Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I was told BA is happy with French's performances at 1, but wants to ease him in, seeing as he's only played a dozen or so NRL games.

I was told that BA sees French as our long-term 1, with Gutherson in the centres with a licence to roam as a "floating fullback".
You'd think that if we had a serious go at Tedesco then we'd have offered a three-year deal at least. That's a fair while to ease French in to fullback.

amitropo

I saw that article as well, he allegedly sacrificed $700K to play at the Chooks, Prozchenko I think it was

He is fastly becoming another Kent or Buzz, do they really expect us to swallow that crap ?
I commented on the article in tele on Facebook,
He took the lowest club financed offer but probably the highest TPA offer. Does anyone know of the possible value of his tpa or if it is included in supposed $700k offer

IFR33K

I've heard similar things. However everyone deserves a second chance at the right price. Mau, Wicks, Edwards, Auva'a, Semi and Norman have done far worse yet we gave them the opportunity to redeem themselves.

All those you mentioned didn't parade around like princesses. Nor have they bagged the club through the media. IIRC, Hayne didn't even give the club the courtesy of his decision. f**k, he even lied about not receiving an offer from us to justify his decision.

There's an old saying, don't bite the hand that feeds you.

Thanks but no thanks from me.

Soren Lorenson

I reckon it was a case of Tedesco becoming available unexpectedly and BA having a crack because he could, and would have worked out the resultant issues if and when it came off.

You'd think that if we had a serious go at Tedesco then we'd have offered a three-year deal at least. That's a fair while to ease French in to fullback.

Mate, BA is no idiot - he was most likely aware of Teddy's dubious injury record, and banked on him potentially missing a fair few games.

I heard from the horse's mouth that Arthur has a lot of time for French - he has said he has an exemplary attitude to training, and to doing the little things right, and that, much like Gutherson, French is a footballer first, and athlete second.

But then again, I am only relaying what a mate (a massive Eels fan) of mine heard straight from BA.

Re Hayne. Once bitten twice shy. He chose money over the club, what makes everyone think he'll come to the eels if we make a play at him.

He's moved on, BA has moved on, the club has moved on, its time for the fans to do so too.

Agree, he elected to Dog us. No need for him back at the club. Was a great player but in the end will remembered as a f**king dog!

Re Hayne. Once bitten twice shy. He chose money over the club, what makes everyone think he'll come to the eels if we make a play at him.

He's moved on, BA has moved on, the club has moved on, its time for the fans to do so too.

And we dont have any fullback options. Gutherson and Bevan are our problem remember.

Sorry ram but you failed here. We have 2 fullback good enough at nrl level.

IFR33K

And yeah I'm sure the Roosters got a bloke like Teddy for 700k less lol.

Just like Jack Bird did the same to head to Brisbane.

Roosters and broncos love leaking info to the media. That's how they fool the nrl they're under the cap.

Incorrect

I commented on the article in tele on Facebook,
He took the lowest club financed offer but probably the highest TPA offer. Does anyone know of the possible value of his tpa or if it is included in supposed $700k offer

Aren't TPA's supposed to be separate from the club and so his mgmt is able to secure guise deals regardless if the club the player is playing for?

Look do many fingers in the pie. And fantasy fools on here.
We are not 2013 parra. We are 2017 Parra. A competetivr football team that can match it with a lot of clubs. We do this with 3/4 of spine being well a rookie spine.

Even with the same squad next season we would be better. Bevan,Gutherson,Kaysa are on way up as is Tepai who had best game yesterday this season. He will benefit from Moses.

So we add Moses that fixes a huge issue and our biggest one.
Bevan and Kaysa will get a full season under their belt.
We've added Kane Evans

Thats enough for me to be optimistic about our chances. I reckon 1-2 jnrs will come thru within next 12mths to. And who are we losing?
Only guy on down hill spiral is Beau Scott and he only plays 30mins.

Add Moses and Bevan to yesterdays side along woth Kane Evans and a more experienced hooker and we win by 30+

Mate, BA is no idiot - he was most likely aware of Teddy's dubious injury record, and banked on him potentially missing a fair few games.

I heard from the horse's mouth that Arthur has a lot of time for French - he has said he has an exemplary attitude to training, and to doing the little things right, and that, much like Gutherson, French is a footballer first, and athlete second.

But then again, I am only relaying what a mate (a massive Eels fan) of mine heard straight from BA.
I'm not doubting your info, mate. But I'm not sure about the strategy of signing one of the highest-paid players in the game if you expect him to miss a fair few games.

Forty20

It is one of the most overused sporting cliches in our code but Gutherson really personifies the phrase 'he is just a genuine footballer'. He is going to find a way to impact a game regardless of if he is wearing #1 right through to #6. Hell, chuck him into the engine room and he will do his damnedest to make a difference. Still hasn't peaked either physically or in the mental aspect of the game.

Seriously, look at this check list and tell me there isn't a better young bloke to have at your club:

Budding young leader :heavy_check_mark:
Potential long-term goal kicker :heavy_check_mark:
Good presence on social media :heavy_check_mark:
Locked up under contract before the new CBA shenanigans :heavy_check_mark:
Revolutionary hair cut :heavy_check_mark:
Going to be one of the greatest :middle_finger: moments for Parra on the Sea Eagles :heavy_check_mark:
Transportation based nickname in vein of all great modern (NRL-era) Parra backs :heavy_check_mark:

It is one of the most overused sporting cliches in our code but Gutherson really personifies the phrase 'he is just a genuine footballer'. He is going to find a way to impact a game regardless of if he is wearing #1 right through to #6. Hell, chuck him into the engine room and he will do his damnedest to make a difference. Still hasn't peaked either physically or in the mental aspect of the game.

Seriously, look at this check list and tell me there isn't a better young bloke to have at your club:

Budding young leader :heavy_check_mark:
Potential long-term goal kicker :heavy_check_mark:
Good presence on social media :heavy_check_mark:
Locked up under contract before the new CBA shenanigans :heavy_check_mark:
Revolutionary hair cut :heavy_check_mark:
Going to be one of the greatest :middle_finger: moments for Parra on the Sea Eagles :heavy_check_mark:
Transportation based nickname in vein of all great modern Parra backs :heavy_check_mark:
All aboard the GuthBus!!!

Tickets please!!

Eelogical

I was very impressed with Gutho's performance yesterday. He has a maturity about himself and more often than not makes the correct choices when he has the ball in his hands. On top of that, he plays within himself, shows instinct and is relatively injury free. We need him in out team.