Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I'd rather take Friend or Maria after Cronk signs with the Chooks.

I like Crichton, but I can imagine the howls here one day when people realise that he is not a giant.

Just my opinion - but Warea-Hargreaves (not that it will ever happen) would be the perfect addition to our team.

Exactly what we need, imo - 100+ metres per game, aggression, defensively a hard worker...

He'd be brilliant in the Blue and Gold.

*Sigh* a man can dream...

BoneyBlake17

I am curious about BA comments here.
He doesn't like to talk about about recruitment publicly and here he is talking about cronk.

I reckon every time someone has asked him about another player he bats it away with a something like i dont discuss about recruitment in the public domain. In that type of lingo.

I wonder if they are pushing the price up and eyeing off someone at the roosters.

I just cant see us signing cronk

Ok so say we sign him and Gutho is fit for Rnd1.

Moses plays reggies or did we release Norman or Gutho or Moses ?

amitropo

Ok so say we sign him and Gutho is fit for Rnd1.

Moses plays reggies or did we release Norman or Gutho or Moses ?
Could he possibly be considered as a 9 and mentor Moses along the way?
Surely BA will not change our halves pairing after such a good run.

Joshuatheeel

1. Norman
2. French
3. Gunco
4. Jenko
5. Not semi
6. Moses
7. Cronk

Yeah that's how I think we could end up if we some how sign him. Unless we released someone. Not sure it's going to happen but.

Is there any chance Norman could line up in the centres ? Maybe Norman defends at centre and attacks as a fullback, while Gutho defends at fullback and attacks as centre ? Not sure if this would be possible as Norman may end up attacking on the left then have rush to the right to defend (or the opposite way). Or Norman just plays centre. No sure if he could even defend out wide.

Interesting times ahead.

I reckon it's unlikely unless we release someone.

eels_fan

Don’t think Norman would be keen on being shunted to 1 given he was finally getting a mention for origin in the halves this year and played in the PMs game. He goes to 1 and any chance of him ever playing rep footy dies

Joshuatheeel

Don’t think Norman would be keen on being shunted to 1 given he was finally getting a mention for origin in the halves this year and played in the PMs game. He goes to 1 and any chance of him ever playing rep footy dies

Maybe, but after Boyd / slater who is next in line for fullback? Norman is probably the same in order for both spots.

Joshuatheeel

Well, it's a bit weird. The telegraph article which provided the original BA quote about still having cap space has been changed to remove any reference to the eels or BA. Interesting!

Just my opinion - but Warea-Hargreaves (not that it will ever happen) would be the perfect addition to our team.

Exactly what we need, imo - 100+ metres per game, aggression, defensively a hard worker...
Pretty much all our forwards (plus JWH) could make 100 metres per game if they made 11 carries. Mannah only needs 10. Obviously the main difference between them is the number of carries they are given, which is closely related to number of minutes (which is determined by the coach). Apart from Brown (minutes) and Vave (runs per minute) our middle forwards tend to share the load in attack. Terepo was more or less an afterthought in our attack this year:

Metres per minute:
3.24 Vave (28 minutes)
2.62 Mannah (35 minutes)
2.50 Matagi (39 minutes)
2.49 Alvaro (36 minutes)
2.34 Terepo (29 minutes)
2.27 Brown (68 minutes)

Kane Evans and JWH had these stats:
2.68 Evans (26 minutes)
2.51 Waerea-Hargreaves (54 minutes)

Obviously there is more to a middle forward than just metres gained, or else Arthur would be giving far more minutes to Vave and far less to Brown.

Chipmunk

Pretty much all our forwards (plus JWH) could make 100 metres per game if they made 11 carries. Mannah only needs 10. Obviously the main difference between them is the number of carries they are given, which is closely related to number of minutes (which is determined by the coach). Apart from Brown (minutes) and Vave (runs per minute) our middle forwards tend to share the load in attack. Terepo was more or less an afterthought in our attack this year:

Metres per minute:
3.24 Vave (28 minutes)
2.62 Mannah (35 minutes)
2.50 Matagi (39 minutes)
2.49 Alvaro (36 minutes)
2.34 Terepo (29 minutes)
2.27 Brown (68 minutes)

2.68 Evans (26 minutes)

Obviously there is more to a middle forward than just metres gained, or else Arthur would be giving far more minutes to Vave and far less to Brown.

There is more to most NRL players than stats..otherwise coaches would just play Moneyball and get the players with best stats.

From what I've heard the coach of the Premiers lists stats as the least important criteria when recruiting players. He believes in getting the right person and he'll just make his stats good enough to help his team win games.

I'll take Bellyaches philosophy over yours thanks.

Well, it's a bit weird. The telegraph article which provided the original BA quote about still having cap space has been changed to remove any reference to the eels or BA. Interesting!

The original article had a quote from Arthur saying we had cap space, nothing more. The quote was probably from before we signed Moses FFS. I hope these papers all go out of business and the journos have to get real jobs.

Metres per minute:
3.24 Vave (28 minutes)
2.62 Mannah (35 minutes)
2.50 Matagi (39 minutes)
2.49 Alvaro (36 minutes)
2.34 Terepo (29 minutes)
2.27 Brown (68 minutes)

2.68 Evans (26 minutes)

What about outrageous offloads per second (OOPS)?