crowds - compare crowds at Kogarah and Wollongong pre- and post-merger (6 games per year vs 12 games per year)

Research? In 2008 the Gong averaged 12237 - well below the competition average. Hardly screaming out for the game down there.

- The difference between a 1-team town and a 9.5-team town

Strangely enough Melbourne can support numerous teams with high attendances. In fact, Brisbane, Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth all manage to support their teams well. Only one major capital sticks out like a sore thumb...

Sam I Am

A lot of people from the BRL hated the Broncos and never followed the NSWRL/ARL, they kept following local Queensland/Brisbane league or switched to union..

Yeah, the Reds are really well supported in Brisbane! :lol:

TheBourbonBeast

:lol: So it's only okay to say things against NSW crowds... :lol: you lot are a pathetic f**king joke.

so is your ongoing belief that sydney has good crowds...

im not knocking the obvious league fans on this board..im knocking the low crowd figures in sydney.

And this is the reason that there has been a perceived shift in the "heartland" of league north of the border. Its obvious.

Lets see what the broncs get this arvo. 40k is definitely on the cards...now if sydney could get those figures we wouldnt be having this discussion.

so is your ongoing belief that sydney has good crowds...

im not knocking the obvious league fans on this board..im knocking the low crowd figures in sydney.

And this is the reason that there has been a perceived shift in the "heartland" of league north of the border. Its obvious.

Lets see what the broncs get this arvo. 40k is definitely on the cards...now if sydney could get those figures we wouldnt be having this discussion.
40k?

Lucky to crack 30 by the looks. I'm tipping less than 25k actually... the crowd looks pisspoor today.

any 2 Sydney teams playing a GF in Brisbane will most definitely be a sellout

we support our footy up here :D

No you don't. One in 58 Brisbaneites and only 1 in 32 Sydneysiders watch league.

For every 2 Sydneysiders that go to the game, there's one Brisbanites, and one sitting at home on his arse bagging Sydney! :lol:

however if 2 Sydney teams were to meet, perhaps only 20k will turn up ... although having purchased the tickets mid-year when the combatants were not known, once the realisation that 2 dud teams were playing, many would simply stay home :lol:
Proves you shouldn't have a GF at all. 20k. FFS - play it in Canberra.

I presume those 2 dud teams would have beaten Brisbane on their way to a gf?

Well sl ended after one year, it was never given a chance.

Wanker.

f**k me people like you are thick. Anyone with a half a brain knows there are too many teams in Sydney. Jesus even Mark Geyer can work it out.

Congratulations on being officially dumber than MG.

here we have an example of a truly pathetic post. SL war lasted 3 years. You were wrong, and called him a wanker. :lol:

Then there is the abuse. And the claim with no cred and no backup argument ever. Then more abuse.

Sheltered workshop for you Locky.

With that logic you have discredited 99% of all Sydney crowds.

why do people find it so hard to understand that Brisbane is a one team town?

1.8 million people to themselves.

So , taking that into account 25K is a poor crowd.

Clearly in sydney a lower threshold is used because there is less people per team.

lockyrulz

here we have an example of a truly pathetic post. SL war lasted 3 years. You were wrong, and called him a wanker. :lol:

Then there is the abuse. And the claim with no cred and no backup argument ever. Then more abuse.

Sheltered workshop for you Locky.

SL went for 1 season you f**king idiot. Read the context. God you eptimosie stupidity.

By the way, Sydney has too many teams in it. Evidenced by your sh*t crowd figures.

According to you, league is better supported in NSW than it is in QLD, so the only reasonable answer to the sh*t crowds you repeatedly get in comparison, is too many teams.

Get it yet spastic?