Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

....and as you keep pointing out, Evans has played far more first grade than reserve grade
Not at the Eels. At the Roosters he was top 17, or at least a fringe first grader who happened to only play one reserve grade game in his final three years for them.
and you repeat adnauseum that Evans is playing for Wenty to improve his fitness. Surely that would be to improve his usefulness in first grade. So what’s your point and why does that not make it plausible (even probable) that Evans is on $350k?
The fact Arthur has left him in reserve grade shows he never rated him as highly as I did. He wouldn't change his mind after only four games, especially when two of them were cut short by injury. It's not like he signed him sight unseen. The guy had played 70+ games when we signed him. As Arthur said, “We’re excited to add more depth to our forward pack".

https://www.parraeels.com.au/news/2017/05/04/parramatta-eels-sign-roosters-prop-kane-evans/

Maybe BA himself doesn't really get a lot of time to check out players from other teams. By all reports he's had a lot on his plate. Or maybe as I suggested the lack of depth at the Chooks resulted in Evans playing more first grade than he would at another club with more depth, ie Parra.

Arthur would've done his homework on the player. Watched heaps of video, etc etc. We would have only had to beat the next best offer to get him.

I said 8 weeks ago there was dramas with Evans. Vave and Matagi picked before him.
BA is pissed over something . Id say effort at training.

Arthur would've done his homework on the player. Watched heaps of video, etc etc. We would have only had to beat the next best offer to get him.
Yeah but there's only so much you can learn about someone when you've got other stuff that needs sorting out. I'm sure he wasn't just checking out highlight clips on YouTube but one man can't do everything. It could be that Evans is a direct result of the understaffing issue at the club.

Aggressive and how many games? You remember Vaughn and Klemmer after 9 or so games

Mate Klemmer was the next big thing from SG Ball onwards. He was always the first thing anyone mentioned when they talked about Dogs juniors. He's a freak

Vaughan was also more touted than Hetherington, but that might just be because Canberra is weird and he's a local kid come good. But he was the face of the Bulls as a teenager and the Raiders put him on a pedestal from a very young age.

Hetherington looks good at 22, but he's not gonna be a Klemmer.

You do know Klemmer is still only 24, right?

Yeah but there's only so much you can learn about someone when you've got other stuff that needs sorting out. I'm sure he wasn't just checking out highlight clips on YouTube but one man can't do everything. It could be that Evans is a direct result of the understaffing issue at the club.
We have a full time recruiter to do all that. Last year (when we recruited for this year) Arthur had a quality staff.