Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and General Drivel XV

W/Tigers have hinted that they want compensation from any club that signs Benji. Benji was under contract until 2016 and there is a restraint of trade clause in his deed of release.

#poorbenji

W/Tigers have hinted that they want compensation from any club that signs Benji. Benji was under contract until 2016 and there is a restraint of trade clause in his deed of release.

#poorbenji

Dunno how much luck they'll have with that as they are unwilling to have him return to Wests.

Benji's not even 30. Is he really that shit now?

He hasn't been great in the last few years. Doesn't seem as sharp as he was when he was at his best. However, I reckon if he was at the right club, motivated and willing to play a defined role rather than being the star then he still has something to contribute.

I hope he comes back.

mickdo

He should also be valued accordingly by the NRL. These bargain basement contracts that are being talked about are nothing more than a salary cap rort. If the WT had a contract with him till 2016 then the value of that contract for salary cap purposes should still apply to anyone who wants to sign him.

Exactly right. He hasn't even been out of the game for twelve months.

I watched a game from 1987 v Sharks this AM. Sharks won 26-24. ET cut us up a bit.

Loved that the ruck was clean and play the balls were swift. Funny how many have said that eliminating the wrestle would turn our game into touch footy. The game I watched was indeed fast, with plenty of 2nd phase which resulted in a very free flowing game.

The fact that the props played 80 mins was interesting too.

Bod Lindner had a great game. As did a baby faced Mark Laurie in the centres.

OMG contested scrums were a rabble. Thank f**k they are gonskis.

out of interest, where do you park at both grounds? feel im missing out on some closer options!

Parra have a motorcycle section at the Leagues Club. You need to be a member but if you are there's always space, even if the rest of the carpark has been full for hours. I've only ever seen one other bike besides mine.

ANZ has free bike sections in all their carparks. The attendants just wave you through. Even last Monday with a bazillion people there for the Show and our game I still got a spot, no problem.

Maroubra Eel

Spot on.

That's effectively saying that he can't play in the NRL in 2014, as nobody has that sort of cap space left in the middle of the season. So he goes to Super League. I don't care if he does, but I also wouldn't mind if they put a fair valuation on him, but allowed abnormal backloading and publicly stated what those terms are (so someone gets a bonus this year, but pays for it next year).

TheRam

Exactly right. He hasn't even been out of the game for twelve months.

He isn't signing with us so the NRL will approve a bargain basement deal....

I hope not. If the ARLC value him at a high market level for this year, then they have learned nothing from the Folau debacle.

I know it is easy to get bitter about what has happened to us in regards to Folau, but I like to see these thing fixed. I don't want the NRL to continue to remain a two bit organization.

Bottom line...With any luck Marshall can be a superstar again at the right club and bring a lot of positive to our game. So bad admin should not stand in the way of the game making positive headlines for once.

If Marshall has a great year, then the ARLC can put a much higher base amount on him for 2015.

I hope not. If the ARLC value him at a high market level for this year, then they have learned nothing from the Folau debacle.

I know it is easy to get bitter about what has happened to us in regards to Folau, but I like to see these thing fixed. I don't want the NRL to continue to remain a two bit organization.

Bottom line...With any luck Marshall can be a superstar again at the right club and bring a lot of positive to our game. So bad admin should not stand in the way of the game making positive headlines for once.

If Marshall has a great year, then the ARLC can put a much higher base amount on him for 2015.

Mate they can valuing him fairly (i.e. at a relatively high level, but bearing in mind that he wasn't in the greatest form last year), but then allow significant backloading to reflect the fact that this is a mid-season event (and teams have their squad in place). Then all's fair I reckon.

emjaycee

Mate they can valuing him fairly (i.e. at a relatively high level, but bearing in mind that he wasn't in the greatest form last year), but then allow significant backloading to reflect the fact that this is a mid-season event (and teams have their squad in place). Then all's fair I reckon.

How can you take year to year form into account when valuing a player?
Surely he would have to be valued on a combination of proven value (over however many years he has played) and potential value assuming he returns to previous consistent form.

Izzy's form in the NRL for a couple of years before we tried to sign him wasn't very good but he got valued highly. Same with SBW. :roll: