Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

lingard

Not really, but he adds depth to the squad and as such I don’t hold unrealistic expectations.

If you pay $200,000 to stick your c**k in a pepper grinder do you have to include it in the salary cap?

So, if he's not an option you like, why say that he might not be an option I like? Don't argue just for the sake of it. It's been done before.

Gary: Mum, guess what I just did! I won an argument on a footy forum.
Gary's Mum: But you don't know anything about football, darling.
Gary: Well, not as much as the other boys, but there's a boy called Poo Poo ……
Gary's mum: That's a funny name.
Gary: Yes, I know, but he knows a fair bit about footy so I just copy him.
Gary's mum: That's very clever darling, but you know that one day you'll have to get a mind of your own.
Gary: I know, mum, but it's still a lot of fun.
Gary's mum: Well, as long as you're having fun I suppose it won't hurt.
Gary: Thanks mum.

lingard

We all hope for the best.

But as long as we haven’t paid a shitload of coin for him (which I doubt we have, I just think it is more than what Pou thinks) then where’s the harm?

It is nice to have the luxury of a player of his proven ability to call on if needed. We just need to be realistic about what he can bring to the table and create an environment where he can perform like he did at the Roosters.

Create an environment like the Roosters? What?

chiefy1

Evans was never brought over as a backup player. Who would sign up a backup player for 3 seasons ?
I didn’t know he was signed for depth when I posted this. The club did though, and they proved it when he spent nine games in reserve grade.

You don't sign a depth player for 3 years. That just madness.

Wake up and smell the roses pau pau.

Evans was never brought over as a backup player. Who would sign up a backup player for 3 seasons ?

You don't sign a depth player for 3 years. That just madness.

Wake up and smell the roses pau pau.
Depth player and backup player are two different things. And why can’t a depth player be signed for three years? Do you not need depth players in three years time?

Why drag this shit up? What matters is what the club thought, not what I thought. I wasn’t the one who signed him (and lucky too). I still remember the kid who carved up in 2015.
It was a reasonable assessment, made before we saw him play for us. Just like the club must have done. Even players on $400K will spend time in reserves if they're not up to scratch, especially given how poor both he and the club were last year. Let's just call a spade a spade, or a dud signing.

chiefy1

Depth player and backup player are two different things. And why can’t a depth player be signed for three years? Do you not need depth players in three years time?

I bet if the club could get rid of Evans and free up a little more salary cap space, they would instantly.
That's exactly why you don't sign these types of players for 3 years.

Its exactly the same with Hoffman.

The top clubs don't make these dumb mistakes

Happy MEel

Terepo’s appearance in the trial on Thursday says otherwise.
I said for 2018. Obviously Paulo takes one middle position but I’d be surprised if Terepo didn’t play the majority of games this year.

I also don’t remember Gower’s name mentioned in the trial so it might have been to make up the numbers and get some game time under his belt so he can practice catching the ball.

TheRam

"by Pou" or "from Pou"?

Stick to learning basic f**ken english instead of trying to position yourself as a smart guy or I'll eat a dodgy vindaloo before my next Bones on Bones visit!

I reckon we paid more than Pou will admit but as your mate Hindy said, it is not a big deal in the scheme of things. If we assume that the 'play longer minutes' experiment failed then if he does what he did at the Roosters he will be fine at Parramatta. As you said in another post, injuries haven't helped so far.

Unless of course BA, should have spotted his 'fragile bones' like you did?

By me a river whinge breath. Nothing about fragile bones mate. He just doesn't play tough enough for my liking and his size. And what I have noticed is that when he tries to get a bit tougher that is when he either gives away silly penalties or gets injured.

Your chicken Vindaloo is waiting and Hindy's got the plug.

TheRam

I'm like you Ram, slightly optimistic, but see problems firstly with the holes in the roster and secondly with the team BA will pick. I think he'll pick the same established players that have let him down in the past whereas I'd like him to persevere with a few juniors.

In our recent trial Parry apparently was the star performer so if promoted (hopefully) to top 30 he'll fill one centre hole in our roster in lieu of Salmon who was also in the team and showed nothing. Mahoney must be the preferred hooker and Kaufusi must be on bench in preference to Mannah. One can only hope Moses will be consistent, and when with Tigers without Brooks always played well. Lets hope he steps up and allows Dylan Brown to play his natural running game. These players are the future of our team and their experience this year will hold them in good stead for future years.

A lot of the stuff about the quality of our team and our prospects that you and others(and me) are say are pretty simple to wrap your head around, but the forum Nazis just don't like freedom of differing opinions without ridicule. Pou of course is slightly different. He just bullshits you into submission with outrages and ridiculous essays. But a least he has a good hot go at putting his arse out to be slapped.

It was a reasonable assessment, made before we saw him play for us. Just like the club must have done. Even players on $400K will spend time in reserves if they're not up to scratch, especially given how poor both he and the club were last year. Let's just call a spade a spade, or a dud signing.
The coach referred to him as a depth signing before he saw him play for us.

Perhaps he said it before he saw him play at all?

For those that don’t understand what a depth signing is (as opposed to a top 17 player or a backup), consider Mahoney and Pritchard. Are they top 17 players or backups?