Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XX

Craig Johnston

Not sure about Vidot.IMHO he has suspect hands and his decision making in D needs to improve yes he is nig and strong but there are positives and negatives which is why he has been to a few clubs. And if we get Scott for the right price that could help as he plays 80 mins. Still we have plenty of back rowers.

this and he has a massive problem with his attitude, he's been punted by the raiders and the dragons and now the broncos because of it....do we want to be his 4th wasted club? you would have thought brisbane would have been the opportunity to turn his life around.....but like old mate said the other day.....some men you just can't reach ;)

T.S Quint

this and he has a massive problem with his attitude, he's been punted by the raiders and the dragons and now the broncos because of it....do we want to be his 4th wasted club? you would have thought brisbane would have been the opportunity to turn his life around.....but like old mate said the other day.....some men you just can't reach ;)

I don't remember him getting punted by the Raiders. Didn't he just choose to sign with the Dragons? Same when he went to the Broncos.

Agree. Had plenty chances. We can do better.

Craig Johnston

I don't remember him getting punted by the Raiders. Didn't he just choose to sign with the Dragons? Same when he went to the Broncos.

not publically no, but it's been discussed via those club supporters at each time that he has been on the nose before being shifted, no different to how he's been treated by the broncos now, do you believe wayne just doesn't like him?

TheRam

I just dont agree with your 1 step forward 3 steps back attitude.
You seem to take every possible opportubity to hang the sins of the past on the current administration without letting them do their job.

Would you admit we are better placed now in all facets of the club then we were 4 years ago?

Yes of course we are, but that isn't saying much considering where we were.

But most other clubs have gone even further in front since then too and even the basket cases like the Tigers, Titans and Knights have sorted their boards out way better then us in that time. As for Penrith, my God they are one billion light years ahead of us in that time.

The only club that I can see that has not gone forward in that time is the Saints. Not very encouraging if you ask me.

I am not having a go at the current board for the hell of it, because I think people like Steve Sharp have got their hearts in the right place, but I just don't think they are totally up to it.

A damn sight better though then the previous boards, that is for sure and even the boofhead that is trying to run against them, Shepard, but that doesn't make them great.

Great are people like Politis or Gus. Did anyone watch Gould on Sterlo last night? Say what you want to say about the guy, but boy was that a lesson on how a RL administrator should be doing things and looking at the future.

Joshuatheeel

Yeah Titans and Knights have sorted their boards? I don't think so both went broke and had to be taken over by the NRL. And the Tigers are broke as well, board issues have only gone quiet because they needed a loan for the NRL to survive - it's only a matter of time before the issues surface again.

The eels while have some personality issues on the board, overall the club is in very good health. We are far from broke compared to those basket cases mentioned. The eels are no where near needing NRL assistance. There is always talk about the eels board, mainly because it sells papers.

TheRam

Agree. Had plenty chances. We can do better.

I only stated here a couple of weeks a go that we should be looking at this bloke because Benny doesn't want him.

From what I have heard and read about him, his attitude can be a little off. But nothing that can't be fixed as he matures and if he is surrounded by the right influences. Also he will want to prove himself since this is the first time that he is being let go like this by a club and as a player at the age of 25, he is coming into the best years of his playing life.

The only down side though is home sickness. From what he said about his move to the Broncos was that he asked for it due to feeling terribly homesick. The way he spoke about it sounded very legitimate and he went into detail and attributed the best form of his career due to being back home with family and feeling all good with the world.

But now that he is on the outer with Benny, there is a major deficiency in our backline that someone like him, not perfect, but one hell of an improvement on what we have could go a long way to fixing...this year.

We would be mad not to offer him a deal at around $100k he is a steal of a deal. Who else on the open market or at our club at present can offer what he does at that kind of price? If we let this opportunity slip through our fingers we are mad. He offers the same sort of mileage like Mansour at a fraction of what he would cost.

I have a feeling if we were to offer him a contract, he would jump at the chance to be coached by Arthur and play with some of the players in our squad. Please Parra, make it so.

Yeah Titans and Knights have sorted their boards? I don't think so both went broke and had to be over taken by the NRL. And the Tigers are broke as well, board issues have only gone quiet because they needed a loan for the NRL to survive.

The eels while have some personality issues on the board, overall the club is in very good health. We are far from broke compared to those basket cases mentioned. The eels are no where near needing NRL assistance

Agree. Sharp and his Board are doing a good job. Leagues Club and footy club both going much better than in recent times. It's just the people who don't have a role, like Fitzy and Spags who are destabilising it.

I'm sick and tired of hearing about people who love our club and want to see it succeed. Yet their actions say the complete opposite.

Fitzy has a coffee with Daniel Lane to try and help his pokies salesman stay on the Board. Next he will get Ray Hardley to say he supports the "professionals" .

TheRam

Yeah Titans and Knights have sorted their boards? I don't think so both went broke and had to be taken over by the NRL. And the Tigers are broke as well, board issues have only gone quiet because they needed a loan for the NRL to survive - it's only a matter of time before the issues surface again.

The eels while have some personality issues on the board, overall the club is in very good health. We are far from broke compared to those basket cases mentioned. The eels are no where near needing NRL assistance. There is always talk about the eels board, mainly because it sells papers.

They are sorted by default. The Tigers may disappear completely in the next couple of years, who knows I can only hope, but one thing is certain the people placed on their board by the NRL are light years ahead of ours.
As for not having money that is a different issue. That takes time to fix and depending on many things, may not be possible to fix. Time will tell on that one.

Same goes for the Titans. They will only go forward from here, due to the the people placed in charge and the potential sale to a Billionaire.

As for us, we have no such excuses as money. Our problem is all of our own doing at board level and always has been.

We are still not clear of the dramas at that level and by all accounts it doesn't look like clearing up anytime soon. It's like people like Fitzgerald are the clubs herpes, just when you think that you are clean, guess what, his baaaack!

emjaycee

But, but, but our Board and Senior Management are the worst in the league.

Craig Johnston

We are the only board in the nrl (in Australia ;) ) right now that isn't in control of in fighting

Manly is now owned outright by the penns
Wests no longer control the tigpies, the nrl does
The titans no longer carry the shadow of searle

We are the only club left to sort out our future direction once and for all

Chipmunk

We are the only board in the nrl (in Australia ;) ) right now that isn't in control of in fighting

Whilst we operate with a system that the people running the place can be kicked out and changed every two years, nothing is going to change.

TheRam

Just to add to that almost perfect summarization, even Cronulla have sorted their shit out too.

TheRam

Whilst we operate with a system that the people running the place can be kicked out and changed every two years, nothing is going to change.

That wouldn't be a problem, if they were shit hot at their jobs now would it?

Results my friend, keeps evil away.