Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

11685443713_0411-large.jpg
You can cut the latent, simmering sexual tension with a plastic knife.....

Who signed

Watmough,Foran,MJ,Moses and extended Norman. I wont use Evans as he isnt really a big money signing. Ore then likely a 300-350k who plays like a 150-200k and had 1 season so still hope.

The others on I guess well over 700k. Of all of them why does BA want gone prior to contract up. Does it represent 5 mistakes?
Sure you can bounce guys who where a success like Brown or Gutho, but they where low risk. We signed heaps of those just like Frank,Matagi etc.Some worked some didnt......

Id also throw in Hoffman however he may only be on 250k so not terrible. Still to much for a Wenty player as is Evans.

Of the 5 big guns BA wants all gone prior to end of contract. Thats 5 big mistakes whoever signed them.

Being generous with Hoff and Evans.
Well I'd say the Watmough thing was an agreement like Surgess has, where he wouldn't stay if he was no longer up to it.

Foran was something no merkin saw coming, and it's not like he was no longer good enough for the NRL; he has signed for two different clubs since leaving us, though both sucked while he was there. He won six from nine with us (67%) yet won less than 30% with the Warriors and Dogs. Small samples but.

Jennings was signed when we thought we didn't have a salary cap, which made him low risk until we got caught. Norman was signed when he had just challenged for the Dally M. The only risk for him seemed to be off the field. On it he was starring the year he re-signed (2016).

As for Moses, who knows? He was awesome last year, garbage this year. Obviously something has gone wrong.

We could have at any time since DF was booted out . The problem is that everyone who could have done something about it was there for the wrong reasons. Now at least we have a board of professionals who aren't hooked on the smell of linament.
I hope you're right, merkin.

You try answering them and then tell us what the answers are mate.

BA signed them.

Had 3/6 been a hit then meh...Big money id expect that. If 6/6 Id think genius, heck even 5 of the 6.

0/6.....Has me thinking I'd want someone else in control of recruits.

Roosters broke the news when he told them he was signing with Parra
Shaun Lane announced it in July.

“SEA Eagles forward Shaun Lane has spoken for the first time about his surprise signing with Parramatta for 2019, vowing not to let down his Manly teammates for the rest of the season.

And the 23-year-old, one of the club’s most consistent performers this year, said it had been a tough decision to leave.

“Baz (coach Trent Barrett) told me he wanted me to stay and he had plans for me in the future,” Lane said. “It’s a shame we couldn’t come to something but it’s all good, no hard feelings.

“I sat down and really thought about it hard. I came to the decision that I felt was best for me and my career.”

Asked about the factors that prompted his switch to the Eels, Lane said: “There seems to be a bit of an opportunity there for me and the money obviously helps.

“I’m glad I got it over and done with and now I can concentrate on footy again.

“I’ve just got to finish the year off strong for the lads.”

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/n...n/news-story/a50713d898d83b41b3f9538501077e7f

Shaun Lane announced it in July.

“SEA Eagles forward Shaun Lane has spoken for the first time about his surprise signing with Parramatta for 2019, vowing not to let down his Manly teammates for the rest of the season.

And the 23-year-old, one of the club’s most consistent performers this year, said it had been a tough decision to leave.

“Baz (coach Trent Barrett) told me he wanted me to stay and he had plans for me in the future,” Lane said. “It’s a shame we couldn’t come to something but it’s all good, no hard feelings.

“I sat down and really thought about it hard. I came to the decision that I felt was best for me and my career.”

Asked about the factors that prompted his switch to the Eels, Lane said: “There seems to be a bit of an opportunity there for me and the money obviously helps.

“I’m glad I got it over and done with and now I can concentrate on footy again.

“I’ve just got to finish the year off strong for the lads.”

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/n...n/news-story/a50713d898d83b41b3f9538501077e7f

All well and good but there hasn’t been an official announcement at our club yet and when I asked an official about 6 weeks why he said the contract will signed and registered within the week... and guess what? we’re still waiting ....

Well I'd say the Watmough thing was an agreement like Surgess has, where he wouldn't stay if he was no longer up to it.

Foran was something no merkin saw coming, and it's not like he was no longer good enough for the NRL; he has signed for two different clubs since leaving us, though both sucked while he was there. He won six from nine with us (67%) yet won less than 30% with the Warriors and Dogs. Small samples but.

Jennings was signed when we thought we didn't have a salary cap, which made him low risk until we got caught. Norman was signed when he had just challenged for the Dally M. The only risk for him seemed to be off the field. On it he was starring the year he re-signed (2016).

As for Moses, who knows? He was awesome last year, garbage this year. Obviously something has gone wrong.

So BA knew what was going on with cheating so went stuff it get me MJ as well?
I assumed he was clueless to the cheating.

All well and good but there hasn’t been an official announcement at our club yet and when I asked an official about 6 weeks why he said the contract will signed and registered within the week... and guess what? we’re still waiting ....

Who do you see us signing staggs? Also see many juniors debut next season?
Thoughts on Parry?

Weird.

So BA knew what was going on with cheating so went stuff it get me MJ as well?
I assumed he was clueless to the cheating.
I assume he knew what was going on. I remember in Seward's statement he mentioned the pressure he was under, including from Arthur, to source TPAs so we could match the top clubs for squad talent. Maybe Arthur didn't really care about the legality or otherwise, since contracts and TPAs weren't his job.