Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

84 Baby

My opinion is probably controversial, but I wouldn't hate that idea.

He is a better defender than Will Smith, and is an effort player.

He would be an upgrade on Will Smith, imo.
But we already have Will Smith. He is not that much of an upgrade particularly on the brain fart front and certainly not a 200-300k upgrade. And now of this is a glowing appraisal on Smith

A hard working competitor with Origin and finals experience, nearly 150 NRL games and only 30. He nearly ran down Mitch Moses earlier in the year. The only downside is his injury history. But this is a bloke who will have a positive impact off the field as well.

He'd be great off the bench.

Happy MEel

Agreed he’d be a decent 14. However that essentially leaves Salmon without a spot in the 17 and I reckon come next year, he will be a similar caliber player as Reynolds with a higher ceiling and worth investing more time in the top grade.

It'll be a long time until he's as experienced as Reynolds. And if he's our 18th best player he'll get plenty of NRL opportunity. He'll only be 21 next year. 2021 could be his time for the top 17.

TBH Salmon has done nothing so far to give me a woody.

Happy MEel

Sure. But we already have Salmon on our books and I’d rather take that $300-$400k and put it towards the amount we have earmarked for a prop and go for a $500-$600k prop who could provide similar experience, but more quality. Particularly considering Salmon won’t be too far off Reynolds ability wise next year.

Beside his utility value the most impressive thing is his scope for improvement. Playing NRL at 20 (in a decent team no less) is certainly a decent indicator of a potential genuine NRL player (which he isn't yet).

Sure. But we already have Salmon on our books and I’d rather take that $300-$400k and put it towards the amount we have earmarked for a prop and go for a $500-$600k prop who could provide similar experience, but more quality. Particularly considering Salmon won’t be too far off Reynolds ability wise next year.
We are restricted in who's available though. And more effort and experience definitely fills a need.

Incorrect

A hard working competitor with Origin and finals experience, nearly 150 NRL games and only 30. He nearly ran down Mitch Moses earlier in the year. The only downside is his injury history. But this is a bloke who will have a positive impact off the field as well.

3 years ago maybe... But he is an awful footballer these days. FFS, Maguire is trying to convince Marshall to run around again next year even though his best days are well and truly behind him. He'd rather Marshall at 35 in 2020 than contemplate Reynolds. That speaks volumes.

Gazzamatta

I reckon he's like Benji and Wobbie in as much as he's a Bulldog through and through and will play his best footy there. Just a homesick puppy if hes elsewhere.
Either way too expensive and too much risk imo.
Salmon is cheaper and has heaps more upside if only he could get decent game time. Last full game V The Broncos he was terrific.
Development Club.