Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

WA BEARS

Wb1234

They may be huge, are they really ?, both pretty ordinary teams, these two teams for last few seasons.
Weagkes have the highest turnover out of any club in Australia and a seven year wait list for seated season tickets (well if Perth red is to be believed on the last one)

And that’s after they pay the wafl a ln annual license fee of ten million pa wafl to run the local game

Higher nrl club is broncos with 53 million revenue (vs 88 million wce)

SirPies&Beers

I've seen on LU a lot of fallacies about the Sharks "shortfalls", as in, there isn't one.
I usually bypass the posts I see but today I feel like posting.
Besides the Sharks acquisitions, they also have 19M in the bank. I saw one ignoramus in the NRL forum say that they dont have that because they have to pay for the new leagues club fit out. What a load of horse shit.
The Sharks are not using their own money initially to pay for it, the bank is. They have a 12M loan approved to do the works. The club itself will pay the bank off once its up and running.
When Penrith were on their knees Gould went to to James Packer to help set them up, and it worked out sensationally for them.
Packer was their bank.

For a little bit more insight. I come from construction and I was the Foreman/Supervisor forall the pre works around Shark Park before the last Grandstand went in. I also was involved with some of the nearby constructions that went on after and the Sharks were part of it.
I changed careers and am now I'm in Clubland in that particular area. This means I can see every clubs profits, losses etc.
There is more than one club within 20 mins of Sharks that earn very decent profits, im talking 30M every 6 months. There are also clubs that are dying.
This is all to do with Pokies and Gambling.

The ones succeeding? All of them are newish and cater for the 20-30 something disposable income crowd.
The ones dying? They can't afford to update their premises for the younguns to spend, they are still raping the pensioners.
The Sharks are going to have a brand newly done up club looking over water, with plenty of machines.
They'll pay off that loan easily, and invest their 19M and further money in other ventures.

I'm not having a go here, just showing some clarity.

Just to Edit on this: our Chairman, Steve Mace, is a self made multi millionaire through many diversities, our CEO, Dino, used to run Star City. They know their shyte, and in regards to Dino, he's part of the Mediterranean Mafia of the NRL. PVL, Uncle Nick, George Peponis, and Dino. They aren't going to let one their own fall.
Obviously I'm having a little fun with this last part, but there is some proven truth to it.
great insights. I was only replying to perthwrongs who reckons sharkies are in financial strife but I merely wanted to points out that any strife is far fetched and if there are shortfalls it’s only because they are in middle of builds. once builds are dones money starts flowing again freely.

but you went further and gave good indepths reply. thanks for that’s! im also a sharkies fan so it’s good to understand how it’s going on there.

great insights. I was only replying to perthwrongs who reckons sharkies are in financial strife but I merely wanted to points out that any strife is far fetched and if there are shortfalls it’s only because they are in middle of builds. once builds are dones money starts flowing again freely.

but you went further and gave good indepths reply. thanks for that’s! im also a sharkies fan so it’s good to understand how it’s going on there.
From this point onwards I will refer to you as "Pie Shark"
Not to be confused with Amy.

ground zero

Sharks financials will end up biting them on the arse then the Dragons will gobble them back up an invite them back to the Saint's as a small share holder.

They did last year when the out a game on Friday night against the Dolphins roosters game. They will again.

They also had a 'round zero' last year in response to our Vegas venture and they've had 'legends' games on the same night as state of origin.
Doing an Indigenous All-Stars match this year as well. F-ball HQ must be on absolute tenterhooks that the Indigenous All-Stars teams isn`t booed into oblivion, especially if they win. Wouldn`t surprise me given the racism in that sport.

Wb1234

I read somewhere the other day the Bronx revenue last year was 75 million.
You’re right I just checked it’s gone up since June 2024 (half yearly now running at 42 million revenue)

They make more profits than west coast too

West coast get ripped off hard though

The afl give them the smallest grants in the league at around ten million whilst the basketcases get 25 to 28 million

Plus they have to pay the wafl 10 million pa

Even at their worst they are a pretty impressive football club and Perth bears would be crazy to go head to head with them in trying to build a fan base

Sharks financials will end up biting them on the arse then the Dragons will gobble them back up an invite them back to the Saint's as a small share holder.
Your are the "ignoramus' I was referring too. You post without any knowledge whatsoever. You were the one who said that the Sharks had to pay for their Leagues Club fit out with their 19M. Load of crap.
Have a look at the cash that St.George Leagues provides to your team. Your only single asset from the St.George side can give you sweet feck all. Win Corp on the Illawarra side own you.
The 4 teams in the NRL era who have asked for a handout are SGI, WST, Newcastle and Titans.

jim_57

NRL always release their draw first, unless they change that it’s kinda irrelevant. Also AFL don’t lock in time-slots for a heap of their season until the rounds get closer anyway.

For the record I’d be surprised if the NRL and Broadcasters didn’t trial the occasional “late” Saturday game out of Perth. Plenty of sports play later in to the night these days. Turn on Channel 7 the last month or Channel 9 the last couple weeks at 10-11pm and you would most likely be turning on live Sport.

Canard

Your are the "ignoramus' I was referring too. You post without any knowledge whatsoever. You were the one who said that the Sharks had to pay for their Leagues Club fit out with their 19M. Load of crap.
Have a look at the cash that St.George Leagues provides to your team. Your only single asset from the St.George side can give you sweet feck all. Win Corp on the Illawarra side own you.
The 4 teams in the NRL era who have asked for a handout are SGI, WST, Newcastle and Titans.
No skin in this one, but for mine, whether you secure a loan or pay for it from cash reserves, your still "paying for it"

SirPies&Beers

NRL always release their draw first, unless they change that it’s kinda irrelevant. Also AFL don’t lock in time-slots for a heap of their season until the rounds get closer anyway.

For the record I’d be surprised if the NRL and Broadcasters didn’t trial the occasional “late” Saturday game out of Perth. Plenty of sports play later in to the night these days. Turn on Channel 7 the last month or Channel 9 the last couple weeks at 10-11pm and you would most likely be turning on live Sport.
Nrl have had plenty chances to trial it and never once have they attempted it. they have had enough games in west aussie now for a number of years and maintain their regular scheduling.

nrl been trialling 6pm Sunday for a number of years now. clearly that’s the go. a poster here mentioned a 130pm saturday game for kiwi specific located teams. I thinks that is a good idea.

also sports youre comparing them too generally go most of the day like tennis. starts early finishes late but families can still watch at any family friendly time due to the amount of matches. it’s also a quick 2 week tourney. very different to an 80 min contest like footy. just my 2cents tho

jim_57

Nrl have had plenty chances to trial it and never once have they attempted it. they have had enough games in west aussie now for a number of years and maintain their regular scheduling.

nrl been trialling 6pm Sunday for a number of years now. clearly that’s the go. a poster here mentioned a 130pm saturday game for kiwi specific located teams. I thinks that is a good idea.

also sports youre comparing them too generally go most of the day like tennis. starts early finishes late but families can still watch at any family friendly time due to the amount of matches. it’s also a quick 2 week tourney. very different to an 80 min contest like footy. just my 2cents tho

With 9 then probably soon 10 games and an actual regular Perth team it becomes far more likely they’ll at least try it though. Not saying it will be every Perth home game and it might flop but I’d be surprised if they didn’t trial it at least.

Tennis was just one example, T20 & ODI cricket, some AFL games go close to 11pm East Coast time. Not live but Channel 9 used to play the 2nd Friday night NRL game on delay at around 9:30pm Friday with 1million ads as I’m sure most here will remember.

I’m totally guessing here but I reckon there would be just as much of a market for a 9:30pm Saturday game from Perth as a 12pm Sunday game from NZ. I know I have more free time in the evenings than in the middle of the day typically, I’m sure plenty of others would be the same.

Wb1234

I love the dragons but dunno why you respond to him his clearly trying to get to you sharks fans

Nuke

As others have said, the Thursday evening and 6pm Friday games are no doubt the worst timeslots for the WA Bears. Sure, plenty of eyes on eastern states TVs, but very few in WA will be able to watch. Especially in the first month of the comp where daylight savings means a 3hr difference. Surely absolutely no chance they schedule a WA home game at 3pm Friday afternoon anyway..?! Good Friday being an exception.

Wb1234

The only unique time slots the Perth side could play in and expect good crowds in are sat 900 pm est and Sunday 6 / 7 pm est

Thursday and Friday are pretty much a write off (unless Friday it’s a 2 hour delay or the game is delayed till 9 pm est)

Sat 530 est potentially and 730 but those slots are covered by existing teams. Same with Sunday 2 pm est

The time zone difference eliminates most current time slots as not working for local crowds or tv

Bukowski

As others have said, the Thursday evening and 6pm Friday games are no doubt the worst timeslots for the WA Bears. Sure, plenty of eyes on eastern states TVs, but very few in WA will be able to watch. Especially in the first month of the comp where daylight savings means a 3hr difference. Surely absolutely no chance they schedule a WA home game at 3pm Friday afternoon anyway..?! Good Friday being an exception.
Someone has to cop the 6pm local time game, except NZ. It will be rare.
Perth is never gonna get a 4pm game, just as NZ don't get a 10pm game.

Tigers1986

The thing about Monday nights is that whereas unlike Thursday nights where a lot of people still go out because it`s near the end of the working week, Monday nights it is much more likely that most people will be in. Not good for crowds but excellent for Tv viewing numbers.
Yup. I'd offset that by holding Monday night games in regional towns. Each club has a "sister" city, e.g. Tigers with Tamworth, Penrith with Bathurst. You get the TV audience plus a local crowd to give that 'full' feeling when watching. 18 teams, 18 venues. In origin split rounds you don't do a Monday game.