Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured Targets 3

macavity

This Gagai contract situation seems to be getting a little out of hand doesn't it. He clearly does not want to go but we are doing our best to push him. He won't bend O'Sullivan though. if they could both he and Frizz would be signed already. My question is where is the demand for them externally?

Its a pretty awful look, particularly being played out in the media.

I think theres a game of chicken being played.

Alex28

This Gagai contract situation seems to be getting a little out of hand doesn't it. He clearly does not want to go but we are doing our best to push him. He won't bend O'Sullivan though. if they could both he and Frizz would be signed already. My question is where is the demand for them externally?
Fox reckons there is two clubs. Who needs a 35 year old centre to start?

If we are rebuilding, he isn’t who you build the team around. It looked like the plan was for Hunt to play right centre in Cup for the rest of the year before KP was injured. They were grooming him for that position.

Love Gags, great player and mentor for the young boys coming through but................The Salary Cap is a game of trying to form a roster that's greater than the sum of it's parts. 100K is the difference between keeping/recruiting a future star or losing him.

So long Gags its been great.

slotmachine

You can't run out a team of kids every week and expect them to be consistent, it's very different for a Hunt or McEwen to come in for 4 or 5 games and go ok then back to Cup, compared to staying up and delivering 24 games in a row.

I look forward to everyone who is currently saying paying gags an extra 75k will ruin the salary cap forever absolutely losing their minds next year when the team is so inconsistent they're doing a fair impression of a yoyo, because they're all kids with zero leaders left.

Woody90

I look forward to everyone who is currently saying paying gags an extra 75k will ruin the salary cap forever absolutely losing their minds next year when the team is so inconsistent they're doing a fair impression of a yoyo, because they're all kids with zero leaders left.

I love Gags but the team is going to be doing that next year regardless. We need to accept that and manage our expectations

I don’t know I feel like a bit over 300k for a 35 year old centre when we already have too many players in the outside backs is reasonable? I’d prefer we offload someone like Schiller and keep Gags but can’t force someone out who has a contract.

I think Gags has actually been better and upped his value since going to FB personally so I’d be tempted to give him more based on that (but also Ponga and Sharpe will be back next year).

Knight Tales

With Hunt and Schiller ready to go, it should not really surprise anyone this decision around Gagai. It is a massive gamble leadership wise. We all agree on that I am sure.
Frizz on the other hand will be bigger loss unless Sully feels he can convince Big Papa to play for another club.

HarVeeGee

He’s not that good.
How much have you watched him lately? He's improved heaps year on year and over this season he's really kicked on heaps. There's no 9 in the comp in better form right now. Hookers like him take a little while to mature and on the trajectory he's on he's probably going to be the consensus second best hooker & a lock for the Blues #9 going into next year.

Yosh

Gags is more than just a centre for us now. He is a leader, experienced mentor and his professionalism is invaluable. Of course we want to sign him for as cheap as possible but if we aren't going to use that cap space aggressively (like go hard for Papa or someone else) the intangibles that Gagai brings to the club will be sorely missed.

macavity

Like we are now with both gags and frizz in the team?

I get POS has done a great job previously at other clubs but if any of our previous recruitment managers ballsed it up with a player of Gagai’s standing like he has they’d be bashed from pillar to post by the fanbase.
Mate I wouldn't even bother, he's got plot armour as thick as a house at the moment. Teflon Pete.

People talk about optics and how a club treats players vis a vis making the club an attractive destination. Or at least they talk about it when it suits them. I don't know why people can't see that Gags is absolutely worth the 400k next year, that he had a mutual contract option to that effect and he's rightly feeling mishandled by the club strong arming a club veteran. It's one year and 100k (Baz said 50k a few days ago...), I'll be bowled over shocked if that extra dough goes anywhere important next year. We haven't even put the rest of the cash we've freed up anywhere useful.

And if Peter O'Sullivan can't even get club stalwarts to stay at a price he's happy with, you're f**king delulu if you think anyone from outside the club is coming at his comfort price. Guess we'll just have to wait and see if the 16 year olds he's recruiting pan out.

mozza91

What exactly has he ballsed up?

Do we have any quotes from Gagais camp or is it all just the usual media speccy?
Fair enough. I’m assuming that the speculation is true. If it is and we are going to lose one of our best players and only leaders over 300 or 400k a year (he’s absolutely still worth 400 btw from what he’s shown us the last 4 years since he came back) then it’s a balls up for sure.

macavity

Reckon it improves without them?

Reckon it improves with another year of experience, and a hopefully far better spine that can somewhat contribute to a game rather than need to be compensated for.

We are still a proper hooker away from that, but we live in hope.

Don't get me wrong, I want them to stay, but I don't like how this has played out - on either side.