Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I still think Evans can do a job for us. He is a big unit that just needs to simplify his game.

I am unsure. Last year he had Vave and Matagi qhonwhere to average old men to fight off and was ahead of Terepo.

I rated it somewhere like this

BROWN
1 Mannah
2 Alvaro
3 Evans
4 Matagi
5 Terepo
6 Vave

But this year is different. With Lane,Manu,Niakuore, Takarangi who are all backrow chances if forms good it throws Tepai also into the mix into the pigs.And he also has two very highly rated juniors to climb above.

BROWN
1Junior
2 Alvaro
3 Terepo
4 Mannah
5 Kafusi
6 Stefano
7 Evans.

Possible Tepai.

TheRam

Most people expected Evans to be in the 17 didnt they? I thought he’d be more than just a back up. He’s not a world beater but he was solid enough for the Roosters the previous year.

At first, I thought it was injuries that was keeping him in reserves but when he stayed there I had to reassess. Was he worse than I remembered when he played for the Roosters or has he not shown the right attitude since coming here?

How does he go from being good enough to be in the 17 of a winning squad to not making the 17 of a losing squad in less than a year?

Maybe I overrated him like BA. But if so, doesn’t that mean that the Roosters did as well?

Or did BA immediately turn him into a f**k tard?

It’s one of the two.

I know which one El D will choose.

Yes you overrated him like BA and others here did. Height isn't the only thing that matters, he has twig calves. BA was desperate to get a different shape into the squad as he had stated. He couldn't get real quality and settled on Evans. I was never really excited by his signing and always thought that it could turn out the way it has so far.

He is a one dimensional player with a fragile character and bones. He needs to toughen up and focus more. At least at the Roosters he was focused enough. Since his Fijian broken arm, he hasn't been able to get to that solid one dimensional carry that he was at least capable of at the Roosters.

I don't see it as a major problem. Not sure where you got that impression.

Just can't see how Evans would have signed with Parra for less than $250-$300K. I could be wrong though. None of us actually know.

I wasn't directing on yourself. People seem to think Evans had heaps of offers.
But for starters he may of said he wants to stay in Sydney.
That leaves a handfull of clubs and how many wanted a prop?

chiefy1

If we took your approach we wouldn't sign anyone. We don't have anywhere near as much bargaining power as you think we do.

Newcastle had little bargaining power after 3 straight wooden spoons - but they are now gaining momentum.
They bid thier time and threw a bunch of jnrs in to begin with.

They bought slowly and diligently with Ponga, Pearce, Ramian,Watson and Klemmer. Now they have a young and stable lineup on which they can further build upon to become a regular top 8 force.

We on the other hand purchased quick fix players such as Evans, Matagi, Watmough, Vave, Williams, Frichard ect ect.

I know which club has the stonger roster atm and it definitely had nothing to do with bargaining power.
It's called putting the club before your own self interests.

51552754_10158141444258032_7513159060800143360_n.jpg

TheRam

So he's bad enough to play for the roosters but not good enough to play for Parramatta?

Yeah that's what he said. You really have learned well by Pou on deflection and misdirection haven't you?

No we tried to turn him into something he is not. Some players just aren't up to the extra mins in the NRL. Then add to that we were a shit team right across the board last year and all of his short comings came to the fore. So much so that the coach had no other choice other then to hook him to the reserves.

Happy MEel

I am unsure. Last year he had Vave and Matagi qhonwhere to average old men to fight off and was ahead of Terepo.

I rated it somewhere like this

BROWN
1 Mannah
2 Alvaro
3 Evans
4 Matagi
5 Terepo
6 Vave

But this year is different. With Lane,Manu,Niakuore, Takarangi who are all backrow chances if forms good it throws Tepai also into the mix into the pigs.And he also has two very highly rated juniors to climb above.

BROWN
1Junior
2 Alvaro
3 Terepo
4 Mannah
5 Kafusi
6 Stefano
7 Evans.

Possible Tepai.
Agreed. Mau and Lane could also spend time in the middle making it even harder to crack the side.

Newcastle had little bargaining power after 3 straight wooden spoons - but they are now gaining momentum.

They bought slowly and diligently with Ponga, Pearce, Ramian,Watson and Klemmer. Now they have a young and stable lineup on which they can further build upon to become a regular top 8 force.

We on the other hand purchased quick fix players such as Evans, Matagi, Watmough, Vave, Williams, Frichard ect ect.

I know which club has the stonger roster atm and it definitely had nothing to do with bargaining power.

Did Newcastle offer up 2 year contracts to those players or did they have to dangle a bigger carrot than that to secure them?

That was the original issue that you raised and the one that I responded to.

Also, Newcastle are a one team town so your comparison needs to be put into perspective.

Yes you overrated him like BA and others here did. Height isn't the only thing that matters, he has twig calves. BA was desperate to get a different shape into the squad as he had stated. He couldn't get real quality and settled on Evans. I was never really excited by his signing and always thought that it could turn out the way it has so far.

He is a one dimensional player with a fragile character and bones. He needs to toughen up and focus more. At least at the Roosters he was focused enough. Since his Fijian broken arm, he hasn't been able to get to that solid one dimensional carry that he was at least capable of at the Roosters.
You are wasted on this forum. You should be a first grade coach. I'm sure you'll find a way to apply your hindsight brilliance to the role and make it a screaming success!

"Toughen up and focus more". That's genius. I hope Parra are taking notes!

Eelogical

You are wasted on this forum. You should be a first grade coach. I'm sure you'll find a way to apply your hindsight brilliance to the role and make it a screaming success!

"Toughen up and focus more". That's genius. I hope Parra are taking notes!
Have they even spoken to him?

Yeah that's what he said. You really have learned well by Pou on deflection and misdirection haven't you?

No we tried to turn him into something he is not. Some players just aren't up to the extra mins in the NRL. Then add to that we were a shit team right across the board last year and all of his short comings came to the fore. So much so that the coach had no other choice other then to hook him to the reserves.
"by Pou" or "from Pou"?

Stick to learning basic f**ken english instead of trying to position yourself as a smart guy or I'll eat a dodgy vindaloo before my next Bones on Bones visit!

I reckon we paid more than Pou will admit but as your mate Hindy said, it is not a big deal in the scheme of things. If we assume that the 'play longer minutes' experiment failed then if he does what he did at the Roosters he will be fine at Parramatta. As you said in another post, injuries haven't helped so far.

Unless of course BA, should have spotted his 'fragile bones' like you did?

chiefy1

Did Newcastle offer up 2 year contracts to those players or did they have to dangle a bigger carrot than that to secure them?

That was the original issue that you raised and the one that I responded to.

Also, Newcastle are a one team town so your comparison needs to be put into perspective.

Those Newcastle players that i mentioned are either at the top of their game, or are undeniable future superstars.

Evans and Hoffman on the other hand were below average players.

That's the difference

Newcastle a one team town ? But almost went bankrupt very recently, and don't have a very rich league's club backing them.

Glenneel

I can see the season going two ways. Like you described but also they could come good and surprise us all and nudge the 8. I think a couple of things will determine the end result. One Moses and can he deliver a full good consistent season? If he does, then the hard work and toil of the forwards will count for something and create more confidence and enthusiasm that the whole team will feed off which will then create a "we can win games" attitude no matter who they are playing or what the circumstance.

Unfortunately no matter what he says out loud and to the press, I always feel it doesn't really matter, his form still ends up being yoyo like. But if he does have a big season, big if, then D. Brown in particular will also get to grow into the NRL without being hammered and pressured into trying to hard and over playing his hand to try and get a shit team to fire and all the other players will put in more of the little things knowing that it won't be for nought.

The way I see it, we have a good enough team to actually make the 8, as long as Moses can have a great season.

And, which brings me to my second point, injuries. Long injuries to Moses or a couple of our bigger forwards will also derail our season. So lets see what happens. It's very exciting.
I'm like you Ram, slightly optimistic, but see problems firstly with the holes in the roster and secondly with the team BA will pick. I think he'll pick the same established players that have let him down in the past whereas I'd like him to persevere with a few juniors.

In our recent trial Parry apparently was the star performer so if promoted (hopefully) to top 30 he'll fill one centre hole in our roster in lieu of Salmon who was also in the team and showed nothing. Mahoney must be the preferred hooker and Kaufusi must be on bench in preference to Mannah. One can only hope Moses will be consistent, and when with Tigers without Brooks always played well. Lets hope he steps up and allows Dylan Brown to play his natural running game. These players are the future of our team and their experience this year will hold them in good stead for future years.

Those Newcastle players that i mentioned are either at the top of their game, or are undeniable future superstars.

Evans and Hoffman on the other hand were below average players.

That's the difference
Maybe we didn't get all the good Newcastle players because we didn't offer them a long enough contract?

Do you think you just pull juniors off trees?

Do you think a one team town is relevant against an over-saturated Sydney market when it comes to retaining juniors?

We now have the juniors coming through again....has BA or the club not recognised this by utilising and giving opportunities to players like Mahoney, Kaufusi, Utoikamanu, Parry, Dunster, et al in the lead up to the season?

Newcastle had issues at a base junior level post-Bennett and took a couple of seasons to rectify it (much quicker in a one team town). What sort of signings were they making in the couple of seasons after he left? Are you advocating us signing the likes of Uiti Baker, Mitch Barnett, David Bhana, Peter Mata'utia, Brendan Elliott, Pauli Pauli, Will Pearsall, Trent Hodkinson, Kris Freeman, Anthony Tupou, Josh Starling, Ken Sio, Jacob Gagan, Tom Cronan, Jamie Buhrer and so on to match their roster??

They only started signing real quality once the juniors were established, the production line sorted and they had the ability to sign a guy like Saifiti on dick all and splash big money on a risky discard like Pearce.

Shit, half this forum thought they were mad when they spent Corey Norman's salary on Ponga. Suddenly they're the benchmark lol

EDIT-As for your leagues club comment, totally untrue and demonstrates your ignorance. Wests Newcastle (Wests Group) took over the licence in 2017, and they are loaded as balls.