Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

lingard

Out of whom i have listed, who would you get rid of in the immediate term?

That's not the point. Fact is that any four of those players could be exceptional if they were playing alongside a couple of origin-level forwards and a quality hooker. But they aren't. Hence, a very weak bunch of forwards. If, hypothetically, we added James Graham, Andrew Fifita and, say Segyaro, all those forwards you mentioned would improve out of sight.
Also, for the record, I think the Junior Paulo signing for four years is almost as ridiculous as the Whatmough signing. But, hey, what would I know?

84 Baby

Just a few to pop up in last few years.

Edwards,dwz,crighton,blake,cleary,may,luai,leota,Rcg,Eden,katoa,Chn,Hethrington
Yeo, Jfh, ellis.

We cant count Mansour, Kikau or Peachey even though the club nurtured them into first grade and Moylan and Cartwright have moved on.

In the same time we have produced Tepai and Bevan oh and Kaysa....
Lololololol

Well if you want to be pedantic, the following aren't local...

Edwards is from Dorrigo, signed with Penrith for Matts
Yeo is a Dubbo junior, signed with Penrith for NYC
Blake is a Fijian who played junior footy in Perth, poached by Penrith for NYC
Cleary played wherever his dad coached, was also in the Warriors system
Egan is from Lithgow, signed by Penrith for NYC
Katoa is from NZ, played SG Ball with the Roosters and was poached by Penrith for NYC
CHN is a Kiwi junior (Otua Valley), was poached by Penrith to play NYC
JFH is a Kiwi junior (Whangarei), was poached by Penrith to play NYC
Ellis is a dubbo junior, signed by Penrith to play NYC

So your shining list of local Penrith talent is actually more than half poached from elsewhere. You'd reckon someone who follows the club closely would know that....?

All come via there system
I also count Semi as ours. We produced him. I dont give a turd where he born

They're up and we're down. It happens to Sydney teams. The Panthers have the third most TPAs in the NRL. They are in a premiership window, but so were we a couple of years ago when we had heaps of TPAs. We finished ahead of the Panthers last year and would have the year before as well if we didn't get caught. Can't help bad luck though.

Finals 3/4 and more then likely 4/5 by season end.
And imo they have a window that wont shut soon.

That's not the point. Fact is that any four of those players could be exceptional if they were playing alongside a couple of origin-level forwards and a quality hooker. But they aren't. Hence, a very weak bunch of forwards. If, hypothetically, we added James Graham, Andrew Fifita and, say Segyaro, all those forwards you mentioned would improve out of sight.
Also, for the record, I think the Junior Paulo signing for four years is almost as ridiculous as the Whatmough signing. But, hey, what would I know?

Yeah 3yrs max.

4yrs is for special players or guys who know be putting in.
Age wise though 4yrs is fine.

Obscene Assassin

What about adding Origin players, Gavin Cooper, Felise Kaufusi or Tim Glasby?

Also I find it a bit funny that you say Origin-level players but then pick players who don't play Origin.

chiefy1

He's been worse in reserve grade than he was in first grade in recent years.

Just admit it mate, 3 years was always a massive risk for a non starting player in evans. To think he would come in and automatically nail down the 8 jumper would have been incautious.

Most could have lived with a one year deal with another in our favor, but honestly a 3 year contract to a bench player in Evans was a irrisponsible decision imo

3 years and above should only be reserved for the top 30 or 40% of players, and I'd say Evans was in the bottom 15% of NRL players undoubtedly.

Signing Evans wasn't the problem - it's the length of the deal.
It's not hindsight either, many initially mentioned 3 years was too long

emjaycee

Sorry mate, I miss understood you. I thought there were some there you didnt want more than just commenting on a collective bunch of crap.

Just admit it mate, 3 years was always a massive risk for a non starting player in evans.

To think he would come in and automatically nail down the 8 jumper would have been incautious.

Most could have lived with a one year deal with another in our favor, but honestly a 3 year contract to a bench player in Evans was a irrisponsible decision imo

3 years and above should only be reserved for the top 30 or 40% of players, and I'd say Evans was in the bottom 15% of NRL players undoubtedly.

Signing Evans wasn't the problem - it's the length of the deal.
It's not hindsight either, many initially mentioned 3 years was too long
Three years is only a risk if the player gets injured or loses form due to old age. Whatever is wrong with Evans can be fixed. He's only 26 ffs. If he's good enough to be at the club at 26 why wouldn't he be good enough at 28? A three year contract for a 30 year old (e.g. Beau Scott) is a much bigger risk, even if he was playing Origin the year we signed him.

It's not how good the player is that determines how long to sign him; it's how old he is. But signing a player for extra years usually reduces his price per-year.