Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

RUMOUR:parra have signed Frank Pritchard for 3 yrs-but why?

The problem is Pazza, what if all of those are injured, we need good backup. I dont think Pearson and Moi Moi have it, and Stapleton and Peek are backrowers. Either buy a couple of good props, with consistency or develop the ones we've got in PL. It's not all about "size".

mickdo

If the earlier rumours about Willie Talau wanting to come back to Oz were true, then he would be a very good signing for us to go after...

The Godfather

It's a marketing ploy with our current sleeve sponsor.

The more time his name is mentioned, the happier they will be.

Pazza

PARRA_FAN said:
The problem is Pazza, what if all of those are injured, we need good backup. I dont think Pearson and Moi Moi have it, and Stapleton and Peek are backrowers. Either buy a couple of good props, with consistency or develop the ones we've got in PL. It's not all about "size".

this is a list of props i quoted in another thread:

-Cayless
-Cannings
-Vella
-Tsoulos
-Stapleton
-Peek
-Armit
-Moi Moi
-Cordoba

Depth isnt a issue in the prop position for Parramatta. Peek and Stapleton are perfectly able to play prop. I dont see why the eels should buy more front rowers. Cannings and Cayless will prove to be a awesome front row combination. Out of the 9 props listed only 3 are over 110kg.

Pazza

Frank Pritchard

Date of Birth: 03/11/83, Darlinghurst NSW
Position: Utility
Height: 187cm; Weight: 106kg
Rep Honours: NSW, New Zealand
Frank started with Penrith in SG Ball in 2001 and finished the season in Division 1. He's big and strong enough to play in the forwards and quick enough to play in the backs.
Junior club: Campbelltown City
Previous clubs: St Clair
Childhood hero: Wally Lewis
Most respected opponent:
Other interests: Basketball, Playstation
Favourite music: Rap, R&B
Life after footy: Undecided

Pazza said:
this is a list of props i quoted in another thread:

-Cayless
-Cannings
-Vella
-Tsoulos
-Stapleton
-Peek
-Armit
-Moi Moi
-Cordoba

Depth isnt a issue in the prop position for Parramatta. Peek and Stapleton are perfectly able to play prop. I dont see why the eels should buy more front rowers. Cannings and Cayless will prove to be a awesome front row combination. Out of the 9 props listed only 3 are over 110kg.

Going back to your list, our props at the moment:

-Cayless- injured
-Cannings- injured
-Vella- out of form
-Tsoulos- good, but needs to be more consistent (eg. stop offloading everytime he takes up the ball)
-Stapleton- going well, plays more of a back row
-Peek- suspended
-Armit- is a back rower, doesnt get enough game time if he plays prop
-Moi Moi- doesnt play more than 20 minutes
-Cordoba- good, needs to be developed

As I said before what if the props we have are injured or even suspended. Thats whats happening at the moment. If you say we've got no problems with props, then the props we've got need to step up. If they dont step, we've got massive problems.

eels_fan

The Godfather said:

Our sleave sponsor is Mounties, and i have no idea why you think they would be happy if his name keeps getting mentioned!

eels_fan said:
The Godfather said:

Our sleave sponsor is Mounties, and i have no idea why you think they would be happy if his name keeps getting mentioned!

Where is Mounties? ;-)

fish eel

Well....I was really confused, I was thinking, what the hell does Mounties have to do with Willie Talau???? #-o

Forum Idiot

i dislike this thread. has pritchard even been granted permission to talk to other clubs before june 30?
ive got my fingers crossed on riddell though. hed be a great signing obviously even though he seems to be a complete and utter toss pot. his number plates are rid-009 or some shit and i reckon thats being a tosser. what happens if you get dropped to the bench riddell? do you go and get new number plates?

The title for this thread is wrong. Unless it has been announced that Parramatta have signed Pritchard it is just a rumour, Game First I think you should leave it to the club to make the announcements rather than do so yourself.

Pritchard would be a good signing, he has the potential to be a great forward, and he won't cost us too much money. We do need more consistency in the forwards. Cayless and to a lesser extent Vella, are great on their day but they need to be more consistent. Tsoulos and Armit are still developing. Pritchard would make a good presence I think.

I still think we should spend as much money as possible on my secret signing.........

but still Pritchard is a good player. This was one rumour doing the mills that I keeping a keen ear on, as I do believe he has the ability to be a more than handy first grade player with a top Club. Hopefully that will be us.

Agent Mulder

We need a center bad,The only time since Smith has been at Parramatta that we had a strong backline was in 2001,the seasons 97,98,99,00,02,03,04 our backline has been very weak.

We need to boost our backs seeing we have lost Lyon,Look at teams like Penrith,Newcastle and The Roosters they have very impressive backlines with many attacking weapons.

Parramatta need to sign Tahu if he is on the market.

I would stick with Thorman,Dykes,Witt and Smith as our halves,Now that we have signed Pritched i feel our forward depth is pretty strong its just a matter of getting our forwards to go forward,Hindmarsh can't do it alone.

I would just go after Riddell and Tahu,We can play Morris off the bench and/or have him at Center/Five Eight.

Lyon said:
Now that we have signed Pritched i feel our forward depth is pretty strong its just a matter of getting our forwards to go forward,Hindmarsh can't do it alone.

Why is everyone assuming Pritchard is a done deal? I haven't read or heard anything in the media, no disrespect to GF, but this should be treated as a rumour rather than a fact.

Parraren

Eels Dude said:
Lyon said:
Now that we have signed Pritched i feel our forward depth is pretty strong its just a matter of getting our forwards to go forward,Hindmarsh can't do it alone.

Why is everyone assuming Pritchard is a done deal? I haven't read or heard anything in the media, no disrespect to GF, but this should be treated as a rumour rather than a fact.

Yeah that's right. GAME FIRST you should edit this thread and rename it "RUMOUR: parra have signed Frank Pritchard for 3 years-but why?"

Lyon said:
Yeah sorry mate,I wrote it down wrong,I posted then i actually read the thread proper.

No need mate, I nearly did the same, that's why I thought i'd mention it to make people realise it is just speculation.