Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Is that what happened when the Panthers signed Tamou? Or Merrin? Or Maloney? Or Peachey? Or Whare?

Maloney was 600k plus tpa which was not allowed so 800k.

Same as Moses and Normie. Id rate Maloney the top 3 half in game. Schooled B.Hunt in origin who is on 1.2mill

Whare was offered a cheap 5yr deal.

Tamou and Merrin are on overs but the Duke would have tpas for them. Maloneys prob was just shifted sideways. How else do they sign reps and produce rep quality juniors and not lose any Whike we cant even afford to keep guys like Twal at club.lol

Exactly. What if Bennett re-signs Sua and tells Oates "I see you as a winger only, Sua Gillett Glenn and Fifita are my back rows" and so Oates says well f**k that I wanna play back row and leaves?

There's more than just money involved in most negotiations between player and club.

And a guy like Oates would have more then just parra interested. Be another 5 or 6 clubs

Eelogical

Parramatta need to swing for the bleachers if they want a home run

Mediocre players mean mediocre results

giphy.gif

Bread not bought. Because it's Penriff so it's stolen bread

Just a few to pop up in last few years.

Edwards,dwz,crighton,blake,cleary,may,luai,leota,Rcg,Eden,katoa,Chn,Hethrington
Yeo, Jfh, ellis.

We cant count Mansour, Kikau or Peachey even though the club nurtured them into first grade and Moylan and Cartwright have moved on.

In the same time we have produced Tepai and Bevan oh and Kaysa....

Old man says to me today.

K.Evans would be the worse signing ive seen. He is junk. Atleast Lussick and Poore where first graders. This guys barely a park player. How long did we sign him for and how much?
Lol

Eelogical

K.Evans would be the worse signing ive seen. He is junk. Atleast Lussick and Poore where first graders. This guys barely a park player. How long did we sign him for and how much?
Lol
Really? I could name several others who have worn the blue and gold that could easily claim that crown.

emjaycee

Yeo, Jfh, ellis.

We cant count Mansour, Kikau or Peachey even though the club nurtured them into first grade and Moylan and Cartwright have moved on.

When did we produce your favourite Penis Hands Terepo and Junior Paulo?

Yeo, Jfh, ellis.

Well if you want to be pedantic, the following aren't local...

Edwards is from Dorrigo, signed with Penrith for Matts
Yeo is a Dubbo junior, signed with Penrith for NYC
Blake is a Fijian who played junior footy in Perth, poached by Penrith for NYC
Cleary played wherever his dad coached, was also in the Warriors system
Egan is from Lithgow, signed by Penrith for NYC
Katoa is from NZ, played SG Ball with the Roosters and was poached by Penrith for NYC
CHN is a Kiwi junior (Otua Valley), was poached by Penrith to play NYC
JFH is a Kiwi junior (Whangarei), was poached by Penrith to play NYC
Ellis is a dubbo junior, signed by Penrith to play NYC

So your shining list of local Penrith talent is actually more than half poached from elsewhere. You'd reckon someone who follows the club closely would know that....?

lingard

I think the issue is that there isn't a black line (or even a grey one) between top 17 and say, top 23 or 24. Everyone in the top 24 should be capable of playing quality first grade football. In a tough contact sport there will always be injuries and as a coach, you need to be able to select 17 players each week with confidence. Players 25-30 are your fringe players - the players you hope you don't need for more than a week at a time but have enough ability to fill in, ideally in non-critical positions. These are where you stash 2 or 3 youngsters that you might give an opportunity to and 2 or 3 journeymen who will do a job if called upon.

I see Lane in the top 23 or 24 players in our squad for 2019, keeping in mind there are 8 or 9 forwards in the top 17 each week so you need 12 or 13 not counting your hookers in your top 24 - capable of playing quality football. Whether any one of these is in your top 17 each week depends on lots of factors such as injuries, form, overall squad makeup, etc.

I reckon our top 13 forwards (excluding hooker) for next year could easily be:
Ma'u
Moeroa
Taka
Alvaro
Brown
Evans
Mannah
Paulo
TBC (Niukore)
TBC (Lane)
TBC (Williams)
TBC (Musgrove)
TBC (???)

Paulo and the TBC's replace Matagi, Vave, Scott, Terepo, Edwards and Gower.

2 or 3 fringe forwards round out your squad of 30 (16 forwards + 2 hookers + 12 backs) and ours would likely be Stone and hopefully Kaufusi for next year with one more signing to come.

That is an incredibly weak bunch of forwards. We're not going to get out of this mess for a long time, are we?

Maloney was 600k plus tpa which was not allowed so 800k.

Same as Moses and Normie. Id rate Maloney the top 3 half in game. Schooled B.Hunt in origin who is on 1.2mill

Whare was offered a cheap 5yr deal.

Tamou and Merrin are on overs but the Duke would have tpas for them. Maloneys prob was just shifted sideways. How else do they sign reps and produce rep quality juniors and not lose any Whike we cant even afford to keep guys like Twal at club.lol
They're up and we're down. It happens to Sydney teams. The Panthers have the third most TPAs in the NRL. They are in a premiership window, but so were we a couple of years ago when we had heaps of TPAs. We finished ahead of the Panthers last year and would have the year before as well if we didn't get caught. Can't help bad luck though.

Lol
And yet he played over 70 NRL games for the Roosters.