Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Suicide mission. Gutherson should not waste his talent in a position he is hopless at. Let him master one.
He's not ideal at any position. He lacks speed for fullback and the kicking game for the halves. He is probably best suited to centre but then his work rate is wasted there. His defence is wasted at fullback. At least in the halves he can make maximum use of his defence and support play (his two best features).

Eelogical

He's not ideal at any position. He lacks speed for fullback and the kicking game for the halves. He is probably best suited to centre but then his work rate is wasted there. His defence is wasted at fullback. At least in the halves he can make maximum use of his defence and support play (his two best features).
He's ideal at centre. That's where he looks most comfortable and gives best value to the team. No doubt though, BA will pick him in the the front row.

Noise

Although I think his cardio is pretty good.
Yes I said that in my next post
I think he still goes ok. But I don’t think fullback is on his radar. He grew up playing edge forward / centre with a bit of 5/8 thrown in in more recent times. The fact he has been training pretty much exclusively at centre shows where he is most likely to play (barring injuries).

84 Baby

Ta DB. I reckon Mennings is a huge concern. His defence had always been his strong suit which was borderline hopeless last season. How is his speed? Given his passing game has always been an issue, he wouldnt be in my side, yet it appears a certainty he will be first center picked. People are quick to dismiss Mannah but no player fell from the perch like Mennings last season.
Gutho and Salmon would be my 3 and 4. Thoughts?
I reckon if the team and Mennings go like they went this year, the club won’t stand in his way of pursuing a mid season release to ESL

Obscene Assassin

Cheers mate. Pretty good then.

No worries. I reckon Salmon could give fullback a fair crack but I think like hooker it's a position you have to have a lot of experience in the lower grades to be able to be play it in first grade. There seems to be a lot of nuance to the position. I still believe his best position next year is centre but has the ability to play in the halves or even possibly fullback. He may move into the second-row in years to come if he gains some weight but being a career centre would suit him well.

Gutho is an absolute freak when it comes to fitness, I'd be interested to see how long he'd be able to keep top speed. It's a bit unfair to compare other players to him when it comes to fitness but it's also telling that all of the backs that attempt to keep up with him are 20 or younger.