Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

Isn't that more so for what is left of their contract, ie. Watmough had another 2 years (?) left so that wasn't counted towards the cap. Scott only has 4 months left of his contract which if he was on 600k frees up about 200k. That basically only allows us to move a development player into the top 30 or a backup player. It's not going to make a huge difference to the quality of our team.
Or a $600k a year player.

Only Brown would be likely to make any good team's starting sides.

It comes from a lack of foresight from Arthur and his recruitment staff. We've definitely spread the cap too thinly.

There's no quick fix either. It takes years of diligent recruiting to build a sustainable roster.

Say hello to 2021 if the club start with smart recruitment now. Judging by the recent appointments of Lane and Evans - it could be 2025 before we can see success

Do you think Lane was in HIGH demand?

He would be paid what worth and at most 20-30k over what toher clubs offered to get him. When at lower scale like 180-200k then 20k makes a difference.
Obviously guys on 600k+ its less of a factor for them.

On Lane he has upside..... Evans looks a bust but he can still play at a 250k forward level. So we are paying 150k overs.

Thats better then Norman playing like a 400k half and costing 800k

So far potential pack of:

8. Paulo
9. ?
10. Alvaro
11. Mau
12. Tep
13. Brown

14. Mannah
15. Niukore
16. Peni
17. Lane/Evans

Taka, Stone ?

I actually don’t mind our pack there but we are lacking depth. We definitely need more signing which will come. A genuine 1st grader like a Tapau would really make us a lot stronger. And I hope we are still in talks with the Aussie/Super League hooker bloke as hooker is a worry.

I dont mind our team. Heck if we had dragons luck and only 1 injury after 8 weeks I reckon we be in the top 8. People underestimate having 5 or 6 first graders out does to a side.
Panthers even got flogged by Rooster last round ffs.

T Rex should be good to go by next year, fitness pending

Do we want to keep a path for any juniors though? Im 50/50 on T rex and Gower. There first graders im sure but they are past best and stop young talent from developing.
The only way to get better is for guys to play top grade. It takes 1-2 ful seasons just to get used to the speed of game. Only rare talents like Ponga are stars from get go.
Many even take up to 3 or 4 full seasons before get to peak

Do we want to keep a path for any juniors though? Im 50/50 on T rex and Gower. There first graders im sure but they are past best and stop young talent from developing.
The only way to get better is for guys to play top grade. It takes 1-2 ful seasons just to get used to the speed of game. Only rare talents like Ponga are stars from get go.
Many even take up to 3 or 4 full seasons before get to peak

I think the development of a guy like Alvaro as opposed to, say, Tanginoa or even Tepai shows the value of not rushing players into the top grade. Especially forwards.

Guys like T-Rex and Gower won't stop anyone good enough for the top 30 from playing FG

I think the development of a guy like Alvaro as opposed to, say, Tanginoa or even Tepai shows the value of not rushing players into the top grade. Especially forwards.

Guys like T-Rex and Gower won't stop anyone good enough for the top 30 from playing FG

They wil take a roster spot. Id rather LANE then Gower. He has upside. Gowers been greast but if had to chose between the two

Joshuatheeel

“Parramatta have met Canberra five-eighth Blake Austin about the potential of joining the club next season as a potential replacement for Corey Norman.

NRL.com understands Austin is being looked at as a potential replacement for Norman, however the out-of-favour Eels No.6 hasn't attracted much interest from rival clubs.

The Eels are keen to explore the idea of Austin as Mitchell Moses's halves partner for 2019, but they won't be in a position to do so until they know whether Norman will be at the club.

As it stands, the Eels are happy to release Norman from the final year of his deal and would have even allowed him to leave before the June 30 transfer deadline had he managed to find a new home.

However, clubs have baulked at his lucrative price tag, including Manly, who went cold on the notion of a Norman-Marty Taupau swap deal with the Eels.

Austin, who grew up in western Sydney as an Eels fan, isn't after a huge deal and NRL.com understands he is happy to sign a modest one-year contract and back himself to play his way into a more lucrative deal at Parramatta or another club.

young_austin.jpg

A young Blake Austin on the Footy Show.:copyright:NRL Photos/Channel Nine
His potential signing would bring some much-needed size in the halves at the Eels - who have also been linked to Marika Koroibete - and allow Moses to become the dominant playmaker.

The Eels have also started a review of their football operations, which is likely to recommend the club brings in a head of football. NRL.com understands Cowboys football manager Peter Parr, who is also Brad Fittler's football manager for the NSW Blues this year, is the frontrunner having previously been sounded out for the role.”

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/06/27...ign-blake-austin-as-corey-norman-replacement/

emjaycee

For this year?
No, for this year (at a cost of $200k for the balance of this year) and then $600k for future years.

Scott was not signed for 2019 so we effectively have his $600k from 2019 onwards and $200k of it this year (based on your assertion of this being his salary).

Therefore if we signed a $600k p.a. player now, for the rest of this year it should cost us only the $200k we are saving on Scott. For 2019 and 2020 it would cost us the same as what we have to spend seeing we are not (and never were) giving it to Beau Scott.

Delboy

This is going back a few years, a friend of mine was attending an open day trial at Parra, when Peter Parr came down from Newcastle where he was a good player in the Newcastle Rugby League comp. Think it was when either Mick Cronin or Ron Hilditch was coaching. As hew walked past my mate in a big booming voice he said, lets give it a go and see of we can play this game.
A tall, raw boned full back from memory, so at least he has some connection with the club :), didn't make it though.

Peter Parr would be an awesome signing.

So the Greek merkin shortened his name like Peter Peters did (born as Panoutas Peterides) ?

TBH I don't mind the name Panoutas Parramatta. I reckon he should have kept it.

TheRam

PM, my point exactly, but the issue that worries me, is who is in charge to make those changes.
Bernie is urbane and sauve in his discussions and interviews, but currently where is the concern, the hard nosed statement that it's not good enough and that we need to repay the faith the fans have shown. Some intent is necessary, I will always be an Eels fan, as most of us, but in any business ( and you know more than most) , there are times when leadership has to get on the front foot and deliver vision and actions.
Certainly , there wil,be questions asked, but that massive ball should be rolling and some real commitment shown. We dont really want leaks, that is understandable, but some of us are getting older and want the membership, fan base, and loyalty repaid with decisive recruitment and direction.
Over to you Bernie, earn the $600k you are supposedly on and give us encouragement and vision.
How many kids do you see wearing our jerseys, I am at junior footy every weekend, let me tell you - it's a worrying fraction of those worn.
Haven't posted much in a while, but I am seriously worried we are getting left behind by clubs without our resources.

Good to see some of you are finally catching up to some of the concerns I have brought up over the years and got/get chewed out for. Better late then never I suppose.

Waiting for useless retort by ne'er-do-wells.