Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Kornstar

Amazing that when Semi was charged every merkin here was banging on about innocent until proven guilty. Everyone here was happy for him to continue playing.

I can’t remember what i said when Semi was charged.

I’d be interested to know if you feel like digging. Thanks.

oldmancraigy

The Chooks may have had a no booze policy at some point but so what? I don't believe the Dragons do and I'm sure the NRL doesn't as a whole. So I don't know what code of conduct you think he has broken.

Exactly. You dont know. I don't have the details either.

But does that mean there isn't a clause that could relate tonhis scenario? I already gave you some examples..
Use the imagination!

Exactly. You dont know. I don't have the details either.

But does that mean there isn't a clause that could relate tonhis scenario? I already gave you some examples..
Use the imagination!
I'd say if there was some code of conduct breach then the nrl would have used that to stand him down. But there hasn't even been a mention of it. Instead they made up this 11 year sentence thing.

Obscene Assassin

Agreed, but we already have heaps of them.

These members of the full time pre-season squad played Harold Matts or SG Ball for Parra:

Drown
Dunster
French
Kaufusi
Mannah
Moeroa
Moses
Parry
Paulo
Pritchard
Schneider
Terepo
Futoikamanu
Sutoikamanu

These guys played NYC/Flegg for us:

Alvaro
Faingaa
Leleisiuao
Mahoney (he might've even played in our SG Ball team)
Salmon
Stone

Plus Ma'u and Niukore made their NRL debuts for Parra.

Nah Mahoney came in and played NYC from the start

‘Amazing’ was sarcastic. It’s obvious that when semi was charged everyone here jumped to his defense and wanted him to play because he played for Parra. But when a dragon or manly player is charged those same people change their tune and want them out and no longer care about innocent until proven guilty - the same thing they all cried out a few years ago. Hypocrisy
Is it the same people? ... theres a spread of people on here ... agree with the gist of what you are suggesting, ie bias, but i reckon its not necissarily the same people

For what its worth i disagree with the nrl - though understand they want to try and say something ..... but i also think debelin would appear to have behaved very recklessly - i am assuming his defense seems to be that it was consentual rather than it never happened - if thats the case you are a dumb f**k debelin

Kornstar

Is it the same people? ... theres a spread of people on here ... agree with the gist of what you are suggesting, ie bias, but i reckon its not necissarily the same people

For what its worth i disagree with the nrl - though understand they want to try and say something ..... but i also think debelin would appear to have behaved very recklessly - i am assuming his defense seems to be that it was consentual rather than it never happened - if thats the case you are a dumb f**k debelin

Plus the alleged victim went straight and got a rape kit, there was no waiting, there was no being convinced by friends. It wasn’t after they broke up like Semi. It was that night and they found bruising etc.

Could have been consensual and rough and then she regretted, i don’t know but the case is pretty serious and there was no time passed in reporting.

I get why they stood him down.

Noise

Going through the Semi thread there is not 1 person who wanted Semi stood down.

Bandwagon

I reckon as far as it goes the NRL can make up whatever f**king rules they like, but, and it's a big but, the problem with this lot is that it's reactive and retrospective.

It's too late for them to avoid being reactive, but in doing so they should recognise that there is an element of injustice to apply a rule retrospectively.

For sure, set a rule that says if you do whatever, then bam , that's a paddlin' but from now on.

The rules that should apply to the JDB and Walker cases should be whatever policy they had in place at the time of the alleged offence. Not whatever policy they decide to make in the future.

I'm no expert, but I'm fairly certain a contract that stipulates that if you do an action that causes a break in a clause of the contract, we will be free to make up whatever the f**k rule and punishment we like, would not pass muster if challenged.

Going through the Semi thread there is not 1 person who wanted Semi stood down.
Again, i get and agree with your point of bias .... but that was when we all were of the belief the nrl was running a benefit of the doubt until your day in court thing ... no one here was asking for debelin to get stood down before the nrl backflip - they are more agreeing with it after it was done