Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/sp...p/news-story/bc119ce4a1f94558aace7c5d7a6ab3f1

Brad Arthur getting Eels to clear their minds at country camp

Parramatta coach Brad Arthur has lifted the curtain on the pre-season camp in country NSW designed to repair a fractured club and unite a playing group afflicted with selfishness.

While the rugby league fraternity have been preoccupied with Jarryd Hayne’s prospects of re-signing with the Eels, Arthur has been quietly taking his contracted players through a daily regime of early-morning meditation, taxing training sessions and team-building exercises aimed at unifying the wooden spooners.

The Parramatta coach faces one of the most significant seasons of his career as he looks to convince the Eels he deserves a contract extension. Arthur knows better than anyone the role the players will have in deciding whether he gets a deal to stay.

Hence the camp in Armidale, a rural city halfway between Sydney and Brisbane renowned for its galleries, museums and theatre.

“It is about building relationships,” Arthur said.

“We always have a camp at some stage of pre-season but the timing of this one is important because we can put some things in place, some standards and expectations, moving forward and have some real clear direction.

“Everyone had the effort (last year) but there was nearly an every man for themselves mentality. We didn’t work well enough as a group, simple.

“We have got away, got them all on the same page and when we get back we know what is acceptable and what is not.

“We have managed to do a lot of physical work — weights and field running. But we have also done things like meditation. We had a bloke come in and teach the boys about meditation and that is something we are going to look at when we get back (to Sydney), starting the morning in the pre-season with meditation.

“We did some yoga, we had contact (drills), we have had nutrition meetings, coach meetings. We have filled the days up.”

Asked about introducing meditation, Arthur said: “It is just a way of clearing our mind.

“That is also helpful for me too. Coming back to the now and not worrying about what is coming or what has happened.

“It is about teaching them how to do it so we can put a block away each morning for when they roll in as part of their preparation for their day.

“They will get a period where they will go through a five-minute meditation process. If it helps and it works, we’re all in with it.”

The players have also spent time with the local community, breaking up into groups as part of a home stay.

“We sent them out for a farm stay overnight,” Arthur said.

“We wanted to break up the trip, but also give back a little bit. It’s about appreciating that we are fortunate and privileged to be in the jobs we have.

“Also, the people of Armidale are going to get plenty out of it, too. We split the groups up and it is all about building relationships and coming together.

“At night time different groups have had to cook the meals for the boys.”

The camp was to finish with a 3am training session today.

“To take them out of their comfort zone a little bit we will get them up at three, have a bit of a meeting and see whether they can clear their mind and get the task done,” Arthur said.

“It has been great. The key is going to be we can’t leave it here once we get back.

“We have to work hard at it. Building relationships takes work.

“It is not so much about spending every minute of the time with each other, it is about the quality of the time we spend.”

But we have also done things like meditation. We had a bloke come in and teach the boys about meditation and that is something we are going to look at when we get back (to Sydney), starting the morning in the pre-season with meditation.
“We did some yoga"
lol

that will win us a premiership

hope AFL guy brought his mini tramps too

Happy MEel

Agreed. The impact that this can have is far more significant whether we paid some merkin a couple of hundred $K more than we think he is worth.
Yep. So I take it this wasn’t the case for the Bernie appointment, particularly considering he had spent the last 9 years in the US.

That’s a pretty significant downgrade as far as I’m concerned and we’re coming off a wooden spoon and should be in a position to improve the roster.
Well I don't see other clubs lining up to sign Hayne right now. Perhaps they see him in the same light as well.

We all heard the whispers coming out of the Tits camp that Hayne would train when he felt like it etc.

Hindy even was critical of him for going missing in action when he was playing.

If BA etc see Hayne as an unreliable team member (as do other clubs seemingly) then maybe they have a method to their madness ?

Fergo and Siva* are the Hayne / Semi replacements IMO. I reckon that BA and his think tank see Hayne as being an unreliable footy enigma. They don’t want to hang their hat on him because it is entirely plausible that he may no deliver when the chips are down.

If not Siva then Parry, if not Parry then etc

I feel like BA is playing a good game for the club and not a selfish one for himself. I respect him for that. At worse the club has a lot of cash and heaps of good juniors.
Last thing we needed now was an awesome team and guys on long contracts with all this wealth of talent coming in.

Do you know any rich merkins that can jag us a few (perfectly above board) TPAs? Because Bernie doesn’t seem to...

That’s where we are getting killed and why it isn’t an even playing field at the moment.
So it’s just no TPA’s???

Nothing to do with paying overs for underperforming players, poor coaching and poor planning???

If TPA’s are the silver bullet you are claiming and the only reason we are were we are why haven’t the Broncos won a comp since 2006?? Of course they help but a coach, management and board with a clue makes a bigger difference IMO.

Happy MEel

Well I don't see other clubs lining up to sign Hayne right now. Perhaps they see him in the same light as well.

We all heard the whispers coming out of the Tits camp that Hayne would train when he felt like it etc.

Hindy even was critical of him for going missing in action when he was playing.

If BA etc see Hayne as an unreliable team member (as do other clubs seemingly) then maybe they have a method to their madness ?
How do you know if clubs are interested in Hayne or not? We’re all well aware of the dragons’ interest and there have been reports lately that the Bulldogs might be interested if Klemmer leaves. That’s 2 clubs that we know of via the media. You have no idea if other clubs are making enquires privately.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/www...matta-eels-contract/7j3qcomfj8x51j9moi71mrdw7

So it’s just no TPA’s???

Nothing to do with paying overs for underperforming players, poor coaching and poor planning???

If TPA’s are the silver bullet you are claiming and the only reason we are were we are why haven’t the Broncos won a comp since 2006?? Of course they help but a coach, management and board with a clue makes a bigger difference IMO.
What planet are you on?

Of course we haven’t been great with our recruitment. I never suggested we were.

More TPAs help rather than hinder. How is that even a point that can be argued?

Every f**ker is a downgrade after Semi ... Period!!

Semi was according to the great Phil Gould
Like nothing that has ever played the game.
The NRL should of did all can to keep him. He was one of a kind.
His court case ruined the chances on a TPA.
I've never seen a player like Semi.Ive seen more skillfull like Slater and Hayne or Tedesco etc....But what Semi could do at anytime was mouthwatering.

What planet are you on?

Of course we haven’t been great with our recruitment. I never suggested we were.

More TPAs help rather than hinder. How is that even a point that can be argued?
Of course they do, but they aren’t the reason we have a squad as shit as we do.

St George were broke with less TPA’s than us last season so they showed it can be done without them. Whenever how poor squad is mentioned it’s all “ but but but but but we have no TPA’s”.