Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumour Simona gone for 2014

BrotherJim05

Simona spent a while under sheens not given a fair crack. Its bullshit that now he is given a fair crack he moves to a new club.

Yeah he does, wasn't he a junior at the same club Galloway came from?

Just had a chat with Grant Mayer on Twitter about Simona

me: Must keep Simona
GM: interested how much would you pay a player like this with 15 first grade games behind him?
me: I don't think the number of games played should determine the salary, but the potential of the player and his value to the side
GM: answer?
me: Taking a punt, I'll guess and say somewhere between 100k-140k a season for 2 years.
GM: seems fair and reasonable doesn't it.
me: I'll read between the lines here. Has he received an offer much in excess of that?
GM: wasn't a specific question as I would never speculate publicly about a player. Just keen to hear fans thoughts.
GM: again, no specifics mate but it is the nature of our game.

So maybe the Sharks have tabled a deal that is quite high?

BrotherJim05

If Simona leaves to Sharks then our recruitment and retention is a complete joke. Needs a big fixing up quick smart.

gronkathon

Our recruitment and retention department can only work with the remaining space.

Is Simona worth 200k? I would say no

Tigers Tale

Our recruitment and retention department can only work with the remaining space.

Is Simona worth 200k? I would say no

You are right Gronk, he probably isn't worth the 200k now, but that is the gamble isn't it, what will he become. Fifita wasn't (in most peoples eyes) worth 300k when the Sharks chased him, but now, I'd like him on our books at that price...

gronkathon

Yeah. I was one of those who saw an upside in essentially trading out keeping Woods & BMM over Fifita & Gibbs in a way of justifying to myself the Blair move. Flawed logic I know but it is what it is.

I have rated Simona for years and hope he stays.

Look for Lawrence to make an ESL move. It is certainly on the cards as the money is right and the guarantees are right in terms of contract length and money if injured. I think Rowdy is all too aware that one more major injury and he may be written off by NRL clubs as a financial gamble not worth taking

Once Dead

It is a downer to lose Simona......but if we are going to sign players on large sums of money, I'd rather it be on halves and forwards.....plus it is one less headache when it comes to finding money to sign others based on potential....

Once Dead

Anybody give this NRL MOLE character any cred', cos he keeps spruiking about Simona to Sharks......is he in the know or just another internet 'legend' in his own lunchbox??? I fail to understand why WT's would let a 21 year old with heaps of talent/potential go & buy Pat Richards who is almost old enough to be Simona's father.....But then again I fail to understand a lot that has gone on at WT's over past few years...

Who has kids at 10 years old? Apparently 31 year old players do....

Once Dead

You are right Gronk, he probably isn't worth the 200k now, but that is the gamble isn't it, what will he become. Fifita wasn't (in most peoples eyes) worth 300k when the Sharks chased him, but now, I'd like him on our books at that price...

Potential is a funny thing.....imagine signing Willie Manu, Ahmad Bajouri, Ben Roberts, Rangi Chase, et al all based on potential....

Tigers Tale

Potential is a funny thing.....imagine signing Willie Manu, Ahmad Bajouri, Ben Roberts, Rangi Chase, et al all based on potential....

Yeah, I see your point...I just get a gut feeling about this guy. He looks the goods and has shown enough potential for me to be convinced he will be a better than average player...but I have been known to eat my words a year or two down the track.

Do we know 100% he is gone or is it just someones rumour?

Tigers Tale

On the subject of Pat Richards, I think next year he could be playing fullback. I know Tedesco is holding onto the spot now but he hasn't shown me he is neecessarily 'better' than Richards at his point in time. I am not saying he won't be (and I certainly don't want to lose him to another team) but I thought he would have shown a little bit more in attack, be our new Brett Hodgson...no doubting he is good under the high ball but is he what we need or currently just a better option when compared to what we were getting with Moltzen.

I think with Nofo, Koro (maybe Simona) we have a core of young players. Richards I think will be in the team somewhere, for his goal kicking alone, so my guess is he could play fullback. Reason I say that is; has Tedesco shown he is better for the team at the exclusion of Nofo, Koro or Simona? I think not at the moment. Not saying he wont be but just not now.

Just my thoughts guys....not looking for a bashing but if it is coming, be gentle!!!!

Magpies Forever

On the subject of Pat Richards, I think next year he could be playing fullback. I know Tedesco is holding onto the spot now but he hasn't shown me he is neecessarily 'better' than Richards at his point in time. I am not saying he won't be (and I certainly don't want to lose him to another team) but I thought he would have shown a little bit more in attack, be our new Brett Hodgson...no doubting he is good under the high ball but is he what we need or currently just a better option when compared to what we were getting with Moltzen.

I think with Nofo, Koro (maybe Simona) we have a core of young players. Richards I think will be in the team somewhere, for his goal kicking alone, so my guess is he could play fullback. Reason I say that is; has Tedesco shown he is better for the team at the exclusion of Nofo, Koro or Simona? I think not at the moment. Not saying he wont be but just not now.

Just my thoughts guys....not looking for a bashing but if it is coming, be gentle!!!!

I reckon you have presented a fair case.

magpie guy

Seems a fair point. Teddy would be quicker and may have better positioning than Richards (I haven't seen him play at FB) but Richards would run it back just as well, catches just as well, has a big boot and would be a steadying influence on the young guys. Teddy has also not exhibited the type of support play and try scoring that we expected from him but he is still essentially in his debut season and has been solid with a lot of potential to improve.