Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Bolgeel

Possibly.
This off season could be, dare I say it......very exciting. ;)
I think our signings are decent and if some of the players that performed in 16/17 can lift again we may improve a fair bit. The biggest question is 9 where I think Mahoney can be good and mostly the dynamic between Moses and Norman (If they are both here) that will be the key.

Bolgeel

Surely we are on the box seat to sign him.

Peachey confirmed on Wednesday he wants out of the three-year deal reportedly worth $1.5 million and has instructed manager Sam Ayoub to kill the contract.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/p...s/news-story/e523c868e0af7b87eead746e313d610f
Would be great for the right $$
He’s young and in his prime as a footy player, competes well and already lives down the road. I reckon 500k is fair coin for a current origin player who can fill a number of positions. Centre or fb are his positions or maybe hooker in the same mould as cook

Bolgeel

This wouldn't overly surprise me for Round 1 (assuming we sign Peachy):

1. Bevo
2. Fergo
3. Hayno
4. Gutho
5. Genno
6. Peacho
7. Normo
8. Paulo
9. Reedo
10. Alvaro
11. Lano
12. Man'o
13. Browno

14. Pritcho
15. Manno
16. Moerao
17. Evo
I hope Menno is gone

T.S Quint

I am hoping against all hope that Moses shows the same form next year as he showed this year (or worse).

Oh. I'll take that as saying he's gone for next year.
He was f**king gash this season but he certainly has talent. If we lose him then who do we replace him with? Hopefully someone with a kicking game (i.e. not Gutho).

Because that 34 yo was the current Qld, Australian and premiership winning half back and not a hard working middle forward. Agree he was a great signing but for 4 years, no effing way!
If we’d offered him fewer years we would’ve had to offer more money per year ffs!

Bolgeel

They just re-signed Ash Taylor for $1m per season. Re-signed A J Brimson and signed Tyrone Roberts from super league. French maybe.
Yeah you’re probably right but I thought I heard they were grooming Brimson for fb? Either way I’d take peach for bev any day (would have to kick in a few bucks though)

T.S Quint

nuthuggers will come to the rescue and tell us how great everything is

a. What has Cayless done in his career that says he is a huge loss? Has he stood out in any way during his coaching career? He's been part of the Eels 'loser culture' since he started in FG.

b. Who says we "let him go"? Maybe we wanted to keep him but the Warriors just offered more money. Maybe he wanted to go and work under his mates Brian Smith and Steve Kearney.

King Deathrider you are, no matter what the club does they just can't win. At least with some of these other guys on here I can tell they still love the club despite their moaning, but you really don't seem to even like the club at all.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...s/news-story/a4109c2c1feffd4bcd0b54dde81b635c

Why Mitchell Moses gave up his ticket to watch Conor McGregor to take up his own fight at the Eels

Paul Crawley, The Daily Telegraph
October 4, 2018 8:01pm

MITCHELL Moses has pulled out of a party trip to Las Vegas this week to watch UFC superstar Conor McGregor so he can take up his own fight at Parramatta.

The Daily Telegraph has been told the Eels are attempting to shop the 24-year-old playmaker to rival clubs after a failed attempt to move on halves partner Corey Norman.

But it is understood Moses has no intention of walking out on the final year of his contract and instead has backed himself to prove his worth in 2019.

That starts by leaving no stone unturned in respect to his pre-season preparations.

Moses’s decision not to head off to Vegas is a clear indication of his intentions.

A stack of NRL players including Moses’ housemate Luke Brooks and good friend Josh Reynolds have made the trip to watch McGregor’s fight with Khabib Nurmagomedov.

But not only did Moses give up his ticket, he has already started training on his own a month before the Eels are officially due back to commence the summer slog.

Parramatta is set to announce the findings of an independent review into a disastrous 2018 season next week.

One of the most damning conclusions expected to come out of the review is said to relate to the club’s culture and discipline.

It’s no secret the Eels really let themselves down on and off the field this year on a number of fronts.

But it was Moses and Norman who so far have wore the brunt of the fallout.

It is understood that as recently as last week there was still talks going on that Moses might not be at the Eels next season.

It follows an unsuccessful push to get rid of Norman who is on close to $900,000 next year.

The talk is that when the Eels failed in their attempts to get rid of Norman, they turned their attention to Moses to try and save salary cap space.

The official line from Parramatta chief executive Bernie Gurr was that both Moses and Norman have a contract for 2019, which Gurr said the club intends to honour.

In football speak that usually means watch this space, although Gurr would not respond to speculation.

Moses is said to have a good working relationship with coach Brad Arthur.

But that didn’t stop them having a no-holds-barred end of season review where the reality of Moses’ responsibilities were laid bare.

Arthur himself is coming into the final season of his contract and unless the Eels can find a way out of the mess they put themselves in this year, no one’s future will be safe.

The club has already announced Mark O’Neill will take over as the general manager of football and take much of the responsibility relating to retention and recruitment out of the head coach’s hands.

The Eels have already signed Junior Paulo and Blake Ferguson to add to their roster for 2019.

But the biggest issue the Eels confronted this year related to lack of leadership and poor discipline on and off the field.

Moses started this season right in the frame for NSW State of Origin selection but the Eels’ poor form ended his hopes.

Brad Fittler makes no secret of the fact he has a huge opinion of Moses’s ability but the challenge for 2019 is to live up to that potential.

So now we’ve lost Cayless you reckon he was a gun?
a. What has Cayless done in his career that says he is a huge loss? Has he stood out in any way during his coaching career? He's been part of the Eels 'loser culture' since he started in FG.

b. Who says we "let him go"? Maybe we wanted to keep him but the Warriors just offered more money. Maybe he wanted to go and work under his mates Brian Smith and Steve Kearney.

King Deathrider you are, no matter what the club does they just can't win. At least with some of these other guys on here I can tell they still love the club despite their moaning, but you really don't seem to even like the club at all.

call me Nostradamus :D

nuthuggers will come to the rescue and tell us how great everything is

emjaycee

Oh. I'll take that as saying he's gone for next year.
He was f**king gash this season but he certainly has talent. If we lose him then who do we replace him with? Hopefully someone with a kicking game (i.e. not Gutho).

I did use the word 'hope' at least twice. Nothing is a given until 2 weeks before chiefy1 says so mate.