Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

Woody90

I can't really wrap my head around the intense scrutiny to be honest. If Brown had taken up the option to stay at Parra for 1.1m over the next 6 years, literally no-one bats an eyelid and we all move on with life. We've paid him 200k "loser club" freight and promised it to him for a decade. I get that people are freaking out about 10 years, I get it. The salary cap will not be what it is now in 10 years, and his rachet clause is very limited, so honestly the risk there for me isn't the panic everyone is having about it.

Furthermore, what I don't understand is how every tom, dick and harry thinks that the 200k extra we're paying him takes it from solid business by Parra to a salary cap annhilating disaster for us. People are speaking like this is going to send the club back to the f**king dark ages. We've just spent years paying Jackson Hastings and Jack Cogger the same amount or more to play at NSW Cup standard for us. We *absolutely* would have been better off with Dylan Brown and literally any kid filling out the top 30 instead. Way way better off.

So yeah... I dunno I just don't get it. Maybe it's bias, but to me the whole league world lost their f**king brains overnight. It's literally only Gus and a handful of others that can look at the deal and see the vision. Honestly, I think it's just a mix of sour grapes and people getting upsetti spaghetti that the price for halves on the open market is exploding. Gus said it best for mine. I agree with him that in the current player market - good halves are so rare that they're actually undervalued right now.

Great post. Tbh I think a big part of ex players losing their collective minds is how jealous and pissed off they are about the type of money modern day players can make. They need to get used to it because in a few years time that sort of money is going to be standard for FG halves.

I can't really wrap my head around the intense scrutiny to be honest. If Brown had taken up the option to stay at Parra for 1.1m over the next 6 years, literally no-one bats an eyelid and we all move on with life. We've paid him 200k "loser club" freight and promised it to him for a decade. I get that people are freaking out about 10 years, I get it. The salary cap will not be what it is now in 10 years, and his rachet clause is very limited, so honestly the risk there for me isn't the panic everyone is having about it.

Furthermore, what I don't understand is how every tom, dick and harry thinks that the 200k extra we're paying him takes it from solid business by Parra to a salary cap annhilating disaster for us. People are speaking like this is going to send the club back to the f**king dark ages. We've just spent years paying Jackson Hastings and Jack Cogger the same amount or more to play at NSW Cup standard for us. We *absolutely* would have been better off with Dylan Brown and literally any kid filling out the top 30 instead. Way way better off.

So yeah... I dunno I just don't get it. Maybe it's bias, but to me the whole league world lost their f**king brains overnight. It's literally only Gus and a handful of others that can look at the deal and see the vision. Honestly, I think it's just a mix of sour grapes and people getting upsetti spaghetti that the price for halves on the open market is exploding. Gus said it best for mine. I agree with him that in the current player market - good halves are so rare that they're actually undervalued right now.
Honestly just more on this because I'm so perplexed about it. No-one seems to bat an eyelid that Brisbane have Adam Reynolds, Ben Hunt, EZRA MAAM and Reece Walsh all in their spine. They're literally so stacked with rep calibre players in the spine that they can't play them all without playing a world class halfback at hooker. Not a murmur. How much are those 4 getting paid collectively?

Woody90

Someone posted this quote on the other forum form a recent Tele article (I can’t seem to find it):
"This masthead understands Knights coach Adam O’Brien will consider deploying boom utility back Fletcher Sharpe at halfback next season to enable Brown to wear the No.6 jumper he has owned at Parramatta."

So after all the criticism about us 100% signing him to play 7, looks like that might not even be the clubs plan…

FTR, I think Sharpe will make a fantastic 7 one day. He doesn’t have a kicking game yet but tbh I think the kid can do just about anything. He’s just a footballer and understands the game and what needs to be done in the moment.

mozza91

So well said. You’ve made me feel better about it by actually putting it into perspective.

As for Sharpe he can absolutely make it is a 7. The kid has gone from a SG Ball fullback to quality NRL winger to above average (obviously small sample size) 5/8 in 12 months.
The little bogan can do anything.

I'm going to reply as an outsiders perspective, with no bias towards anyone else's position.
It's the 10 years that perplexes.
I do understand the cash, sometimes that has to be done, but the 10 years is the thing that makes an eyebrow raise.
Personally I did this when Manly did it with DCE and when the Cowboys did it with Taumo. The difference is those two played a big part in their respective teams Premiership wins. Brown, unfortunately hasn't won one, and those two teams havent won one since.
I'm not here to offend or debate, that's just my look on it all.
I hope it works out for you, your team is not that far off being very good and he may be the answer.

I'm going to reply as an outsiders perspective, with no bias towards anyone else's position.
It's the 10 years that perplexes.
I do understand the cash, sometimes that has to be done, but the 10 years is the thing that makes an eyebrow raise.
Personally I did this when Manly did it with DCE and when the Cowboys did it with Taumo. The difference is those two played a big part in their respective teams Premiership wins. Brown, unfortunately hasn't won one, and those two teams havent won one since.
I'm not here to offend or debate, that's just my look on it all.
I hope it works out for you, your team is not that far off being very good and he may be the answer.
Yeah no I think the 10 years is a fair enough eyebrow raiser. I think I explained my thoughts on that in general in the post so I won't repeat myself. I'm just weirded out that not a single pundit has yet said "geez, the Knights are about to trade 2 blokes that can't even make their team for Dylan Brown."

Like, if you went by general media and fan sentiment - you'd actually think this is going to make us a worse footy team next year lol.

Burwood

Yeah no I think the 10 years is a fair enough eyebrow raiser. I think I explained my thoughts on that in general in the post so I won't repeat myself. I'm just weirded out that not a single pundit has yet said "geez, the Knights are about to trade 2 blokes that can't even make their team for Dylan Brown."

Like, if you went by general media and fan sentiment - you'd actually think this is going to make us a worse footy team next year lol.

I think it was you who mentioned about quality halves being in even shorter supply once we get to a 20 team comp in a few more years. That’s absolutely the big plus for a 10 year contract that I hadn’t considered before- $1.3m will be mid range once that happens.

HarVeeGee

Honestly just more on this because I'm so perplexed about it. No-one seems to bat an eyelid that Brisbane have Adam Reynolds, Ben Hunt, EZRA MAAM and Reece Walsh all in their spine. They're literally so stacked with rep calibre players in the spine that they can't play them all without playing a world class halfback at hooker. Not a murmur. How much are those 4 getting paid collectively?
Allegedly:
Walsh $1.2 mil
Mam $800K
Hunt $550K
Reynolds $500K (previous deal was $800K)
Their various hookers eg Paix and Walters $300Kish each

Then you’ve got over $2 million in Haas and Carrigan, about $1.5 million in Staggs and Cobbo, and I’ve heard some of their other contracts are a little gross (eg Piakura) but most of the rest of the roster not on an amazing wicket.

Allegedly:
Walsh $1.2 mil
Mam $800K
Hunt $550K
Reynolds $500K (previous deal was $800K)
Their various hookers eg Paix and Walters $300Kish each

Then you’ve got over $2 million in Haas and Carrigan, about $1.5 million in Staggs and Cobbo, and I’ve heard some of their other contracts are a little gross (eg Piakura) but most of the rest of the roster not on an amazing wicket.
Ok, so we're all sitting here expected to accept that Brisbane sign halves to half or less of their market value with no questions asked whatsoever. I get it. Hunt was on a million or more at the Dragons. The bloke is paying 500k in lost income every year to play in a Broncos jersey. Yep, righto.

Burwood

Someone posted this quote on the other forum form a recent Tele article (I can’t seem to find it):

So after all the criticism about us 100% signing him to play 7, looks like that might not even be the clubs plan…

FTR, I think Sharpe will make a fantastic 7 one day. He doesn’t have a kicking game yet but tbh I think the kid can do just about anything. He’s just a footballer and understands the game and what needs to be done in the moment.

It’s likely just a journo reading a comment on Twitter or here about playing Sharpe at halfback. Using “Understands” and “considering” are such nothing words and it’s clear that they have no inside information other than hearing a few pundits mention it as one possible option.

TheCrowe

It's the wrong move. Sharpe will be as good as Brown within a year. Could have cleared the dead wood contracts and bought an actual halfback. Been waiting to see Brown fulfill his potential for years. He hasnt improved in years. He isn't a halfback and never will be. Too much of a space cadet. Doesn't have the temperament to be a top tier halfback and all the hopium in the world won't change that .

Frederick

It's the wrong move. Sharpe will be as good as Brown within a year. Could have cleared the dead wood contracts and bought an actual halfback. Been waiting to see Brown fulfill his potential for years. He hasnt improved in years. He isn't a halfback and never will be. Too much of a space cadet. Doesn't have the temperament to be a top tier halfback and all the hopium in the world won't change that .

up-thumbs.gif

Yosh

You know that we have heaps of cap space next year right? If can't hold onto it, we had to spend it. Which halfback for $1 million that will come next year do you suggest then?

TheCrowe

Ok. Enjoy the most overrated player in the comp. Sharpe will be better then him soon. I'm sure somewhere in the next 10 years a decent halfback will hit the market