Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

But why not Alvaro?

Why go small through the middle when we have a natural prop who can do the job?
Scott is slightly redundant with all of Mau Brown Moeroa and Edwards available.
Yes Alvaro too, and I nearly included him. But we know Scott and Moeroa will be in the middle concurrently with Vave late in the first half. Alvaro is currently being used in a 20 minute burst in the second half, and I don't know which middle forwards he is sharing time with.

But I rate Alvaro as a defender. He could definitely help cover for Vave.

He made 83 and 74m in those games you reckon he was our best prop, at 8m a run. Only 20 odd tackles too. In the second game Alvaro was obviously better, 72m at 10m a run (Alvaro missed round 6).

Peni averaged 83m at 8m a run last season and 23 tackles in about 35 mins of footy. He breaks a few more tackles, but honestly he's very overrated on here. Good back up, but if we've truly signed Evans I doubt we'll re-sign Terepo purely because he'll probably want more than we're willing to pay a bloke who is 6th in the pecking order for props.
I reckon Evans and Terepo are similar players - fast, high energy tackle breakers. Evans is better though.

Alvaro is the plodder type, just like Mannah. The type of player you need several of in your 17, but Terepo (and Evans) offers something different.

I should have said "by some" in fairness.
I don't think anyone overrates him. But in comparison to Alvaro it seems Arthur's rates Terepo higher. He betters Alvaro in two key areas - missed tackles and tackle breaks. I dare say Terepo is on more money though, and as you say is likely to get more elsewhere than we are offering (or would have prior to his injury).

miatch

He made 83 and 74m in those games you reckon he was our best prop, at 8m a run. Only 20 odd tackles too. In the second game Alvaro was obviously better, 72m at 10m a run (Alvaro missed round 6).

Peni averaged 83m at 8m a run last season and 23 tackles in about 35 mins of footy. He breaks a few more tackles, but honestly he's very overrated on here. Good back up, but if we've truly signed Evans I doubt we'll re-sign Terepo purely because he'll probably want more than we're willing to pay a bloke who is 6th in the pecking order for props.

BA will find a way to re-sign him.

... he starts games...
And when we lead early on he gets to make more carries, both because we have more ball and because we can spend more tackles grinding through the middle. Plus if we score while Mannah is on the field he usually takes the kickoff return.

When we're chasing points he isn't the type of player to get a lot of carries.

Well we haven't made a final series since we had a front rower with the power of Fui when he was at his best and had the leadership of Cayless...i dare say that's no coincidence.

Haven't you read these forums? Caylo was shit mate....

He was still a better than any middle forward we've put on the field in the last 7 years.
That's a big call. It may be right but my impression of him was he was a solid player who matured early but never really improved after that. And was chosen as captain more for his temperament than his talent.