Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XX

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/...e-game-after-family-loss-20150325-1m7g6v.html

Parramatta Eels halfback Chris Sandow 'not in the game' after family loss

Date
March 25, 2015 - 10:00PM

Michael Carayannis
Rugby League Writer

With the death of his aunt still fresh, Chris Sandow admits his mind "wasn't there" when Parramatta took on the Warriors last week.

Sandow's aunt died of cancer just days before the Eels flew out to New Zealand. Despite being given the option of missing the game or joining the squad late, he opted to bypass the funeral on Friday to play for the Eels.

He said confronting the loss, plus an ankle injury, meant he was well below his best.
Flying high: Chris Sandow takes a bomb for Parramatta during the loss to the New Zealand Warriors at Mt Smart Stadium.

Flying high: Chris Sandow takes a bomb for Parramatta during the loss to the New Zealand Warriors at Mt Smart Stadium. Photo: Joel Ford

"My mind wasn't there, it was back home with my loved ones," Sandow said. "I will do whatever it takes to get on the paddock with my teammates. My mind wasn't in the game, I let the boys down. I saw her a week before round one and she told me to always put my footy first. I did that."

He said Eels coach Brad Arthur had spoken to him about skipping the game.

"Brad gave me the option to come after the funeral but it would've been too much on the body. I should have gone home and put her to rest. I love my family, they were always going to be there at the end. Especially my mum. She's the best."

While the sadness of the loss continued to plague Sandow, he was also troubled by an ongoing left ankle problem. He took the injury into the Eels' 29-16 loss to the Warriors, but declared himself 100 per cent fit to take on the Rabbitohs on Friday night.

"I was worried about it, I was favouring it," he said. "I wasn't quite in the game. I'm sweet this week. I needed that one-week rest but I'll do whatever for the boys to get on the paddock."

Haynzy

Hmmmmmmm

DANIEL Vidot’s career at the Broncos is all but over with the out-of-favour winger granted compassionate leave after a potential move to premiers Souths collapsed on Wednesday.

The Courier-Mail understands Vidot could leave the Broncos within a fortnight as his management ramps-up discussions with a number of NRL rivals.

The Rabbitohs had made preliminary inquiries into signing Vidot to help ease their backline injury saga, but the premiers have decided against making a formal offer.

Vidot contacted officials at Broncos feeder-club Ipswich yesterday informing them he is unavailable for Sunday’s clash against Sunshine Coast, a sign he is headed for the Red Hill exits.

Well-placed sources say Vidot is not injured, with the 25-year-old asking for a week off to sort through the mental anguish of his Broncos free fall.

The 111kg hulk was outstanding for Brisbane in his maiden year at the club last season, but was axed by coach Wayne Bennett for their round-one clash against Souths.

Vidot has since languished at prop for the Jets in the Intrust Super Cup. Stuck behind Broncos trio Lachlan Maranta, Corey Oates and Jack Reed, he has been frustrated by a lack of opportunity and is unhappy at a club where he feels he is NRL quality.

South Sydney have around $100,000 to spend under the salary cap and Vidot was one possible option to bolster their roster after a string of injuries to outside backs.

The Rabbitohs have lost star centre Dylan Walker to a broken hand and have named veteran Daryl Millard, who was playing in France last year, for tomorrow night’s clash against Parramatta.

Vidot was Brisbane’s best metre-eater last season, amassing a whopping 3798 metres from 23 games, and admits he struggling to come to terms with being on the outer.

“It’s been a tough period for me,” he said.

“Obviously I’m not as happy to be playing reserve grade as NRL, but I have to keep my head down and try my best.

“I’m not really used to this, I was really happy with my season last year. I have a lot of respect for Wayne Bennett so I’m not going to be negative about it, but at the moment there’s not much more I can do.”

Vidot is contracted to the Broncos for the rest of the season but he is not in Bennett’s future plans. He paid a heavy price for a defensive error in Brisbane’s World Club Series clash, racing off his wing to concede the 78th minute try that almost cost the Broncos victory against Wigan.

Asked about his future at the Broncos, Vidot said: “I don’t want to comment on that, sorry mate.”

While he was inspirational at times on the field last season, the giant winger has had off-field disciplinary problems, which is part of the reason he has slipped in the pecking order.

The Manly Sea Eagles have also been linked to Vidot and may issue a lifeline as winger Jorge Taufua fights for his career following his part in an off-field pub brawl.

http://m.couriermail.com.au/sport/nrl/daniel-vidot-granted-compassionate-leave-after-move-to-south-sydney-rabbitohs-collapsed/story-fniabm4i-1227278633812

Just some observations:

When are Fitzgerald and Spagnolo going to let it go? I just shake my head that these men can continually put the club down with their bullshit. Get a life you f**king has beens.

Chris Sandow: I've thought about this carefully. I don't want the Eels to re-sign him. I'm happy with Norman and Foran. I like Sandow but his tenure has basically been a fail and we don't need to invest another 3 or 4 years in him. He isn't the halfback we need and is still a liability in defence. I'd offload him and I think Arthur will do the same.

Casper The Ghost

Vidot, may come very cheap and as a temporary hole plug for this season would be worth the risk.
Give him a chance to prove himself for the rest of this season.
We really need another good winger.
In fact he is much faster than Hoppa, so maybe give him a shot at 1 or put Robbo to 1 and Vidot @ 5 and Hoppa @ 4.

Haynzy

Vidot, may come very cheap and as a temporary hole plug for this season would be worth the risk.
Give him a chance to prove himself for the rest of this season.
We really need another good winger.
In fact he is much faster than Hoppa, so maybe give him a shot at 1 or put Robbo to 1 and Vidot @ 5 and Hoppa @ 4.

Plus we can let the Broncos foot some of the bill.

We are still leaking points in the forward line. We have enough attacking forwards. We need someone like Beau Scott. Go all out for him.

Casper The Ghost

Just some observations:

When are Fitzgerald and Spagnolo going to let it go? I just shake my head that these men can continually put the club down with their bullshit. Get a life you f**king has beens.

Chris Sandow: I've thought about this carefully. I don't want the Eels to re-sign him. I'm happy with Norman and Foran. I like Sandow but his tenure has basically been a fail and we don't need to invest another 3 or 4 years in him. He isn't the halfback we need and is still a liability in defence. I'd offload him and I think Arthur will do the same.

Sad (Sandow), but I do agree with this too. Its been my way of thinking for the past ten days or so.

Casper The Ghost

We are still leaking points in the forward line. We have enough attacking forwards. We need someone like Beau Scott. Go all out for him.

Is he available???

f**k, he would be a fantastic acquisition for this season and next.
He will cost over $550k, possibly as high as $700k. Worth it though.

Casper The Ghost

We must go after him - not disregarding Chairman Mao, he would be one of our best forward purchases since probably Glen Morrison.

Please please please
7120_271635_530000000.png

natheel

Yeh I think our props are alright a hard man in the back row along with Mau and Watmough would be awesome and young Moeroa on the bench along with Edwards

Vidot would be an upgrade on what we have ATM, even better of the Bronco's pay some of his way. Never been a massive Beau Scott fan but if he is willing to come for the right price we'd be mad not to sign him.

This is all Spags fault :lol: our board are a joke!!

Yes the rot started back then.

the Parramatta Professionals, fronted by another present director Lawrence Shepherd and aligned with former Eels supremo Denis Fitzgerald. ....... Don't know how professional shepherd is but if you ask some people in club land they have a very different opinion. Especially when he gets on the drink

FItzgerald defended Shepherd on Wednesday...... Of course he would. They have been great mates since shep had his pokies in the club. I heard spags got rid of his pokies and shepherd lot biz. If having a pokiie salesman on the leagues board is not a confflict of interest I ll give it away.

Sharp has not given fitzy a role at the club which is good because fitzy has been there and has his go. Denis knows his only chance is to get behind shepherd s ticket. Members be careful who you vote for

eel speel

A signing like Scott will make us a top 4 team combined with the likes of Foran. That would truly be an awesome signing.

Agree. If Scott comes for the right value it will certainly help our roster.

The signings have been much better since BA, DA and SS have been together doing recruitment

Vidot would be an upgrade on what we have ATM, even better of the Bronco's pay some of his way. Never been a massive Beau Scott fan but if he is willing to come for the right price we'd be mad not to sign him.

Not sure about Vidot.IMHO he has suspect hands and his decision making in D needs to improve yes he is nig and strong but there are positives and negatives which is why he has been to a few clubs. And if we get Scott for the right price that could help as he plays 80 mins. Still we have plenty of back rowers.