Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff XXX

84 Baby

You gotta love how the article on IDG above throws around a figure of the Eels being short by 100K on what IDG and his manager are after like it's not a huge amount... Let's say we're currently offering 150K, hell, even 200K - they want an increase somewhere in the vicinity of 50-67% of what we're offering.... that just isn't realistic. Imagine going to a prospective employer who was offering you 100K per annum and saying, make it 167K and we've got a deal... no chance!

Of course, maybe we've offered him 800K - which case 100K extra represents only a 12.5% increase... more realistic!!
Perhaps we've offered him zero and he wants $100k more than that.
What percentage increase is he asking for then?

hybrideel

Given that he has played mostly backrow he has probably never needed to worry about passing from the ruck. Give him a full off season of training and i'm sure he's do a good job. And then the bonus is he could come on later in the game after a spell and competently play in the backrow. I see that as a better option than offering DeGois another deal

Parra47

If King couldn't force his way into the side this year after Peat's departure then I think Avenger is right. However he could be only one injury away from a start and then who knows?

It could be that we have limited space in the cap and are unable to give King a run in first grade?
Unless we sign a quality dummy half for next year I'd like to keep him. As I've said in the past, DeGois is well past his best.
Nelson is a solid player but not quality a dummy half.

If we weren't in such a mess I'd take Farah for a year with the Tigers subsidizing half the freight. However there is no way that will happen unless one of our halves leave.

84 Baby

If we weren't in such a mess I'd take Farah for a year with the Tigers subsidizing half the freight. However there is no way that will happen unless one of our halves leave.
That'd be ok because with Farah there your halves become useless anyway

Incorrect

Perhaps we've offered him zero and he wants $100k more than that.
What percentage increase is he asking for then?

Well I just tried to figure that out in my lounge room... and now my house looks like this

latest

Thanks alot.

Parra47

If Farah was prepared to come for a season of two, (and the Tigers picked up much of his contract), with the same attitude Jason Taylor came over years ago I'd be ok with it but no way would I want to give up either of our halves.
Norman and Foran in the halves calling the shots and Farah playing a distribution role with his experience and vision could work well. A new club could be just what Farah needs. Can't see it happening though and Farah has a poor reputation at club level so he'd be a big risk. .

Ennis has committed to Sharks on a hand shake deal he said on NRL360. Does not seem to be the kind of bloke to renege.

Problem is it seems he will extend his deal with the Sharks. Michael Lichaa lives next door. Should I approach him?
Lichaa not at that level yet, defense is pretty solid but behind his forward pack the Dogs should be doing more with the footy and that starts at dummy half.

Joshuatheeel

If Pritchard remains injury free, he will be our hooker for the next few years. The kid can play, is as good defensively as peats/de gois but attacks better - is a lot quicker out of dummy half.

Don't forget he has only played 16 or so NRL games so has plenty of improvement in him.

We just need to get a decent back up hooker or two.

Has King played good enough in NSW to attract offers else where ? If not he may be happy to stay on a second tier / minimum contract.

We then probably need another hooker from else where, as BA has shown he likes 2 in his top 17.

oldmancraigy

Lichaa not at that level yet, defense is pretty solid but behind his forward pack the Dogs should be doing more with the footy and that starts at dummy half.

Doesn't the dummy half just bring the forwards over the ad-line, and get it to the halves in the right spots?

I wonder how Lichaa would go with a more dynamic halves pairing... Josh Reynolds hasn't got a whole lot... Mbye is still finding his way, and the props tend to play first receiver inside the 20 a few times too often.

De gois on the cheap would be ok. I reckon Wallace would be a good option. He is tough with a good kicking game and can cover halves. Surely he would not cost heaps?